Indian Special Forces (archived)

But those actors can't fight like we do. They'll shit when they hear bullets flying.
:laugh: That's what Pakis hope about Indians & Indians hope about Chinks... Indian soldiers who fought them in WW1 would disagree (unless the Indians starving to death at Gallipoli were not pinned down by those "actors" but voluntarily doing hunger-strike).
All those who are thinking that high cuts, comm sets, knee pads and elbow pads are equipment should stop watching YouTube and movies.
Damn, India's been wasting so much taxpayer's money when they could make do with bow/arrows. Who buys tanks, when you can use chariots?

All those who are thinking that high cuts, comm sets, knee pads and elbow pads are equipment should stop watching YouTube and movies.
So we shouldn't, as citizens, think about the comfort of our soldiers and simply ignore them being left behind in the global arms race?
You guys should seriously stop judging and suggesting what to do. SF people know what they want. They have the funds to get what they want. They'll adopt what they are comfortable with. Period.
Chalo bhai-log, pack up!
Kill the spirit of discussion and stop putting in your tidbits. In fact, disband the forum since they must "know what they want."
Let's get back to FB and twitter.

What sort of logic is this?

MIDKNIGHT FENERIR-00

VICTORIOUM AUT MORS

GHATAK PLATOON of 55 Rashtriya Rifles ( Grenadiers )
Possibly a composite team
I don’t understand whole the idea behind having a Ghatak Platoon in the RR when the entire RR battalion is trained and equipped to handle Porki Terrorists without much of outside help unless it is a high level Terrorist target were in SF takes over the Operations. Shouldn’t a Ghatak Platoon be used only in a normal infantry battalion were there are no trained soldiers who can deal with hidden terrorists or conduct ambushed against enemy. Can you please explain this to me?

Unknowncommando 2

I don’t understand whole the idea behind having a Ghatak Platoon in the RR when the entire RR battalion is trained and equipped to handle Porki Terrorists without much of outside help unless it is a high level Terrorist target were in SF takes over the Operations. Shouldn’t a Ghatak Platoon be used only in a normal infantry battalion were there are no trained soldiers who can deal with hidden terrorists or conduct ambushed against enemy. Can you please explain this to me?
Ghatak Platoon is there in every battalion whether it is IA INF/RR, SFF , PARA AIRBORNE or Assam Rifles. Some also call them as commando platoon or QRT. They are the first responders and engage the enemy first. It is standard throughout IA, SFF,AR & even in other CAPFs.
RR can be designated as the IA Specialised Infantry and they do get additional training for CT ops in valley after coming from parent unit but every RR Jawan can't be a GHATAK. There is always going to be differences in skills,capabilities & gear between GHATAKs & regulars.
Basic training for hostage rescue and ambush is given to every Jawan. Whole battalion doesn't rely on GHATAKs only.
Even NSG has a HQ team currently stationed in Manesar which can be called as the QRT/GHATAK of 51 SAG.

Yodha

India is my Identity
@Bleh @Waanar

I get the sarcasm and please don't try it again. Doesn't suit you well. Crying on a public forum doesn't get things done. And crying everyday that we don't have this, we don't have that doesn't get things done. This thread has gone far beyond a healthy discussion.

Some of the members here certified that our special forces are good for none. I wish that you guys get time to spend with them and work with them. They are different. You'd never hear a NO from them. And what do we do here... Judge them because they don't have a high cut helmet or a comn set.

Anyway, I'm not looking forward to say anything more. Waste of time.

Gessler

The designated marksman is carrying a DMR along with an AR.
Standard practice?

Also, wouldn't it be better if he carried weapons with same calibre and not a 7.62 and 5.56 composite combo of guns? o_O
If you're talking about the guy on the far left, that's an AK he's got, not an SVD.

ak3.JPG

If we assume the weapon belongs to the guy in the red jacket, then I suppose the guy above is holding it for him as he gets down from the truck:

g.jpg

It does have an awful long barrel though, I can see why someone would think its a Dragunov. Weird, AK barrels aren't usually that long...unless this is some Eastern European jugaad variant captured from hajis.

Why would they carry two assault rifles? Well...setting any personal assertion of the soldiers aside, I'd say if you got pissed off and wanted to maim a jihadi or two, doing so with an AK would be far more arbitrary from an evidence standpoint, considering everyone uses AKs whereas a 5.56 weapon would draw the focus onto special units considering INSAS is rare in CI/CT (not that jihadis don't get hands on few AR-15s here and there, smuggled from Afg). Just a hypothesis.

Also, there is the tactical explanation. Got enemies behind hard cover like stonewalls? AK will shread them up nicely in closer ranges...5.56 not so much. So makes sense for 1 or 2 guys in a team carrying one as a means of support. It's very unconventional, must admit, but far more unconventional things have been known to happen among SOF during times of war, even American counterparts.

I'm inclined to think a combination of both factors.

To answer your actual question (though it doesn't apply here as this isn't a DMR), yes, it was pretty standard practice for a sniper/DM to carry another primary weapon (like an M4 carbine) in US military, especially SOCOM. Not unlikely to see that replicated here.

Though this necessity became mostly non-existent later on with the adoption of AR10 or AR15-based precision rifles typically used by marksmen in urban environments with roles mirroring that of our CI/CT. With platforms like those (especially with an LPVO thrown in), one can run the same rifle for everything from CQB (not for assaulters, but for clearing your way to a sniper perch or something like that) to long-range shooting.

We don't have that luxury with our current inventory though.

MIDKNIGHT FENERIR-00

VICTORIOUM AUT MORS
I agree. Have u seen Turkish soldiers in Syria? They look far better equipped than us. On par with US soldiers.
I dont geti it why they are ignoring SFs?
Atleast take a cue from Uri movie. Those actors look highly equipped than our soldiers
I mean Majority of the Armies and there SFs around the world have upgraded there Equipment, Uniform and Camos While our Army and SFs are stuck with these. Which isn’t there fault but the Governments and Top Army Officials. I mean it’s still better than stuff we used back in the the olden days when didn’t even have a good body Armor to wear. We have a lot of improving to do and I mean a lot since the technology and equipment are constantly improving. Many Armies around the world both friend and foe alike are also upgrading and improving themselves as well. We need make our upgrades faster on par with best of the world and most importantly indigenize and innovate.

Indrajit

But those actors can't fight like we do. They'll shit when they hear bullets flying.

You guys should seriously stop judging and suggesting what to do. SF people know what they want. They have the funds to get what they want. They'll adopt what they are comfortable with. Period.
Well said. Many here are obsessed with appearances rather than performance. I believe performance should be debated on, if one feels strongly about something...all this talk about looks are unnecessary and missing the wood for the trees and a distraction from the real topic of how our SF are used which is far more important and current topic..

Mangal

@Bleh @Waanar

I get the sarcasm and please don't try it again. Doesn't suit you well. Crying on a public forum doesn't get things done. And crying everyday that we don't have this, we don't have that doesn't get things done. This thread has gone far beyond a healthy discussion.

Some of the members here certified that our special forces are good for none. I wish that you guys get time to spend with them and work with them. They are different. You'd never hear a NO from them. And what do we do here... Judge them because they don't have a high cut helmet or a comn set.

How good is our night fighting capability? Why did army stopped SF going in and attacking terrorists at night during pathankot incident? What does it tells us about our "capability" to fight at night?
Fact: Armys world over have vastly improved their night fighting ability so as to own the night. Majority raids are carried in nights when enemy is blind since early 90's.This has slowly become a norm.
PS: Rants and self glorification wont win wars against a professional army.

Indrajit

How good is our night fighting capability? Why did army stopped SF going in and attacking terrorists at night during pathankot incident? What does it tells us about our "capability" to fight at night?
Fact: Armys world over have vastly improved their night fighting ability so as to own the night. Majority raids are carried in nights when enemy is blind since early 90's.This has slowly become a norm.
PS: Rants and self glorification wont win wars against a professional army.
That's a good question but I would guess it is less to do with NV equipment and more to do with how they have trained. Its ridiculous to think that the army cant afford a few dozen pieces of high grade NV stuff. Especially since a lot of that is now locally available. Night operations are very different from regular operations and while there may be many circumstances and locations where operations with NV devices may be overrated, there will equally be many instances where it would make a world of difference.

I would actually like your view on this @Prasanna kumar

@Bleh @Waanar

Those who say Indian SF are no good are just taking it too far but that doesn't change my stance. Martyr Captain Pawan Kumar died dude to a bullet through the heart sir.
That's something which was almost definitely avoidable. If armor fails to catch the 7.62, it would've at least deflected and slowed it down somewhat.

I was watching a documentary of Cobras and they mentioned "mashaals" to watch for animals when walking through jungles. What is this, Indiana Jones?
Not only that, but then he mentioned how they don't light fire to cook to not give away their position to the naxals in the same documentary. WTF logic?

Also, you mention that Indian SOFs never say no.
Tbh, I can't imagine any respectable SOF saying no to a mission and any respectable commander asking them to go on a suicide mission without a say in it. That's just rhetorical argument.

We have a long way to go for modernization, and constantly crying about the things our SOFs don't have is a clear indicator that it's long overdue.
IT IS LONG OVERDUE!
IT NEEDS FIXING AND WE'LL CRY RIVERS BECAUSE ITS LONG OVERDUE!
If you have a problem with that, either report us or set us on ignore, but I don't see how it's spam if we're worried for a soldier's hearing longevity or physical and/or mental.. well... integrity...