ADA Tejas (LCA) News and Discussions

Which role suits LCA 'Tejas' more than others from following options?

• Interceptor-Defend Skies from Intruders.

Votes: 342 51.3%
  • Airsuperiority-Complete control of the skies.

Votes: 17 2.5%
  • Strike-Attack deep into enemy zone.

Votes: 24 3.6%
  • Multirole-Perform multiple roles.

Votes: 284 42.6%

Mariner HK

No its classified but experts have there assumptions and I have quoted them,,,,,,,
RCS 3.25 m^2 2.00 m^2 (defo not .6 m^2 claimed by u.New gripen varient may be stealthier than previous gripen ...Even stealth super sukoi with special radar absorbing coating and some design change will have RCS of 1 m^2 )

shom

ok.. i was trying to point out tat size of the plan alone wont reduce rcs.. U mentioned earlier tat tejas is smaller than gripen so it has less rcs... Sure tejas as less rcs but not as stealth as 4+ gen fighters.. like rafale
.. Thank u
Rafale RCS is 0.1 to 0.3 ,,, yeah obviously size is just a point when rcs is reduced ,,,, tejas are compared to gripen,, JFs,, and it is better than them,,,,

Mariner HK

is there any official source for tejas RCS figures?
But wat i hope is that tejas mk2 and rafale nose dia are more or less same .So Aesa radar will be the same or close to it for both these fighters. So RCS reduction can be reduced by having Aesa radar at some angle also which are done with rafale ,raptor and other stealth fighter..Thats why chinese j20 is considered as a show off till now.Even they had test flown it.But i am worried they will copy the these tech from hacked UAVs by iran and newly bought su 35 later... We need to Beg Steal or Buy these tech wat so ever and mass produce it with tejas. If have 200 tejas mk2 It will be a great achivement as we will have great number of tejas mk2 to counter Chinese bulk 3rd and 4 th gen fighters... We will come to par or even greater fire power compared to china ,pakistan combained...

shom

RCS 3.25 m^2 2.00 m^2 (defo not .6 m^2 claimed by u.New gripen varient may be stealthier than previous gripen ...Even stealth super sukoi with special radar absorbing coating and some design change will have RCS of 1 m^2 )
RCS of just 1.5 m2 (almost equal to Eurofighter Typhoon's RCS) while Jf-17 has an RCS of 5 m2. I have not claimed I also got the info from a source and it is mentioned in my comment,,, this is what I got from Pakistan's JF-17 V/S India's LCA-Tejas; Comparison With Latest Figures | The World Reporter: News Opinion and Analysis this site,,,,,

Mariner HK

Rafale RCS is 0.1 to 0.3 ,,, yeah obviously size is just a point when rcs is reduced ,,,, tejas are compared to gripen,, JFs,, and it is better than them,,,,
How do u know its better than gripen or jf 17? We dont even know real spec for tejas i ment final product. Our ada and drdo under preasure talks nonsense like tejas mk3 (stealth) and UCAV tejas :frusty: :sad:

Mariner HK

RCS of just 1.5 m2 (almost equal to Eurofighter Typhoon's RCS) while Jf-17 has an RCS of 5 m2
@shom who said RCS of EF is more than rafale's rcs ? As u belive rafale=0.1~0.3 m^2 against EF =1.5 m^2 ? U are totally wrong. Eurofighter has the best RCS among non stealth AC . It comes very closer to 5 th gen fighters EF RCS is 0.05 ~ 0.1 m^2 ... official... rcs of tejas wont be and cant be below 3~4 m^2 ...then it ll become 4++ gen fighters like ef rafale and su 35... And am not sure about gripen's rcs as u mentioned...may be the new variant may hav less rcs.but 0.6 m^2 is too much for it .I dont agree

shom

@shom who said RCS of EF is more than rafale's rcs ? As u belive rafale=0.1~0.3 m^2 against EF =1.5 m^2 ? U are totally wrong. Eurofighter has the best RCS among non stealth AC . It comes very closer to 5 th gen fighters EF RCS is 0.05 ~ 0.1 m^2 ... official... rcs of tejas wont be and cant be below 3~4 m^2 ...then it ll become 4++ gen fighters like ef rafale and su 35... And am not sure about gripen's rcs as u mentioned...may be the new variant may hav less rcs.but 0.6 m^2 is too much for it .I dont agree
I got the RCS values from Websites and I have mentioned them in the posts,,, and about Gripen and Tejas the RCS values are not official,,, they are all assumptions ,, and above all there is a problem of unit which I cudnt understand as I am not from pilot background ,,, am sorry if any post is not upto the mark but when i researched in www then i found these datas,,,,

shom

How do u know its better than gripen or jf 17? We dont even know real spec for tejas i ment final product. Our ada and drdo under preasure talks nonsense like tejas mk3 (stealth) and UCAV tejas :frusty: :sad:
I am not the right person to give comments on ranking of Tejas, Gripen and JF-17 ,, these datas are collected by me in my research which is done on the basis of websites and forums in world wide web ,,, If you personally have done any research then post it we can share them and get a good result,,,,,

Mariner HK

I am not the right person to give comments on ranking of Tejas, Gripen and JF-17 ,, these datas are collected by me in my research which is done on the basis of websites and forums in world wide web ,,, If you personally have done any research then post it we can share them and get a good result,,,,,
No prob bro.. please provide that web add which said rcs of ef is 1.5 m^2 got some real duty to do.. slap its admin butts with meteor ... anyway bro.. we are just a normal ppl we dont have to know these things..lets wait for some one to shed some light on it... cheers @shom

shom

No prob bro.. please provide that web add which said rcs of ef is 1.5 m^2 got some real duty to do.. slap its admin butts with meteor ... anyway bro.. we are just a normal ppl we dont have to know these things..lets wait for some one to shed some light on it... cheers @shom
I have already given that as I dont post any post without the reference of the real author,,, plzz read the post u will get it,, if not then just tingle me I wud find it out yet again,,,,,

ersakthivel

Brilliance
We cant get offical confermation on rcs of Tejas mk1 untill the final product emerges.but let me try with some old and new info i know so far..
Correct me if am wrong

TEJAS MK1 Tejas MK2MK2

EMPTY WEIGHT 5700 Kg 6200 Kgs
PAYLOAD 4000 Kgs 4500 Kgs
FUEL LOAD 3000 Kgs 3600 Kgs
HARD POINTS 7 8
THRUST 85 Kn (GEF404) 98 Kn (GEF414)
RANGE 800 Km ?
RADAR PESA AESA
Max Takeoff Weight 13500 Kgs 14500 Kgs
Top Speed 1.8 Mach 2.0 Mach
RCS 3.25 m^2 2.00 m^2 (defo not .6 m^2 claimed by some one in this thread. Even stealth super sukoi with special radar absorbing coating and some design change will have RCS of 1 m^2 )
Is that RCS with under carriage weapons ? or clean config?

According to ADA papers posted by Kunal biswas the same techniques used in RAFALE and Typhoon for RCS reductions are used on Tejas.

So I don't think it will have a clean config RCS of 2 sq met. It should have a comparable RCS with RAFALE and Typhoon , especially Tejas has almost 90 percent of it's skin in composite material and does not have a canard which is a big add on when it comes to frontal RCS.

Super SUkhois are not stealth they have special ram coating just like Tejas , they don't have F-22 class RCs figure.So tejas will have much smaller RCS than super sukhoi is my opinion.

While sukhois have their full engine blades exposed, Tejas engine blades are completely shielded from very sensitive ASEA radars because of the Y duct intake.

So we must wait for some official confirmation regarding this.

This is what KUNAL Biswas posted regarding TEJAS RCS reduction techniques, in the following link.
http://www.nal.res.in/pdf/Technologies & Facilities at NAL 6 Feb 2013.pdf

or you can go to the following link and read @Kunal Biswas post regarding RCS reduction techniques employed on Tejas.

http://defenceforumindia.com/forum/indian-air-force/18521-ada-tejas-lca-iii-242.html

These are the same techniques used in RAFALE and TYPHOON which entered design phase a decade earlier than the Tejas.

ersakthivel

Brilliance
@Kunal Biswas post in the following link, regarding RCS reduction techniques employed on Tejas were also the same ones employed on RAFALE and typhoon.

http://defenceforumindia.com/forum/indian-air-force/18521-ada-tejas-lca-iii-242.html

The same techniques used in Typhoon and RAFALE for RCS reductions like ram coatings and radar scattering air frame design along with shielded engine blades were also used in Tejas.
RFALE and Typhoon which have a much larger body width and extra Radar reflection objects with canard placement. Also ADA chief Subramanium once said that tejas has the lowest RCs among 4th gen planes , excluding the stealth 5th gen planes.
SO tejas will have a comparable RCS figure . It will not be 2 sq met or 3 sq met as you posted is my opinion. However we should wait for official confirmation.

Mariner HK

Why MMRCA why not 2 engine MCA TEJAS? Any gud reason ADA/DRDO? Any good personal benifit ? Tipping point in Indian Democrazy

It really worries me as a Indian with great Ancient past.I wondered did we had some extra brain like Drop Tanks in the ancient times when we had greatest technology advancement in all field. We had a knowledge of starts its movements ,UFO (vimanas) greatest mega cities with 11 lac germ palaces ,Drainage system and much much more.When today nasa the world's best space agency ,Microsoft and many leading co has HUGE contribution from INDIAN. Once Bilgates said,If usa want to stop our recuirment of indian into microsoft We have no other option but to shift to INDIA. But,This 2nd largest population in the world,Country which thought humanity the ways to live like human is the worst weapon producers.Even small nations like Israel Japan Malaysia brazin singapore export their defence equipments,Civil and military technology.

We have the worst history of failurw in Indigenous weapons capabilities.Whole world laugh at our face.Including our own people laugh at ADA,DRDO ,HAL and othe defence PSUs when ever they say that This product will be inducted in 5 years or what ever the time they mention. Its a shame how can this Great Indian Human Race succeed abroad and in Private Firms in india but cant produce a RIFILE ,Tanks,Fighter jets and other normal essential Weapons required to save this nation from security threats.Now some of fools reading this will counter a question "Kid producing indigenous AC is not easy DEAL' I Agree but are DRDO ,ADA ,Ordinance factory, HAL etc not ASHAMED to say this...? For what taxpayers money been paid them for ? Since a normal poor indian cant produce a high tec weapon these defence PSUs are created and recuited on basis on their talent to produce these things... THEY MUST PRODUCE INDIGENOUS WEAPONS...Thats their primary objective.

Lets come to our 30 year old legacy. TEJAS. Today every deal is a scam.Its true no bitching.The same core group selected Agusta choppers which was denied as too costly by PRESIDENT of UNITED STATES OF AMERICA ,Clinged the Rafale deal .How can this deal been clean and honest.That too rafale was rejected during field trails by INDIAN AIRFORCE and EF typoon came up as a leader.IAF expressed its intrest on EF typoon.Later rafale was brought back our defence minister and later won the deal.Am not saying rafale is a bad choice what am saying wat if ef was our better choice ? What ever we all agree to disagree on MMRCA. Now how can one belive this was a fair deal with no kick backs ? If there was a kick back for 20 Bil$ deal the kick back amount is very huge.If a dassault paid this huge bribe to get this deal its obvious the price the offer to us will be manuplated and ll be high . Ofcourse it will be.After all Rafale is not for charity . So this deal is not and will not be fair.Am affraid it ll even move ahead.Now the price quoted by rafale is less so it was our winner but the tricky part is this quated price is not the life cycle cost ? Rafale was lowest bidder against EF typoon 's Price and life cycle cost .. This is the problem for not signing this deal yet.Our Mr.Perfect Antony Ji said negotiations are going on to make rafale accept this bidding price as inclucive of life cycle cost. Thats why my friend we got news that MMRCA deal will cost more than what we thought.this is not bitching we all knew about it. MAKE SENSE ? Dont know this deal will go through or not...

What if we scraped mmrca deal.Its a possible many times came close to it recently and in the past. Now because of these anti national politicians Kick backs and bribe now our countries security is at STAKE.We already 7 squadrens less.Pakistan getteinf new and upgraded f16s,j17,j11b and j10 is also on card for pakistan,on eastern front its CHINA.I really wonder how our politicians takes china so easily when USA-sole super power is affraid off,the whole South China sea nieghbours getting togher (ganging up) to take this chinese might but INDIA takes it as ALL IS WELL. China wont attack india .As if China is our bab. Senseless and poor fore sight of our defence personal will be felt when whole lots of missile and bombs rains from our skies.But these BABUS and Netas will flee to other western nation where they will live like a BILLINIORS... Sometime i thought this might be the reason the steal too much. So what can we do for our IAF? Only remedi is Scrap this deal first. Lets have this mother of all deal money 20 billion dollars for mmrca ,chopper deal some 6 bils$ or more, i mean india to spend nearly 100 bilion on weapons. Just think wat if this huge money Invested in our INDIGENOUS PROGRAMS. Insteed of rafale we can produce our own Medium class tejas with two engines.We can buy engines and other system for now and assemble it in our 2 engined config MCA tejas. CANT we do it? We will produce our own MCH , medium wieght Dhruv helli.
We always critic China for coping but do u all remember when our PM Mr.Singh on rare occation opened his mouth and said to our defence PSUs like drdo,ada hal etc that "BEG,STEAL or BUY" ? But is so funny and shamefull that we cant even do that? We had To for t 90, sukoi 30 mki but do u know the production rate and quality of the machine we produce is not the quality of the russian's . And w still cant produce su 30 mki at the rate which we have to ? Hal is so casual about it so has our babus and netas.Now is that mean we dont have ability to even "BEG STEAL"?

What shall we do know ? :We need accountability black and white from defence PSUs.The head of the project should be held and stripped from his position and all gonerment benifits should be stoped for not meeting the dead line or indulge in corruption or lobbied by forign weapon vendors to delay the indigenous projects.I strongly belive it will have greater impact on our projects and paythe way for indigenous weapons.
We need to bring in Private players and use the model of USA and RUSSIA where 2 to 3 companied like HAL will compete with each other.Today hal makes some jokes like basic trainer will be ready by 2015 ...now we all should notice is that due to this delay of this WW2 design trainer with tuboprop fan ...We had to buy swedish trainer for double or triple the cost.Is it a co insident ? Or IS IT A ORGANISED CRIME? All project meet this same fate and we end up exporting.If are are exporting its fine .But why do we waste our money pay hal cheif and drdo and othe PSUs ?Just think about the money spent till now and what was the result? NOTHING

Our Army recently expressed is dissatisfaction on ARJUN MK2... our army should be told that u must live with it.As russians and usa had to at their early years...What ever they got they mass produced it and later IMPROVED it.If we keep importing where are to taking our future ? What is the use at the time of war when exported country ban INDIA or sanctioned us ?

Now just think about the following BELOW.: tell ur comment on it Like how u felt and how u feel :

Year 2014.War escalated between india and Pakistan .China enters the war .USA ,russia and kept out of conflict .As nuclear war may break out and they call for peace in the region. Prime Minister Mr.Modi order for War time projects INCLUDING MCA tejas .Not cheep like tekas mk1 but cost arround 80 mil $.With more power full Specs.To mass Produce.To prepare for full blown WW3.

MCA Tejas

Project started 2014
First Flight: 2015 december
Induction 2016 ~2017 on war time basis.
Thanks for DRDO ADA .

Specs:
India copied specs from best delta wing fighters fron Ef and Rafale

Crew: 1 or 2
Length: 52ft 9in
Wingspan: 35ft 11in
Max Takeoff weight: 51,809Ibs
Powerplant: 2× Eurojet EJ200 afterburning turbofans, 20,250Ibs
Max Speed: Mach 2+
Max Supercruise Speed: Mach 1.5
Range (without tanks): 864 miles
Service Ceiling: 65,000ft

Mass produced and later exported to its ally. Now India forms its own alliance.Takes potions as the leader of the group.

Year 2020 India test flown its Pak Fa with russian help and also AMCA ... With these technology India to upgrade its MMRCA tejas into 5 th gen Features. Now world's Chepst 5 th gen Fighter is born...

HOW WAS IT TO READ? May be very ambitious but WHY ITS NOT POSSIBLE ?

Long live this great nation.May our mother HINDUSTAN reclaim its Super Power Again
By-Hareesh Kumar (MARINER HK)
..JAI HIND

http://defenceforumindia.com/forum/indian-air-force/49099-why-mmrca-why-not-2-engine-mca-tejas-any-gud-reason-ada-drdo.html

Mariner HK

@Kunal Biswas post in the following link, regarding RCS reduction techniques employed on Tejas were also the same ones employed on RAFALE and typhoon.

The same techniques used in Typhoon and RAFALE for RCS reductions like ram coatings and radar scattering air frame design along with shielded engine blades were also used in Tejas.
RFALE and Typhoon which have a much larger body width and extra Radar reflection objects with canard placement. Also ADA chief Subramanium once said that tejas has the lowest RCs among 4th gen planes , excluding the stealth 5th gen planes.
SO tejas will have a comparable RCS figure . It will not be 2 sq met or 3 sq met as you posted is my opinion. However we should wait for official confirmation.
thank bro.i think its a old concept of tejas...

if u look at this picture u can see the comopite meterial in grey... this will be more or less accurate of final product... am not sure these grey area is modified parts ... but if its without paint i guess the gray area are the composite

rahulrds1

if u look at this picture u can see the comopite meterial in grey... this will be more or less accurate of final product... am not sure these grey area is modified parts ... but if its without paint i guess the gray area are the composite
Aero Mag-2013, article about LCA composites,

http://www.nal.res.in/pdf/AM 1- 2013.pdf

NAL- Composite structures for Tejas (2012)

Composites are a very attractive option in aircraft development because they are lighter than metal and just as strong. CSIR-NAL has pioneered the development and fabrication of composite structures for the Tejas (LCA) aircraft using innovative and cost-effective fabrication technologies including the co-curing/ co-bonding technique. The principal advantage of NAL's co-curing technology is the integration of a number of sub-components into a single component. This ensures superior structural integrity, elimination of stress concentration due to drilling and a shorter assembly cycle.

CSIR-NAL successfully led the National Team for the composite wing development for Tejas. The laboratory has fabricated the composite wing spars, fairings and fairing blocks, fin, rudder, centre fuselage and the landing gear door of the Tejas. CSIR-NAL has earlier supplied 8 sets of carbon fibre components to HAL to the Tejas limited series production and now will be supplying additional 20 sets for the series production for which NAL has tied up with M/s. Tata Advanced Materials Limited, who is the production partner.

source : NAL- Composite structures for Tejas (2012)

[pdf]http://www.nal.res.in/pdf/CompositeStructures.pdf[/pdf]

source : http://www.nal.res.in/pdf/CompositeStructures.pdf (2010-2011)

rahulrds1

Re: 'Tejas' LCA project likely to be completed in 2015

Aero Mag-2013, article about LCA composites,

http://www.nal.res.in/pdf/AM 1- 2013.pdf

NAL- Composite structures for Tejas (2012)

Composites are a very attractive option in aircraft development because they are lighter than metal and just as strong. CSIR-NAL has pioneered the development and fabrication of composite structures for the Tejas (LCA) aircraft using innovative and cost-effective fabrication technologies including the co-curing/ co-bonding technique. The principal advantage of NAL's co-curing technology is the integration of a number of sub-components into a single component. This ensures superior structural integrity, elimination of stress concentration due to drilling and a shorter assembly cycle.

CSIR-NAL successfully led the National Team for the composite wing development for Tejas. The laboratory has fabricated the composite wing spars, fairings and fairing blocks, fin, rudder, centre fuselage and the landing gear door of the Tejas. CSIR-NAL has earlier supplied 8 sets of carbon fibre components to HAL to the Tejas limited series production and now will be supplying additional 20 sets for the series production for which NAL has tied up with M/s. Tata Advanced Materials Limited, who is the production partner.

source : NAL- Composite structures for Tejas (2012)

[pdf]http://www.nal.res.in/pdf/CompositeStructures.pdf[/pdf]

source : http://www.nal.res.in/pdf/CompositeStructures.pdf (2010-2011)

shom

Sexy Post ,,,, i must say,,,,,,,,:namaste:

DivineHeretic

One point many posters seem to forget when referring to RCS of Tejas is that it will never fly a clean configuration into combat. As such the RCS of a loaded Tejas will easily breach 3m2 mark, at the minimum. Clean RCS for a fourth gen AC is not really a major factor, no matter how small its rcs may be.

In any case the tejas has a very limited range on internal fuel and will undoubtedly be carrying external fuel tanks to enhance flight time. This itself will increase the rcs several levels. Add to that ECM pods and a couple of R73/Derby and the rcs shoots up, even for a A2A fighter config. A2G munitions are even larger, and not being optimised for stealth, will cause sharp increase in RCS of the fighter.

Dreams and Dreams..

DRDO has obtained expertise only in selling dreams to hungry and drowtrodden people of India....

For last so many years they are surviving on that.... Huh