India's own AESA Radars....dream to reality

guru-dutt

@kr9 Conscription does not pay in creative field. However, forgery, chicanery can to some extent. If you can't invent/ innovate, learn to copy/ reverse engineer.. just as China does. But as they say, " Naqal karne ke liye bhi akal chahiye !!".
Thing is chinese started reverse enginearing engines of every major engine manufacturrer they could lay there hands on in late seventies and started sending there spies as students to major universities and engine manufactruing corporations of the world inclueding R&R, P&W, GE and those in russia and gatherred so much sensitive knowledge about ,matullergy and dual use technologies till late 90s that then ethey started actual R&D on them which is now showing results after almost two decades while we still are working like "lakeer ke faqueer" with respect to industrial use technologies and defnce research and development with work culture worse than that of late 1970s

guru-dutt

Most Americans don't learn calculus in school, they learn it in first year of there college, but they have DARPA, which funds research that can have military applications, whether in robotics or in computer science or material science, even mathematics. They have DARPA challenges, look them up. The whole research community is very competitive, and we have a very lackadaisical attitude in India. Becoming a professor in US requires you to have more than a PhD, a post-doc and a lot of research. Then you become an assistant professor, no tenure (as in you are not permanent). And all these guys are very competitive about getting grants, if I get a grant of say 10 million, I can add 10% of that into my salary. And then more successfully, I conduct my research, more grants I get, hence more money. You see capitalism works for a reason :D.
apart from that they put more effort in workshops and have a very well established cultuar that supports merit and innovation which we a nation of lakeer ke faqeer robots can never imagine to have here as owr public & private industry loves to make profit on borrowed and watered down technology than inspiring actual R&D & merit

Nuvneet Kundu

Most Americans don't learn calculus in school, they learn it in first year of there college, but they have DARPA, which funds research that can have military applications, whether in robotics or in computer science or material science, even mathematics. They have DARPA challenges, look them up. The whole research community is very competitive, and we have a very lackadaisical attitude in India. Becoming a professor in US requires you to have more than a PhD, a post-doc and a lot of research. Then you become an assistant professor, no tenure (as in you are not permanent). And all these guys are very competitive about getting grants, if I get a grant of say 10 million, I can add 10% of that into my salary. And then more successfully, I conduct my research, more grants I get, hence more money. You see capitalism works for a reason :D.
And, as an added bonus, the babes are hot too.

Anupu

Thing is chinese started reverse enginearing engines of every major engine manufacturrer they could lay there hands on in late seventies and started sending there spies as students to major universities and engine manufactruing corporations of the world inclueding R&R, P&W, GE and those in russia and gatherred so much sensitive knowledge about ,matullergy and dual use technologies till late 90s that then ethey started actual R&D on them which is now showing results after almost two decades while we still are working like "lakeer ke faqueer" with respect to industrial use technologies and defnce research and development with work culture worse than that of late 1970s
They can reverse engineer all they want, but let me tell you this, china is still not close enough US when it comes to the breadth and the depth of research in US. I mean I have Chinese friends here, and they are really smart, but they agree on this. But China is still ahead of us. We have other problems like, you know there are a large no of bogus research journals in India. I think education needs a lot of focus, and I do support Modi and respect him. But He is not doing much about it. Our HRD minister doesn't have a vision, look at suresh prabhu that guy has a plan, she I don't know. I would say not a good choice.

guru-dutt

They can reverse engineer all they want, but let me tell you this, china is still not close enough US when it comes to the breadth and the depth of research in US. I mean I have Chinese friends here, and they are really smart, but they agree on this. But China is still ahead of us. We have other problems like, you know there are a large no of bogus research journals in India. I think education needs a lot of focus, and I do support Modi and respect him. But He is not doing much about it. Our HRD minister doesn't have a vision, look at suresh prabhu that guy has a plan, she I don't know. I would say not a good choice.
well bro its not smriti irani or NaMo that are going to change owr outlook towards general & indiasutrial R&D its more of a cultural thing we are too laid back and self cintended type of people

guru-dutt

Yeah sure, except for the extortion rackets known as false rape cases, false dowry harassment cases and the constant vilification of men for no reason whatsoever.
i smell you had a bad experience in that kind of sitiuation buddy ... barro ka kehna hai sarak per chalti her kissi larki ko car me lift nahee deni chiye kya samjhe .......:D

Anupu

well bro its not smriti irani or NaMo that are going to change owr outlook towards general & indiasutrial R&D its more of a cultural thing we are too laid back and self cintended type of people
Leaders do have a role to play, I don't blame modi, India have more than 6% of fiscal deficit by the end of UPA-II doesn't give much room for any kind of spending. But Smriti lrani, I think she could have focused on reworking the grant system in India, how broken the NET exam for recruiting PhD students is, how we have no standards for private colleges. I know we have an attitude problem too, but that's what leaders do, they make such decisions that, it steers the public in the right direction. I don't think she was the best choice for the job. But politics has it's own problems, I guess.

Anupu

Yeah sure, except for the extortion rackets known as false rape cases, false dowry harassment cases and the constant vilification of men for no reason whatsoever. I don't know if they're hot but they are hot headed, that I can say for sure :D
Oh Boy! .......... ........... :D

Nuvneet Kundu

i smell you had a bad experience in that kind of sitiuation buddy ... barro ka kehna hai sarak per chalti her kissi larki ko car me lift nahee deni chiye kya samjhe .......:D
Oh no, no personal experience, only saw that 'Rohtak Bravehearts' drama on TV, and then saw on social media everyone was talking about 498A false dowry cases and stuff. Spine chilling stuff.

Anupu

Oh no, no personal experience, only saw that 'Rohtak Bravehearts' drama on TV, and then saw on social media everyone was talking about 498A false dowry cases and stuff. Spine chilling stuff.
Indeed :D.. But there many great women out there....

yed. Our plan is possibly to buy 36 Rafales off the shelf as a stop-gap solution which will give us some breathing time (~10 years), and within that 10 years, do a JV with Snecma for the AMCA project. So instead of adding more Rafales to the 36, we will be adding AMCAs since both fit in the same bracket (twin engine multirole plane). That's the combo deal that is being negotiated right now. If the combo deal is agreed upon then we buy ( 36 Rafale + Snecma JV ) package, if combo deal fails then we buy 36 Rafale + JV with Russia or USA for AMCA. Hopefully we will strike a deal with France. We are trying not to buy more than 36 Rafale because that will mean we will never have an opportunity to build an indigenous mass manufacturing base in India.
No. For sure more Rafales are on the way.

The AMCA won't be ready before 2027 (at the very very earliest) the FGFA won't be ready before 2025 (if it is even coming at all), 36 Rafales won't be enough to address the declining SQN strength by then. By 2022 with just 36 Rafales bought and no new addtions the IAF will have roughly 22/23 fighter SQNs- about the same as the PAF and about 1/3rd of the PLAAF. If you think this is a good idea then I would like to live in this fantasy world.

The ONLY credible solution (without engagin in delusional working with X will give us the plane of our dreams) is >150 Rafales (with 100+ of them being made in India). This will bring all the industrial benefitsto be fed into the LCA Mk.2 and AMCA and will also adress the huge hole in the SQN strength of the IAF what everyone seems to be ignoring.

Where has the orginal 126 requirement of the IAF suddenly evaporated to? The MKI isn't being ordered in more numbers (and won't be) the LCA is not an adequate substitute for the Rafale and is not even in production yet and now you're proposing a 1/4 induction of the MMRCA?

sasum

Atheist but not Communists.
@Nuvneet Kundu Do you think large number of Prostitutes are involved in extortion with false assault cases? Particularly in big metros like Delhi, Mumbai, Bangalore etc.

sasum

Atheist but not Communists.
No. For sure more Rafales are on the way.

The AMCA won't be ready before 2027 (at the very very earliest) the FGFA won't be ready before 2025 (if it is even coming at all), 36 Rafales won't be enough to address the declining SQN strength by then. By 2022 with just 36 Rafales bought and no new addtions the IAF will have roughly 22/23 fighter SQNs- about the same as the PAF and about 1/3rd of the PLAAF. If you think this is a good idea then I would like to live in this fantasy world.

The ONLY credible solution (without engagin in delusional working with X will give us the plane of our dreams) is >150 Rafales (with 100+ of them being made in India). This will bring all the industrial benefitsto be fed into the LCA Mk.2 and AMCA and will also adress the huge hole in the SQN strength of the IAF what everyone seems to be ignoring.

Where has the orginal 126 requirement of the IAF suddenly evaporated to? The MKI isn't being ordered in more numbers (and won't be) the LCA is not an adequate substitute for the Rafale and is not even in production yet and now you're proposing a 1/4 induction of the MMRCA?
I am sceptical about AMCA. It is too big to realise by Indian establishment.. may meet the same fate as Kaveri.

Nuvneet Kundu

@Nuvneet Kundu Do you think large number of Prostitutes are involved in extortion with false assault cases? Particularly in big metros like Delhi, Mumbai, Bangalore etc.
Not prostitutes, I'm talking about everyday girls. Please google '498A misuse', you will get all the relevant info. This thread is getting derailed. Let's quit talking on this subject.

What told abt the radar is prototype not production variant ..

You are right. Tejas Mk II will be single-engined albeit more powerful F-414 (91Kn thrust) capable of carrying heavier Uttam radar.

warrior monk

upload_2016-1-28_22-38-52.png

LONG RANGE SOILD STATE ACTIVE PHASED ARRAY RADAR

Salient Features
Radar Detection Range : 200 Km for 2 m2 target (Normal Mode)
300 Km for 2 m2 target (Extended Mode)
Electonic Scanning : +600 in Azimuth
Azimuth Beamwidth : 10 (Receive) : 0.660 (Transmit)
Elevation Beamwidth : 8.50
Resolution : 200 m in Range, 1.50 in Azimuth
Accuracy : 50m in Range, 0.50 in Azimuth, 10 in Elevation