Small arms and Light Weapons

When picking a gun, what would your primary consideration be?

• Poll closed .

Aditya Ballal

The Negev takes standard magazines too. That makes it a very handy and versatile platform while on the move.

Is it as hardy as the PK?

Hard to tell but someone who has trained on the PK swears by it because once the PK starts firing, the opposition ducks for cover and its bullet can travel far, quite far.
Negev in 7.62x51 does not take standard mags, only 5.56 Negevs do

We should have considered it a lot earlier. PK was absolutely the best in its class until Mk48 and Negev-7 came. Instead of 30 round brens/insas lmgs much lighter Bulgarian PKs makes sense.Putting a collapsoile stock and rails are not that much issue.
actually from the basic operating mechanism POV,
PK, M249//Minimi and Negev are exactly same, all of them are AK-like open bolt machine gun systems and you can cleary see it in their bolt carriers,

PKM
1630842889339.png

M249 (MK48 and so)
1630843458323.png

Negev NG-7
1630843465528.png

and this commonality again came from same thing, i.e. using different AK variant as base and turning out an open bolt fixed firing pin machine gun outta it,
in case of PK it was AK, of course,
in case of Minimi/M249 it was FN FNC,
and in case of Negev, it was Galil (although not directly based but still),
just observe bolts on all these 3 and you shall see the signs of it

^So yeah, all 3 of them are more or less similar in performance,
major difference comes in how they feed as all 3 have different feeding mechanisms on them,
with PK being notable example of feeding from a claw-shaped round grabber due to 7.62x54mm is a rimmed cartridge and cannot be pushed forward from that belt,
while Negev in 5.56x45mm configuration has dual-feeding mechanism (not on NG-7 though) and they decided to make it magazine fed from bottom side hence they made this 'channel' like bolt carrier to accomodate magazine,
FN one otoh is simplest of them all, just FNC pattern bolt and bolt carrier turned upside down and magazine is fed from angle at other side,

^^We, OTOH, never experimented much with INSAS to say, make a belt-fed version outta it, something akin to FN Minimi//M249 at least 😪

The Negev takes standard magazines too. That makes it a very handy and versatile platform while on the move.

Is it as hardy as the PK?

Hard to tell but someone who has trained on the PK swears by it because once the PK starts firing, the opposition ducks for cover and its bullet can travel far, quite far.
as i mentioned above, NG-7 doesn't have magazine fed feature on it only 5.56x45mm version has it,
and NG-7 and PKM are essentially same stuff so not much difference in terms of basic performance there...

actually from the basic operating mechanism POV,
PK, M249//Minimi and Negev are exactly same, all of them are AK-like open bolt machine gun systems and you can cleary see it in their bolt carriers,

PKM
View attachment 108599
M249 (MK48 and so)
View attachment 108600
Negev NG-7
View attachment 108601

and this commonality again came from same thing, i.e. using different AK variant as base and turning out an open bolt fixed firing pin machine gun outta it,
in case of PK it was AK, of course,
in case of Minimi/M249 it was FN FNC,
and in case of Negev, it was Galil (although not directly based but still),
just observe bolts on all these 3 and you shall see the signs of it

^So yeah, all 3 of them are more or less similar in performance,
major difference comes in how they feed as all 3 have different feeding mechanisms on them,
with PK being notable example of feeding from a claw-shaped round grabber due to 7.62x54mm is a rimmed cartridge and cannot be pushed forward from that belt,
while Negev in 5.56x45mm configuration has dual-feeding mechanism (not on NG-7 though) and they decided to make it magazine fed from bottom side hence they made this 'channel' like bolt carrier to accomodate magazine,
FN one otoh is simplest of them all, just FNC pattern bolt and bolt carrier turned upside down and magazine is fed from angle at other side,

^^We, OTOH, never experimented much with INSAS to say, make a belt-fed version outta it, something akin to FN Minimi//M249 at least 😪

as i mentioned above, NG-7 doesn't have magazine fed feature on it only 5.56x45mm version has it,
and NG-7 and PKM are essentially same stuff so not much difference in terms of basic performance there...
True, the NG-7 doesn't take a magazine unlike its smaller 5.56 cousin.

The Negev uses a disintegrating belt while the PKM uses a standard belt where the bullet is pulled out of the belt and pushed into the chamber. Interesting design for its time and it worked.

generally speaking one reason behind PK's reliability comes from 7.62x54mm rimmed round itself,
mainly because rimmed rounds are gripped better by extractors than non-rimmed one, so during firing etc there are less chances of PK suffering from usual stovepipe jams or stuck cartridges and so,
but in modern terms a well made Negev NG-7 or MK48 is quite similar to PK in reliability terms

Pic 1, the soldier has a Viper P2 helmet with integrated NVD mount so he might be the one from the section. Pic 2, the only guy with two flashlights is the guy who’s mounted a night sight on his AK.
Valid point
Nobody can ID those IR/Visible lights here?
:hmm:
Edit: also the second guy appears to have both Flashlights the same, which leads me to believe he probably wanted to be seen tacticool

Gessler

Apparently, Israel will be retiring Tavors from IDF infantry units, and will be replacing them with, hold you breath....

...the AR-15 (IWI ARAD).

I'll wait for more details but as per this source, Tavors will be relegated to reserve units.

Meanwhile, Bullpup fanboyzz:

"But muh Ijrailis use dem so de must be gooood" :troll:

EDITED to replace M4 with ARAD specifically.

Vayuputra

Tried to replace the m4 but now
Always been of opinion that bullup are useless weapons in today's warfare. Till today many Israeli soldiers are armed with old M16 and m4, These bullpups are shona mona Babu type girlfriends, only good at lookswise rest all are garbage, we should not have read too much western propaganda and gone for 5.56mm round. Ar styled rifles are accurate and easy to handle. Army should scrap ak 203 deal and go with ar styled rifles.

Marliii

Better to die on your feet than live on your knees
Always been of opinion that bullup are useless weapons in today's warfare. Till today many Israeli soldiers are armed with old M16 and m4, These bullpups are shona mona Babu type girlfriends, only good at lookswise rest all are garbage, we should not have read too much western propaganda and gone for 5.56mm round. Ar styled rifles are accurate and easy to handle. Army should scrap ak 203 deal and go with ar styled rifles.

Johnny ji , do you know the type of ammo we use with our carl gustav.
It seems to me we only use he rounds and that too for busting bunkers instead of prescribed HEDP rounds .
I wanted to know more about this