Indian Special Forces

AVINASH4061

@AVINASH4061 might be a little off topic, what kind of workout routine did u have while in the SF.
Do the folks in SF focus on upper body strength or Core and stamina?
What kind of food did u eat to maintain health?
Do us still follow the habit's picked up during that time?
Bhai itna type karna kasth hai mere liye, too many things to answer. However, honestly the so called fitness bloggers are making fools out of the youngsters. Eat what your grandpa was eating, have adequate sleep and include composite exercise regimes. There is no one way to fitness and no shortcuts. And yes I am disciplined in how I stick to my routine. Customise your own routine according to your commitments.

AVINASH4061

Hhhmm how is this bayonet supposed to be mounted on SIG-716I though ? like using M-Lok side mounted adapter as shown here (rifle's also same),
View attachment 93128
or on the barrel itself (although bayonet lug isn't visible on SIG-716I's barrel) ?

Because if it's second case i.e. on the barrel itself then it's...let's say, not-so-well-thought for now...I mean you get this "lightweight" rifle with free-floating barrel on it and now bayonet is also mounted on same light barrel which is mostly hold in place by barrel nut on receiver ?

Sir, can you shed some light on this matter, how actually we are mounting bayonets on SIG-716Is here ? also if you could provide a pic of one with bayonet mounted on it it'd be great thing to see.
I don't have a pic, but there is an attachment that shall hold the bayonet in place.

Aditya Ballal

Yes on these lines, we intend to manufacture stuff that is world class, else not manufacture anything.
Are the materials for making good quality and lightweight Plate carriers available in India only or do you have to import them yourselves?

π•±π–”π–”π–‘π–˜ π–—π–šπ–˜π– 𝖆𝖓𝖉 π–†π–“π–Œπ–Šπ–‘π–˜ π–‹π–Šπ–†π–—

AVINASH4061

They do, they are still produced today for likes of MAG MMG and others.

But the quality control & consistency of OFB-made ammo leaves a lot to be desired. No doubt a decision was taken during trials to use the 716s with imported ammo as the OFB ones probably introduced a whole lot of reliability issues.

I've heard from other sources that even the 5.56x45 rounds used by Para's M4s and Tavors is imported from US & Israel again due to reliability issues with OFB versions. Perhaps @AVINASH4061 can confirm.

Also, the 16" barrel length & twist rate of the 716 is unlike any rifle platform we used before. Ammo performance changes a great deal when you vary those values. Even in case of 5.56, I'm pretty sure the OFB-made ammo meant for 18" barrel INSAS would work poorly with 14.5" M4s. From what I know OFB 5.56 is slow-burning and requires that extra barrel length to fully attain its velocity.

I'd think 7.62x51 made by OFB has similar issues. May work in a open-bolt belt-fed setting with 24" barrel MMGs but in a magazine-fed gas-operated 16" SIG 716, probably not very well.
True SS109 and SS108, all imported.

Aditya Ballal

I don’t think this soldier is a member of the SF, but he still has a KAC vertical fore grip? I wonder how he’s got it? Unit funds?
I’ll admit I could be wrong, but unlikely.
This is the original source, see from 18:00, also I wrongly misidentified a notch below the hand guard in the attached post on this thread a while back as a bayonet mount but it actually a jugaad sling, I’m unable to delete the post so I’ve requested the mods to delete it and done so by reporting it.

Gessler

I don’t think this soldier is a member of the SF, but he still has a KAC vertical fore grip? I wonder how he’s got it? Unit funds?
I’ll admit I could be wrong, but unlikely.
This is the original source, see from 18:00, also I wrongly misidentified a notch below the hand guard in the attached post on this thread a while back as a bayonet mount but it actually a jugaad sling, I’m unable to delete the post so I’ve requested the mods to delete it and done so by reporting it.
Thanks for the vid!

Took some snaps:

716.JPG

716 2.JPG