DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

karn

Let's do it ourselves. Why should we depend anyone else here? Don't Americans certify their own planes? Don't Europeans certify their own planes?
Yes and only those 2 do no one else . There are 0 engineers / specialists that will "certify" anything on a machine designed by another OEM. Basically no one is willing to give a certification and then have something catastrophic happen.

Dark Sorrow

Please daddy yankee .. Let us buy oil and nuke subs/reactors from Russia and don't deny us civil tech and investments.
That would do it.
More like give us permanent seat on UNSC table with veto powers.

While the Chinese produce cheap knock offs and cancel the agreement at will, we on the other hand have to ask permission from Russians to upgrade Radar, electronics and other stuff. Why can't we produce our own spare parts? It can't be that harder than producing an engine.
Well, the fact is that it is much harder than producing an engine.
Building an indigenous engine is a issue of technologies, but building a production line of your own for a foreign designed jet is about technologies, industrial standard, industrial investments, etc, etc.
Chinese can do that is because they have spent 20 years to decode every single part of every Soviet industrial departments they imported in 1950s. They were very familiar with Soviet industrial procedure and standard. And don't forget, that was 1990s, plenty of Russian technicians (not those top group scientists) were looking for jobs, quite of them ended up in China.
India, on the other hand, has none of these.

Well, the fact is that it is much harder than producing an engine.
Building an indigenous engine is a issue of technologies, but building a production line of your own for a foreign designed jet is about technologies, industrial standard, industrial investments, etc, etc.
Chinese can do that is because they have spent 20 years to decode every single part of every Soviet industrial departments they imported in 1950s. They were very familiar with Soviet industrial procedure and standard. And don't forget, that was 1990s, plenty of Russian technicians (not those top group scientists) were looking for jobs, quite of them ended up in China.
India, on the other hand, has none of these.
But look at the bright side, we are getting the know why in addition to the know how. I do not think China has reached the know why stage yet.

Do Indian armed forces use any kind of MRE ration? Last I heard, we were still using stoves and all to heat/cook ready-made foods, like pre-prepared rotis and curries.

All the modern armies are now using the MRE system for soldiers, especially for special forces who have to operate behind enemy lines, they won't have any luxury of setting up field kitchen to cook food.
https://www.drdo.gov.in/survival-ration

This might interest you.

View attachment 154624
View attachment 154625View attachment 154626View attachment 154627
As per my relative who had served a while back, he’s only seen MREs in Siachen and High Altitude regions when he was in service, but is more commonly available these days. But no way near the amount used by other nations.
Yeah.
MRE ration is more prevalent in higher altitudes then the lower ones. Even in Siachen base camp, you would not get MRE. Not sure whether we are getting them on ration heaters packs or not. Last time I tasted them, they are mostly canned ones.

The Mutton Rogan Josh was good with Contessa....... 😉

What is this for I wonder.. it would be a great weapon if some one was fighting a defensive war in Indonesia or the Philippines or kutch for that matter 🤔
AUV-S (Sensor). Good for ICG and hydrographic study.

AUV-N (Navigation). This is something much more interesting.

If the numbers are correct (13km lock-on for 5m2), then it is not adequate. AMRAAMs (C-version) has lock on range of 25km for fighter sized target (~5m2).
Which means your RWR would kick in when AMRAAM is still 25km away from you opposed to 13 km of Astra.

Javelin_Sam

But this has become a strategic issue for GoI, so nothing can be said with certainty.

In 2008, during Indo-US nuclear deal, our airlines were favoring Airbus but US got India to buy aircraft from Boeing.

From what I hear American jets have serious traction with our government and bureaucracy.
No F-15s are coming. The reason is exactly the one you said - "Strategic". Neither the IAF nor Doval and SJ is dumb enough to replace Su-30s with 'American' F-15s. And IAF was never interested in a Russian-upgraded Su-30. That's one of the reason why IAF is still going slow on it. The Uttam mk1 and mk2 is already ahead of Israeli Elta 2051 whose technology was transferred to us. The Russians never had a decent AESA that could rival the decade old 2051. They don't have money also to develop a new AESA, test it certify it and field it.(Don't talk to me about the super dooper PAK-FA) So throwing around jargon like Passive-PESA. India is also not interested in a new engine for Su-30. Last month IAF initiated a project along with DRDO and a Private player to develop a long range multicolor IRST+Sensor suit for Su-30. A larger version of Uttam for Su-30 will also come. The Universal pylon mounted launcher to field the wide range of desi weapons under development is also going on.
All in all the Su-30 upgrade will be an indigineous one carried out by HAL, DRDO and pvt sector. IAF and GoI will milk the Ukraine conflict to shaft Russian out of this.

SwordOfDarkness

Which means your RWR would kick in when AMRAAM is still 25km away from you opposed to 13 km of Astra.
Wont RWR kick off anyway when you get locked by the launch platform? Or are you talking about cases where launch is from IRST/EOTS?

RF seeker is being used in production version.
View attachment 154865
Yes. And because of it, the initial batch of 200 odd missiles has been ordered 2 years after the LSP batch of 50 missiles. Even these 200 odd missile delivery is not completed till date and we know why. But members here have to just keep on blaming forces and babus.

Wont RWR kick off anyway when you get locked by the launch platform? Or are you talking about cases where launch is from IRST/EOTS?
The locking by launch platform is not continuous. Its for a second or two during which the target position is passed on to FCS and missile and missile is launched. After that the lock or track gets disengaged and scan mode comes into play. During this scan duration, the approximate location of target is passed on to the missile using mid course guidance.
RWR gets kicked on only when it gets hit by track mode of RADAR.

Kuldeepm952

Recently AWEIL has launched rfi for drone launched munitions but isn't that very shameful of them, these guys are literally floating rfi so that they can screw assemble others designed products, isn't it their job too. At this point I am damn sure that these guys don't even have an ounce of shame left in them. Nothing of self R&D capability is heard by them?? I guess OFB is good only for screw driving.
DRDO should seriously stop serving everything readymade on platter to any org whether it's dpsu or private cos if they don't innovate anything of their own.

Tuco

Recently AWEIL has launched rfi for drone launched munitions but isn't that very shameful of them, these guys are literally floating rfi so that they can screw assemble others designed products, isn't it their job too. At this point I am damn sure that these guys don't even have an ounce of shame left in them. Nothing of self R&D capability is heard by them?? I guess OFB is good only for screw driving.
DRDO should seriously stop serving everything readymade on platter to any org whether it's dpsu or private cos if they don't innovate anything of their own.
Solar industry had their munitions tested couple of months back. But why would they provide the design to AWEIL when they can manufacture it themselves efficiently? May be some startup without much manufacturing experience may do this I suppose, but still its laughable that they can't R&D the basic stuff when they have been manufacturing munitions for so so long.