ADA Tejas (LCA) News and Discussions

Which role suits LCA 'Tejas' more than others from following options?

• Interceptor-Defend Skies from Intruders.

Votes: 342 51.3%
  • Airsuperiority-Complete control of the skies.

Votes: 17 2.5%
  • Strike-Attack deep into enemy zone.

Votes: 24 3.6%
  • Multirole-Perform multiple roles.

Votes: 284 42.6%

kalkibhagwan

Please stop arguing guys!!! Lca is a new concept and drdo has learned valuable lessons from it... Lets hope the future projects as well as lca will prove their worth and as always claim their right position of being the best!!!!

Hey friend how did u used the emoticons?? Theyre awesome pls help me im new to this thread
Every issue has a thread, find out the help thread and ask there people will help you out.

Also dont tell people not to talk or not to discuss, everyone have a diffrent point of view so learn from them or explain your point of view, there is should be no "dont speak" Hitler raj here.

Thanks

kalkibhagwan

every issue has a thread, find out the help thread and ask there people will help you out.

Also dont tell people not to talk or not to discuss, everyone have a diffrent point of view so learn from them or explain your point of view, there is should be no "dont speak" hitler raj here.

Thanks

democracy has already shown its magic isnt it?? Lets try hitler raj now...

Your derailing the thread and your an extremely immature teenager or post teen i guess. If you have the balls to do any of what you say go do it. There is no Balls in the right wing and your just going to derail and troll in DFI.

Parthy

Air Warrior
Well i think the N-LCA program will be faster than the LCA because there is a lot of know how now but i dont think it will be ready by 2015.
I believe target should be around 2014 to match IAC1 delivery schedule.. Anything beyond that would force Navy to take some forcible options.. HAL should increase the workforce keeping its criticality in mind..

Dont think so both Vikramaditya and ADS will only be inducted by 2015, so yes 2015 will see some serious effort to get it inducted.

Parthy

Air Warrior
Isn't the hull is launching this dec..
Yes it is meant to be. But it has hit a hard deck when there was a delay in supply of grade steel for the hull construction from Russia.. Fortunately, Indian research people were able to create a warship grade steel and mass producing it requires some more time. So the construction is bit slower compared to previous year's progress... 75% of the hull construction has been completed.. So we can expect the ship to hit sea by earlier next year...

http://defenceforumindia.com/defence-industry/24494-indian-mod-comments-various-defence-security-issues.html#post302826

--Sentence formation corrected :(

Guys any news on NLCA? It was supposed to be tested this month!
Landing Gear issue is big and troublesome, ADA won't take a chance. No matter how confidently 'Mao' can say "...one or two is going to break and we have to accept it and move forward" our media and desi faces of vested interests won't leave a chance. Besides, NP-1 has been limited to TD purpose only, so no need to hurry. IMO even NP-2 should better be cancelled for a MK-2 prototype and all the technologies should instead be tested on NP-1 itself even if it requires extensive re-engineering. There is absolutely no point in flying NP-2 with to-be-revised landing gear.

I believe target should be around 2014 to match IAC1 delivery schedule.. Anything beyond that would force Navy to take some forcible options.. HAL should increase the workforce keeping its critical in mind..
NP-1/2 has been limited to TD purpose only, revised plan is to equip IAC-1 with LCA MK-2 instead which will start flying only by 2014-15 and certification by 2017-18.

Parthy

Air Warrior
NP-1/2 has been limited to TD purpose only, revised plan is to equip IAC-1 with LCA MK-2 instead which will start flying only by 2014-15 and certification by 2017-18.
If the certification is done by 2017-18 then how will we arm IAC-1? Naval MMRCA will start happen only by 2020.. what's the alternate??

^^ For first couple of years IAC-1 will fly only Mig-29K/KUBs, Navy has already ordered some 29 Mig-29Ks. But this not to be seen as a replacement, rather supplement for which there always existed a plan. Navy always had plan to fly Mig-29Ks as well as LCAs from both IAC-1(INS Virat) and INS Vikramaditya.

Finally the light,

Light Combat Aircraft naval variant may take maiden flight in 2 months | idrw.org

The Light Combat Aircraft (LCA) programme is expected to see a series of maiden flights in the next few months.Three aircraft from the LCA stable, the Limited Series Production (LSP-7 and LSP-8) and the naval variant of the aircraft, Naval Prototype-1 (NP-1) will take to the skies.

The three variants, which were to be flight-tested earlier this year, have not been able to meet the deadlines due to technical reasons, incessant rains and a change at helm at the National Flight Test Centre (NFTC), which oversees all flight-tests related activities of LCA programme.

god save tejas from bureaucracy....
moreover what a country will achieve after placing 120 home made aircrafts in between majority foreign planes... dont know what they wanna show...tejas is no more required, intercept planes are gone days stuff.
its multi role version is nowhere to be seen.
take a scene of 2017-18.... tejas multirole introduced... few days later PAK FA enters service. su-30 super-30 version also introduced and mirage 2000 upgrades also entering service.
iaf turns into new gen air force which has many fifth gen platform... now a a dilemma.
we can save money and buy many new pak fa... moreover a single pak fa is more capable then 2-3 tejas... and also it is on assembly line and tejas ka toh kuch pata nahi...
what to do
and making things obviously determinate... delay tejas by ordering few more and buying more FAs

even in 2020, after commissioning tejas in planned 120 number... it wil represent a 14% iaf(270 su+51 mirage+62 mig-29+120 jags+50-60 pak fa+120 tejas)... with a third of tejas in south india(40 out of 120)..

^^

What is your definition of multi role? Till now LCA has dropped bombs and fired R73, so I guess it is a multi role platform

^^

What is your definition of multi role? Till now LCA has dropped bombs and fired R73, so I guess it is a multi role platform
its not a pure mulitrole... u can do the same from ijt sitara...so is it a multirole... it should excel in both... its engine flares at 22 degree angel of attack...least for any multirole... drdo needs to work harder.... and that too in a given time frame... i dun wanna see tejas still in process of development in 2030

ace009

Freakin' Fighter fan
Dude - here's the thing ...
LCA Tejas Mk-2, "mutirole" version, or whatever you call it, would cost ~$30 -35 million each, half the cost of the super MKI and 1/3rd the cost of FGFA. Also, it will be produced in India, with >80% Indian components and a production line independant of foreign supply lines. Which means in wartime, India can afford to lose a hundred of the Tejas in combat and replace them by ramping up production. THAT is the main advantage of the Tejas Mk-2.

In a post 2020 airforce doctrine, India will have a top tier of FGFA/ MKI (~270, where older MKIs are gradually replaced by FGFA from 2025), a middle tier of MMRCA (~200, to be gradually replaced by AMCA from 2030) and a bottom tier of ~300 LCA Mk-2 (presumably to be replaced by some 6th gen combat drone from 2030).
The first order of 120 LCAs is just a beginning - like India's initial order of 140 MKIs from Russia in 2000. This was updated to ~200 by 2005 and then to ~270 by 2009.
As IAF becomes more accustomed to the aircraft and confident in using it, they will ask for more role changes and upgrades and in return will order more of the platform.
That has been the history of IAF with Mig-29s, Mirages, Jaguars, MKIs, and that is how the LCA is being treated. The same is the plan for the MMRCA winner too.