DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

SwordOfDarkness

Arreh bhai - youre talking of ML. Not true AI.
YOLO and pytorch based segmentation algorithm will run on your run of the mill gaming system,
AI wont. I am talking of chatGPT/LLM level coding. Literally 1000s of TBs of data, all fed to thousands of discrete GPUs that go over every byte, every pixel matrix and find patterns where human brains cant see shit.

That needs a tonne of money and space and powr.
See, those sort of byte by byte things are specifically not used precisely because it is very resource intensive. Generally we use CNNs to bring down the computational power required by a lot, i.e instead of doing it bit by bit (which wont hold much info anyway) we look at different small areas of the picture, and combine the indicators we get from them.
ChatGPT is a LLM, very different from surveillance systems. LLM has to have a general understanding of millions of concepts, so size balloons for the dataset. Naval surveillance systems have a more specialised job; Differentiating between different types of boats/ships etc could be done with ~50,000 pictures at a rough guess.
Also, AI is the broader concept of "machine making decisions by itself", but nowadays all of AI functions are performed using ML (Machine Learning, which covers all algorithms where the machine learns on its own vs being fed instructions), though AI also includes things like rules programmed by human experts (like the oldest chess engines).
For cost, one of the common GPUs for advanced research in AI is NVIDIA DGX-1, which costs ~80 lakhs. FOr general research much cheaper options are fine.

DumbPilot

See, those sort of byte by byte things are specifically not used precisely because it is very resource intensive. Generally we use CNNs to bring down the computational power required by a lot, i.e instead of doing it bit by bit (which wont hold much info anyway) we look at different small areas of the picture, and combine the indicators we get from them.
ChatGPT is a LLM, very different from surveillance systems. LLM has to have a general understanding of millions of concepts, so size balloons for the dataset. Naval surveillance systems have a more specialised job; Differentiating between different types of boats/ships etc could be done with ~50,000 pictures at a rough guess.
Also, AI is the broader concept of "machine making decisions by itself", but nowadays all of AI functions are performed using ML (Machine Learning, which covers all algorithms where the machine learns on its own vs being fed instructions), though AI also includes things like rules programmed by human experts (like the oldest chess engines).
For cost, one of the common GPUs for advanced research in AI is NVIDIA DGX-1, which costs ~80 lakhs. FOr general research much cheaper options are fine.
I suppose more than visual, they will also be fed electronic and thermal data if such sensors are onboard. And I am guessing if it is about sensor fusion, then they will also be fed data in a combined manner

I work in the industry. I run my code on a Threadripper with a Quadro 4000, and all i do is run forks of YOLOv8 on the RusUkr dataset that is available on Kaggle
(Thats all I can say here)

My lab and overall computing hardware cost the firm 67 lakhs or so.

I suppose more than visual, they will also be fed electronic and thermal data if such sensors are onboard. And I am guessing if it is about sensor fusion, then they will also be fed data in a combined manner
Aye. precisement!

Shuturmurg

All govt research labs have seniority+work
If you dont do work then promotion can be denied, but its rarely done. If you do exceptional work you can get promoted faster (though in practice this happens if you chat up your director, not actual work stuff.)
I know touching reservations is not politically viable, but govt. can at least reform govt. institutions to be more reform based and add some lay off criteria for underperformance.

Lonewarrior

T-90/72 can load manually also, but time taking process. They do this when auto loader fails.
The can operate the autoloader manually but the problem is they can't store CLGM in the first place, there isn't enough space.
You need two part ammunition for all T-64 to T-14...CLGM is based on Western (LAHAT) single piece ammo.

Lonewarrior

You need a very powerful system to simulate the dense neural network that is the foundation of AI - and then on top theres the physiscs.

SO you do need a pretty high end lab for AI R&D
Still...laptops
In case you really need more power then some Alienware type high-end gaming...laptops
You need the most powerful computational systems make a parallel system with thousands of...laptops

What more you need in such labs?
Mass spectrometer? Electron microscope? Particle accelerator?

So is there no way to bypass this parliamentary review committee? I assume it's a part of the process for checks and balances, but with what I understand from your sentence, it causes adverse effects
No. There is no way to bypass it.

Yes. It is for check and balance as it all involves people money. But problem is with the people who carry out these check and balance.

Still...laptops
In case you really need more power then some Alienware type high-end gaming...laptops
You need the most powerful computational systems make a parallel system with thousands of...laptops

What more you need in such labs?
Mass spectrometer? Electron microscope? Particle accelerator?
high end servers, with support for multiple virtualisation.
RAM in the order of 100-200 GB, GPU VRAM of ~48 GB or so. A 24 core CPU.
Ergo, laptops are fuckall for this kinda use.

TopWatcher

johnj

Just like Army a similar framework should be implemented for Drdo exempting them from reservation. Infact all strategic orgs like RAW, IB should be taken out of reservation. But this requires political will along with vision
Other issue is recruitment based on relative/trust and corruption/bribing job which reduce General category job, in future it also affect reservation category also
Why DRDO consider recruitment based on student innovation skills and ideas ??
Other issue is students with higher GATE score choose higher education and most of bright ones consider foreign jobs, brain drain is the major issue DRDO going to face in future