Indian Special Forces

kaboom

I have a theory correct me if i am wrong :
Paras follow the Soviet/spestnaz doctrine . In which SF is used as a highly trained infantry capable of doing specialized ops when needed
Meanwhile MARCOS follow the classic NATO doctrine .

*Garunds don't have or follow any

NoobWannaLearn

Okay I’m impressed. MARCOs standing next to vanilla/white side SEALs and not looking completely embarrassing like Paras and Garuds would, they look like they’ve got 90% of the same gear

I just don’t know why MARCOs can’t seem to roll out battle belts across their force, it’s a relatively easy and cheap induction

X95s are always going to be a eyesore compared to properly spec’d AR platforms but it is what it is, IWI got their hooks into Indian SF community for whatever reason.

if MARCOs can standardise on this across their entire force then they are in good shape because they do actually train their guys with specialised capabilities

As I’ve said for a while- the only true SF in India and it’s not even close. Some will come up with Para super infantry missions in Kashmir but please
You will see this standardised soon in about a year and two first we saw marcos with high cuts and we hoped they will be standardised and they are now then same happened with pc that too already happened they are trying combat pants with integrated knee pads too so in 1-2 years you will find them all standardised as for battle belts vinayak bhaiya did say we will see them in field soon in a couple of months hopefully so maybe that was for navy let's wait and see.

Jedi Operator

Looks like both UCP and multicam black teams present for the exercise. Those seals are feeling the humidity and heat.

View attachment 228890
can you guys stop this nonsense of one team wears black, the other wears UCP. I've read it earlier also in this forum. Somebody said that the ones at the western command wear UCP and the eastern ones wear black. No that's not how it is.

Lastly, even so, if it were to happen that way. Goa is where you have Naval Special Warfare Tactical Training Center so you can expect MARCOs from all commands they're posted to in that place

NoobWannaLearn

Moola to buy comtacs , x95 , fast helmets , dual nods , but upc is still stuck with us . Honestly guys i have a feeling marcos are lingering to our subs . Therefore , the more banter the more change
Idk about marcos but security agencies definitely linger on the threads but if there is any para guys 😭 Bhai when will you guys give us this kind of satisfaction ya sirf marcos ka kaam he ye

well the reason is pretty simple, the amateur guy is nervous becuause he's rolling up with professionals, he knows the difference in standard and our guys are nervous because they're doing real life missions with the gear that is not only less and non-standard across the board but also unrealiable. With that comes training issues as well. So yeah...makes sense. Equip them better, define their mandate, train them to faliure, make them better and more competent
I don’t buy this at all. You see some top tier units operating/drilling 20-30 years ago with the kind of spec gear that Indian units have today and they were far more fluid and dynamic with their movements than Indian units demonstrate. Almost all the time indian drills look very wooden, hesitant and uncomfortable as though this is their first time doing it, they don’t have the polish that reflects 1000s of hours honing a skill

^these are some ~50 year old ex-SAS guys and the video is from a >15 year old show (I remember watching it when I was very young) and they are demonstrating far better pistol drills than any Indian unit (bar SPG to date and *some* NSG), even today you see many Indian shooters closing one of their eyes or adopting a hand base grip- things western shooters have known are big no nos for decades

^late 90s SEALS

it’s my opinion that equipment and competence comes from training. You could give a tier 1 guy an AK and he’d shoot it and handle it smoothly

anyway let’s see, the good news is the only way to go is up and one way or another Indian forces know they are on the brink of a fight.

well the reason is pretty simple, the amateur guy is nervous becuause he's rolling up with professionals, he knows the difference in standard and our guys are nervous because they're doing real life missions with the gear that is not only less and non-standard across the board but also unrealiable. With that comes training issues as well. So yeah...makes sense. Equip them better, define their mandate, train them to faliure, make them better and more competent
To supplement the above, watch from 4.20:

kevin is ex US green berets and he’s talking with a civilian instructor. Gives an insight into how diverse and specialist US training is- they tap the private sector a LOT and send handfuls of guys to courses all over the country plus the emphasis to have a variety in training. An interesting insight because you definitely see consistency in Indian units over the years/decades in how the train and hence perform.

They also touch on the fact that their (US’s) biggest specific issue is a training deficit- simply throwing new equipment at people is pointless if they haven’t got the skills to go with it

airborneCommando

I have a theory correct me if i am wrong :
Paras follow the Soviet/spestnaz doctrine . In which SF is used as a highly trained infantry capable of doing specialized ops when needed
Meanwhile MARCOS follow the classic NATO doctrine .

*Garunds don't have or follow any
Nope, all three work mostly on israeli-american-sometimes desi tactics and tactics that've been running in their respective units since long long time due to lack of centralization esp in army SF. I was told that SFTS is a voluntary school instead of a compulsory one.
One more thing that i'd love to add to this
Is that it's not just about this CQB stuff in SF because it looks crazy cool. Its small unit tactics, basic battle drills, navigation skills.....etc Because in reality, you aren't going to be worried about "is this a center fed room or corner fed one?". You're going to be trying to either put down supporting fire and maneuver or you need suppressive fire so you can break contact.

Kumaoni

I wouldn't say it's trash, but definitely suited towards a specific audience. The biggest thing is that they used real aircraft in the movie production(same with Flight of the Intruder)
Top Gun latest one is trash. The first one was GOATed.

Indian film industry is sadly not making progress. Uri was promising. But Bhuj was just depressing.

DumbPilot

Top Gun latest one is trash. The first one was GOATed.

Indian film industry is sadly not making progress. Uri was promising. But Bhuj was just depressing.
Just old actors who are still stubbornly holding on. As they die out, we will see change - movies like Pippa already are somewhat more complex and better than the war movies 2 decades ago(see Border for example with shitty music scenes and stuff)

Kumaoni

To supplement the above, watch from 4.20:

kevin is ex US green berets and he’s talking with a civilian instructor. Gives an insight into how diverse and specialist US training is- they tap the private sector a LOT and send handfuls of guys to courses all over the country plus the emphasis to have a variety in training. An interesting insight because you definitely see consistency in Indian units over the years/decades in how the train and hence perform.

They also touch on the fact that their (US’s) biggest specific issue is a training deficit- simply throwing new equipment at people is pointless if they haven’t got the skills to go with it
Yes. The best shooters are civilians. The point is that Gun culture isn’t nearly as big as in India, as in the USA. This is literally a childhood passion for some people. I used to have a decent gun knowledge when i was 14, but high school made me forget ab it for a while.