Indian Special Forces (archived)

Brahmaputra Mail 2

They are in direct combat roles? In Ghatak units? Doesn't AR fall under purview of IA and Gen. Rawat said that Indian Army has no need for women in CR?

https://newsroompost.com/featured-5...manent-commission-gen-bipin-rawat/417345.html

Only women offices in AR are of no.s 3 to raise women's battalion for peacekeeping duties.

https://www.ssbcrack.com/2016/04/meet-first-batch-assam-rifles-women-soldiers.html
Assam Rifles belong to Home Ministry, functioning is bit different.

Indrajit

We have the skill. we only need political testicular fortitude.
Yes, exactly. That’s why you have this supposed brainwave from the NSA and the government 4 and a half years into its term. Something that should have happened and been made operational very early on rather than let the risk of a new government in 2019 tossing this into cold storage.

rishivashista13

Yes, exactly. That’s why you have this supposed brainwave from the NSA and the government 4 and a half years into its term. Something that should have happened and been made operational very early on rather than let the risk of a new government in 2019 tossing this into cold storage.
Anyway its an excellent step.. if it really exists. And government is not gonna change in 2019, so no risk of cold bagging.... Atleast we have a person who has the ability to lead our nations strategy from front... Our NSA is modern Chanakya

Sent from my Redmi 4A using Tapatalk

NDTV News Flash.

NSA is setting up a new SOF unit - To operate in Denied Areas Covertly - Cadre to be drawn from Across the military SF units

CO - Army

- Assault Force - 124 members - Assaulters
- Planning/Support Force - 90 members - Recce, Intel (HUMINT/SIGINT/ELINT), Logistics

- Unit will eventually get its own budget

Both Units will work together.
No news of any dedicated aira ssets etc

=============

Small and Nimble - I like the thinking but mixed feelings.

Where does this leave Special Group? Or are there any overlapping taskings or is SG finally going back to MI/RAW permamnently?

Maybe Dhoval is reading our bitching and whinning.
SG is a black ops unit. This seems like a JSOC type unit, that they are drawing from all 3 SFs and they mention “assaulters”.

SG are India’s SAD equivalent and will remain so

AbRaj

No, no and no again. This isn’t 1980 where “Rambos” can scream “commando” and execute an operation with a knife clenched in their teeth.

Special forces operations of today are about clinical execution. This is NOT where Indian special forces can be counted on to be on par with a western unit.

There’s a reason why the ENTIRE world is following the path of the top units in the West. No one is deluding themselves that having fiercesome warriors alone will make any difference in the modern battlefield.

If it was that easy everyone would do it. The “Indian model” is adopted by exactly nobody except Indian units. The Indian model is nothing but an excuse for having sh!t equipment and training standards.
LOL,its the same army whos RFP for assault rifle includes things like Handle bar for parade and bayonet for CCB . So nothing unusual here. they are searching an Ultimate rifle for what? almost 25 years and issuing rfps like toilet paper meanwhile operating same old shit ka INSAS. Im damn sure even terror fundoos would not touch them if given as an option

MARCOS

Article @rkhanna

A "Surgical Strike" Unit To Fight Behind Enemy Lines: Government Sources

The new commando group will have soldiers from the special forces of the Air Force, the Navy and the Army -- Garuds, Marcos and Para, respectively, for conducting surgical strikes

The government is planning to set up a "surgical strike" force comprising the best soldiers drawn from the three branches of the military, a senior government official told NDTV. This special unit will conduct surprise precision strikes deep inside enemy territory, inflicting maximum damage in the shortest possible time and leave the battle area swiftly, similar to the operation carried out by the country's special forces on seven terrorist launch pads across the Line of Control in September 2016.

"The government feels it needs a special group with enhanced capabilities, so a unit having the best from all the three (branches of the armed forces) is being created," said the official, who asked not to be named.

The new commando group will have soldiers from the special forces of the Air Force, the Navy and the Army -- Garuds, Marcos and Paras, respectively. These battle-hardened soldiers whose skills are comparable to the US Navy Seals can operate in different terrain, from jungles and mountains to maritime environment.

The new unit will come under the direct control of the Army chief, the official said. "It will have two groups -- planning and assault," he said.

The government has chosen 96 members for the planning group, and 124 for the assault group.

The assault group is further divided into two sub-units -- as is the practice in all special force units of the world -- namely, attack and support units to ensure smooth deployment and seamless coordination.

The unit is the brainchild of National Security Adviser Ajit Doval, a senior officer of the National Security Council said. "A note pertaining to it has been sent to the cabinet committee," he said. "Threats from air and sea are multiplying every day, so in the times to come we need to be prepared, that's why this unit is being created," he said.

The soldiers in the attack unit, apart from having top fighting skills, will know specialised field craft such as reading hi-tech maps and coordinating with air support, which the unit will eventually get. The support group will have soldiers who have local knowledge of the target area and can provide intelligence inputs to the assault unit.

"It's going to a cohesive unit. Those who have expertise in CI-ops (counter-insurgency) will be engaged in this group," the official said.

For now, the government plans to use any suitable infrastructure to maintain the new special force, whose name is not yet known. It will eventually allocate a separate budget for this group.

Regular infiltration attempts and ceasefire violations by Pakistani forces are the other reasons why this force is being set up. "It's also a part of psychological warfare tactics to put hostile neighbours under stress," the official said.

P.S: FIRE THE PEON FUCKER WHO LEAKED THIS NEWS. ALSO ARTICLE HERE. DON'T GIVE NDTV CLICKS FOR THEIR ADVERTISEMENT REVENUE.
Yup just what I thought. This is India’s JSOC, the much awaited SOD. NSA’s brainchild but not actually under the command of the NSA.

Hope they get the best of the very best and are only used for strategic missions and nothing less. Give them access or all the top tier units of the West and give them full autonomy. This could change the face of India’s SF capability.

LOL,its the same army whos RFP for assault rifle includes things like Handle bar for parade and bayonet for CCB . So nothing unusual here. they are searching an Ultimate rifle for what? almost 25 years and issuing rfps like toilet paper meanwhile operating same old shit ka INSAS. Im damn sure even terror fundoos would not touch them if given as an option
All irrelevant. If this is taken outside of the IA’s hands and put under the PMO or the IDS and they are given their own budgetary allocation then the entire picture will change.

You’d be surpsied what can happen when the PMO or other senior elements give their attention or at very least their consent to something. These guys should be prepared as though they are the equivalent to a nuclear strike aircraft.

124 might be too less

At least One Full Battalion is Necessary
For now it is perfect. Get these guys world class in training and equipment, they haven’t just thrown men at it- this is very un-Indian and I like it.

For the very tip of the spear this is more than adequate for now, all tier-1 units around the world have similar force levels. You aren’t going to get a world class top top tier unit with a battalion sized force.

These guys won’t ever need to have more than a company or possibly 2 given their mission profile. Small is good for this role.

Actually (and i Hope) that the SG reverts back to its SAD role (they are the Indian Version of SAD)

and I hope this Unit becomes the Indian Version of JSOC. - Our True blue Tier 1 tasking.

In My opinion this new unit announcement is nothing more than the SOD that came in the news a few months back,
Ah, you beat me to it. I believe you’re exactly right

So,an All-Indian Tier One grp. I have a question. SG does our under the table job. Now what is gonna happen to it?If Dovalji is planning to create a new group altogether,will SG be limited to Tibetan border?How come we can differentiate between the two,SG under R&AW and dis new grp under Army HQ?
This Doval angle is all a red herring. The idea of a SOCOM has been proposed for years, if was scaled down to a SOD with the possibility an entire command comes up at a later date.

SG will not change at all except there may be a situation where the top talent of the 3 SFs starts getting sucked up by the SOD but that won’t hurt too much.

sum1

Any reason to believe that this didnt start in 1st year and when its almost ready, feelers are being leaked about what to expect soon?

Do you really believe such news was leaked without a wink from the powers that decide?
Same disinformation tactic was used in ATV case where actual status was always shown from 1-2 years behind the real story

Bhaiwood is Bhasmasur, anything it touches turns to ash.

i disagree..looks like bollywood crap to me.

SF fans or followers or fanboys whatever you call them won't like the movie as its technically wrong at my levels.
It's like Top Gun or any war film. Dramatised for public consumption. If they got to know Para SF means 100km non stop run with rucksack, then public will get unnerved.

republic_roi97

It's like Top Gun or any war film. Dramatised for public consumption. If they got to know Para SF means 100km non stop run with rucksack, then public will get unnerved.
History TV has already shown a documentary series on the PARA SF training. This is a movie, what do you expect ?
Although much more attention to details are given in this movie as compared to some other Bollywood movies that have came before.

COLDHEARTED AVIATOR

History TV has already shown a documentary series on the PARA SF training. This is a movie, what do you expect ?
Although much more attention to details are given in this movie as compared to some other Bollywood movies that have came before.
We expect Act of Valor kind of movies...not fucking romance scene of a Army officer and a AF officer or the Army officer seeing a Lady pilot running and saying...she will be my pilot..wtf really.

These motherfcukers fuck everything they touch.

its a god damn real event wtf would u spoil it.

and these mitherfuckers have crores of rupees to spend on Sunny Leone and sex scenes and shooting songs in different countries..but they cannot go to a fucking country like US or Eastern Europe where they can get all the real gear and guns easily and shoot the movie.

The fucking director doesnt even know that officers dont interact with their jawans by saying..hows your josh..

kya ghanta reasearch ki he bc.

but this movie will be a hit... girls will say this Kaushik or whatever guy is sexy...Shahid Afridis GF will be attracting guys...rest blind patriots will be chanting Jai ho.

armyofhind

We expect Act of Valor kind of movies...not fucking romance scene of a Army officer and a AF officer or the Army officer seeing a Lady pilot running and saying...she will be my pilot..wtf really.
Act of Valor had romantic/ family related scenes as well.
About the pilot thing.. it might have some story into it.. don't judge before you've even seen the film.

The fucking director doesnt even know that officers dont interact with their jawans by saying..hows your josh..
Officers might now ask how's the Josh to jawans and all but there is far more interaction between junior leaders and jawans in SF than in a conventional unit.

but this movie will be a hit... girls will say this Kaushik or whatever guy is sexy...Shahid Afridis GF will be attracting guys...rest blind patriots will be chanting Jai ho.
Judging before watching is stupidity I guess.

Whatever the movie is, It's a step in the right direction. I think we all should support it instead of nitpicking.
The only reason these kind of movies aren't made in India is because people don't go out to watch them as they aren't interested.
So which producer will want to sink his money into a project that won't give him enough returns on his investment?
Now the public sentiment has changed and they might be more open to movies portraying the military and nationalistic fervour.
But remember, it's still the old audience used to watching romantic bullshit by Dawoodwood.
So whoever is making the movie will have to add some elements of drama in order to make it more appeasing to a larger audience.

COLDHEARTED AVIATOR

Act of Valor had romantic/ family related scenes as well.
About the pilot thing.. it might have some story into it.. don't judge before you've even seen the film.

Officers might now ask how's the Josh to jawans and all but there is far more interaction between junior leaders and jawans in SF than in a conventional unit.

Judging before watching is stupidity I guess.

Whatever the movie is, It's a step in the right direction. I think we all should support it instead of nitpicking.
The only reason these kind of movies aren't made in India is because people don't go out to watch them as they aren't interested.
So which producer will want to sink his money into a project that won't give him enough returns on his investment?
Now the public sentiment has changed and they might be more open to movies portraying the military and nationalistic fervour.
But remember, it's still the old audience used to watching romantic bullshit by Dawoodwood.
So whoever is making the movie will have to add some elements of drama in order to make it more appeasing to a larger audience.
most sensible people judge the movie by its trailer.

And if the team hasnt done its research properly i doubt what story it would tell.