LCA TEJAS MK1 & MK1A: News and Discussion

Vamsi

Tridev123

We as Indians need to have an mature way of handling failures.
Either we go overboard or we start castigating every body and everything.

The Tejas or for that matter any other combat aircraft indigenously developed is built for war and will see extensive use. While undertaking hundreds and thousands of sorties by the law of averages defects may arise and mistakes may happen. No nation on earth has till now managed to have an zero crash record for high usage combat aircraft. Whether it is the F22, the pinnacle of advanced technology and stealth or the Su57 all have had crashes. Can anyone name any highly used fighter aircraft which suffered zero crashes.

The most advanced countries in aerospace technology including the US, Russia and Europe could not achieve a zero crash record. Lesser said about China the better.

Did these countries go into deep depression over every crash and start crucifying their scientific community. No. They learnt from their mistakes and bounced back.
In case the problem was with the technology.

As far as human error goes it cannot be prevented 100%. Better training can help to a large extent.

So the Tejas may have some crashes in the future when it will be deployed in strength and extensively flown. Anything dealing with the military will have some degree of risk. War itself is risky. Should we then lock ourselves inside and fear the world. The world will not end even if the Tejas has an very rare mishap and India will not stop. Accept the fact that when military aircraft are flown extensively sometimes mishaps can occur.

This doesn't mean that the aircraft and the technology are junk. Only when repeated accidents take place some serious introspection needs to be done.

Otherwise examine the causes of any mishap in a scientific way and take whatever corrective action is required. A professional approach to any air accident is necessary. Not Randi Rona and self flagellation.

I think the Tejas has proved itself as an well designed and safe aircraft over the years and even if an occasional mishap takes place after flying thousands of hours, we should maintain our faith in the Tejas. One mishap does not change anything.
I have full belief in the capabilities of our scientists, engineers and technicians.

vishnugupt

Chutiya hai kya be.
View attachment 104945
Same IAF also stopped 24 fighter jets of enemy and shot down f16 with mig 21.
I know u have problem with forces but don't bloody discredit them u r abusing country by doing so.
Jitni aag tumhe lagi hai na.... usse jyada mujhe lagti hai jab mai 29feb incident yaad karta hu. but look where IAF is going ... Arey ye Baate medal lene ki nahi hoti. Its like Nehru conferring Bharat ratan to himself ....... Tomorrow If IA will start conferring such medals to lorry/Tank/BMP drivers without involving in combat then what will be the significance of these medals?

Nowadays IAF is in highlight for every wrong reason. Arey Mitra.... Apni galti ko sudhara jata hai uspar medal nahi liya jata.

And My dear friend I am ready to vow in front of our armed forces there is no shame in it but could you please tell me how many countries/ experts support your above claim?? Should we behave like Pakis to defend our weakness?

Nowadays IAF is in highlight for every wrong reason. Arey Mitra.... Apni galti ko sudhara jata hai uspar medal nahi liya jata.
It's a bit retarded what you are saying here... the guys been given the medal for not abandoning the aircraft when he was allowed to & displaying almost a near impossible skill to bring it back. I literally didn't believe it at first.

Please shut the f*** up, all of the medals should be given to that guy.

Vamsi

We as Indians need to have an mature way of handling failures.
Either we go overboard or we start castigating every body and everything.

The Tejas or for that matter any other combat aircraft indigenously developed is built for war and will see extensive use. While undertaking hundreds and thousands of sorties by the law of averages defects may arise and mistakes may happen. No nation on earth has till now managed to have an zero crash record for high usage combat aircraft. Whether it is the F22, the pinnacle of advanced technology and stealth or the Su57 all have had crashes. Can anyone name any highly used fighter aircraft which suffered zero crashes.

The most advanced countries in aerospace technology including the US, Russia and Europe could not achieve a zero crash record. Lesser said about China the better.

Did these countries go into deep depression over every crash and start crucifying their scientific community. No. They learnt from their mistakes and bounced back.
In case the problem was with the technology.

As far as human error goes it cannot be prevented 100%. Better training can help to a large extent.

So the Tejas may have some crashes in the future when it will be deployed in strength and extensively flown. Anything dealing with the military will have some degree of risk. War itself is risky. Should we then lock ourselves inside and fear the world. The world will not end even if the Tejas has an very rare mishap and India will not stop. Accept the fact that when military aircraft are flown extensively sometimes mishaps can occur.

This doesn't mean that the aircraft and the technology are junk. Only when repeated accidents take place some serious introspection needs to be done.

Otherwise examine the causes of any mishap in a scientific way and take whatever corrective action is required. A professional approach to any air accident is necessary. Not Randi Rona and self flagellation.

I think the Tejas has proved itself as an well designed and safe aircraft over the years and even if an occasional mishap takes place after flying thousands of hours, we should maintain our faith in the Tejas. One mishap does not change anything.
I have full belief in the capabilities of our scientists, engineers and technicians.
It's not at all about handling the failures. It is and will always be about the traitors who are always trying to find a way to sabotage Tejas and other indigenous weapons. If it is UPA govt , just one crash is enough to close the entire program

Tridev123

It's not at all about handling the failures. It is and will always be about the traitors who are always trying to find a way to sabotage Tejas and other indigenous weapons. If it is UPA govt , just one crash is enough to close the entire program
Yes, there are various lobbies which do not want India to become technologically independent in defence.
Some due to their aversion to India emerging as an major world power and other countries wanting us to be dependent on imported weapons for ever. They want India to stay as a captive market for eternity.

Unless we repose faith in our indigenous weapons whenever they meet minimum standards we will never progress as a defence power. I have to give credit to the Chinese who got the formula right. The Chinese Armed Forces put faith in indigenous weapons even when they did not match equivalent Western weapons and inducted those weapons. Provided minimum standards were met. They improved the indigenous weapons in successive iterations like mk1, mk2 etc.

I am not saying that we gloss over any shortcomings in the system. But try to improve the process instead of giving up and throwing everything into the dustbin.
And go for imports.

The Tejas and its successors will be serving India for decades to come. It has laid the foundations of our aerospace industry. It rightfully deserves our support.

Dark Sorrow

Only IA soldiers are worthy of these medals. Terrorist Sameer tiger challenged Major Shulka by abusing his mother in a Viral video. In reply Major Shukla swear on his mother and declared that Sameer Tiger will not see the sun tomorrow. Next day morning 5am Major Shukla managed to find him and challenged for duel, Major shukla himself took the lead and shot the terrorist by his own gun and Earn the Medal.

Contrary to IA, IAF has been taking medals by doing this drama from years. last time in a real conflict IAF missed it target, lost Mig-21, Mi17, pilot captured by PAF and 3 officers court marshaled.
You claiming only Army should be given medals is highly disrespectful and demoralizing to the other services.
Kindly note Army, Air Force and Navy are not the only services. We also have Armed Forces Special Operations Division, Defence Space Agency, Strategic Forces Command, Defence Cyber Agency, etc. and if any member (civilian or military) does service to nation he/she should be decorated.
Army also has its fair share of incidents. To name a few Rudra helicopters, Uri attack, etc. With fog of war we shall never know about any friendly fire incidents.
Targeting of Mi-17 by IAF AA-battery was unfortunate; it was lapse/violation to follow SOP and concerned officers faced disciplinary action.
We need to stop romanticizing with the Army, future wars will be won by integrated operation with lion share by air-force and Navy while services like Defence Cyber Agency, Defence Space Agency, etc. will act as major force multipliers.