DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

blackleaf

2. Who guarantee that Israel did provide their best guidance technologies? There are too much US technologies get involved. Besides, there is no country will provide their best products in foreign cooperation.
Israel uses the missile as the primary SAM for its own navy so there is no reason for them to not use their best guidance technologies.

Lonewarrior

That means its AI module is impressive or is it imported?
Most probably it's impressive.
Coz first thing first no one's going to give a military grade AI skeleton to use; it's the new MTCR.
Second, coding is the only thing we Indians know in the name of R&D, so it is quite possible we developed our own. You don't need test facility, or labs, or simulators...just a laptop; so why not.

Lonewarrior

do we have a desi alternative to this
No, and neither are we to have have in near future.

This is a 120mm automatic mortar with direct fire capability. The maximum we currently have is a BMP-2 with manually operated 81mm mortar.

Edit : Just wanted to add how under-appreciated and under-utilized these platforms like NEMO, AMOS and Rak are.

These systems can wreck havoc in the kind of warfare we're seeing in Ukr-Rus conflict.
> It's fast enough to evade counter battery fire, can fire on move
> Can fire HE from 10km away, far beyond the reach of any defensive weapon. Even tanks
> Can fire cluster munition rounds to decimate trenches
> Can fire CLGMs like LAHAT and do tank hunter-killer mission

Basically a single vehicle that can do everything except air-defence in 10km range.

Usually there's nothing called a guidance "system" on a missile. It's a colloquial term used for G&C (Guidance & Control) System combining the Guidance Section and Control Actuation Section...so basically it covers pretty much everything you mentioned.
No, it doesn't.
The G&C is only giving the instructions of how to adjust the missiles posture, but it depends other sub-system to make it happen. If we make a simple example, the G&C may tell one of the fines to adjust 3 degree. But due to the technologies, the actual adjustment achieved maybe only 2.96 degree in Russia or China's missile while it could be 2.98 degree in western missiles in the same period of time. This kind of variance will happens in other sub-system too, all together will lead to the gap of accuracy.

The fact that US was forced to intervene and stop Israel from transferring us the technology of Arrow 3 guarantees that they're quite chill with providing cutting edge technology to pretty much everyone. Even after that they supplied us Green Pine because it was not covered by US agreement. Israel is the same country that sold Lavi to China after US killed it.
That was a myth created by Israel. The country sold Lavi to China wasn't Israel but US. Before Lavi, Israel had not experience of modern jet fighter development. The Lavi was developed by US and UK engineers from US/UK companies working in Israel. The Israel engineers have no clue of the designing details behind the blue print at all.
There was a story: when Chinese came to Israel to "learn" about Lavi, they asked many questions of aerodynamic design know-why, most of time, the Israel engineers couldn't answer, but they always came back with answers next morning.

Israel uses the missile as the primary SAM for its own navy so there is no reason for them to not use their best guidance technologies.
Well, it is pretty easy to replace a few chips in the system to make it to a whole different level.

Lonewarrior

No, it doesn't.
The G&C is only giving the instructions of how to adjust the missiles posture, but it depends other sub-system to make it happen. If we make a simple example, the G&C may tell one of the fines to adjust 3 degree. But due to the technologies, the actual adjustment achieved maybe only 2.96 degree in Russia or China's missile while it could be 2.98 degree in western missiles in the same period of time. This kind of variance will happens in other sub-system too, all together will lead to the gap of accuracy.
We have long past the era when there used to be such differences in subsystems of Eastern and Western equipment; things like USA is using Electromechanical Actuators and Soviet Union is still stuck with hydraulics...currently the competition is only in the actual seeker technology, not in other subsystems. They are on par

Even if we take the exact example you gave of 2.98° and 2.96° in case of an AAM then it'll be a deviation of 14m at 40km; that's a deviation of 0.035%...quite good when you factor in compensating technologies like proximity fuze and fragmentation warhead.
That was a myth created by Israel. The country sold Lavi to China wasn't Israel but US.
So US sold Israeli Lavi to China, fine.

Then suddenly what happened when it came to selling Phalcon radars to China? I guess that too would have been American/British technology as Israel had no experience with radars...then why did US veto the deal?
Before Lavi, Israel had not experience of modern jet fighter development.
What are you talking Mate!

1970s; produced modified version of Mirage as Nesher just using espionage
1970s; further improved it as Kfir
1980s; further developed it as Nammer
1980s; ultimately developed Lavi
The Lavi was developed by US and UK engineers from US/UK companies working in Israel.
US would help develop Israel a contemporary of their own F-16 only to realise later that it is indeed a competitor and then force Israel to cancel the whole program and buy F-16 instead...what kind of Marvel character arc is this!
There was a story: when Chinese came to Israel to "learn" about Lavi, they asked many questions of aerodynamic design know-why, most of time, the Israel engineers couldn't answer, but they always came back with answers next morning.
Nice "story"

Lonewarrior

Not sure how the missile will be loaded to fire for T90/72. Don't think it can fit in the auto loader.
Eggsactly
The CLGM is almost a meter in length and anything more than 0.7 meter in length must be "folded" in two parts to be able to fit in the T-72/90 autoloader. This is the sole reason Russians can never field an APFSDS as long as American ones.

I think some "defence expert" deduced it by himself that if it can be fired from 120mm then what's the issue with 125mm

Most probably it's impressive.
Coz first thing first no one's going to give a military grade AI skeleton to use; it's the new MTCR.
Second, coding is the only thing we Indians know in the name of R&D, so it is quite possible we developed our own. You don't need test facility, or labs, or simulators...just a laptop; so why not.
You need a very powerful system to simulate the dense neural network that is the foundation of AI - and then on top theres the physiscs.

SO you do need a pretty high end lab for AI R&D

SwordOfDarkness

An unconventional design and greedy contractors

USN has in recent years wasted a lot of money on questionable improvements. Things they improved in Gerald R Ford vs Nimits:

More weapons elevators
More excess power
Slightly better aircraft elevator placement

Disadvantage

The bigger weapons elevators are as of now still much slower than nimitz for rearming the ship.
One less elevator
Cost - 30-40% increase

Not sure how the missile will be loaded to fire for T90/72. Don't think it can fit in the auto loader.
T-90/72 can load manually also, but time taking process. They do this when auto loader fails.

SwordOfDarkness

You need a very powerful system to simulate the dense neural network that is the foundation of AI - and then on top theres the physiscs.

SO you do need a pretty high end lab for AI R&D
Nope. AI is hyped up quite a bit, but as long as you have a computer with ~16 gigabytes of RAM, you can run almost all of the common algorithms.
Even for specialised research the setup doesnt cost much compared to other sectors, maybe 20 lakhs.

Nope. AI is hyped up quite a bit, but as long as you have a computer with ~16 gigabytes of RAM, you can run almost all of the common algorithms.
Even for specialised research the setup doesnt cost much compared to other sectors, maybe 20 lakhs.
Arreh bhai - youre talking of ML. Not true AI.
YOLO and pytorch based segmentation algorithm will run on your run of the mill gaming system,
AI wont. I am talking of chatGPT/LLM level coding. Literally 1000s of TBs of data, all fed to thousands of discrete GPUs that go over every byte, every pixel matrix and find patterns where human brains cant see shit.

That needs a tonne of money and space and powr.