DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

jik60

Indian Army to buy 307 ATAGS howitzers for deployment along China, Pak border
Read more At:
One important aspect of this deal would be 320 specialized vehicles or FATs 👏

Gyyan

Order for Navy, order for Air Force and more importantly ATAGS when it was almost on the verge of getting killed.

Holi waali bhaang hafte bhar pehle hi MoD pahunch gayi kya!?
Paisa khatam ho rha hai bhai Russia nahi bhej sake hm paisa to apne ghar ant me istemal karna pada

Lonewarrior

one line in the RFP
Is that a joke to you?
You have no idea how many firms (especially foreign one) have PTSDs of such one lines in RFP.

RFP for a 9mm SMG
"...the name of the company must start with B"

This is how lethal of a weapon such one lines can be.

karn

Is that a joke to you?
You have no idea how many firms (especially foreign one) have PTSDs of such one lines in RFP.

RFP for a 9mm SMG

Whatever .. I think it was @Chinmoy that explained with great patience yet the randi rona and conspiracy theories never stopped.

BlackViking

Is that a joke to you?

RFP for a 9mm SMG

IA ditched an indigenous AKM dust cover for an imported one because apparently they wanted 17-slots picatinny and the indigenous one had 16. As if the manufacturer couldn't have added one more slot when they are making everything in-house.🙄

Lonewarrior

IA ditched an indigenous AKM dust cover for an imported one because apparently they wanted 17-slots picatinny and the indigenous one had 16. As if the manufacturer couldn't have added one more slot when they are making everything in-house.🙄
🤦‍♂️
B*walo ke paas dhang ka sight to hai nahi mount krne ke liye, 17 slot chahiye

A quick question I always wanted to ask; and saw nobody asking.

See the position of EO on IMRH. Now see the same on ALH and LCH.

Won't this style of mounting create a quite large "blind zone" compared to other contemporaries!?
These are not WW2 bombers dropping gravity bombs, they don't have to look straight down. Enough forward/downward visibility as per required need.

Lonewarrior

Isn't the age of towed howitzers essentially over due to drone warfare ? Shouldn't we invest more in SPHs or ATAGS truck-mounted version ?
Things have changed so much that systems like Caeser (obviously our MGS too) which once was considered to be exponentially fast compared to towed artillery have become slow. They need to park, dismount crew, then they'll load.

The future belongs to platforms like Archer, DANA and RCH which can shoot and scoot in mere seconds.

Remember this!?
we as Indians never do radical innovation. We have always done incremental innovation, and will keep doing that only.
We don't learn from other's mistakes