Wuhan Coronavirus Thread

Is coronavirus a biological warfare agent released by China?

• yes

Votes: 175 89.3%
  • no

Votes: 21 10.7%

here2where

The uncertainty regarding the testing is only limited to antibody tests, not PCR tests.
US has racked up humongous number of tests. Due to the high rate of tests, my guess is they are mainly doing antibody? Antibody is known to be erroneous when virus intrusion onto host is less than 7 days old. This probably means there are a whole lot of obese yankees still undetected and gone -ve in the inital tests. Talk of the 'return of the zombies'. Brrr....

Meanwhile, in a rather curious turn of events, India seems to be backing CCP in the 'this is a natural outbreak' chant... very very VERY strange indeed.

"Once In 1,000 Years": Top Medical Body Quotes Chinese Theory On COVID-19
https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/cor...heory-on-covid-19-once-in-1-000-years-2212451

Blue Water Navy

Zeroed
What you are saying is the problem statement.

Point is “Test test test” cannot be a mantra for all, infact if you notice all major economies are coming around to the fact that isolation is the only way to deal with it.

Irrespective of whether the testing is done or not, isolation has to continue.

Just because someone is -Ve in test today, doesn’t mean they will be -ve tomorrow if they go out of their home and come in contact with a +ve person.

Then comes the question of which test needs to be done. Is it PCP which is costlier or antibody which is slightly cheaper.

If we want to test at least 100 crore population, total cost is between 1 lakh crore to 4.5 lakh crore.

Obviously we can’t be spending such amount of money on these tests.

Next best thing is hotspot containment. A core hot spot is not an entire district, it’s ultimately a few thousand households & streets(except for Muslim areas).

And more importantly, some of the best in the field are working with govt on this topic. A journalist can’t be a better expert than the domain experts(referring to the article you had posted).
Self-isolation is the solution, plain and simple. Its just like the Darwinian theory whoever is the fittest will survive. Now who is the fittest in this case??!! The answer is people who will follow the safety norms above all else whether he or she is at home or at work or elsewhere.

In the midst of all the noise, let’s not loose sight of the fundamental problem.

It’s the hospitals getting flooded with Chinese virus patients that every govt is trying to avoid, which ever strategy whether it is testing or isolation, it’s ultimately about trying to make sure hospitals are not flooded.

here2where

It’s the hospitals getting flooded with Chinese virus patients that every govt is trying to avoid, which ever strategy whether it is testing or isolation, it’s ultimately about trying to make sure hospitals are not flooded.
We haven't yet hit this problem yet right? there are a few mobile testing centers in a few states i heard. they should be replicated elsewhere to keep the hospitals relatively free to attend to the critical cases. Hope we never reach there.

Meanwhile, i hope the bloody chinese listen to their own media and stop eating bats...:frusty:

Bats may carry virus, should we kill them all?
https://news.cgtn.com/news/2020-02-...hould-we-kill-them-all--NUxmfimhCU/index.html

"The fact is, as long as they are not disturbed, bats are harmless to humans. The virus coexisting with bats would not spread into the human world as long as no one catches, touches, or eats bats."

"Bats are the original host of the virus in the natural environment, but the virus has to mutate before it can spread to humans. In other words, the virus living on bats and the virus causing people sick are not the same kind. Besides, even for wild bats, the probability of carrying a virus is not as high as people assume. "

The uncertainty regarding the testing is only limited to antibody tests, not PCR tests.
Aren't PCR tests very labour intensive, with several stages at which errors may occur between sampling and analysis? False negatives can also occur with different PCR tests. I ain't a doc so not sure which method is more suitable for Indian conditions?

Yup, PCR tests are labour intensive.

Anyways ICMR Doctor Saab has given a nice long explanation on this topic in today’s govt press conference.

#WATCH In Japan, to find one positive case, 11.7 persons are tested. In Italy that number is 6.7, in US it's 5.3, in UK it's 3.4. Here in India, we do 24 tests for one positive case: Dr. Raman R Gangakhedkar, Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR).

YagamiLight

#WATCH In Japan, to find one positive case, 11.7 persons are tested. In Italy that number is 6.7, in US it's 5.3, in UK it's 3.4. Here in India, we do 24 tests for one positive case: Dr. Raman R Gangakhedkar, Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR).

This is what I have been saying from start, India's test positivity is so low compared to UK/USA that India is actually testing way more people that that's actually being done in Western countries.

The criticism of low tests mainly comes from jealous racist white asses which just handle the fact that India's handling of virus is so good and effective and that's the reason for low number of infections in India. They are blaming it on low testing than give credit to Indian government. The brown sepoys amplify tht propaganda and the naive Indian morons get suckered in hook line and sinker into that propaganda.

We would be way better off spending the money for giving food to our poor and vulnerable to stay home than test the ridiculous amounts of people these idiots are suggesting

Indrajit

Where testing is concerned, the first issue relates to who gets tested. Due to an extreme paucity of kits in India, testing has been done mainly on people with convincing symptoms or who have been in contact with people diagnosed with Covid-19. If testing is performed on a wider population sample, the incidence of Covid-19 will likely prove to be much higher than currently reported.
I’m not sure that your contention is entirely accurate. Random testing has been done and results seem to confirm that there is no widespread community spread. I use the words “widespread community spread” because there have been a very small percentage of +ve tests in’s SARI cases with no evident history that may connect them to any known case. Will we have some community spread? Almost certainly, the TJ have had a large number of people who dispersed and the fact that we see cases rising even now suggests that it wouldn’t have been different one month ago. However widespread random testing may be pointless and a waste of resources, already there are many reports that under the pressure of the test,test, test loonies, too many unnecessary and pointless tests are being carried out to meet quotas.. We may be better off testing Muslim communities for some community contamination but I don’t think that’s a politically or practically feasible proposition given how they have behaved.

YagamiLight

Here is a very good comparison chart for all Test Test Test fans . We are still in stage 2 and our testing matches the testing of other countries when they were in stage 2

View attachment 45699
Just now talked with my friends working in USA.

USA(and that's the case for UK as well) has already given up contact tracing and community testing as a whole because they already have community transmission and so contact tracing is pointless.

They are only testing ppl who come to hospitals with corona like symptoms. That's why they have such a high positivity rate. So anyone who thinks that we ought emulate USA, (which arguably has the worst response to this disease so far) , need to have his head examined

YagamiLight

And ppl who talk about random testing seriously don't know wtf they are talking about. Every test conducted for corona is a random test only, because we don't know whether the patient is positive for corona or not prior to testing.

So when you talk of random testing, all it means is that you ppl have no clue as to what you are actually talking about and that you are only spewing random nonsense you read in the racist ass burnt Western media/its brown coolies

From a Social medicine/Preventive medicine perspective this kind of random sampling you ppl keep spewing about is not what you think it means nor does what you are suggesting hve any role in containing this virus

Just now talked with my friends working in USA.

USA(and that's the case for UK as well) has already given up contact tracing and community testing as a whole because they already have community transmission and so contact tracing is pointless.

They are only testing ppl who come to hospitals with corona like symptoms. That's why they have such a high positivity rate. So anyone who thinks that we ought emulate USA, (which arguably has the worst response to this disease so far) , need to have his head examined
Don’t be sexist, “need to have his/her head examined”..

Why should boys have all the fun..

He he ;)

varun9509

And ppl who talk about random testing seriously don't know wtf they are talking about. Every test conducted for corona is a random test only, because we don't know whether the patient is positive for corona or not prior to testing.

So when you talk of random testing, all it means is that you ppl have no clue as to what you are actually talking about and that you are only spewing random nonsense you read in the racist ass burnt Western media/its brown coolies

From a Social medicine/Preventive medicine perspective this kind of random sampling you ppl keep spewing about is not what you think it means nor does what you are suggesting hve any role in containing this virus
@YagamiLight How are we doing in terms of contact tracing? Are we able to know, catch and isolate cases effectively? From the ratio of testing and positive cases I feel like we are doing well. Also are we ready to scale it up as the quantity of active cases have increased very rapidly?