Know Your 'Rafale'

Jagdish58

Don't worry for me.
I think Rafale indian deal will be cleared until the end of THIS year. even in september.
Are you spokes person from MOD or GOI , please don't bring the idiotic equation of IDF here in DFI where you have bunch of buffons who act like they are twins of Mr.Parikar

Any assured link GOI agreeing signing end of sep ?? please don't tell some jockey or some stupid radio goes on and on rafale deal is mouth piece of MOD India

Be serious ! The plane is still limited to 7G NINE years after first flight ? This story of the FBW limitation is just to earn some time before the truth will be known definitively.
LCA's envelope was 6G till last year, i.e 15 years after 1st flight, only recently has this been opened up. What's your point really? Atleast with the F-35 and LCA you have stellar safety record. How many Rafales have crashed in the mean time?

smestarz

Nice and detailed reply... surely took your time to reply, but good
keep it up

Would it be relevant that T-38 was the aggressor representing Supersonic aircrafts while A-4 was representative threat for Sub-sonic aggressors.

F-35 has won against a sub-sonic plane. Makes me feel very happy actually.

But what puzzles me in the F-35 vs. Rafale debate is that a plane happy with engaging A-4s has the ambition too beat Rafales or even Sukhois.

What is A-4? A 7g airframe, TWR of 0.5 or thereabout, max speed of 0.85 mach.

And Rafale – 11g airframe restricted to 9g, TWR probably in excess of 1, max speed about 1.8 mach.

I have heard of dogs with ambition to fcuk elephants. Sochne mein kya jata hai.

Now imagine this runt trying to outmaneuver a missile that can turn at 40g-90g or gather speeds of 4 mach.

Ok sir ji, Loiter time is dependent on Fuel. F-35 taking along 8.5 ton fuel while A-10 takes 4.5 is a good thing for F-35. And an A-10 with a bigger wing compared to an F-35A is a bad thing for A-10.

But lets exercise our brain cells a little more and see what happens in real life:

Theek hai ji, no fuel involved still you get range and loiter… But does that have some application or none. Ok I will try to be fair the aspect ratios differ too. So yes aspect ratios matter too. And as pointed out elsewhere the BPR of the engines used.

But is it not important that we acknowledge that fuel for an aircraft in actual deployment conditions is a variable and not a fixed parameter. So if my engines do not have to fire too long too wet so the piddly little stubby wings can be made to cut air faster and generate enough lift. Then probably I will get better range and loiter time too. Probably glide ratios have some application. Probably if the wing is not already loaded to an insane extent there would be more wing available to generate lift instead of having to rely on more speed to generate lift and consequently burning up fuel faster.

Ain’t the fuel load itself a variable for differently designed aircrafts and a lower wing loading esp. for h will allow for more loading of fuel too.

Are you trying to impress me with your knowledge? Because I am deeply impressed. :)

I know Rutowski is common. Point is to what ends.

And I don’t feel like cross checking about F-35A needing it or not. But IIRC even the F-35A had the performance requirements relaxed. I may be wrong. But if I am right then perhaps the F-35A pilot too should simply have taken the Rutowski route to success.

This is how true fighter planes (not meant for specialized CAS) are meant to fly. And Rafale is not very far from these levels.

Remember this is the old Sukhoi-27 souped up for a shot at the record book. Today a S-35S are rumoured to be supercruising in normal layout with nothing take out of it. Rafale too can supercruise without anything taken out of it and with 4 missiles and a fuel tank hung onto it.

MACE rumour was not mine. I don’t consider somebody beating a 20 year old system a great performance. But radar networks don't get updated every 5 years. So MACE is still relevant if they did it.

About the Dash-Supercruise. See if this is relevant for you.

But off course you first have to reach 1.2 mach in an F-35 before you can do that 150 mile super cruising.

So you see sir ji, there is a lot that comes out of my behind. You could try, not standing behind me.

I agree about the firing solutions part but what if you are wrong about the passive tracking?

Because if you are right then the Northrop will have to admit they are wrong. Which is kind of harder for me to digest given that you are very interested in my behind.

And I have deliberately understated the number of emitters that can be tracked by saying in the ‘hundreds’. The rumour is in the range of a track capability against 20,000 emitters. Off course the missile firing solutions will not be provided because most AWACS do not work in bands relevant for Fire Control and missile guidance is not the primary work. But vectors are going to be available for nearly all. Jammers are emitters. Strobeing does not mean Jammers are not tracked it only means that the transmission along the jammed axis is ceased.

This not unlike the active cancellation of terrain returns wherever required, which is also what AWACS are capable of doing and which also does not imply that the return is not kept track of. It is binned and compared and actively cancelled each time to give a clear final picture with useless stuff deleted. This implies that the radar knows what exactly it is looking at.

European, Russian, Chinese and Indian AWACS and AEWCs, are not going to be much different either. Vectoring of fighters is going to be possible for every single emitter.

As regards your challenge of AWACS being able to “give firing solution”. I never said US E-3 or is meant for giving firing solutions. I did not say that for S-400/S-300 VHF/L-Band radars either. But vectors can be provided by either systems, accurately enough to guide both aircrafts and SAMs with Seekers. Possibly also AAMs with seekers. At least from the Russian side this is the claim which to me is not unreasonable given similar part claims by other countries.

Sir ji mein toa bol raha hun. Kripa kar gyan baantiye. Hum line mein sab sey aagey milenge. Leking aap to hamare behinds check out karne mein jyada interested hain.

Ok not even Atlas Electronik - ATAS makers simply have to be wrong before your shining knowledge.

Check this image out and see if it makes sense to you. This is from Bistatic POV but can be easily applied to multistatic arrangements.

Situation is not going to be much different in the EM realm. Esp. with planform stealth where the reflected radar energy is also sought to be directed into a very limited set of directions. The returns are going to massively increase in these directions. Which implies that sensor range is less important than sensor count.

I am again suggesting that probably the limitations of multistatic arrangements that you have seen are due to poorer peak powers involved. Currently most active multistatic radars deployed or being studied seem to be focusing on chaining up several Bi-static radars for fencing and tracking shadows in their boresight (forward scatter).

But Master ji, AWACS radars will be volume search capable, equally effective in all directions. While all F-35s with a definite mission must fly mostly linear paths to get to their launch points. Don’t you see an inherent challenge in avoiding radars.

With 30 degrees broadside what was the power aperture product involved in that study? Can we have the details to understand what you are talking about?

Anyhow be that as it may, question arises what if the L Band AWACS is already focusing its all its energy in the broader side (with AWACS flying almost parallel to the F-35 making the ingress) and the receiver of the reflected energy is a smaller array on potent fighter (say PAKFA) or many smaller arrays on many smaller fighters. How will the inverse square law play out now? As these smaller fighters race towards the F-35 on strike missions. Would the arrangement make the smaller fighter a Stealth Hunter or not? Now what if the L-Band AWACS is also already cued in by a ground based OTH radar or a VHF/UHF radar. Will that give enough time to the L-Band AWACS to suitably change its flight path to reach the vector I mention above.

I don’t discount the the study by MBDA & BAE. But did that study involve the scenario I mentioned.

To my lay mind there can be many many variations of this arrangement. Each almost equally potent, though with different playoffs.

Are you talking about a forward scatter arrangement. Did the arrangement I stated above involve long baselines? Are they multistatic arrangements?

Actually forward scatters too can be exceedingly difficult to handle for F-35 or F-22. Such arrangements can be made to have a higher degree of redundancy. In the scenario I mentioned if the L-Band AWACS dies the whole arrangement dies out – no redundancy in air defence surveillance even though there is lots in the air defence exchange ratios.

The 5 km baseline I mentioned is something I picked watching videos and reading promotional material on the web (from US, Sweden, Russia). This may or may not be true. But probably is.

SARH need not be CW homing. Can be pulsed homing too. Here is a patent by an American company Raytheon which admits to it. The requirement for CW homing admittedly was later widely used but only to avoid clutter and jamming and not because continuous illumination was required from the launch point itself.

But that is not what I was suggesting when I mentioned LOAL and LOBL for semi active guidance systems. Off course there are several ways to get to your goal – even while using the energy transmitted from an off-board sensor. Track Via Missile is another, Sensor Supported Ground Guidance is still another. Each involving different architecture but each using the energy transmitted by another source, directly or indirectly (indirectly to compute fused tracks shared though datalinks). Which will allow the CW illuminator to come up at the last moment. Essentially not requiring the oneself to expose too much and also allowing for multiple off board guidances.

If I can see the gun flash then why would I wait for the sound signals to arrive at 332 m/s from 33200+ meters away for a bloody 1.7 minutes. If I can see the flash it implies clear line of sight. Why can’t I simply use a WLR or even just a guess work or hand over BFSR and laser-rangers to scouts.

Sound ranging has nothing to do with seeing the flash. It has to do with time delays in arrival, given the multilocated sensors and the knowledge that sound would travel in great circles/spherical.

Here is a general representative diagram of how it works. Kindly show us master ji, how the flash is going to help.

To me it looks like a passive multistatic arrangement designed to track back the transmitter (of sound).

Anything that uses wavefronts can be directional. But all directional interference will still leave just enough signal that would be relevant for detection. Your mobile detects weak GPS signals sent to you from thousands of kilometers away. What will happen if the listener brings in much much bigger antennas then the F-35 can bring in for listening. Won’t that make even the attenuated interfered signal available. From this point the elimination process starts. You will have to wait for your wish to be granted till laser based datalinks can be developed.

What is so special about directional datalink when massive radars regularly do beam sharpening.

How is directional datalink going to be a uniquely helpful to F-35 when the current kill chains being fielded are designed to actively track the fat turkey.

Wow, I admit man I don’t know.

I moodh agyani have made a mistake.

Till date I thought you would require a Pelena type antenna with all the other associated peripherals to jam an AWACS like persistence.

America is great. Halleluja. They have increased the jamming range by 4 times plus shrunk the jammer size by something like 20 times plus made the jammer capable of fooling all the EM spectrum.

While this moodh agyani was asleep the world moved from jamming singular S-Band radars with this:

To jamming everything with this:

Wow!

Howsoever big the size the point is the robustness of the kill chain within a protected bubble (like 400+ km). And may be secondarily the decampment times (between 6 minutes to 20 minutes). 20 minutes may be a false info. Because similar systems have also achieved around 6 minutes too.

Is it not strange that people are willing to believe 500 km bubbles when it’s a carrier battle group from USA but not a bubble based on land when sourced out of Russia.

Vostok E from Belarus. Almost the same size as the Nebo VHF from Russia. Belarus says 6 minutes. Russia says 20 minutes.

You say permanent.

Mera dil mange more.

No doubt master ji, Physics to aap sey hi shuru hoti hai.

Won’t the MALD standin for the NPI F-35. Are we increasing the foot print or decreasing it this week.

Anyhow Vostok-E processes 250 targets after every ping. You are welcome to try from any direction. Be the Belarussian guest.

Sir ji aapki shradha. Right now the situation is that 10 billion USD sea based X band could not handle the test targets. Some say because of too much debri surrounding the RV representative of the real X band target to be found.

My point is that while making of decoys is easy it becomes much more difficult to make and then lug around for lower bands. In fact that is the rationale when agyani people decided to move lower band for FOPEN needs. You see they argued that things that can reflect lower bands have a higher probability of being man made. With X band even the leaves on trees give a return.

My point is not about complexity of decoys. Anybody can make anything as complex as they want to. Not even gods will stop you if somebody has that desire.

Agreed but detection simply must come before locking.

Detection itself allows you to narrow down your workload. Before detection there is blindness only. After detection you can always use other more aggressive means to establish the kill chain or to reject.

So detection a job half done.

You brought up that figure of 10 km. I don’t have to use anything to prove your point. That is your job.

But was not that post declaratory? Now its just representative!

Yeh I know. Them Russians are dumb. They need this big interrogators when they already had dipoles on nose mounted radars earlier.

USA good. Russia dumb. Russia technology development going in reverse direction.

But what if its not a mere IFF. What if its more than that? What if its designed to serve as homing head for the whole plane.

I dd not even say the following. What the hell are you replying to. Do you even care to read properly.

Sir blame the SAAB people for this idea. Came from them which they are working on for use on their Gripens.

Oh Rafale and PAKFA are not going to remain passive. They are the hunters, not the hunted. The passive part came into the arguments because you started the arguments from “Jamming+Low RCS”. If somebody is already announcing their presence then only cross-checking is required, transmitting is not absolutely necessary.

If Track Via Missile of PAC-2 does not help then kindly try to convince US people. They are the ones using it.

IF Ground Radar Guidance with Missile Sensor receiving updates like the S-400/S-300 is nothing new or special then why do American throw such a tantrum when these are deployed near their forces.

Agreed but all these systems can easily work with each other while rapidly approaching the suspected target/s.

Now you have a definite upper hand. I cannot convince you, I admit.

smestarz

Dear Sis, I nicely asked for credible links to support your claims
Not many are areally interested in urban legends... like you said before, support your claims with links..
You can say that its Secret and not many people know about it, so how come yoiu know? You dont work in Dassault.. So, if there is no link to support your claims then this is just all gas, no need for anyone to believe it.,
India is developing something better than SPECTRA, ... it just falls short of making plane optically invisible !!

Spectra is able to do a lot of things. Passively, actively.... and it's probably the most secret part of Rafale programm. It cost 25% of the developpment costs of Rafale.... and French is a leader in electronic support measures. from 1960 and the nuclear deterrence.
Don't expect we show all its capacity before a massive war. Spectra is made to ensure french air deterrence.

smestarz

And since you tid talk about the price of development of SPECTRA, the Americans have spent a lot lot more on the avionics of F-35, much more than what Dassault have spent on SPECTRA (which is RBE2-AA Radar and other receivers and sensors, AN/APG-81 is almost 50% bigger than RBE-2AA and more capable too, Further the sensor suite produced for F-35 has spent a lot lot more than what was spent on SPECTRA,, so why on earth you feel that F-35 is still plane that is inferior to Rafale? ITs like calling your cow a cow and others cow a Goat,, and without really seeing the others cow.. how logical is that sis?

Spectra is able to do a lot of things. Passively, actively.... and it's probably the most secret part of Rafale programm. It cost 25% of the developpment costs of Rafale.... and French is a leader in electronic support measures. from 1960 and the nuclear deterrence.
Don't expect we show all its capacity before a massive war. Spectra is made to ensure french air deterrence.

StealthFlanker

Bro, 9 years after first flight, if a plane is imited to 7G, it will remain limited to 7G for the rest of its life ! 9 years, with a huge amount of tests.... it's over for manoeuvrability.
No , they dont just test maneuver only you know , there are alot more to a modern aircraft , do you know the different between IOC and FOC ?
Would it be relevant that T-38 was the aggressor representing Supersonic aircrafts while A-4 was representative threat for Sub-sonic aggressors.
Firstly F-35 did execrise with F-15E , F-15C and F-16 too , i already posted the link , come back and read
Secondly , T-38 and A-4 were also used as aggressors for F-22 and F-35 because they are very small and hard to see in WVR.

But what puzzles me in the F-35 vs. Rafale debate is that a plane happy with engaging A-4s has the ambition too beat Rafales or even Sukhois.
F-35 did beat F-15 and F-16 too. A-4 is not the only aircraft that it do exercise with. And air combat included BVR as well , not just WVR.

What is A-4? A 7g airframe, TWR of 0.5 or thereabout, max speed of 0.85 mach.
And Rafale – 11g airframe restricted to 9g, TWR probably in excess of 1, max speed about 1.8 mach
Firstly, F-35 did fly and win again F-16 and F-15 too, so not just A-4 , so dont try to play it down by only saying A-4
Secondly, structure G limit is not the same as G limit due to lift , for example everyone know F-16 is a 9G airplane , does that mean it can turn 9G at all altitude , all condition ? NO , at 50K feet , will barely have enough lift to turn 3G and barely enough thrust to sustain more than 1 G , and that is with drag index of 0. And that sort of thing happen to all aircraft not only F-16. So honestly , i couldnt care less if Rafale was a 11G airframe or 1000 G airframe for that matter. Rather irrelevance as soon as you go higher than 10K feet

And about Thrust/weight , it actually rather hilarious that internet fanboy always compare T/W of one plane with another and think that which ever have higher T/W is definitely better.
Firstly, the engine thrust that you often see on internet , is ground zero air speed thrust ( aka static thrust), once you put the engine inside the aircraft there will be thrust lost due to air intake (main one of the reason why F-16 changed their intake from small mouth to big mouth) the same F100 in F-15 will have different thrust from that one inside an F-16 and so on .
once you go to higher altitude there will be thrust lost too ( and not all engine reduce thrust at the same rate either )
Without exact thrust curve of engine with specific altitude and speed , it rather hard if not impossible to compare aircraft thrust.This is an example of a thrust curve :

Secondly, T/W is a matter of fuel load too. It quite funny to see people compare 2 grossly differnt aircraft with the same percentage fuel load. For example: i very often see people do comparison with EF-2000, F-16 , F-35, Rafale , Gripen E all with internal 50% fuel and concluded that F-35 is poor at WVR because it have the lowest T/W. How exactly is that fair when F-35 with full internal fuel can fly as far as all others in the comparison with a few external fuel tanks ? . If you want a fair T/W comparison , you need to equalize the range or afterburner combat time, a 500 km combat radius may mean half the internal tank for F-35 but that would mean full internal fuel tank for F-16 or Rafale

Now imagine this runt trying to outmaneuver a missile that can turn at 40g-90g or gather speeds of 4 mach
Say that to people who think air combat is only a matter of dogfight

But is it not important that we acknowledge that fuel for an aircraft in actual deployment conditions is a variable and not a fixed parameter. So if my engines do not have to fire too long too wet so the piddly little stubby wings can be made to cut air faster and generate enough lift. Then probably I will get better range and loiter time too. Probably glide ratios have some application. Probably if the wing is not already loaded to an insane extent there would be more wing available to generate lift instead of having to rely on more speed to generate lift and consequently burning up fuel faster.
1) If you want more lift just increase AoA a little bit , not that big of a deal if you only want to loiter
2) if you want more loiter time then just go for wing with high aspect ratio and small sweep angle , but these wing are not good for dogfight.

But IIRC even the F-35A had the performance requirements relaxed. I may be wrong. But if I am right then perhaps the F-35A pilot too should simply have taken the Rutowski route to success.
F-35A KPP was relaxed too but with much smaller amount compared to F-35C and B , and the modified Rutowski was used mostly to save acceleration time. As i said before unloading is very common for fighter pilots

This is how true fighter planes (not meant for specialized CAS) are meant to fly. And Rafale is not very far from these levels.
Remember this is the old Sukhoi-27 souped up for a shot at the record book. Today a S-35S are rumoured to be supercruising in normal layout with nothing take out of it. Rafale too can supercruise without anything taken out of it and with 4 missiles and a fuel tank hung onto it.
:lol::lol::lol::rofl:
Did you just said Rafale have performance close to the P-42 ? Do you know what it is :rofl:it is a fully stripped down Flanker without Radar , ECM ,IRST , IFF , paint , pylons and a modified engine T/W of 2 with full fuel load, no fighter flying today can excess the pure climbing performed of P-42 , and i mean it ,not even the F-22 or PAK-FA can do that.( the same go for Streak Eagle ) So no Rafale , Su-35 do not come close to it , not at all. Supercruise is irrelevance here since it just the matter of dynamic dry thrust at high speed.

MACE rumour was not mine. I don’t consider somebody beating a 20 year old system a great performance. But radar networks don't get updated every 5 years. So MACE is still relevant if they did it..
my question is whether the rumor actually true

But off course you first have to reach 1.2 mach in an F-35 before you can do that 150 mile super cruising.
And where exactly did it say F-35 have to use full afterburner before start the 150 nm supercruising ? :rofl:or did you literally made that up ?

I agree about the firing solutions part but what if you are wrong about the passive tracking?
Because if you are right then the Northrop will have to admit they are wrong. Which is kind of harder for me to digest given that you are very interested in my behind.
Read it carefully again, where did it say they can generate firing solution ? , all they said is :
The radar transmitter can be shut down in selected subsectors while the receivers continue to receive and process data. This is an effective feature in a jammed (ECM) environment. A single accurate line
(strobe) passing through the location of each jammer
is generated on the display console.
Do you know what the line mean ? , it literally mean you have no range gate of target , which mean the massive radar is nothing more than a RWR now , and it not surprise at all that RWR will see jamming signal just like they can see radar

I h ave deliberately understated the number of emitters that can be tracked by saying in the ‘hundreds’. The rumour is in the range of a track capability against 20,000 emitters.
When i said track , i mean you can have an angular, velocity and range gate of target.Not just that you know the general direction.
This not unlike the active cancellation of terrain returns wherever required, which is also what AWACS are capable of doing and which also does not imply that the return is not kept track of. It is binned and compared and actively cancelled each time to give a clear final picture with useless stuff delete
The clutter rejection of AWACs is nothing similar to active cancellation
Clutter rejection of radar based on doppler gate and range gate
Active cancellation of Spectra based on destructive interference
They are nothing similar in any ways

Check this image out and see if it makes sense to you. This is from Bistatic POV but can be easily applied to multistatic arrangements.
:pound:Did you just posted a picture of towed sonar array as an evidence to " multi static arrangement improved range " ???:pound:
a towed sonar array have longer range than an internal sonar array not because they are in a multistatic arrangement but because the sonar is far aways from the clutter source ( the noise of the ship carrying it ) , another point is a towed sonar array can be bigger and be put below the reflective layer.
Also lower frequency tend to travel longer because the attenuation will be lower again them

Situation is not going to be much different in the EM realm. Esp. with planform stealth where the reflected radar energy is also sought to be directed into a very limited set of directions. The returns are going to massively increase in these directions. Which implies that sensor range is less important than sensor count.
and as i said before , these direct will be ver far from frontal direction , so for your multistatic arrangement to be effective , the transmitter and receiver need to be stationed very far from each other.

AWACS radars will be volume search capable, equally effective in all directions. While all F-35s with a definite mission must fly mostly linear paths to get to their launch points. Don’t you see an inherent challenge in avoiding radars.
And what will stop F-35 from go hunt these AWACs first ? , and you dont always know what targets will these F-35 will target either
With 30 degrees broadside what was the power aperture product involved in that study? Can we have the details to understand what you are talking about?
https://www.flightglobal.com/news/articles/eurofighter-boasts-typhoon-reign-over-f-35-345265/

Anyhow be that as it may, question arises what if the L Band AWACS is already focusing its all its energy in the broader side (with AWACS flying almost parallel to the F-35 making the ingress)
No , the point is the AWACs radar , need to be stationed 30 degrees from the nose of F-35 because that where spike located , it doesnt matter what direction the AWACs facing.

the receiver of the reflected energy is a smaller array on potent fighter (say PAKFA) or many smaller arrays on many smaller fighters.
we come back to multi static radar issue again. Same problem

How will the inverse square law play out now?
How is inversed square law related at all here?

Are you talking about a forward scatter arrangement. Did the arrangement I stated above involve long baselines? Are they multistatic arrangements?
Normally it would be triangulation rather than long baseline TDOA since it require less modern electronic , but even if you use long baseline TDOA then the problem remain exactly the same, the accuracy will only increase if they received the reflection and the point of stealth is to reduce and deflect reflection from the threat radar. 5 km separation is merely like 1-2 degrees separation so obviously the reflection willnot come back to them. That why i said the receiver and transmitter need to be far from each other to get a big angular seperation.
( and yes obviously they are forward scatter , why would you want backscatter here ?:bplease:

SARH need not be CW homing. Can be pulsed homing too. Here is a patent by an American company Raytheon which admits to it. The requirement for CW homing admittedly was later widely used but only to avoid clutter and jamming and not because continuous illumination was required from the launch point itself.
they literally said they dont know what kind of radar it is , also pulse doppler radar do have CW mode too. And regardless whether SARH can operate in pulse doppler or not , you dont launch your missiles before you get a firing solution , unless the target is only like 4-5 km aways then angular direction is ok.

But that is not what I was suggesting when I mentioned LOAL and LOBL for semi active guidance systems. Off course there are several ways to get to your goal – even while using the energy transmitted from an off-board sensor. Track Via Missile is another, Sensor Supported Ground Guidance is still another. Each involving different architecture but each using the energy transmitted by another source, directly or indirectly (indirectly to compute fused tracks shared though datalinks). Which will allow the CW illuminator to come up at the last moment. Essentially not requiring the oneself to expose too much and also allowing for multiple off board guidances.
I dont see how this related to fire solution problem at all ???. The guide part is only after you lanch the missiles , the firing solution part is when you located the target , put it in an angular , range and velocity gate and predict where it would be , and base on these information the computer will calculate the loft angle for your missiles.

If I can see the gun flash then why would I wait for the sound signals to arrive at 332 m/s from 33200+ meters away for a bloody 1.7 minutes. If I can see the flash it implies clear line of sight. Why can’t I simply use a WLR or even just a guess work or hand over BFSR and laser-rangers to scouts.
If you have other way to measure range like a laser finder range then obviously you can use them. I didnt deny that , but if you dont have others method then you can always rely on sound to measuare the range. Why do you need the sound ? , well because with the flash alone and no triangulation with others unit you cant measure the distance. You dont know the exact time the flash travel from the firing position to your place because you have no start point as a reference to measuare the time the flash travel . But with a flash an a sounds wave , you can estimate the time it takes for the sound to travel ,and there come the range.

Sound ranging has nothing to do with seeing the flash. It has to do with time delays in arrival, given the multilocated sensors and the knowledge that sound would travel in great circles/spherical.

Here is a general representative diagram of how it works. Kindly show us master ji, how the flash is going to help.
Firstly , i never said the only way for altilery to determine range is with flash and sounds , i said they can do passived ranging in that case
Now we come back to the multi static arrangement , TDOA and triangulation problem again. Sound travel in circle so you got the same sound wave travel to all receiver. How do you plan to get the same radar pulse from a radar with pencil beam to travel to all your receiver several km apart ? . Understand ? the beam will not cover all receivers for you to do accurate TDOA

Anything that uses wavefronts can be directional. But all directional interference will still leave just enough signal that would be relevant for detection. Your mobile detects weak GPS signals sent to you from thousands of kilometers away. What will happen if the listener brings in much much bigger antennas then the F-35 can bring in for listening. Won’t that make even the attenuated interfered signal available. From this point the elimination process starts. You will have to wait for your wish to be granted till laser based datalinks can be developed.
Firstly , the GPS signal from satellite is not directional , just look at frequency vs aperture size
Secondly there is almost no air in space so attenuation is like 0% ,and the frequency the GPS work at also have almost 0% attenuation too
Thirdly, MADL use Ka band which is a very high frequency , that mean much thinner beam for same aperture size , your receiver will not even within the beam to detect it, moreover , Ka band also have high attenuation so it wont go very far either.

Btw , if datalink is so easy to detect then how can your Rafale use TDOA or triangulation for passive ranging then ? :pound::pound:how do you think multi static arrangement work ?? :pound::pound:

What is so special about directional datalink when massive radars regularly do beam sharpening.
the special part is that up until now datalink has been omidirectional

Wow, I admit man I don’t know.
I moodh agyani have made a mistake.
Till date I thought you would require a Pelena type antenna with all the other associated peripherals to jam an AWACS like persistence.
America is great. Halleluja. They have increased the jamming range by 4 times plus shrunk the jammer size by something like 20 times plus made the jammer capable of fooling all the EM spectrum.
While this moodh agyani was asleep the world moved from jamming singular S-Band radars with this
:
Nice try with sacarsm , but jamming power required ( to reach the same signal-noise ratio) is directly proportional to the RCS of target , what does that mean ? it mean if your RCS reduced by 99% then jamming power required will decrease by the same amount too. And i find it rather hilarious that you dont have any problem believing that Spectra can jam all spectrum from 0.1 Ghz to 100 Ghz with it's tiny jamming antenna but suddently it a problem when MALD-J do that ?
And may be secondarily the decampment times (between 6 minutes to 20 minutes). 20 minutes may be a false info. Because similar systems have also achieved around 6 minutes too.
So tell me what VHF radar decamp in 6 minutes ? official source please

Is it not strange that people are willing to believe 500 km bubbles when it’s a carrier battle group from USA but not a bubble based on land when sourced out of Russia.
The question here is what kind of target you have to face ? is it a ship with massive RCS ? is it a ballistics missiles with very high speed ( big doppler shift) ? or is it an aircraft with tiny RCS ? again high clutter background ?

Won’t the MALD standin for the NPI F-35. Are we increasing the foot print or decreasing it this week
iam even sure what you are trying to say here ?

Vostok E from Belarus. Almost the same size as the Nebo VHF from Russia. Belarus says 6 minutes. Russia says 20 minutes.
You say permanent.
I didnt say permanent but they rarely move. And NEBO aperture is nearly 3 time the size of Vostok E to be honest. Btw where is source ?

Anyhow Vostok-E processes 250 targets after every ping. You are welcome to try from any direction. Be the Belarussian guest.
so we changed from Rafale to Vostok E now ? , and why put an ground early warning radar in when we are talking about air combat and firing solution ?

Right now the situation is that 10 billion USD sea based X band could not handle the test targets. Some say because of too much debri surrounding the RV representative of the real X band target to be found.My point is that while making of decoys is easy it becomes much more difficult to make and then lug around for lower bands. In fact that is the rationale when agyani people decided to move lower band for FOPEN needs. You see they argued that things that can reflect lower bands have a higher probability of being man made. With X band even the leaves on trees give a return
That is just dumb to be honest , dont you know that low frequency can actually be reflected from the ionoshpere or that even the small things like chaff can have very high RCS at low frequency ?
So detection a job half done.
It how can you finished the job that matter

You brought up that figure of 10 km. I don’t have to use anything to prove your point. That is your job.
But was not that post declaratory? Now its just representativ
:hail::hail: Cant you read the formula and the sentences in the pic ????? :hail: Do you understand what is burn through distance and radar equation ???????????

https://basicsaboutaerodynamicsandavionics.wordpress.com/2016/03/29/electronic-countermeasure-ecm/

Yeh I know. Them Russians are dumb. They need this big interrogators when they already had dipoles on nose mounted radars earlier.
USA good. Russia dumb. Russia technology development going in reverse direction.
But what if its not a mere IFF. What if its more than that? What if its designed to serve as homing head for the whole plane.
:rofl: No one say they are dumb , IFF is very important , internet fan boy who think L band of that size can be used as fire control radar that are dumb

Sir blame the SAAB people for this idea. Came from them which they are working on for use on their Gripens
So you have no valid arguement rather than that half ass sacrcasm ?? :pound::pound: so what make you think US and many country that bought F-35 are dumb ??? :pound::pound:

Oh Rafale and PAKFA are not going to remain passive. They are the hunters, not the hunted. The passive part came into the arguments because you started the arguments from “Jamming+Low RCS”. If somebody is already announcing their presence then only cross-checking is required, transmitting is not absolutely necessary.
1) the jamming part is done by MALD-J which is disposable asset
2) no one turn on their jammer randommly , no radar pulse received then no jamming turn on
3) one F-35 that was transmitted can share information with group of F-35 so your silent PAK-FA and Rafale will be practically blind again the whole F-35 formation ( dont get this wrong i see PAK-FA as an awesome asset too )

If Track Via Missile of PAC-2 does not help then kindly try to convince US people. They are the ones using it.
I didnt say PAC-3 dont work , dont try to troll to win your argument , i said TVC doesnt help the big resolution cell problem.
IF Ground Radar Guidance with Missile Sensor receiving updates like the S-400/S-300 is nothing new or special then why do American throw such a tantrum when these are deployed near their forces..
You mean like the same way Russian throw a tantum when US put PAC3 near their border ? it just a politics thing.

Big Pic

The guy who made that sketch is an idiot because he doesn't know the difference between a Rafale and an Eurofighter..

BON PLAN

-*-
Are you spokes person from MOD or GOI , please don't bring the idiotic equation of IDF here in DFI where you have bunch of buffons who act like they are twins of Mr.Parikar

Any assured link GOI agreeing signing end of sep ?? please don't tell some jockey or some stupid radio goes on and on rafale deal is mouth piece of MOD India
And of course we are all buffons except you ....... :daru:

BON PLAN

-*-
LCA's envelope was 6G till last year, i.e 15 years after 1st flight, only recently has this been opened up. What's your point really? Atleast with the F-35 and LCA you have stellar safety record. How many Rafales have crashed in the mean time?
Impossible te compare a real first attempt of an indian non private company with the N attempt of LM ! Différences are high in :
budget,
skill,
history,
F35, unlike the promises made on the beginning, will never be a nice handling plane. Just see it ! Massive, heavy, non well aerodynamically shaped, huge frontal area.
It's a XXI century Tornado.

BON PLAN

-*-

For the Nth time, my dear
Hi Hi Hi.... The drawing is a EUROFIGTER !!!!
It's not because this F4 was part of a team that beat another one with Rafale that it is a Rafale eater (or a EF eater...)

BON PLAN

-*-
Dear Sis, I nicely asked for credible links to support your claims
Not many are areally interested in urban legends... like you said before, support your claims with links..
You can say that its Secret and not many people know about it, so how come yoiu know? You dont work in Dassault.. So, if there is no link to support your claims then this is just all gas, no need for anyone to believe it.,
India is developing something better than SPECTRA, ... it just falls short of making plane optically invisible !!
Maybe it's a legend. The fact is taht this legend is only for Rafale..... not such things for EF, SH18, SU, Mig, F22....

I remember that 25% of the developpment funds were for Spectra. And french electronic warfare company are specialists.

StealthFlanker

F35, unlike the promises made on the beginning, will never be a nice handling plane. Just see it ! Massive, heavy, non well aerodynamically shaped, huge frontal area.
It's a XXI century Tornado.
:pound::pound: And you think the frontal of rafale gonna be much smaller with weapons?

BON PLAN

-*-
No , they dont just test maneuver only you know , there are alot more to a modern aircraft , do you know the different between IOC and FOC ?
From the beginning the entry date was 2007... that slip a lot because the first serial jet fly only in 2007 (and pre serial in 2006).

In fact it's not 9 years after first flight, it is 16 years as X35A first flight was in 2000. Only 7G after 16 years.... humm....

smestarz

I think the guy might be German, so he drew Eurofighter, but then he knows to spell english, Rafale Eater,,
Picture says a thousand words.. but its its the right name then its more than thousand pictures.
The guy who made that sketch is an idiot because he doesn't know the difference between a Rafale and an Eurofighter..

smestarz

The guy may not be a good artist, even the lines are not straight,, but then, he is educated enough to write what plane it hunted down... Rafale ... and your only complaint about the picture is the guy cannot draw accurately?

Hi Hi Hi.... The drawing is a EUROFIGTER !!!!
It's not because this F4 was part of a team that beat another one with Rafale that it is a Rafale eater (or a EF eater...)