Small arms and Light Weapons

When picking a gun, what would your primary consideration be?

• Poll closed .

SGOperative

It's just that this whole equipping army with these whole zoo of calibres has robbed me of my sanity. Instead of reducing logistics, we seem to enjoy having everything on our table. IA has time and time proven that logic and senses doesn't mean much.
From my perspective they are sorting it out kind of - The Frontline guys all using sigs so they get NATO 7.62 and the Snipers/DMRs get the required caliber. At least the frontline will be sorted.

Whitecollar

From my perspective they are sorting it out kind of - The Frontline guys all using sigs so they get NATO 7.62 and the Snipers/DMRs get the required caliber. At least the frontline will be sorted.
That method(G3+Type 56) was adopetd by Pakistani army before even Kargil war occured. You mean to say it took them all these years just to speculate somethin that was literally infront of them??

SGOperative

That method(G3+Type 56) was adopetd by Pakistani army before even Kargil war occured. You mean to say it took them all these years just to speculate somethin that was literally infront of them??
In b/w they switched to 5.56 and Dragunov as DMR and were pretty sorted there for some years until the INSAS got the bad name and troops started proffering the AKs over INSAS which meant a third caliber was becoming more common on LOC and nearby areas. Even today the rest of barracks are sorted with their Calibers since they dont have access to AKs and Pakistans Soldiers at LOC use both IIRC they avoided adding more calibers by using a DMR based on the G3 and their MG uses either of the caliber so they just get by using 2 calibers.

Lonewarrior

- All machine guns chambered in 7.62x51mm. Be it MAG, or Negev or the one that gets selected in 40k tender.
- So are the battle rifles.
- Sooner or later we are going to replace Dragunov. Upgradation kits won't work for long. It'll also be a 7.62x51mm rifle.
- 5.56x45mm carbines for rear troops.
- .338 Lapua for snipers.

Up to this far, things were going pretty smoothly in streamlining logistics. But then,
- 7L rifles chambered in 7.62x39mm.
- OFB doing its best to push a 5.56x30mm PDW.

SGOperative

- All machine guns chambered in 7.62x51mm. Be it MAG, or Negev or the one that gets selected in 40k tender.
- So are the battle rifles.
- Sooner or later we are going to replace Dragunov. Upgradation kits won't work for long. It'll also be a 7.62x51mm rifle.
- 5.56x45mm carbines for rear troops.
- .338 Lapua for snipers.

Up to this far, things were going pretty smoothly in streamlining logistics. But then,
- 7L rifles chambered in 7.62x39mm.
- OFB doing its best to push a 5.56x30mm PDW.
The AKs will be at the same place with the Carbines so i want them to choose the Trichy Carbine and it will have commonality for the rear troops. Since we cant undo the Ak now.

Lonewarrior

The AKs will be at the same place with the Carbines so i want them to choose the Trichy Carbine and it will have commonality for the rear troops. Since we cant undo the Ak now.
Even if our planners have an iota of foresight, then still we have time to get those 7L AKs chambers in 6.5 Grendel instead of 7.62x39mm.
We'll just need a bunch of new rifling tools and few more bucks to change the tooling for ammo production. If we are so happy to pay 5124 crores, then we definitely pay few more.

And after that, as you said. Those 3.6L carbines also chambered in 6.5 Grendel.

SGOperative

Even if our planners have an iota of foresight, then still we have time to get those 7L AKs chambers in 6.5 Grendel instead of 7.62x39mm.
We'll just need a bunch of new rifling tools and few more bucks to change the tooling for ammo production. If we are so happy to pay 5124 crores, then we definitely pay few more.

And after that, as you said. Those 3.6L carbines also chambered in 6.5 Grendel.
How many 7.62 NATO and x39 ammo rounds we already have in our inventory? US Army is the one which is going to adopt it, Marines will be going with their existing NATO rounds, France too, Germany has similar plans. Its not so easy you guys make it out to we can pay more and produce some rounds and all. We already have so many in our stock.

Lonewarrior

How many 7.62 NATO and x39 ammo rounds we already have in our inventory? US Army is the one which is going to adopt it, Marines will be going with their existing NATO rounds, France too, Germany has similar plans. Its not so easy you guys make it out to we can pay more and produce some rounds and all. We already have so many in our stock.
Compared to x51 and x45, our inventory of x39 is not that much. That would be easily finished by RRs in J&K and CRPF in Naxal areas.

SGOperative

Compared to x51 and x45, our inventory of x39 is not that much. That would be easily finished by RRs in J&K and CRPF in Naxal areas.
Still we have them and for what reason we should go for 6.8 so early, army is not US Army to switch without looking at the cost perspective especially when politicians don't mind going for Political purchases and pay extra from the Army's budget

Lonewarrior

Still we have them and for what reason we should go for 6.8 so early, army is not US Army to switch without looking at the cost perspective especially when politicians don't mind going for Political purchases and pay extra from the Army's budget
I'm not talking about some hi-tech 6.8 round, firing a +P load.

6.5 Grendel is old enough to have negligible increase in cost. You just need few new dies; that's it.

Lonewarrior

Will be able to do that on our own without Russian Uncle getting angry? Cause if yes then ARDE is also working on a 6.XX iirc so they might be able to provide us that
That would be a win-win situation for that bloody uncle of ours.

If we make 7.62x39mm AKs then it means we can't sell those to other countries as doing that would make us compete with Klashnikov Concern.

But no small country is going to adapt a 6.5 Grendel round; only civilians will buy. And Klashnikov Concern is already banned in US and Canada.

That's the sole reason why Russians are so desperate to sell us AKs.
- There civillian sales has fallen drastically.
- Poor African countries can get cheaper alternatives from Norinco.
- With just a few more bucks, countries can get an ambidextrous AR instead of an AK.

SGOperative

That would be a win-win situation for that bloody uncle of ours.

If we make 7.62x39mm AKs then it means we can't sell those to other countries as doing that would make us compete with Klashnikov Concern.

But no small country is going to adapt a 6.5 Grendel round; only civilians will buy. And Klashnikov Concern is already banned in US and Canada.
Looks like AK is here to stay hue hue