DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

One important aspect of this deal would be 320 specialized vehicles or FATs đź‘Ź
[QUOTE]The company will supply 450 units of Field Artillery Tractor 6x6 and other similar Super Stallion vehicles and 825 units of Ambulance 4x4s. [/QUOTE]

“The orders for Field Artillery Tractor 6x6 and Ambulance 4x4 are in keeping with the momentum witnessed recently in the area of upgradation of technology and resources by the defence forces. It also reaffirms our credentials as the largest defence mobility manufacturer that meets stringent requirements of the armed forces," said Vinod K. Dasari, managing director, Ashok Leyland.
https://www.livemint.com/Companies/...rders-worth-Rs800-crore-from-Indian-arme.html

karn

Tatas/Mahindras/L&T/Kalyani have already decided to produce IFV,APC, APV, tanks and working on prototypes. If this is not the time then when will they do any R&D by themselves?
True .. Even the DRDO backed WHAP has an imported engine .. probably the transmission is also imported.

rao.abhirav

While Norinco and rosboronexport and other companies laughing on you. Tell that to all the chinese and russian state corps that socialism is grossly inefficient. It's all about how things are handled.

Indian Private cos are not upto the tasks for many of the fields, only a few more invest, others are just screwdrivergiri, they can only be an addition while a balance has to been made to allow for economies of scale or otherwise just be happy with few overpriced gadgets.
Chinese Norinco is efficient because well they use slave labour and that's what communism does it pretends to free the workers but actually enslaves them. Rosboronexport is literally controlled by Oligarchs and so is whole of Russia effectively.

Private players are actually upto the task if government allows them to, for example Cochin shipyards and Mazagaon docks are govt. charter companies who own the monopoly over ship building and private players have to go thru a hell lotta red tape, regulations etc all that bureaucratic bullshit as L&T ceo said

Arpuster

Chinese Norinco is efficient because well they use slave labour and that's what communism does it pretends to free the workers but actually enslaves them. Rosboronexport is literally controlled by Oligarchs and so is whole of Russia effectively.

Private players are actually upto the task if government allows them to, for example Cochin shipyards and Mazagaon docks are govt. charter companies who own the monopoly over ship building and private players have to go thru a hell lotta red tape, regulations etc all that bureaucratic bullshit as L&T ceo said

That’s ridiculous from L&T, why can’t they win the 15% of open tenders up for grab. He said DPSUs dont work for Return on Investment is false. DPSUs also work on same principle of equity and debt on each projects where they have to pay back debt withinterests, earn sustainable profits and pay taxes. After that DPSUs even pay dividends to stakeholders just like any private company. They fact is that these private companies mostly use imported sub systems and spend a lot on packaging rather than quality. Hence they loose out on tenders.

SwordOfDarkness

Isn't the age of towed howitzers essentially over due to drone warfare ? Shouldn't we invest more in SPHs or ATAGS truck-mounted version ?
Not really, the number of artillery lost to loitering munitions is small in the current war. I would guess a lot more lost to counter battery fire.

You might get that impression, because from drone strikes you have nice clear footage that is useful for propaganda, from counter battery fire its just a crew firing shells into sky.

Also, anti drone systems are likely to become more common now after this war. Plus camouflage.

SwordOfDarkness

So from your answer :
1. This boxy submarine design will be cheaper and easier to make
2. It'll be faster because of lesser water resistant
Yeah, something people forget is that this isnt a hunter killer, its job is to go out into the middle of nowhere, stay deep, and do nothing. It wont be near ships, any bases, etc..... Will be like trying to find a needle in haystack. You wont see any such bulges on our attack submarines.

Kuldeepm952

Yeah, something people forget is that this isnt a hunter killer, its job is to go out into the middle of nowhere, stay deep, and do nothing. It wont be near ships, any bases, etc..... Will be like trying to find a needle in haystack. You wont see any such bulges on our attack submarines.
I believe in our case it's simply the issue of not having facilities to manufacture a sub with a greater diameter hull, SSBNs are one of the largest naval vessels with a lot of displacement even surpassing the 10,000 tons marks surfaced and we don't have many facilities for such a big vessel.
As we upgrade our naval building facilities, maybe then we can achieve a non humpback SSBN. And afaik today's SSBN have truly reached a remarkable level of quietness compared to that in the cold war or even 90s

All in all our SSBN programme seems to going great at a steady pace. Now only if GOI can have the balls to launch the programme for making ICBMs enveloping almost whole earth, but perhaps this is not the time politically.

Kuldeepm952

A quick question I always wanted to ask; and saw nobody asking.

See the position of EO on IMRH. Now see the same on ALH and LCH.

Won't this style of mounting create a quite large "blind zone" compared to other contemporaries!?
Maybe or maybe not that important according to mission, depending on AoA of heli during hover and cruise. What's more curious is that even bade bade aviation like Leonardo is making the same design choice for their new AW 249. Gunner EO is the above one

And if user really want he can insist on a blk2 variant with different placement of EO like these
images - 2023-03-02T160001.606.jpeg

images - 2023-03-02T155941.435.jpeg

Lonewarrior

So private companies want to build tanks, jets and what not but cannot even invest in basic test facilities to develop indigenous products. And people here want DRDO/DPSUs to be privatised and project private companies to be saviour. LoL.
In class 12th commerce there's a chapter called Time Value of Money. In that you'll find a topic by the name Net Present Value. Basically we take an one time cash outflow and compare that to the cash inflows it'll generate in coming years.

As of now not a single Indian company hasn't developed even a single product that they can sell anywhere in the world.
US F-16s is used by more than 20 countries, F-35 once criticized for cost is getting inducted in more and more nation, T-90 is used by more than 10 countries...these is a luxury that unfortunately we don't have.

So when the maximum you can get is a puny order of some 200-300 unit then why invest do much on R&D?

SwordOfDarkness

A quick question I always wanted to ask; and saw nobody asking.

See the position of EO on IMRH. Now see the same on ALH and LCH.

Won't this style of mounting create a quite large "blind zone" compared to other contemporaries!?
I had initially thought about it, but looking at diagrams its clear that the EO pod "blind spots" are well out of boresight of its armament anyway, so doesnt matter much.

Kuldeepm952

You told govt controlled orgs don't work. I showed you they do and rather efficiently at that, the type of products they produce are some of the best, some even better like S400 than western counterparts and ofcourse cheaper.
And then you run away with usual semanticsđź‘Źđź‘Ź.

You do understand that they participate in a tender and if they lose they lose, it's their problem, L&T bhaiya crying about this problem that problem, same for PSUs for clearances, even HAL was having them for so long. He is just salty about losing some contracts. I wonder why these guys don't go crazy over free ka maal from Drdo, They should create an example and have the balls to say that they won't accept Zorawar tank design and other tech and They will make a new one fully or atleast 3/4 IDDM and establish test facilities for that and then compete with gov org for the tender. It's not easy buddy, the amount of help being given to these guys is well given without any super profit motive from government.
Reminds me of the recent mod kit for dragunov given to a Indian company which and all thos indian cos whose products are literal screwdrivergiri of even chinese systems. Atleast have some shame to offer chinese UAVs to Indian armed forces, but money above all.

Norinco use slave labour for a highly precise and technical work, while Indian privates cos are saints unlike Russian oligarchs who strive only for profit and Indian ones are not. Anyway how the fuck oligarch came into a state corp of Russia. Did you ever heard of Oligarch other than
Western media. How did you came to that conclusion on yourself I am interested, pls tell me.

And I though we Indians were atleast self aware with reality. How does one even believe that bullshit without a doubt. Too much western cocaine have you blew there my friend, I don't like China but slave labour for defense, to even believe that yeah you are being dumb like those Americans videos asking on street about simple questions.

How does that even make economical sense that just by using SLaVE LaBOur, they can bring the cost so down while making a good product. A Norinco arty shell will kill as effectively as Expensive Rheinmatall or Nexter round.

Gotta give it to you buddy, was not expecting this shit brain-dead answer.

1677755081618.png

Fuck it, I am Outta here for a while, this slave labour answer did so much to me, all the power to Chinese super tech slave labour, nibbars be making artillery guns with no higher education and 7 days training period. Time to leave India, can't win against China with their super slave Labour. My advice to every Indian when next war happens, if you see a slave labour while you are doing your conscription, just gtfo or......
1677755592891.png

Arpuster

In class 12th commerce there's a chapter called Time Value of Money. In that you'll find a topic by the name Net Present Value. Basically we take an one time cash outflow and compare that to the cash inflows it'll generate in coming years.

As of now not a single Indian company hasn't developed even a single product that they can sell anywhere in the world.
US F-16s is used by more than 20 countries, F-35 once criticized for cost is getting inducted in more and more nation, T-90 is used by more than 10 countries...these is a luxury that unfortunately we don't have.

So when the maximum you can get is a puny order of some 200-300 unit then why invest do much on R&D?
NPVs, ROEs, IRR, DPR, approvals etc, from concept to end, all these stuff I deal daily and practically. R&D based investment is done not by looking at cost of one single project but as part of technological upgradation of your business or diversification or as a part of sustainable development of business. For automobile companies this typ of R&D will help not only for a particular defence project but for overall business. LM has skunk works not for just F-16 or F-35 but for every project they will get in the business. Even before any tenders for new fighter development they keep doing R&D to keep themselves prepared.

rao.abhirav

You told govt controlled orgs don't work. I showed you they do and rather efficiently at that, the type of products they produce are some of the best, some even better like S400 than western counterparts and ofcourse cheaper.
And then you run away with usual semanticsđź‘Źđź‘Ź.

You do understand that they participate in a tender and if they lose they lose, it's their problem, L&T bhaiya crying about this problem that problem, same for PSUs for clearances, even HAL was having them for so long. He is just salty about losing some contracts. I wonder why these guys don't go crazy over free ka maal from Drdo, They should create an example and have the balls to say that they won't accept Zorawar tank design and other tech and They will make a new one fully or atleast 3/4 IDDM and establish test facilities for that and then compete with gov org for the tender. It's not easy buddy, the amount of help being given to these guys is well given without any super profit motive from government.
Reminds me of the recent mod kit for dragunov given to a Indian company which and all thos indian cos whose products are literal screwdrivergiri of even chinese systems. Atleast have some shame to offer chinese UAVs to Indian armed forces, but money above all.

Norinco use slave labour for a highly precise and technical work, while Indian privates cos are saints unlike Russian oligarchs who strive only for profit and Indian ones are not. Anyway how the fuck oligarch came into a state corp of Russia. Did you ever heard of Oligarch other than
Western media. How did you came to that conclusion on yourself I am interested, pls tell me.

And I though we Indians were atleast self aware with reality. How does one even believe that bullshit without a doubt. Too much western cocaine have you blew there my friend, I don't like China but slave labour for defense, to even believe that yeah you are being dumb like those Americans videos asking on street about simple questions.

How does that even make economical sense that just by using SLaVE LaBOur, they can bring the cost so down while making a good product. A Norinco arty shell will kill as effectively as Expensive Rheinmatall or Nexter round.

Gotta give it to you buddy, was not expecting this shit brain-dead answer.

View attachment 195447

Fuck it, I am Outta here for a while, this slave labour answer did so much to me, all the power to Chinese super tech slave labour, nibbars be making artillery guns with no higher education and 7 days training period. Time to leave India, can't win against China with their super slave Labour. My advice to every Indian when next war happens, if you see a slave labour while you are doing your conscription, just gtfo or......
View attachment 195449
Uhh yeah the epitome of Indian Defense PSUs the great Arjun tank is so efficient, the army is lying on their faces it definitely does not have fatal flaws which absolutely do not render it a heating metal box. You mofo don't understand basic economics, Govt. PSUs which are govt funded and controlled use government money to buy Government tenders and the Quotations are definitely not leaked to them before by their brethren. Govt. companies buying Govt tenders with Govt money to produce tanks like Arjun is the biggest fuckin scam.

You do not seem to understand that India is a control freak state defense sector is highly regulated and the bureaucracy which is running this is highly corrupt at every stage there is bribing and at last Private companies are for profit they dun not involve if they gotta loose all their profits on these greedy wolves. Same happened with Anil ambani he was robbed by INC mofo's with "party donations"

If something is cheap doesn't mean it is good, if that thing breaks down before reaching the battle field it's of no damn use.

If Indian PSUs were efficient there was NO BLOODY NEED for India to acquire 85% of defense equipments by export

now you go and read this
1677758931906.png

Arpuster

Uhh yeah the epitome of Indian Defense PSUs the great Arjun tank is so efficient, the army is lying on their faces it definitely does not have fatal flaws which absolutely do not render it a heating metal box. You mofo don't understand basic economics, Govt. PSUs which are govt funded and controlled use government money to buy Government tenders and the Quotations are definitely not leaked to them before by their brethren. Govt. companies buying Govt tenders with Govt money to produce tanks like Arjun is the biggest fuckin scam.

You do not seem to understand that India is a control freak state defense sector is highly regulated and the bureaucracy which is running this is highly corrupt at every stage there is bribing and at last Private companies are for profit they dun not involve if they gotta loose all their profits on these greedy wolves. Same happened with Anil ambani he was robbed by INC mofo's with "party donations"

If something is cheap doesn't mean it is good, if that thing breaks down before reaching the battle field it's of no damn use.

If Indian PSUs were efficient there was NO BLOODY NEED for India to acquire 85% of defense equipments by export

now you go and read this
View attachment 195464
You dont know how PSUs work. Just like any private company PSUs use their own equity and debts from banks. They pay back the debts with interest and also produce profits. They also pay all the taxes. From their profits they pay dividends to Govt. and other shareholders. On top of that they have to spend hard earned money on various welfare schemes of Govt. Further, they pay taxes honestly.
If private industries of our country are that efficient than why are we having so big trade deficit with China??