Tejas Mk-2 – India’s New SuperFighter Is Now One Of Top 4 Light Combat Aircraft In The World Along With ‘Idol’ Saab Gripen

I do not like China but what I said about J 20 is 100 Pc correct. Counter me on the facts.
Why are you saying that J-20 is a 3.5 - 4++ generation at most. I know that it is probably not as good as F-22 or F-35 level but still Don't underestimate this Jet.

SwordOfDarkness

J-20s would never be flying without Luneberg reflectors especially when near the border. You think that Chinese are such fool that they will just casually fly a jet like J-20 near the border and let India track it and find its true RCS?

J-20 would be flying without Luneberg lenses at-most Very much inside mainland China Because at those Ranges, IAF radars probably won't be able to detect it.
Well, since the americans routinely fly their top of the line stealth recon planes over china and iran, both having high AD capability, I see no reason why china would be afraid to fly J 20 inside its own borders.

THESIS THORON

J-20s would never be flying without Luneberg reflectors especially when near the border. You think that Chinese are such fool that they will just casually fly a jet like J-20 near the border and let India track it and find its true RCS?
breh, again,
if iaf figher penetrates the chinki zone then the already flying j20 will drop its Luneburg lens and then it will try to intercept the iaf jet ??:facepalm:

Well, since the americans routinely fly their top of the line stealth recon planes over china and iran, both having high AD capability, I see no reason why china would be afraid to fly J 20 inside its own borders.
See dude what I am saying is that, I Accept that J-20 is not as good as it touted by Chinese. But you need to also at the same time not underestimate this Aircraft too.
the 2020 skirmish rendered a war like situation :dude:
Chalo BC you win. Let's Chill!

Stop saying J-20 is 3.5 or 4th gen, J-20 is a 5th generation fighter, I understand that you don't like China but you need to stop underestimating Chinese hardware.

After Tejas MK-2 comes it will be enough to counter J-10, J-11 etc at most but I don't think so that we should be pitting such an aircraft against an aircraft like J-20. To Counter J-20, Ideally we need our own 5th generation aircraft. Which is AMCA.
Do you know that if J 20 is so capable than why did China bought Su 35 to counter Rafale? Name a country who claims to develop 5th generation plane goes to shop 4th generation plane.

Covfefe

J-20 would be flying without Luneberg lenses at-most Very much inside mainland China Because at those Ranges, IAF radars probably won't be able to detect it.
Lens or mirror apart- ground based radars can even track American 5th gen fighters, small cruise missiles and even flock of birds. If the logic is to not give away the RCS and fly with 'lens' even in the homeland then it's useless. Any sortie during escalation will start enriching the library of your enemy anyway. J20 based on its shape will have its RCS in a certain range, and that no other Chinese jet has that- algorithm can easily pick out this difference. And IAF has some pretty decent ground based radar systems along the northern border. It's RCS isn't something that China can hide for long if it wishes to use those jets in this sector, and even they know this.

Bhai, stealth means reduced RCS and a relatively difficult fire control lock. Aisa invisible nahi ho jaata plane. People take the word "stealth" way too literally

Lens or mirror apart- ground based radars can even track American 5th gen fighters, small cruise missiles and even flock of birds. If the logic is to not give away the RCS and fly with 'lens' even in the homeland then it's useless. Any sortie during escalation will start enriching the library of your enemy anyway. J20 based on its shape will have its RCS in a certain range, and that no other Chinese jet has that- algorithm can easily pick out this difference. And IAF has some pretty decent ground based radar systems along the northern border. It's RCS isn't something that China can hide for long if it wishes to use those jets in this sector, and even they know this.

Bhai, stealth means reduced RCS and a relatively difficult fire control lock. Aisa invisible nahi ho jaata plane. People take the word "stealth" way too literally
Indian MKIs had traced J 20 from 300 KM away. If J 20 was flying without applying RAM paints, the detection range with MKI is worrisome for China. MKI uses PESA old technology Radar. AESA can detect it from much greater distance. J 20 is not an optimized stealth design. It is stealth from front only and detectable easily from other angles. It does not have very good AESA and IRTSS. It can not maneuver like F22 or Su 57. It is draggy yet not very good stealth like F35. Its weapons are of very poor quality so as electronics and much inferior to something like F22, F 35 or Rafale has. Rafale can beat J 20 any day very easily.

How it is a stealth if it can be detected by PESA radar from 300 km away?
Have you read the above Discusssion in which I pointed the concept of a "Luneberg lense"? You really think that Chinese are so dumb that they will build a jet like a J-20 which supposively is to Match F-22/F-35s be detected by a PESA radar from 300 kms away?

Do you know that if J 20 is so capable than why did China bought Su 35 to counter Rafale? Name a country who claims to develop 5th generation plane goes to shop 4th generation plane.
Is it about China Buying SU-35 when China has 5th generation J-20? That logic is so flawed. If we go by this logic than we can also say that the F-35 is is not so Advanced and Hence US Airforce is buying more F-15EX.

You see mate, you can't always Operate 5th Generation Aircrafts in large numbers because it's very expensive in doing so and hence you also need 4th Generation Aircrafts to supplement and build up a bulk of your fleet using them. Also there were several other reasons for China buying these SU-35 Flankers from Russia.

Corvus Splendens

The SU-35 purchase is a knee-jerk reaction because the J-20 is likely not combat certified yet. There have been problems associated with designing folded-fin munitions for the IWB and the tailor made missiles don't have the sufficient range for the J-20 to effectively carry out sniping missions.
One other possible reason behind the purchase could be to reverse engineer some tech and use it in their J-11 modernization program.

India Super Power

Folks first thing I don't understand that why this thread is opened is it on the basis of a aircraft that hasn't taken place is one of the best that to eurasian times
Second point j-20 is a capable aircraft that too 5th gen and 5th gen could be around 4++ but not less than that and we don't have any counter against it 36 rafales is nothing before 100s of j-20
China is one of the world's best producers of electronics in various fields they have better expertise than many countries and we don't even come close to them
I am pretty sure that j-20 electronics and radar is pretty much near to 4++ or 5 gen aircraft
Yes design flaw may exist due to which the stealth characteristic is not prominent as western 5th gen
Their better experience in aircraft designing and electronics manufacturing will help them in bringing best from j-20
We have no counter against it until amca which good 10-15 years away even at that time it will not be as capable as j-20 bcoz it would have been built in huge nos and most of the defects would have been rectified infact even today it has become a fighter compared to 2016-17 situation even usa is considering as a big threat

johnj

Indian MKIs had traced J 20 from 300 KM away. If J 20 was flying without applying RAM paints, the detection range with MKI is worrisome for China. MKI uses PESA old technology Radar. AESA can detect it from much greater distance. J 20 is not an optimized stealth design. It is stealth from front only and detectable easily from other angles. It does not have very good AESA and IRTSS. It can not maneuver like F22 or Su 57. It is draggy yet not very good stealth like F35. Its weapons are of very poor quality so as electronics and much inferior to something like F22, F 35 or Rafale has. Rafale can beat J 20 any day very easily.
Su 35 can't detect vlo aircraft like rafale,eft 300km away, if mki detected j20 @ 300km, then its rcs similar to su30mki/b52 etc.

johnj

The SU-35 purchase is a knee-jerk reaction because the J-20 is likely not combat certified yet. There have been problems associated with designing folded-fin munitions for the IWB and the tailor made missiles don't have the sufficient range for the J-20 to effectively carry out sniping missions.
One other possible reason behind the purchase could be to reverse engineer some tech and use it in their J-11 modernization program.
Chinese can't buy jets from eu/us and only option is russia, su35 used to benchmark with theirs, to understand sensor fusion, tvc, more reliable engine, powerful pesa radar etc. No wounder they need twin seat j20.

johnj

Folks first thing I don't understand that why this thread is opened is it on the basis of a aircraft that hasn't taken place is one of the best that to eurasian times
Second point j-20 is a capable aircraft that too 5th gen and 5th gen could be around 4++ but not less than that and we don't have any counter against it 36 rafales is nothing before 100s of j-20
China is one of the world's best producers of electronics in various fields they have better expertise than many countries and we don't even come close to them
I am pretty sure that j-20 electronics and radar is pretty much near to 4++ or 5 gen aircraft
Yes design flaw may exist due to which the stealth characteristic is not prominent as western 5th gen
Their better experience in aircraft designing and electronics manufacturing will help them in bringing best from j-20
We have no counter against it until amca which good 10-15 years away even at that time it will not be as capable as j-20 bcoz it would have been built in huge nos and most of the defects would have been rectified infact even today it has become a fighter compared to 2016-17 situation even usa is considering as a big threat
If you consider harwarlevel, yes but software, its a big question.
10-15 years is huge, no comments.
Even if j20 sensor/hardware/stealth matches f35, still it is no match of f35 software or close to 4.5 sensor fused ones.

India Super Power

If you consider harwarlevel, yes but software, its a big question.
10-15 years is huge, no comments.
Even if j20 sensor/hardware/stealth matches f35, still it is no match of f35 software or close to 4.5 sensor fused ones.
Boss, yes they can’t match the western sensor fusion tech but they have good quality of sensors for themselves and that satisfies their requirement in actual war many factors come into place and many strategies are formulated j-20 can do the job what plaaf needs to
I guess even in next 5-10 years they will be able to add a good sensor fusion capability again not close to western but does the work

johnj

Boss, yes they can’t match the western sensor fusion tech but they have good quality of sensors for themselves and that satisfies their requirement in actual war many factors come into place and many strategies are formulated j-20 can do the job what plaaf needs to
I guess even in next 5-10 years they will be able to add a good sensor fusion capability again not close to western but does the work
May be, it depends. Also you need to consider pilot also.
First they need to send their warfighters to battlefield, but where ?
They have only one strategy - quantity[human or machine or ai or all]

No country will fly their 5 generation jet without Luneburg lens in patrol duty during peace time. So, the so called "Su-30 can detect J-20" is meaningless. During war time, J-20 RCS will be completely different.
Recently, US claims that their F-35 has met Chinese J-20 in the air outside Chinese border. Did you see either side bragging "Our jet radar can detect their stealth jet"? No, because both sides knew both jets have Luneburg lens on board.