Mountain Strike Corps - 17

The time to build capacity and reach parity with china is now and this window will remain open for another 3yrs till china is in financial trouble and some of its newest weapons systems come on battle field. A strong IA on LAC will act as counter balance to provide safety for whole of Asia and China can't start action against any nation in Asia till they solve the problem with India. Cina has to decide whether they want 90k kms of land where even grass does not grow or do they want the SCS which is full of resources and is more than 100 times the size of disputed land mass with India.

PLA expect a blitzkrieg campaign..

Some Positive Points of PLA. >>

1. They have light Mech forces specially trained for Mountain and Jungle warfare more or less SF in division size are expected to lead attacks for regulars..
2. They have Good infrastructure for the start and re-supply..
3. Causality is not a concern for them but objective, High Moral is there due to political officers in every platoon..

Some Negative Points of PLA. >>

1. PLA lack Air-support as there are few Airbases in TAR and due to height and rarity of Air their payload is lesser, No air superiority either..
2. Few roads and rail connects the region and easy target for IAF and Army Cruise Missiles so does tactical ballistic missiles, PLA supplies can be cut off..
3. Locals are pro Indian..
4. The objectives are at height and better defended, It will take time and wont be easy..

Conclusion >> If China attacks it will be with a boom, But as it get longer and there supply chain will be cut off, over that under IAF air superiority CAS will be intesive and Army could make a forceful counter attacks with or without strike crops, In long run China can be defeated in our own grounds..

===================

I cannot tell you the exact number coz i dont know myself, Its on rise..

+2 million both active and reserve, TA is the reserve force and they are at the moment used in CT ops in J&K..

personally i don't think the chinis will risk so many dangers just to mount an early offensive because the terrain will definitely prove hostile to them!Offtopic:-Sir you said that the I.A. has more than 2 million men under its command,so is this both active and reserve strength combined or is it only the active no. of personnel in the I.A.(because everywhere in the net it says that the I.A. has around 1.13 million active troops under its command)?:confused:

The time to build capacity and reach parity with china is now and this window will remain open for another 3yrs till china is in financial trouble and some of its newest weapons systems come on battle field. A strong IA on LAC will act as counter balance to provide safety for whole of Asia and China can't start action against any nation in Asia till they solve the problem with India. Cina has to decide whether they want 90k kms of land where even grass does not grow or do they want the SCS which is full of resources and is more than 100 times the size of disputed land mass with India.
Agreed, but China's main dispute with India is not LAC or border but Tibet which is their largest landmass ! Lac is just a means of expression of that cause.

That is what is at the back of Chinese minds! It hurts them badly.

From the IDRW link:

The mountain strike corps sanctioned for the Army for deployment along the China border will have an aviation brigade that may include the Apache attack choppers.

The corps was sanctioned by the Cabinet Committee on Security (CCS) yesterday at a cost of Rs 65,000 crore and would involve raising of around 50,000 troops for it.

The new corps may have the Apache attack choppers as the Defence Ministry has given permission to the Army for having a separate case for procuring the American-manufactured helicopters, sources told PTI here.

The Army and the IAF were engaged in a tussle for control over the attack helicopter fleet in which the government decided in favour of the former.

The two forces then contested for the 22 Apache attack choppers being procured from the US by the IAF but the Defence Ministry decided that they would remain with the IAF and the future assets would be given to the Army.

The government has given permission to the Army for pursuing a separate Foreign Military Sales-route procurement on the issue, they said.

Under the plans, the new strike corps will have two Mountain Infantry divisions including around 18 infantry battalions along with independent brigades of artillery, air defence and elements of combat engineers and mechanised forces.

The corps will take around six years to be raised along the Line of Actual Control (LAC) and new formations would be raised from Jammu and Kashmir to Arunachal Pradesh.

sasi

PLA expect a blitzkrieg campaign..

Some Positive Points of PLA. >>

1. They have light Mech forces specially trained for Mountain and Jungle warfare more or less SF in division size are expected to lead attacks for regulars..
2. They have Good infrastructure for the start and re-supply..
3. Causality is not a concern for them but objective, High Moral is there due to political officers in every platoon..

Some Negative Points of PLA. >>

1. PLA lack Air-support as there are few Airbases in TAR and due to height and rarity of Air their payload is lesser, No air superiority either..
2. Few roads and rail connects the region and easy target for IAF and Army Cruise Missiles so does tactical ballistic missiles, PLA supplies can be cut off..
3. Locals are pro Indian..
4. The objectives are at height and better defended, It will take time and wont be easy..

Conclusion >> If China attacks it will be with a boom, But as it get longer and there supply chain will be cut off, over that under IAF air superiority CAS will be intesive and Army could make a forceful counter attacks with or without strike crops, In long run China can be defeated in our own grounds..

===================

I cannot tell you the exact number coz i dont know myself, Its on rise..

2 million both active and reserve, TA is the reserve force and they are at the moment used in CT ops in J&K..
kunal sir, wiki says only 40000 TA is reporting? I think Leh corps needs 1 more infantry division!-ur views?
Is it possible to divert 3 or 4 divisions to china border without compromising too much strength in pak side,if needed arises?

Kunal is wrong on many aspects here. The secret Tibet scouts over 10k in strength which provide us with all the vital info have not been factored in and also the whole Idea of having strike corps for Tibet has not sunk in to the mind of members here. These tibettans will be part of each and every company of which ever unit which operates in China and now with bigger focus on learning Mandarin /cantonese for IA, Things will be very different.
To tell you the truth, If you translate an essay with 800 chinese pictorial language into English, you will need about 3000 english words. But if you converted a Sanskrit or Hindi essay of 3000 words into english, you will need nearly similar number of words. So while we can learn Mandarin and Cantonese quickly, it is very difficult for chinese to do so given the lack of pictorial characters of their language.

I still have doubt that INDIA is not telling the actual strength of the countries ARMED FORCES, especially the IA.......

What Military planners are doing is, Making dedicated Army groups for specific zones and have fixed tasks, If needed there will be some changes..

Government allocated additional 50,000 men for eastern front, this number is not related to strike crop..

Wiki is not reliable..

kunal sir, wiki says only 40000 TA is reporting? I think Leh corps needs 1 more infantry division!-ur views?
Is it possible to divert 3 or 4 divisions to china border without compromising too much strength in pak side,if needed arises?
===============

It would be better, if i know my faults..

Kunal is wrong on many aspects here. .

The secret Tibet scouts over 10k in strength which provide us with all the vital info have not been factored in and also the whole Idea of having strike corps for Tibet has not sunk in to the mind of members here. These tibettans will be part of each and every company of which ever unit which operates in China and now with bigger focus on learning Mandarin /cantonese for IA, Things will be very different.

Any links to this?

blueblood

Any links to this?
I think he meant SFF.
@Decklander, SFF is an airborne force similar to Para. They don't get attached to other units and have pretty much an independent chain of command and specialize in mountain warfare and behind enemy lines attrition warfare.

Impluseblade

When I see "will" and "may" in one sentence, I won't bet my money on it.

to the mod:
Why did you delete my reply and gave me a infraction notice? Chinese can't use future tense in a sentence?
From the IDRW link:
========================

You will get more if continues with one line posts..

Impluseblade

Could you tell the Chinese teacher of these Tibet scouts that Chinese and Cantonese are actually the same language? Cantonese is just a dialect, like English with a strong southern accent. It will be really funny to find a group of Tibetans speaking Cantonese in Tibet. They will get a lot of attentions.

I don't think Chinese is hard to learn but your logic doesn't make sense to me. The reason Chinese is easier to know is that Chinese is more wordy than English or Hindi. Could you explain more?

Kunal is wrong on many aspects here. The secret Tibet scouts over 10k in strength which provide us with all the vital info have not been factored in and also the whole Idea of having strike corps for Tibet has not sunk in to the mind of members here. These tibettans will be part of each and every company of which ever unit which operates in China and now with bigger focus on learning Mandarin /cantonese for IA, Things will be very different.
To tell you the truth, If you translate an essay with 800 chinese pictorial language into English, you will need about 3000 english words. But if you converted a Sanskrit or Hindi essay of 3000 words into english, you will need nearly similar number of words. So while we can learn Mandarin and Cantonese quickly, it is very difficult for chinese to do so given the lack of pictorial characters of their language.

When I see "will" and "may" in one sentence, I won't bet my money on it.
This is the sentence.

The mountain strike corps sanctioned for the Army for deployment along the China border will have an aviation brigade that may include the Apache attack choppers.
Maybe two sentences works better for you?

MSC will have an aviation brigade.

Aviation brigade may have Apaches.

It seems plausible to me.

I'm not trying to be tedious here.

LETHALFORCE

One question I have also asked is who will be able to maintain supply lines longer? China has yet
To demonstrate war capability beyond it's borders except a loss to the vietnamese in a border
War.

LETHALFORCE

Any war on the border could also possibly spark a civil war in Tibet? Chinese may have to
Deal with a civil uprising and a military confrontation, chinese took a month before thousands
Of tibetans were killed to tame the last uprising during the olympics.

DivineHeretic

One question I have also asked is who will be able to maintain supply lines longer? China has yet
To demonstrate war capability beyond it's borders except a loss to the vietnamese in a border
War.
The very idea of supply lines varies between the two countries. On the Chinese side we have the ultra modern highway and high speed railway which enables a very fast and efficient logistics supply to the fighting force. This in turn enables the commanders to open more fronts and maintain a faster tempo of operations.

On the Indian side, we have a unique supply line. On one hand we have the 21st century Air supply lines, and on the other the 16th century mule lines. Its very slow and incapable of moving heavy equipment anywhere close to the PLA capability, but is also extremely resiliant to Air strikes.

The Vietnam war proved the resiliance of the human/animal supply lines, when despite million tons of ordinance being dropped on the Vietcong, the Americans were unable to destroy the supply lines. Note that this was the same AF that wiped out the German conventional supply lines in 1944-45.

You have asked who can maintain supply lines longer, but the more pressing Question IMHO would be whose supply lines can take the most pounding.

Sir, you are far away from reality.

China has had radio stations broadcasting in almost every Indian Language including Tamil since 1950. They have been publishing their propaganda magazines and books in indian languages since 1950 which CPM and other ultra left fringes like Naxalites have been distributing amongst masses. Beijing Publishing house have been very active on that front since early times. PLA has a very large language trained manpower specially in Hindi. All their border patrols and other parties invariably comprises on at least on Hindi speaker / translator.

We are far behind to catch up.