DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

Blood+

binayak95 , By the way, mate, there's something I'd like to ask, something that's been bugging me for quite a while. Why is it that our ships appear to be somewhat more lightly armed as compared to other nations' ships of comparable tonnage?? Thanks in advance.

Lonewarrior

binayak95 , By the way, mate, there's something I'd like to ask, something that's been bugging me for quite a while. Why is it that our ships appear to be somewhat more lightly armed as compared to other nations' ships of comparable tonnage?? Thanks in advance.
Sorry for not being binayak95

There are two answers to your question; one's a sweet lie and other's a bitter truth.

1. The answer you would find most of time = FoR fUtUrE iNtEgRaTiOn Of MiSsIleS.
This answer may seem like a feasible one but when you look closely it feels like a copium. If we're really so future oriented then why RBU-6000? Why the cost of 127mm gun seems so expensive for us? We already have BrahMos right? Then why not two more VLS of BrahMos?

2. The answer you would find only if you're lucky = we don't have money.
Making a bigger ship with more endurance is way way cheaper than having 16 more BrahMos onboard and its associated reloads. All of our ships are focused on countering Chinese surface vessels in the least possible cost. That's why the primary armament is 16 BrahMos; even more advanced ships with much more missiles rarely carry more then 8 AShMs (that too Harpoons). All other armaments are the bare minimum for self defence.

Raj Malhotra

So called L&T Light tank is just imported K 21 from South Korea. There is nothing even remotely indigenous about it. Every component is imported.

as far as pralay is concerned, no order is placed, no contract is signed and it is only a paper approval by DAC. For actual contract approval of CCS is required which may take anything from 1 to 20 years to never

rone

So called L&T Light tank is just imported K 21 from South Korea. There is nothing even remotely indigenous about it. Every component is imported.

as far as pralay is concerned, no order is placed, no contract is signed and it is only a paper approval by DAC. For actual contract approval of CCS is required which may take anything from 1 to 20 years to never
Like this

k21-105-medium-tank.jpg

NoobWannaLearn

Alpha made a video he explained all the confusion l&t is making 2 one with south korea and one with drdo

Sachinananda

No bro the Hull will be of drdo but engine and turret will be imported but anyway its mostly imported
I don't know how u r saying it's Korean?

Two, three reasons.

- makes for good future proofing with the new P15B/P18/P17A ships. And the Kamortas.
- IN places a premium on endurance and sea keeping above and beyond armament. Your armament wont do jackshit for you if your ship is pitching rolling in heavy monsoons. Old Russian Petyas could not even train their guns in bad weather, let alone use VDS or advanced sensors.
- lack of a Universal VLS. Right now our ships have two sometimes 3 different VLS systems. One for Air Defence, one for Anti Ship/Land Attack CMs. You cannot really scale up till you get that shit sorted out.

and bonus - paisa itna kharch kahe karna on something has a very limited shelf life, compared to the 3 + decade that a ship usually lasts.

Sorry for not being binayak95

There are two answers to your question; one's a sweet lie and other's a bitter truth.

1. The answer you would find most of time = FoR fUtUrE iNtEgRaTiOn Of MiSsIleS.
This answer may seem like a feasible one but when you look closely it feels like a copium. If we're really so future oriented then why RBU-6000? Why the cost of 127mm gun seems so expensive for us? We already have BrahMos right? Then why not two more VLS of BrahMos?

2. The answer you would find only if you're lucky = we don't have money.
Making a bigger ship with more endurance is way way cheaper than having 16 more BrahMos onboard and its associated reloads. All of our ships are focused on countering Chinese surface vessels in the least possible cost. That's why the primary armament is 16 BrahMos; even more advanced ships with much more missiles rarely carry more then 8 AShMs (that too Harpoons). All other armaments are the bare minimum for self defence.
RBU 6000 is a bloody genius system that we have adapted and changed for our own purposes. You show me any other system that allows you to engage incoming torpedoes, USVs, small swarming skiffs (Iranian style) and divers at that cost, and has the ability to quickly reload all 12 tubes rapidly.

In ADDITION, you can lay down MLRS style barrage from LSTs, you can lay down radar obscuring smokescreens, etc etc.

YES - we have rocket based smokescreen systems that can create an obtuse wall for incoming missiles.

Lonewarrior

You show me any other system that allows you to engage incoming torpedoes, USVs, small swarming skiffs (Iranian style) and divers at that cost, and has the ability to quickly reload all 12 tubes rapidly.
And just how are you going to engage an incoming torpedo with an unguided depth charge?
And as for USVs and swarming skiffs, if they are in the 5km range of RBU-6000, then it simply means that you've already done something very wrong.

And just how are you going to engage an incoming torpedo with an unguided depth charge?
And as for USVs and swarming skiffs, if they are in the 5km range of RBU-6000, then it simply means that you've already done something very wrong.
who said its unguided ?
Guided Rockets for RBU have exited for 8 years now.

Besides, Lynx U2 is great at aiming even unguided rockets at fast moving surface targets.

Lonewarrior

who said its unguided ?
Guided Rockets for RBU have exited for 8 years now.
Show me
Besides, Lynx U2 is great at aiming even unguided rockets at fast moving surface targets.
Arre Bhai, unguided and fast-moving don't come in a single sentence.

A boat is coming towards a ship, the Lynx-U2 detects it, predicts a point of interception and the RBU-6000 fires a 8 rocket salvo on that interception point...and suddenly that boat changes course; now what!?

And if RBU-6000 is bloody genius system, then why the heck the Russians themselves got rid of them in the Gorshkov Class!?

Show me

Arre Bhai, unguided and fast-moving don't come in a single sentence.

A boat is coming towards a ship, the Lynx-U2 detects it, predicts a point of interception and the RBU-6000 fires a 8 rocket salvo on that interception point...and suddenly that boat changes course; now what!?

And if RBU-6000 is bloody genius system, then why the heck the Russians themselves got rid of them in the Gorshkov Class!?
you dont fire 8 rocket salvoes in one go either 🤷

You fire 2 at a time, with the prediction accounting for lateral changes, and airburst mode. Has worked thus far against RCTs.
And coming to the Russians - fuck the Russians - they couldnt keep the Top Shield radar of the Moskva online for more than 25 mins at a time - unse kya hi seekhoge.

Blood+

you dont fire 8 rocket salvoes in one go either 🤷

You fire 2 at a time, with the prediction accounting for lateral changes, and airburst mode. Has worked thus far against RCTs.
And coming to the Russians - fuck the Russians - they couldnt keep the Top Shield radar of the Moskva online for more than 25 mins at a time - unse kya hi seekhoge.
Probably had more to do with those godawful terminals than the actual radar.

Lonewarrior

RBU-6000 rockets are simple depth charges with a HEAT warhead and an anti-submarine fuse. Period

You said you'd use it against surface targets like USV...chalo thik hai maan liya
Then you said you'd use it against fast swarm boats; don't know how you'll do that with an unguided rocket, HEAT warhead and no impact fuze...par chalo ye bhi maan liya
And now you added air-burst in that good ol Soviet rocket...kuch zyada nahi ho gaya Bhai Sahab!?