DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

Arjun Mk1A

F**k. Don't want to demean the armed forces. But this is the downfall for us. No support to indigenous weapons, asking ridiculous products where every time results in single vendor situation, so rinse and repeat the RFI for next decade.

List of Indigenous weapons that is going to dustbin since Army will ask for unicorns.
1. JVPC
2.TriCa
3.TAR
4.Tata Kestrel
5.ATAGS
6.Mobile ULH
7.Bharat 52 Towed Gun
8.Mountain Artillery from BF
9.Nag
10. MPATGM
11.QRSAM
12.LCH
13.LUH (We will heard chetak and cheetah crashing but still LUH will not be ordered)
14.ASMI - Trials will start and go on eternity
15.Pinaka -(Low orders)
16.QRSAM - We will field vintage systems happily.
17. Scopes - Tonbo will have high chance to supply scopes to western countries compared to us.
18.Arjun MK1A - Will order 100 every time and it will take eons to restart the supply chain.
19. Wheeled artillery - Lol who gives the heck about this.
20. DMR - At max SSS defense will upgrade some AK-47. Anyway no order will be placed.
21. IFV - Go with RFI and rinse and repeat for next decade
22.F-INSAS - Will go up to next decade but still nothing will come
23. Theatre commands - God know when we are going to complete that thing.
24. ASLV , LSV - Gypsy goes burr. We will order some piece meal order while PLA will order thousands of Dongfeng with ATGM.
25.Rustom -1 . Haha, Turkey start with shitty drones to TB2 now. We will still think about some predator stuff.

More frustration is from MOD. It takes years to sign a deal, there is so much clearance to purchase. Why can't we simplify this in a single stage clearance window. Also the time take to complete trials is the most ridiculous thing we are seeing. No transparency in testing. The MOD babus should ask this things to ARMY to bring standards in testing but at max they will give some kadi ninda.

At top of the cherry the army will save the capital budget by not purchasing anything. If war comes in coming months whether we will win or not, But a sizable amount of our Jawan's may lose their lives due to lethargy of our Army top commands. But every week our top brass will give some gyaan on indigenous stuff, Aatmanirbhar bharat bullshit etc.

Rant over.

Hope this recent Russian- Ukraine finally bring some reality check to India.

Arjun Mk1A

In the full parliamentary report it is also mentioned that one reason for declining fighter jet strength is because Tejas is not delivered at fast enough rate. So, I think Airforce is asking for mmrca 2.0
MMRCA-2.0 is nothing but Jumla by IAF. It will take at least 1-2 years to complete the so called trials. Then it will take another 1-2 years to confirm the deal. Then the OEM will take solid 3 years to start delivery of the product to IAF. So overall max time - 2+2+3 = 7 Years, We are in 2022 lets say MMRCA start in 2023 it will be solid to say the 1st plane will come in 2030. Rather spending money and time , We can simply give how much squadron of MWF is required ( Will replace Jaguar, Mirage and Mig 29 - 240 planes) - 300 aircrafts will do some justice. We can setup an SPV now with private players so at least when MWF when officially inducted during 2026 we can build them faster to augment the depletion.

Thinking about additional Rafale - Dassault order book is currently full with multiple countries before us, same result we will get them only on 2nd half of the decade.

Ajax01

SUPERPOWER

F**k. Don't want to demean the armed forces. But this is the downfall for us. No support to indigenous weapons, asking ridiculous products where every time results in single vendor situation, so rinse and repeat the RFI for next decade.

List of Indigenous weapons that is going to dustbin since Army will ask for unicorns.
1. JVPC
2.TriCa
3.TAR
4.Tata Kestrel
5.ATAGS
6.Mobile ULH
7.Bharat 52 Towed Gun
8.Mountain Artillery from BF
9.Nag
10. MPATGM
11.QRSAM
12.LCH
13.LUH (We will heard chetak and cheetah crashing but still LUH will not be ordered)
14.ASMI - Trials will start and go on eternity
15.Pinaka -(Low orders)
16.QRSAM - We will field vintage systems happily.
17. Scopes - Tonbo will have high chance to supply scopes to western countries compared to us.
18.Arjun MK1A - Will order 100 every time and it will take eons to restart the supply chain.
19. Wheeled artillery - Lol who gives the heck about this.
20. DMR - At max SSS defense will upgrade some AK-47. Anyway no order will be placed.
21. IFV - Go with RFI and rinse and repeat for next decade
22.F-INSAS - Will go up to next decade but still nothing will come
23. Theatre commands - God know when we are going to complete that thing.
24. ASLV , LSV - Gypsy goes burr. We will order some piece meal order while PLA will order thousands of Dongfeng with ATGM.
25.Rustom -1 . Haha, Turkey start with shitty drones to TB2 now. We will still think about some predator stuff.

More frustration is from MOD. It takes years to sign a deal, there is so much clearance to purchase. Why can't we simplify this in a single stage clearance window. Also the time take to complete trials is the most ridiculous thing we are seeing. No transparency in testing. The MOD babus should ask this things to ARMY to bring standards in testing but at max they will give some kadi ninda.

At top of the cherry the army will save the capital budget by not purchasing anything. If war comes in coming months whether we will win or not, But a sizable amount of our Jawan's may lose their lives due to lethargy of our Army top commands. But every week our top brass will give some gyaan on indigenous stuff, Aatmanirbhar bharat bullshit etc.

Rant over.

Hope this recent Russian- Ukraine finally bring some reality check to India.
Pura indian defence Jumlabaaji hai...Make 1 Make 2 private industry ka lauda lasson daalenge...atmnirbhar bharat....and atlast Phoren maal and gaal....Its big nexus more of a cartel involving MOD babus, Indian Genrols, DRDO highpower Scientists and Chandigarh Lobby...

Shuturmurg

MMRCA-2.0 is nothing but Jumla by IAF. It will take at least 1-2 years to complete the so called trials. Then it will take another 1-2 years to confirm the deal. Then the OEM will take solid 3 years to start delivery of the product to IAF. So overall max time - 2+2+3 = 7 Years, We are in 2022 lets say MMRCA start in 2023 it will be solid to say the 1st plane will come in 2030. Rather spending money and time , We can simply give how much squadron of MWF is required ( Will replace Jaguar, Mirage and Mig 29 - 240 planes) - 300 aircrafts will do some justice. We can setup an SPV now with private players so at least when MWF when officially inducted during 2026 we can build them faster to augment the depletion.

Thinking about additional Rafale - Dassault order book is currently full with multiple countries before us, same result we will get them only on 2nd half of the decade.
Didn't they do trials last time itself. Why another set of trials ?

Arjun Mk1A

Didn't they do trials last time itself. Why another set of trials ?
If we are going to MMRCA 2.0 then we should show some technical evaluation, even though we are fixated on Rafale. Otherwise there will be some complaints from other OEM's for unfair treatment. Again,
this will take entire decade to get the planes. At that time we will have AMCA MK1 with us. So we better do something with MWF to build a solid backbone of our force. Like F-16 for USAF, MWF will be ours go to fighter.

Can someone post the full paper of this:
Combined RF+IR absorbing meta material for AMCA.

Shuturmurg

If we are going to MMRCA 2.0 then we should show some technical evaluation, even though we are fixated on Rafale. Otherwise there will be some complaints from other OEM's for unfair treatment. Again,
this will take entire decade to get the planes. At that time we will have AMCA MK1 with us. So we better do something with MWF to build a solid backbone of our force. Like F-16 for USAF, MWF will be ours go to fighter.
Maybe we should order 100-150 mk1a more, and ask HAL to deliver by 2030. In that case HAL will try to ramp up production volume, and by 2030 when mwf is ready they will be able to churn out 25-30 jets a year.

Scaling up production is altogether different problem to solve than building the prototype, and is often times much harder than building the protoype itself.

Arjun Mk1A

Maybe we should order 100-150 mk1a more, and ask HAL to deliver by 2030. In that case HAL will try to ramp up production volume, and by 2030 when mwf is ready they will be able to churn out 25-30 jets a year.

Scaling up production is altogether different problem to solve than building the prototype, and is often times much harder than building the protoype itself.

We have enough orders for Tejas MK1A - 127 jets. Yes we can order additional units. Also MWF at max take 2026 as the final year for all testing thing and enter full production. We have everything for that plane, Propulsion - F414 already available, Radar -UTTAM undergoing evaluation with few modes needs to be validated - Existing weapons are slowly integrated we will complete this stuff before 2023-24 period. Only thing is HAL need to stick with their program timelines. They are successful in Helicopters but take some time in Fighter planes.

Shuturmurg

We have enough orders for Tejas MK1A - 127 jets. Yes we can order additional units. Also MWF at max take 2026 as the final year for all testing thing and enter full production. We have everything for that plane, Propulsion - F414 already available, Radar -UTTAM undergoing evaluation with few modes needs to be validated - Existing weapons are slowly integrated we will complete this stuff before 2023-24 period. Only thing is HAL need to stick with their program timelines. They are successful in Helicopters but take some time in Fighter planes.
No way mwf enters production by 2026. Order for mk1a is only 73.

Arjun Mk1A

No way mwf enters production by 2026.
MWF will enter production in 2026. There is nothing new for significant changes like AMCA or TEDBF. We are already producing the prototype which will come at 2023 (Aero India maybe). Weapons for them also tested before like Astra etc. Radar is also undergoing testing. Unless HAL fucks up everything or IAF decided to ask DEW in MWF we can expect production start from 2026.

Shuturmurg

MWF will enter production in 2026. There is nothing new for significant changes like AMCA or TEDBF. We are already producing the prototype which will come at 2023 (Aero India maybe). Weapons for them also tested before like Astra etc. Radar is also undergoing testing. Unless HAL fucks up everything or IAF decided to ask DEW in MWF we can expect production start from 2026.
Even Gripen E took 5 years to enter production from the time of prototype, and it was not a new jet, but increment of Gripen C.
SaaB is much more expereinced in building fighter jets than HAL.