LCA TEJAS MK1 & MK1A: News and Discussion

patriots

Defense lover
Let’s see 27th February incident when our pilot had to go inside pok for downing that F16 shouldn’t have happened and we should have the capability to down atleast 8-10 F16 if Pakistan tries such misadventure again
We had 4 fighter s ....they have 20+ .....
They broke roe...then only we replied....
Our mig21 bis used r73....
Again there is no confirmation from iaf that our mig 21 bis crossed loc.
The air war .. happened around the loc..... abhinandan varthaman landed 4 km ,air can glide the parachute some kilometres away......
Most of the news on feb27 is from sources....least is confirmed by iaf

Suhaan

You want the parts, components, systems of Gripen into Tejas and according to you almost everything of gripen should be included in Tejas, the way you are posting, it seems you even want the airframe of gripen for Tejas. So stop doing this nonsense.
And name it Gripanjas

Chandragupt Maurya

You want the parts, components, systems of Gripen into Tejas and according to you almost everything of gripen should be included in Tejas, the way you are posting, it seems you even want the airframe of gripen for Tejas. So stop doing this nonsense.
I wish if Tejas could carry Meteors because we already bought Rafales and Meteors from France so why Tejas shouldn’t be able to integrate it as well Tejas can carry Meteors once it gets fitted with our indigenous UTTAM AESA Radars (hopefully) and i doubt US would allow us to use Tejas against Pakistan as long as it flies with American engines US suppled AIM-120C Missiles to Pakistan only to counter IAF there was no other reason to supply air to air missiles to Pakistan

We could talk about Meteor integration in Tejas only when our indigenous RADAR gets integrated in it. This has been put forward well enough by France.

On engine front, we have purchased the GE engines instead of getting them under any deal. So there is no reason for US to come in mid.

Sanglamorre

Remember our rocket tech? Was it as good in the first tries? No right? Look where we are now.

Same thing with Tejas. We'll get there, but for that we need to keep plugging at Tejas, not scrap it or relegate it to fancy experiment. Only when it is so necessary that we cant function without it will we break our backs to make it exemplary, like our rocket tech.

Chandragupt Maurya

We could talk about Meteor integration in Tejas only when our indigenous RADAR gets integrated in it. This has been put forward well enough by France.

On engine front, we have purchased the GE engines instead of getting them under any deal. So there is no reason for US to come in mid.
I doubt France would allow integration of meteors in UTTAM because UTTAM will integrate Israeli and Russian missiles as well or maybe American missiles if we buy AIM-120D

Chandragupt Maurya

Remember our rocket tech? Was it as good in the first tries? No right? Look where we are now.

Same thing with Tejas. We'll get there, but for that we need to keep plugging at Tejas, not scrap it or relegate it to fancy experiment. Only when it is so necessary that we cant function without it will we break our backs to make it exemplary, like our rocket tech.
Tejas program must continue and it should get indigenous engines as well but we can experiment with few Tejas (36-40) by equipping them with European radars and meteor missiles rest of the Tejas should continue with Indigenous Tech

Chandragupt Maurya

We have paid such a huge amount of money to France and if rafales are selected in MMRCA we will pay them a fortune why shouldn’t we ask them to integrate meteor in Tejas we are paying the money and we have the right to choose what we do with the weapons we bought by by paying billions of dollars

ARVION

We have paid such a huge amount of money to France and if rafales are selected in MMRCA we will pay them a fortune why shouldn’t we ask them to integrate meteor in Tejas we are paying the money and we have the right to choose what we do with the weapons we bought by by paying billions of dollars
We asked but with little success .

Shekhar Singh

BSDK, chup ho ja, paagal kar k chhodega kya?
Why do you want to have Meteor, Astra mk1, mk2, sfdr, AIM 120d, Derby, derby er, R77, R73, R27, ASRAM, PL15 and all other missiles on Tejas?
Abe thoda padh bhi liya kar. Ekdum se paka ke rakh diya.

Tejas program must continue and it should get indigenous engines as well but we can experiment with few Tejas (36-40) by equipping them with European radars and meteor missiles rest of the Tejas should continue with Indigenous Tech
😵
Indigenous engines - wanna delay program by 15 year's or there is any secret way to test new engines in 1 year? Chinese have been testing WS - 10 from 2000s and equipped many dual engine flankers copies with them. Still they didn't used that new engine In J-10 you wanna risk a multi million $ fighter's with unproven engine?

Why to test tejas with EU radar and missiles when everything in those missile and radars is pre tested.
Secondly we should test tejas with SFDR and uttan asea rather than wasting money
Meteor is a super expensive missile we cannot just keep importing it in large number's do you know a missile have a flying life and shelf life tejas which is interceptor role will eat those missiles quickly.
And Meteor is not owned By france it's a joint venture program which involves different countries so to equip it into non Eu radar will require allowance from all of them.
Better to build Cheaper MK2 and SFDR.

Tang

IAF originally wanted 126 mirages. Rafale is far more potent . Operationally 72 rafale are more capable than 126 mirage . So 36-44 more rafale are enough to close mmrca drama. And by the time they are delivered mwf will start coming which is very advanced mirage basically.
But what about ToT - Lets have a discussion on that
& local manufacturing?

SimplyIndian

Import Air Force Is going to burn 27 billion dollars on imports
-7 billion on 36 Rafales
-5 billion on S400
- now they pushing for 15 Billion dollar deal for 114 MRCA..

This is criminal waste of money.
So without SU, Mirage, mig, subs,Sigs, boforce, Vikrammaditya, and so many other weaponry in last 30- 50 years, Do you think that you would be wrting your post from an independent nation exist today?

Yes money spent is too big, but what is opportunity costs ? have you considered it?

I doubt France would allow integration of meteors in UTTAM because UTTAM will integrate Israeli and Russian missiles as well or maybe American missiles if we buy AIM-120D
France already confirmed on Meteor integration provided India use Uttam AESA. Anyway, integration would mean providing source code to India instead of Israel which is their real concern.
So whether India use Russian missiles or Israeli on Tejas post Uttam, it is of no concern for France.

Tumba

France already confirmed on Meteor integration provided India use Uttam AESA. Anyway, integration would mean providing source code to India instead of Israel which is their real concern.
So whether India use Russian missiles or Israeli on Tejas post Uttam, it is of no concern for France.
A missile is missile,,, it can interface with any mission control system can get radar guidance etc., doesnt matter uttam or elta, it always depends on consortium of nations will they allow meteor to be used in Indian plateform ..

if we say history only when India is at crunch of developing its own matching system the system is sold freely by west...

so once we in India has our own SFDR ready see how meteor will be available for every Indian fighter

Tang

Maybe the ELTA 2052 is best bang for the buck but I wanted Tejas to have the ability to carry as much variety of weapons as Griepen does because we have already bought Rafales and Meteors hope that UTTAM and Astra comes fast
Hi

We have DRDO SDFR(Desi Meteor) coming in 6-8 years time frame.
Plus Tejas will carry Astra and Derby-ER(80% of Meteor profile).

johnq

IAF should triple the Tejas MK1 order to 120 to use them as close air support for troops in the Himalayas. It would be good in this role because it has the lowest wing loading of any fighter in the IAF, including the Rafale. Lower wing loading is necessary at higher altitudes to generate lift. All the MK1 Tejas can later be upgraded to MK1A.

A missile is missile,,, it can interface with any mission control system can get radar guidance etc., doesnt matter uttam or elta, it always depends on consortium of nations will they allow meteor to be used in Indian plateform ..

if we say history only when India is at crunch of developing its own matching system the system is sold freely by west...

so once we in India has our own SFDR ready see how meteor will be available for every Indian fighter
Yes. They would allow it. If they don't want to do that, they would have directly asked HAL to go for US or France RADAR.
A missile is as good as the RADAR to pass on the information to it. In case of Elta, for Meteor integration, the source code would have to be provided to Israel which is a real concern for France. But if we use Uttam, those source code would be with us.

Chandragupt Maurya

BSDK, chup ho ja, paagal kar k chhodega kya?
Why do you want to have Meteor, Astra mk1, mk2, sfdr, AIM 120d, Derby, derby er, R77, R73, R27, ASRAM, PL15 and all other missiles on Tejas?
Abe thoda padh bhi liya kar. Ekdum se paka ke rakh diya.
BSDK Meteor, Astra mk1, mk2, sfdr, AIM 120d, these Missiles can be easily integrated with Griepen