DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

johnj

I think it says entire super sukhoi upgrade has been shelved
They didn't mention Russian or indigenous ones
All I understood super sukhoi is on backburner i.e iaf won't upgrade su-30 mki and it's off the table
There no super sukhoi pgrm, its a idea of russia, which gets automatically cancelled when goi cancelled fgfa pgrm.
Su 30 mki overhaul and upgrade already going on, but upgrade is miniour one like adding brahmos, astra, mica ir etc.
May be- the russians can't support india in upgrading su30 with desi ew and fcr due to ongoing war becz sukhoi is busy with russian af, but not a issue becz most of the tech still underdevelopment.

johnj

Russkies wanted to sell us Irbis-E radars and Khibiny ECM modules. While we were only interested in the AL-41 engines.
IAF not interested in any of those including al-41. Khibiny ECM modules not bad, but local ones were favoured by iaf, iaf wanted 5th gen engine and fcr under jv and rejected both su35 systems and sm2 and favouring indigenous ones.

johnj

bruh, just think before you write.

iaf has insanely big su30 fleet and our economy is not big which can allow us to replace fleet of su 30 with 5th gen or even 4.5 gen rafale :dude:.
IAF already having requirement of 450 plus jets, to fill the gap produced by retired jets and retiring jets in this decade and busy with filling the gap.

karn

well that will be aa bail mujhe maar decision :dude:
If it happens then this is probably a bribe to the americans .Either way there is no way Rafale will win both IAF and IN requirements. One of those will be a sweetner to the americans.

THESIS THORON

If it happens then this is probably a bribe to the americans .Either way there is no way Rafale will win both IAF and IN requirements. One of those will be a sweetner to the americans.
ig, it would be better if we had acquired apaches or mq9b or would have funded some research so that we can also have some share :notsure:

India Super Power

bruh, just think before you write.

iaf has insanely big su30 fleet and our economy is not big which can allow us to replace fleet of su 30 with 5th gen or even 4.5 gen rafale :dude:.
That's what article says
It didn't specify Russian or Indian upgrade but said upgrade is on backburner due to current scenario
It clearly says upgradation is delayed

johnj

Getting a feeling that F15s are coming ...
after cancelling desi jets ?
IAF always choose rafale, gripen, and eft over usa jets, f15 can only replace mki not medium or light category. If India become permanent member of un and nsg with nuclear power then maybe becz it cost 25 to 40 billion $.

johnj

In that case, SH, becz low cost, similar engine with teddy, can use harpoon, easy work with p8, mh 60 and iac2 will use usa tech == saves money.
iaf goes with rafale == saves money.
Question is what usa brings to table ? NSG or UN permanent membership or blind eye to buy multi billion new Russian equipment.

Dark Sorrow

after cancelling desi jets ?
IAF always choose rafale, gripen, and eft over usa jets, f15 can only replace mki not medium or light category. If India become permanent member of un and nsg with nuclear power then maybe becz it cost 25 to 40 billion $.
But this has become a strategic issue for GoI, so nothing can be said with certainty.

In 2008, during Indo-US nuclear deal, our airlines were favoring Airbus but US got India to buy aircraft from Boeing.

From what I hear American jets have serious traction with our government and bureaucracy.

Dark Sorrow

I think it says entire super sukhoi upgrade has been shelved
They didn't mention Russian or indigenous ones
All I understood super sukhoi is on backburner i.e iaf won't upgrade su-30 mki and it's off the table
IAF has no confidence in HAL to provide indigenous upgrades.
Russian military purchase is currently kryptonite.

Question remains how many hours are still left on MKI's air-frame.

johnj

But this has become a strategic issue for GoI, so nothing can be said with certainty.

In 2008, during Indo-US nuclear deal, our airlines were favoring Airbus but US got India to buy aircraft from Boeing.

From what I hear American jets have serious traction with our government and bureaucracy.
Indo-US nuclear deal is not a small thing but a big one and removing sanctions that is huge, that's why GOI brought c130, p8, m777 etc plus lot of promises from both side.

Dark Sorrow

Indo-US nuclear deal is not a small thing but a big one and removing sanctions that is huge, that's why GOI brought c130, p8, m777 etc plus lot of promises from both side.
Question remains what is on the table now.

Concard

While the Chinese produce cheap knock offs and cancel the agreement at will, we on the other hand have to ask permission from Russians to upgrade Radar, electronics and other stuff. Why can't we produce our own spare parts? It can't be that harder than producing an engine. We are not going to buy any Russian jets anyway in future. We should upgrade Su-30MKI with our own subsystems. Russians will milk us. French milked us with $3 billion for upgrading 50 Mirage-2000's. And here we are looking at upgrading 270 jets. Good luck doing it at a reasonable cost when Russians are looking for hard currency.

karn

While the Chinese produce cheap knock offs and cancel the agreement at will, we on the other hand have to ask permission from Russians to upgrade Radar, electronics and other stuff. Why can't we produce our own spare parts? It can't be that harder than producing an engine. We are not going to buy any Russian jets anyway in future. We should upgrade Su-30MKI with our own subsystems. Russians will milk us. French milked us with $3 billion for upgrading 50 Mirage-2000's. And here we are looking at upgrading 270 jets. Good luck doing it at a reasonable cost when Russians are looking for hard currency.
We can build everything .. who is going to certify it is the question.

Concard

We can build everything .. who is going to certify it is the question.
Let's do it ourselves. Why should we depend anyone else here? Don't Americans certify their own planes? Don't Europeans certify their own planes?