DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

Blood+

RBU-6000 rockets are simple depth charges with a HEAT warhead and an anti-submarine fuse. Period

You said you'd use it against surface targets like USV...chalo thik hai maan liya
Then you said you'd use it against fast swarm boats; don't know how you'll do that with an unguided rocket, HEAT warhead and no impact fuze...par chalo ye bhi maan liya
Dude, maybe they modified the rockets with different types of warheads.
And now you added air-burst in that good ol Soviet rocket...kuch zyada nahi ho gaya Bhai Sahab!?
Creating an airburst round ain't that difficult.

Lonewarrior

I can bet they didn't.
It's primary role is ASuW and HEAT is the only way you can even dream of punching through a double hull of a submarine.
Creating an airburst round ain't that difficult
Except the fact that it is difficult and costly; a single laser based proximity fuze let alone a radar based will cost more than the whole rocket.

singhboy98

Always interesting to see the dialogue between brochure warriors and people who have actually operated the equipment in question. Some insights, like the one about rough sea endurance of a ship as a whole (meaning the weapon systems, surveillance equipment, recovery system etc.) is not found in brochures and is thus known to only two types of people: The ones who have actually seen and been inside Naval Warships (ergo the retired Navy Officers/Engineer types) or those who have a rich collection of books from such field. The latter category is impossible to come by on forums like DFI which is, frankly speaking, a domain of brochure warriors and teenagers prone to premature ejaculation. Also refreshing when some nuggets of wisdom can be gleaned from the writings of people from the former category here. Thank You.

Kuldeepm952

Creating an airburst round ain't that difficult.
Bhaiya ji know the difference between RBU-6000, RPK-8 and Udav-1 systems. Udav-1 being the one with all bell and whistles. While we operate RBU-6000 Which is basically lobbing a unguided depth charge and hoping that it hits something, though doubt that if you let a sub that near to you, you'll probably be dead anyway. The idea of cutting wires of a wired torpedo using a rbu-6000 is a pure fantasy bullshit, it's combat management system doesn't even have that function.

RBU-6000 rockets are simple depth charges with a HEAT warhead and an anti-submarine fuse. Period

You said you'd use it against surface targets like USV...chalo thik hai maan liya
Then you said you'd use it against fast swarm boats; don't know how you'll do that with an unguided rocket, HEAT warhead and no impact fuze...par chalo ye bhi maan liya
And now you added air-burst in that good ol Soviet rocket...kuch zyada nahi ho gaya Bhai Sahab!?
Dude you are arguing to a ex sailor of Indian Navy , he knows much more than what you may know in your entire life

Lonewarrior

Always interesting to see the dialogue between brochure warriors and people who have actually operated the equipment in question. Some insights, like the one about rough sea endurance of a ship as a whole (meaning the weapon systems, surveillance equipment, recovery system etc.) is not found in brochures and is thus known to only two types of people: The ones who have actually seen and been inside Naval Warships (ergo the retired Navy Officers/Engineer types) or those who have a rich collection of books from such field. The latter category is impossible to come by on forums like DFI which is, frankly speaking, a domain of brochure warriors and teenagers prone to premature ejaculation. Also refreshing when some nuggets of wisdom can be gleaned from the writings of people from the former category here. Thank You.
I hope you know how most of the advanced weapons we see or the technology those are staple in those weapons were developed by someone with absolutely zero experience with that and almost no knowledge about any books of that field.

Funny how you categorized people into three categories; one who served, one who read and other's simply teens. Lemme ask you a question.
Among those three categories, where would you put Hedy Lamarr? I hope you know her or the fact that why I'm mentioning her on Defence Forum India

I hope you know how most of the advanced weapons we see or the technology those are staple in those weapons were developed by someone with absolutely zero experience with that and almost no knowledge about any books of that field.
Damn it, really?? 😂😂😂 Dude I think you smoked too much today, so scientist don't even know what they are developing?? Should tell my professors who have someone from forces in their office weekly

Haha

Aerospace and defense is one of the most lucrative market in the world. The profit margins in this sector is only topped by some speciality niche pharmaceutical products (you may often hear news like some girl is sick and needs a 7 Cr injection); otherwise it's highest. How high?

Leave aside an advance ATGM like Kornet, let's talk about something low tech. The current price of Glock is something around $550. Can you guess the current manufacturing cost? About $100.

And as long as there'll be an oligopoly, the prices will be like this only.
Yes and no, whilst unit cost may be low as compared to the sales price, just like with pharma, priced into the sales price is not just the cost of manufacture but R&D which for these cutting edge and niche products is very high.

That said, the arms industry is notoriously corrupt and as you are dealing with govt procurement agencies purely and not a free market the scope for kickbacks and graft is unimaginable. The profit margins on civilian airliners is apparently pretty low because the market is incredibly price sensitive but defence buyers end up paying high prices because ultimately there’s little incentive to get a ‘good deal’ on either side.

All the import deals have gone through.

View attachment 199202
IA are the biggest jokers around (IAF is not far behind, IN slightly better), they’ve really made fools of the GoI in the last 10 years and undermined every single effort to procure IDDM equipment

ditching INSAS was symbolic of where these clowns are

they scuttled FICV, floated FRCV, ditto ATAGS (for ATHOS), FMBT etc. the intention is not to sign deals, as long as an RFI/requirement exists these guys can p!mp themselves out to 5-6 OEMs simultaneously

Lonewarrior

Dude I think you smoked too much today, so scientist don't even know what they are developing??
And I think you don't know many of these scientists, do you?

Sit down, take a deep breath, take yourself above this loosing or winning an argument over a random place call DFI...and start digging about scientists who did something in weapons, engineers who came up with revolutionary designs in defence or random self taught dude who made designs so advanced that they're being used in almost all firearms from the past century.

You'll realise that most of time they did something that they were not supposed to do in their field. Coz a "firearm scientist" will always remain in the notion that he knows everything about guns and can't do certain things because things like "no one has ever done that / the scientist at DRDO are more intelligent than him / or as you said, how can someone know even an iota more than an ex-sailor" will simply constrain him. But on the other an almost illiterate boy by the name of John M Browning will come up with an innovation, coz you know...he was illiterate.

And I think you don't know many of these scientists, do you?

Sit down, take a deep breath, take yourself above this loosing or winning an argument over a random place call DFI...and start digging about scientists who did something in weapons, engineers who came up with revolutionary designs in defence or random self taught dude who made designs so advanced that they're being used in almost all firearms from the past century.

You'll realise that most of time they did something that they were not supposed to do in their field. Coz a "firearm scientist" will always remain in the notion that he knows everything about guns and can't do certain things because things like "no one has ever done that / the scientist at DRDO are more intelligent than him / or as you said, how can someone know even an iota more than an ex-sailor" will simply constrain him. But on the other an almost illiterate boy by the name of John M Browning will come up with an innovation, coz you know...he was illiterate.
Don't go into defensive mode, it's okay whether you had a formal training or not but things are quite complex and investment required is too much for a self taught guy to come up with something which is unattainable by others, and btw that's called research and PhD is also kind of self taught.

My argument is that if someone has used a system first-hand then it may be possible that he know something which you don't, not everything related to defence is in public

Lonewarrior

My argument is that if someone has used a system first-hand then it may be possible that he know something which you don't, not everything related to defence is in public
So let's simply go back to where we started

What kind of warhead we use on our RBU-6000; HEAT or HE?
What kind of fuze we use on our RBU-6000; air-burst, impact or depth?
As of now have we ever fired a single Udav-1M from our warships?

You, some ex-sailor or CNS; I don't care who you're, answer this question with sources if you can.

arreh bhaisaab og RBU 6000 rockets were indeed depth charges with heat and asw fuse.

But those rockets are long phased out of service.
I have witnessed them being fired with air burst rounds, with smokescreen rounds, with surface detonating rounds to tackle wake homing torpedos.

Bhaiya ji know the difference between RBU-6000, RPK-8 and Udav-1 systems. Udav-1 being the one with all bell and whistles. While we operate RBU-6000 Which is basically lobbing a unguided depth charge and hoping that it hits something, though doubt that if you let a sub that near to you, you'll probably be dead anyway. The idea of cutting wires of a wired torpedo using a rbu-6000 is a pure fantasy bullshit, it's combat management system doesn't even have that function.

Bhaiya ji your fault is you assume we didnt innovate or adapt the RBU 6000 module for our purposes.

So let's simply go back to where we started

What kind of warhead we use on our RBU-6000; HEAT or HE?
What kind of fuze we use on our RBU-6000; air-burst, impact or depth?
As of now have we ever fired a single Udav-1M from our warships?

You, some ex-sailor or CNS; I don't care who you're, answer this question with sources if you can.
arreh bhaisaab og RBU 6000 rockets were indeed depth charges with heat and asw fuse.

But those rockets are long phased out of service.
I have witnessed them being fired with air burst rounds, with smokescreen rounds, with surface detonating rounds to tackle wake homing torpedos.
Added @binayak95 reply here so you can read

Then why the reduced numbers?
Because operating cost of each platform is nearly equal to a jet. Moreover in battle time, in North and West front, these would be of limited use. Its greatest use would be in IOR.
But a limited number is required as of now to make our service aware of real time usage of such a platform.

It's complete electric right, or hybrid?

If yes then how're the going to deal with the availability of petrol and portability of a jerrycan of a typical 4x4
Operating Temperature Range. The vehicle will be designed to operate in the temperature range of 00C to 450C.
(b) Gradeability : Not less than 150 in fully laden condition
So obviously its also not for patrolling duty. It would be primarily used in GD.