Indian Special Forces (archived)

Aniruddha Mulay

A rag tag militia that has been superbly successful at thwarting extremist elements for decades in Kashmir. you need to understand what the m/o for sf is.
In India’s sense, sf in Kashmir is guerilla/mountaneous warfare. Which is why the US and India engage in numerous excercises as Indian armed forces have been effective these past decades in suppressing hardcore elements. looking tacticool achieves nothing in this scenario. You need good armor, decent Comms, medikits and good intelligence. Traveling light is the motto. Sure, having high cuts, or better looking uniforms would be cool optics. Do those accessories provide something really better than present gear? Something to think about.
The SF that went into Myanmar and URI, were a different category of gear, men, training.
While I do not agree with @abingdonboy regarding his statements on effectiveness of SF in real world combat ops. I do agree that the SF need better equipment.
Better equipment will only improve the combat effectiveness and efficiency of the Para SF while also keeping our boys safe.
And all the better equipment which I am talking about(i.e. Ballastic helmets or HCBH to be specific with integrated communications headset, better BPJ with plate carriers, quad tube and dual tube NVD) can be easily supplied by Indian companies.

A rag tag militia that has been superbly successful at thwarting extremist elements for decades in Kashmir. you need to understand what the m/o for sf is.
In India’s sense, sf in Kashmir is guerilla/mountaneous warfare. Which is why the US and India engage in numerous excercises as Indian armed forces have been effective these past decades in suppressing hardcore elements. looking tacticool achieves nothing in this scenario. You need good armor, decent Comms, medikits and good intelligence. Traveling light is the motto. Sure, having high cuts, or better looking uniforms would be cool optics. Do those accessories provide something really better than present gear? Something to think about.
The SF that went into Myanmar and URI, were a different category of gear, men, training.
Even Israelis are fighting a menace similar to us, we never find them looking like a rag tag militia.

Their uniforms & equipment are standardised,not just today it’s been the case over past two decades.

In our case, even the shoes are not consistent.

rkhanna

Dear @rkhanna I wish you could visit an sf unit when they do night training.
I actually have once. but that didnt tell me anything as it was a dog and pony show.

I however have multiple family members who have served/currently serve with SF. Am a fairly decent Idea of their Night Fighting Ability and the delta between their ability and their counterparts that they cross train with in other parts of the planet.

Again i shall reiterate this - The Primary issue with the conventional Military Command that superseds and looks after SF is that they have no real world idea of what SOF is capable of with proper kit and dont really understand where and how we are currently deficient and what needs to be done to get us above board.

This reflects not only in the dedicated budget allocations to kit and training but also that lack of a Comprehensive National Special Operations Framework for employing these gents.

PS - If all they have are Gen 1/2 kit their ability will always be limited as a relative.

Even Israelis are fighting a menace similar to us, we never find them looking like a rag tag militia.

Their uniforms & equipment are standardised,not just today it’s been the case over past two decades.

And it's something common across Indian defence. How many artillery systems do you need? How many 4th gen fighters types do you need? How many small arms, caliber types do you need? It's a zoo across the board. And it's strange.

rkhanna

...................... :biggrin2:

This was always a given. There were enough press briefings on the same. Why oh why would the recce photographs be released.

True Face Palm Moment.

Edit: The comments on the twitter feed seem to imply that these images are from the H Channel Documentary and were representative (re enactment) only.

Deathstar

You just need a bit zeal. Higher echelons are satisfied earning millions through def deals , no one cares about ground troops.

i think it's more to do with defensive doctrine rather than anything else. i have a theory that countries who are willing to take their fight beyond their borders tend to focus on providing better gear to their men.

rkhanna

i think it's more to do with defensive doctrine rather than anything else. i have a theory that countries who are willing to take their fight beyond their borders tend to focus on providing better gear to their men.
The Japanese, Koreans, Germans, Austrians, Nordics, Canadians - all defensive in nature in terms of National Policy (refering to SOF kit primarily not military at large)

IMO Good kit is also a function of small militaries who need to punch higher than their weight class. They need to be more efficient with their spending and need more value add from their kit.

The Larger the military the more inertia sets in the planning process.

ALBY

Section Moderator

FYI this is not Russian Alfa or some other Spetsnaz unit, but Azerbaijani Special Forces. Even your rag tag SF from third world are getting better kits in the line of Nato SFs. The only ones left out to get updated are SSG and Indian SFs. People arguing that our SFs are better than thebrest of the world should remember that all over the world selection standards for standard SFs are almost same. The only thing that set apart them are the gear and support elements they receive while undergoing an ops.

Holy Triad

Cross posting from SSS thread,

Interview with a sss representative shed some light on their rifle specifications,interesting

Some key takeaways from his interview,
  • They used button cut barrel for .338 saber and hammer forged barrel for their assault rifles
  • Parts were nitrided(I guess barrels too nitrided)
  • His rifles were tested out in various ranges in murica.
  • He added that they are Building a range in India which can simulate desi weather conditions.

• According to him,SSS Rifles are currently undergoing trials with" para,NSG and with other divisions(?)"(post 6minute mark)

Lupus

I have come across some pictures of EME troops with "SPECIAL FORCES" shoulder titles but without BALIDAAN badge.

Does anyone know what it means ?

@rkhanna

IndiaRising

FYI this is not Russian Alfa or some other Spetsnaz unit, but Azerbaijani Special Forces. Even your rag tag SF from third world are getting better kits in the line of Nato SFs. The only ones left out to get updated are SSG and Indian SFs. People arguing that our SFs are better than thebrest of the world should remember that all over the world selection standards for standard SFs are almost same. The only thing that set apart them are the gear and support elements they receive while undergoing an ops.
when’s the last time Azerbaijan special forces carried out any operation of repute? In fact, the last time they fought was against Armenia back in 2016 and it was a stalemate on both sides where both suffered similar number of casualties. Now how was the “gear and support elements” helpful in this case and how do you think situation would be different if ragtag Para SF was there?

ALBY

Section Moderator
when’s the last time Azerbaijan special forces carried out any operation of repute? In fact, the last time they fought was against Armenia back in 2016 and it was a stalemate on both sides where both suffered similar number of casualties. Now how was the “gear and support elements” helpful in this case and how do you think situation would be different if ragtag Para SF was there?
Why do u think Usain Bolt uses Puma Ignite shoes for running when he could just use Adibas or Rebokee or Nikki found in Palika Bazar as he is naturally a gifted runner?
Sorry guys i am out. Its easier to teach quantum physics than enlightening someone on the need for modernisation of elite military units.

Why do u think Usain Bolt uses Puma Ignite shoes for running when he could just use Adibas or Rebokee or Nikki found in Palika Bazar as he is naturally a gifted runner?
Sorry guys i am out. Its easier to teach quantum physics than enlightening someone on the need for modernisation of elite military units.
true many people are like...we douse fire with water ...what is need for hydraulic cutters..fire proof suit...etc etc/....
its matter of life n death...that is not paint ball game where player does not die....any proper gadget which could help soldier should be welcomed....we were invaded several times because kings use infantry as expandable because of huge population..

Are bhai apki problem kya he.
Jab yaha swift dzire mil rahi he to jan bujh kar alto 800 kyo le?

Aniruddha Mulay

Cross posting from SSS thread,

Interview with a sss representative shed some light on their rifle specifications,interesting

Some key takeaways from his interview,
  • They used button cut barrel for .338 saber and hammer forged barrel for their assault rifles
  • Parts were nitrided(I guess barrels too nitrided)
  • His rifles were tested out in various ranges in murica.
  • He added that they are Building a range in India which can simulate desi weather conditions.

• According to him,SSS Rifles are currently undergoing trials with" para,NSG and with other divisions(?)"(post 6minute mark)
The Rifles were tested in the USA ranges and passed with flying colors.

Then it should be a matter of even bigger shame that Indian SOFs have worse gear than them.

Shame shame, MoD, Shame shame.

IndiaRising

I am giving real facts on the ground, as opposed to you who is just making a comparison to enforce your own view. Need for modernization will always be there, but to blindly look at new equipment as the cure of all ills is childish.