Indian Special Forces (archived)

U.S. Signs Peace Deal With Taliban After Nearly 2 Decades Of War In Afghanistan

U.S. Special Representative Zalmay Khalilzad signed a deal with the head of the Taliban's negotiating team, Mullah Abdul Ghani Baradar, that paves the way for eventual peace in Afghanistan. The accord was signed in Doha, Qatar, where the two sides spent many months hashing out the agreement.

It comes at the end of a seven-day "Reduction in Violence" in Afghanistan that was agreed to earlier this month.

According to the deal, "the United States is committed to withdraw from Afghanistan all military forces of the United States, its allies, and Coalition partners, including all non-diplomatic civilian personnel, private security contractors, trainers, advisors, and supporting services personnel within fourteen (14) months."

The deal stipulates that the U.S. will begin the process of drawing down troops 8,600 in the first 135 days and withdraw forces from five bases. All further reductions in troops will be conditioned-based and related to counter-terrorism needs and the Taliban upholding its commitments to not allowing Afghan soil to be used as a base for terrorism in the future.

U.S. Signs Peace Deal With Taliban After Nearly 2 Decades Of War In Afghanistan

U.S. Special Representative Zalmay Khalilzad signed a deal with the head of the Taliban's negotiating team, Mullah Abdul Ghani Baradar, that paves the way for eventual peace in Afghanistan. The accord was signed in Doha, Qatar, where the two sides spent many months hashing out the agreement.

It comes at the end of a seven-day "Reduction in Violence" in Afghanistan that was agreed to earlier this month.

According to the deal, "the United States is committed to withdraw from Afghanistan all military forces of the United States, its allies, and Coalition partners, including all non-diplomatic civilian personnel, private security contractors, trainers, advisors, and supporting services personnel within fourteen (14) months."

The deal stipulates that the U.S. will begin the process of drawing down troops 8,600 in the first 135 days and withdraw forces from five bases. All further reductions in troops will be conditioned-based and related to counter-terrorism needs and the Taliban upholding its commitments to not allowing Afghan soil to be used as a base for terrorism in the future.
Do you guy's think this will change counter terrorism Ops and stuff in Kashmir. And if now Taliban can push more terrorist stuff into india and most importantly in Kashmir then how Special forces need to be tasked to counter increasing numbers of terrorists.

And what are the most important things which you guy's should consider which needs to be done to counter such Threat to protect kashmir from going into 1980s era again.

COLDHEARTED AVIATOR

I finally get something to explain to the "I-so-badly-wanna-curse-you-but-won''t-because-you're-Indian" crowd who are always talking of how our soldiers don't need "Gucci gear".

This picture
Look at it.

I'm going to point out lack of a trivial "gucci gear" and end it with a long summary of it's disadvantage.
He doesn't have kneepads.
Now, notice the difference between his crouch and the crouch of the western soldier-

See how the knee rests on the ground? That's because of the kneepad.

Now I'm going to explain a few things, bear with me-

The westerner's crouch can be maintained for hours with the only problem being blood flow restriction at most. Our guy's legs will exhaust in the first few minutes of taking that stance.

This can result in -

1)Movement to change legs, giving away position in an ambush or drawing unwanted eyes
2)Making him unable to keep up with his team due to the exhausted legs
3)Tearing his Achilles Tendon if he moves too swiftly with his rucksack (something which will absolutely ruin his career and take him out of any form of combat role probably)
4)Imbalance and falling out of cover when leaning (it's a naturally unstable form)

The only advantage this crouch has over that of those guys is, it might allow you to stand up faster or break into a dash faster.
Due to training constantly without any kneepad, it also becomes a bad habit to crouch like this, further making it harder to get them used to the new stance and leading them to not even demand the kneepads. (something I know people will argue by saying the soldiers just aren't comfortable in them and prefer bare knees lol)

I know I'm making some really obvious points but this needs to be said. There is no "Useless", "trivial" or "gucci" equipment that the modern militaries of the world use.
Everything has a purpose.

And I swear if someone says our soldiers have just incredible leg endurance to sustain that position for hours, I'll curse you.
It is NOT about how well-trained they are. It's about wanting what's best for them.

To put it simply and dumbed down, imagine how long our soldiers could crouch if they had kneepads when they're able to sustain that position for so long without it. (and jack off)

I'm sorry for such a long winded post on such a minor piece of gear but I just wanted to convey my point of how terribly wrong you guys are in arguing against "Gucci gear".
The military is the pioneer in inventing and testing new technology and there is no Gucci or luxury with those technology.Its very practical.

Whoever came with the term..and put like on his posts are idiots.

The military is the pioneer in inventing and testing new technology and there is no Gucci or luxury with those technology.Its very practical.

Whoever came with the term..and put like on his posts are idiots.
Coping mechanism sir.

People get flustered because, obviously for us Indians, it's a matter of national pride and emotional satisfaction to carry the envy of the world in the form of our professional soldiers, so discussion of things we lack are pushed under the rug and compensated for by belittling those who have better stuff.

By the way, tune bol kaise diya ****, tu jaanta kya hai Indian soldiers ke baare me!?
Afzal ke baad tu jhulega ***** ***** ***** ***** ***** ***** ***** ***** ***** kahi ka!

COLDHEARTED AVIATOR

And by the way everything about the Army is western and nothing is Indian about it. So the comment that we dont need to copy the west is stupid. Obviously we dont need to copy everything but the good things we can take.

The Indian Army's symbol of two swords... Are they Indian swords?

The regtt system..are they indian?

The chetwode credo.. the bloody thing officers swear by.. is it Indian?

The rank structure..major..capt.. lieutenant..is it Indian?

The commands.. Are those indian?

Theres nothing 'Indian' in the Indian Army except the people who make it. Their faith and their values.

And its okay to copy the british system because it is a well oiled fighting mechanish which we could never achieve in our history because we were too busy with our casteism and fighting with each other.

When Russia can copy the western army and make Spetsnaz a deadly force in a few years..i think we can only learn.

Lupus

This old India Today article is a good read regarding the current discussion.

Why Indian Army Special Forces are way behind US Navy SEALs or Israel's IDF despite upgrade

Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar sanctions purchase of critical equipment worth Rs 300 crore of Indian Army Special Forces, but sources say the elite units will still fall behind their American and Israeli counterparts.

The procurement would help the Special Forces get equipment to carry out their task more effectively. But if we compare our troops with the US Navy SEALs or Israeli special operatives, India is behind them by decades in equipment and technology.

"In terms of toughness, we are far better than them. However, it is technology, equipment and thought process where we lag far behind them," said a Special Forces officer who trained with American soldiers in the US. "When they go for operations, they are backed heavily by drones and satellites to enhance their domain awareness."

The newly raised 11 and 12 Para (SF) units were also deployed with normal infantry weapons such as the AK-47 and INSAS rifles to carry out operations in the Northeast and did not even have enough weapons.

SF operatives say during corps and command-level exercises on China border, a senior commander recently asked how deep could they go inside China and the reply was, "as deep as our feet can take us". The Special Forces have been demanding special platforms like the V-22 Osprey helicopter of the US, which can quietly take small teams in and out of terrain such as Tibet where enemy units are 100-150 kms from Indian boundaries.

"A proposal was moved for buying such a dedicated aircraft but it was shot down at the level of army headquarters itself," a source from Para Special Forces said.

India bought the C-130J special operations aircraft from the US in 2007-08 but they can be used for airdropping para commandos and are not suitable for surgical strikes.

"If we compare the SEALs operation where they took out Laden, they silently flew inside the heart of Pakistan and took him out in Special Operations Black Hawk helicopters. We can only boast of Mi-17V5 transport choppers which too are not dedicated for us," another officer said

India now at par with US, Israel after surgical strike and Balakot ops:?Amit Shah

March 2, 2020 | By admin SOURCE: HT After the surgical strike and Balakot air strike, India has joined the list of countries along with the United States and Israel, who can strike in enemy territory and avenge the death of soldiers, Union home minister Amit Shah said in Kolkata on Sunday. “Prior to the surgical strike and air strike only two countries in the world – the US and Israel – were known who can enter enemy territory and avenge the killing of their soldiers. But now I believe India’s name has been added to the list,” said Shah. He was addressing a gathering at the inauguration of 29 Special Composite Group Complex of NSG at Rajarhat in the northern fringes of Kolkata. Shah landed in Kolkata around 11 am and went straight to Rajarhat. Shah also inaugurated a series of NSG facilities at Manesar, Hyderabad, Chennai and Mumbai. “In the next five years all requests placed before the government by the NSG would be met. NSG will be made into a complete commando force be it training, modern weapons, facilities of family members among others. India will keep NSG at least two steps ahead of other forces in the world” he added. Shah is also scheduled to address the rally in Kolkata where he will launch a state-wide movement against the Mamata Banerjee government in West Bengal. The campaign titled ‘Ar Noy Annay’ or no-more injustice’ will include a symbolic “charge sheet” listing her government’s alleged acts of omission and commission.

rkhanna

India now at par with US, Israel after surgical strike and Balakot ops:?Amit Shah
Lets leave this Govt's comments out of here please. Its usual vote baiting. They dont have anything left. Not worth posting on this thread. My fear is that this Govt will try to ape Rumfield in spear heading SOF operations but are too uneducated themselves to understand what the length and breath of special operations actually means.

SOF will continue to be the poster child and whipping boy at the same time.

Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar sanctions purchase of critical equipment worth Rs 300 crore of Indian Army Special Forces,
less than 50 Million dollars for a force thats about ~15K in strenght? lol

It costs anywhere from $3-6million (this includes apportioned capital items as well) to select, train and maintain 1 SOF soldier in the west for the duration of his career in SOF. Do the math.

Lets leave this Govt's comments out of here please. Its usual vote baiting. They dont have anything left. Not worth posting on this thread. My fear is that this Govt will try to ape Rumfield in spear heading SOF operations but are too uneducated themselves to understand what the length and breath of special operations actually means.

SOF will continue to be the poster
Amit shah is not a NSG soldier so off course he doesn't have any knowledge regarding the Equipments just like any other minster do you think that donald trump have knowledge about special forces equipment or french or british home minster have knowledge about these things he is saying that he will work to full fill the requirements of NSG in next five years let's see how that goes on. If you want to stop other guy's from posting special forces related stuff on this thread you can rename it RK khana take on SF.
And anyways usual vote baiting why not if everything was so simple why Manmohan didn't conducted strikes on Pakistan.
Every commander i guess use victories to motivate it's troops. Surgical strikes and balalkot is a huge motivation for the forces.

It costs anywhere from $3-6million (this includes apportioned capital items as well) to select, train and maintain 1 SOF soldier in the west for the duration of his career in SOF. Do the math.
6 million USD per SF in india would cost us about 90 BIllion USD over a period of say 15 years.Roughly 6 billion per year.Definetly not affordable in this budget environment.

COLDHEARTED AVIATOR

We dont have the money.

We need to cut the size of the force..Simple.

I would suggest restructuring the Para SF battalions and keeping the strength at 150 operators in each battalion.

Rest can be sent to form many commando battalions which assists the RR and Cross border ops.

NSG needs only 100 operators at one base.500 could be kept as reserve in Delhi.

But this idea wont go through...Para SF will protest and NSG is more interested in taking care of the welfare of their families by developing the cantonment.

We can cut the force down easily by some 1.5 to 2 lakh soldiers saving us a good 3000-4000 crore rupees.Over a period of say 5 years this money can be utilized for SF armament and procurements and other important stuff.

Lack of automation and mechanisation in the army is the biggest problem.Most of our infantry regiments are simply light infantry.Having a somewhat less Light infantry in favour of a more mechanised infantry unit will make the army much more faster and agile.Sadly i dont see it happening.

And then there is the question of arming our foot soldiers properly.Our SF at best can be compared to NATO infantry.We simply dont have the equipment to go neck to neck with NATO standard army.

We dont have the money.

I would suggest restructuring the Para SF battalions and keeping the strength at 150 operators in each battalion.

Rest can be sent to form many commando battalions which assists the RR and Cross border ops.

NSG needs only 100 operators at one base.500 could be kept as reserve in Delhi.

But this idea wont go through...Para SF will protest and NSG is more interested in taking care of the welfare of their families by developing the cantonment.
by selling some land also but again army will protest against it they have even approached govt to take back some captured land.

rkhanna

Amit shah is not a NSG soldier so off course he doesn't have any knowledge regarding the Equipments just like any other minster do you think that donald trump have knowledge about special forces equipment or french or british home minster have knowledge about these things he is saying that he will work to full fill the requirements of NSG in next five years let's see how that goes on. If you want to stop other guy's from posting special forces related stuff on this thread you can rename it RK khana take on SF.
And anyways usual vote baiting why not if everything was so simple why Manmohan didn't conducted strikes on Pakistan.
Every commander i guess use victories to motivate it's troops. Surgical strikes and balalkot is a huge motivation for the forces.
Nah bro - Any MP/PM is an administrator. Or in the Corporate World - a General Manager. He/she is not supposed to have domain knowledge of anything. He is however to supposed to use his/her brains to surround themselves with technocrates to give them the RIGHT advise and help formulate right Strategy.

Also - our administrators need to READ - Hell just read the thesis published by the IMA/NDA and other regimental centers. Proper prep from our civilian rulers is ESSENTIAL to proper mil prep.

You should look at the current and past US / British Govt and cabinet positions and their "shadow ministries". The shere number of professionals in each department (ministry) who aid in guiding Govt policy is huge .

- Indian SF has conducted cross border strikes during pretty much every administration baring Gujrals.

- I didnt mean to offend you. But Amit Shah shouting his mouth off is not SF related. Should be in the political section.

- Amit Shah is a public servant. Not a commander.

falcon82

Nah bro - Any MP/PM is an administrator. Or in the Corporate World - a General Manager. He/she is not supposed to have domain knowledge of anything. He is however to supposed to use his/her brains to surround themselves with technocrates to give them the RIGHT advise and help formulate right Strategy.

Also - our administrators need to READ - Hell just read the thesis published by the IMA/NDA and other regimental centers. Proper prep from our civilian rulers is ESSENTIAL to proper mil prep.

You should look at the current and past US / British Govt and cabinet positions and their "shadow ministries". The shere number of professionals in each department (ministry) who aid in guiding Govt policy is huge .

- Indian SF has conducted cross border strikes during pretty much every administration baring Gujrals.

- I didnt mean to offend you. But Amit Shah shouting his mouth off is not SF related. Should be in the political section.

- Amit Shah is a public servant. Not a commander.
Good points regarding the knowledge the MPs in Britain and Congressmen and Senators in the US have about their respective militaries. The reason for this is that in the UK, every political party has a research department, which most aspiring politicians join. Former British PM, David Cameron joined the Conservatives Research Dept. Being a part of the Research Dept means you have to conduct research in your chosen field of specialisation, sometimes aspiring politicians join the staff of individual MPs and gain domain knowledge in the area in which their MP is the shadow minister or member of the parliamentary committee. Similarly in the US, the Congressional and Senate committees do a lot of research on their own for which they require a large number of researchers. Former CIA Director, George Tenet started his career working for a senator who in turn was a member of the Senate Intelligence Services Committee, thereafter George Tenet spent the rest of his career at the Senate Intelligence Services Committee before being appointed the Director of the CIA. There is indeed a certain amount of specialisation in various areas in Western Democracies, compared to their Western counterparts, our politicians pale in comparison regarding their knowledge of various areas.

I think Indians hardly have the culture to read. Leave our politicians and administrators, even highly educated upper middle class Indians working in the corporate sector hardly read.

I think he does sounded right and was pointing out on real incidents.
( and i can throw few other people which were truly sounded like idiots for example trump when he said we can destroy Afghanistan/ Taliban in few hours or days)

Government have also added shadow minsters Appointed as NSA during Modi’s first term with a minister of state rank, this time round Doval has been elevated to the rank of cabinet minister on par with members of the Cabinet Committee on Security—home minister Amit Shah

I didnt mean to offend you. But Amit Shah shouting his mouth off is not SF related. Should be in the political section.
Every thing which NSG will do is directly under the authority of Amit Shah so i think it's related to SF related stuff he just said that we are working to bring NSG on par with Other SF within 5 years which is a big statement. We can post stuff and updates which we receive from some retired or old military on politicians but cannot post anything which current government is saying?
Amit Shah is a public servant. Not a commande
I can quote multiple Presidents Prime ministers other people boosting their forces for the nice work which they have done it's nothing new. Even congressi chaps used to that.
And when considering the fact that NSG is not part of army it's under control of home minister.
Yes we can throw a raw number say that india conducted 1k surgical strikes in any other government but we ever publicly acknowledged that?

Anyways chillax it's not a big deal. let's see if amit shah can stand on his word's and put NSG among the top SF groups in the world. I would say before politicians army needs to clear it's mindset about NSG as some other members clearly stated that army is reluctant to call NSG at the time of need

COLDHEARTED AVIATOR

View attachment 43918
These two soldiers are from EME and AMC respectively but they are wearing both the SPECIAL FORCES shoulder tabs as well as BALIDAAN badge.

What kind of roles do they perform in special forces ? Are they combatants ?

@Unknowncommando 2
@rkhanna
@COLDHEARTED AVIATOR
In every battalion there are medics and EME personnel attached to the MI Room and the MT.

In SF battalions they too undergo probation and are hence given the SF badge.