DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

NoobWannaLearn

Very good points. Lets discuss it point wise.

When was Mirage bought? 1980

In what numbers were they bought? 49

Why were they bought? To counter F-16s of Pakistan.

Were they perfect? No, but unlike FOC Tejas, the subcomponents were top of the line at that time.

When was Jaguar bought? 1978

Why was it bought? Because our government had this brilliant idea that instead of investing in Rolls Royce and upgrading our Maruts, it would be cheap to buy 160 Jaguars to replace Maruts instead.

Was it better then HF-Marut? Yes. Hands down it was better then Marut. Marut could have been better if it would not have faced the similar problem like Tejas.

Now coming to this horror story of GARMAR and every thing else, remember two points.
1- You can't ensure your security by being a STUPID EMOTIONAL FOOL, which majority of us are.
2- It's not the job of services to support your indigenous industry. It's the job of the concerned Ministry.

As @patriots mentioned and if I understand him correct, he is in favour of ordering FOC in mass number and then upgrade it. But during all this he might have forgot the fact that LRUs of FOC are not interchangeable. With the experience gained in operation of FOC variant, IAF came up with the upgrades which has been done in Mk1A and which has been mass ordered. Just imagine ordering 80 FOC variant and then upgrading them just after the delivery has been completed. What would have been the cost and what would have been the down time?
So which is economically and operationally more viable? To upgrade 20 jets or 80 jets?

Coming to Mirage, is it a prudent decision to upgrade them? YES. Ask any of the pilots or listen to their interview. Even after being a 50 year old platform, its still better then Mk1A. With Mk2 we would be touching or exceeding the capabilities of Mirage.

Coming to Jaguar, is it a prudent decision to upgrade them? When it was planned, it was a prudent decision. But today its not. So we are not even investing in its engine, which is the major upgrade.
Why? Because its ECONOMICALLY not viable. Same is the case with MKIs which are our front line fighters BTW.

It is not the job of IAF to allocate fund to Tejas program or other programs. Its the job of MoD to allocate them fund and support their effort. IAFs job is to provide technical inputs to make the platform potent. On other side, its the job of industry to support IAF by developing the platform as per IAFs requirement and support them. Not the other way around.

So stop being and EMOTIONAL FOOL and start thinking logically.
Wait. Who is in right head is poo pooing the DARIN III Jaguars ? And why the fuck are we listening to him?
The D3 Jag is hands down the best WILD WEASEL we have in inventory right now. Nothing else can penetrate Chinese AD and knock out C2 sites. Except the Rafale - but your 36 Rafales can only do so much at the same time.

Then that's stupid af L1 system will always be painful
i would suggest, don't let missing tile syndrome be the primary driver of your thought process.

other ways to look at this, total requirement is for 5000 SMP, still another 4000 to be procured, by splitting the tender ASMI got 50% chance to get selected. now it's for ASMI and LMT to prove itself in the field, same goes for the other brazilian one . for any product, winning the tender is not the final test, repeat customer is.

Smoothbore125mm

Wait. Who is in right head is poo pooing the DARIN III Jaguars ? And why the fuck are we listening to him?
The D3 Jag is hands down the best WILD WEASEL we have in inventory right now. Nothing else can penetrate Chinese AD and knock out C2 sites. Except the Rafale - but your 36 Rafales can only do so much at the same time.
yeah we dont operate strategic bombers jaguars does exactly that in our force structure

NoobWannaLearn

to take opinions from social media seriously, one needs to give them time for dopamine rush to settle down.
Wasn't taking about sentiments was more talking about how you were right about 2 tenders with ASMII participating with 2 different vendors

Azaad

What's the combat range of the Jaguars ? Let me add to it - what's the combat range of the LCA - Mk-1a ? Which one of these has the endurance in the Northern sector since that's what we're discussing here, to be a Wild Weasel ?

None of the FAs in our inventory except the MKIs & the Rafales have it in them to be Wild Weasel that too after undergoing the Super Sukhoi program in case of the latter especially in the northern sector given the distances involved

The Jaguars are well past their fly by date even if they received their TF upgrade. Both the Jaguars & the LCA are strictly meant for our western borders.

Not to mention the degradation that has occurred in the Adour engines. That degradation has caused the IAF to place some serious limitations on the flight ceiling and performance parameters of the Jaguars. IAF wanted to upgrade the engines but Honeywell was charging an arm and foot and IAF said no. I think IAF has found an indigenous solution for that. More information is needed.

Smoothbore125mm

Saala BC kiske liye itna sab bana rahe !!!
Aur kaha hai hamare Armybvaale jo AC hall main bhasan dene vaale Durlabh Pandaa???..Last time Indiginous product induction pe essay suna raha tha.
bhai ji bureaucratic mamla hai time lage ga hopefully 400 tgs order iss saal final ho jayaga