Indian Special Forces (archived)

devhensh

Yeah, Nigerian authorities have publicly blamed the villagers and arrested the village chief.
REST IN PEACE BRAVEHEARTS !
A soldier of any country, dying for his country (specially fighting terrorists)....deserves highest respect !

Some more details....Lots of questions are being asked about the command decisions....this small group of SF soldiers was about to return, after completing a mission, when they were asked to undertake another mission (another group of SF soldiers were supposed to join them, which never happened)...

So these soldiers were exposed for a long time, as they were forced to spend a night in a village...They were stalled by the village elders....Then they were lured out in open by terrorists on motorcycle, to an area where a large force waited for them in ambush....(some say that the Nigerian Support Vehicle deserted)....an unarmed drone was present all the time and the requested air support (french fighter planes arrived after two hours)....

12arya

no this is col kapil yadav

skip to 13:08. the announcer announces col yadav's name with his battalion name 9 Para SF. after col yadav, you will also find col harpreet sandhu of 4 Para SF at around 13:46. both were given unit citations

@IndiaRising, hey buddy were col yadav and col sandhu awarded their YSM's in private ceremony? i cudn't find them awarded in the investiture ceremony video where maj suri was awarded? do u have a video of that? if so plz send me the link.

There are 2 things that a Army with brains does.

One is to innovate ie Israeli style. Two is to copy ie Chinese style. But sadly we are the 3rd which is no style or the partly jugaad style.

Almost 30 freaking years in Kashmirs urban conflicts and no one in the IA came up with an idea to arm RR with ballistic shields...ya i have seen very few pics coming up lately.
30 years and we haven't been able to even build pill boxes along the LoC. What we mostly have are built with mud, stones and CGI sheets which are extremely vulnerable to arty shelling, anti tank missiles and heavy caliber direct firing weapons like this one....

What we needed were pill boxes that could defend against these weapons. But we are still in dreamland with a sab chalta hai attitude. We need to construct something like this section pillbox with underground living attached behind.....Note the curved surfaces.

Here's an interesting read....Portable pillboxes!

Haldiram

30 years and we haven't been able to even build pill boxes along the LoC. What we mostly have are built with mud, stones and CGI sheets which are extremely vulnerable to arty shelling, anti tank missiles and heavy caliber direct firing weapons like this one....

What we needed were pill boxes that could defend against these weapons. But we are still in dreamland with a sab chalta hai attitude. We need to construct something like this section pillbox with underground living attached behind.....Note the curved surfaces.

Are we under some sort of unwritten convention with Pakistan about fortification of posts on the LOC? "You will no build fortifications, in exchange, we will not build fortifications" something like that?

ALBY

Section Moderator

Recently read in newspaper that MoD had given nod for upgrading bunkers with underground capabilities and better protection etc etc..

Those bunkers are not for the Army or BSF.

Over 14,000 community and individual bunkers sanctioned by the Home Ministry are being constructed along the Line of Control (LoC) and the International Border (IB) for border residents facing Pakistani shelling in Jammu division.

While 7298 bunkers would be constructed along the LoC in the twin districts of Poonch and Rajouri, 7162 underground bunkers would be constructed along the IB in Jammu, Kathua and Samba districts. This is estimated to cost around Rs. 415.73 crore for people living along the LoC and IB.

Are we under some sort of unwritten convention with Pakistan about fortification of posts on the LOC? "You will no build fortifications, in exchange, we will not build fortifications" something like that?
There's nothing that prevents us from building RCC pill boxes. Only crew served weapons like MMGs have RCC pill boxes. Most others are constructed with mud, sandbags, stones and CGI sheets.

Haldiram

There's nothing that prevents us from building RCC pill boxes. Only crew served weapons like MMGs have RCC pill boxes. Most others are constructed with mud, sandbags, stones and CGI sheets.
There was a post on the forum mentioning an exchange of fire on the border where we pinned down their post where we were strong and they pinned down ours and every time any one of the parties tried to rebuild it, the hammering would begin in their respective weak spots (elsewhere). That's tacitly agreeing to leave out certain areas undefended. There's a legal mention of something like that in the 2003 agreement (can't fly helos or planes 10km from the LOC, can't post heavy arty X kms from LOC, cant build fortifications etc). I'm not sure that paper is worth dirt, but there are *some unofficial truces in some areas* it seems we have agreed. Otherwise there is no reason to not fortify. They even have those ready-made lightweight high strength construction blocks these days. One can build a bunker in under an hour. It's like putting lego blocks together. Kuch toh gadbad hai daya.

12arya

gods, xtremely shocking and heart breaking. nvr seen anything like that. no matter wat the nationality, all soldiers who fight fr their nations deserve respect. condolences to the families. 9 bravehearts of our own lost their lives yesterday.

May they Rest In Peace.

rkhanna

CQB in compressed Envoirments - Thoughts

Some considerations worth looking through when working in compressed environments.

• Your system setup, with focus over the barrel & accessories. For example, many guys tend to place their mounted laser or flashlights in the wrong position on the gun, limiting their devices performance or increasing exposure of the weapon around corners.
  • Sling. Get a good one and don’t let it hinder you. Make sure it isn’t flying around loose. Ensure that it doesn’t get caught on your gear or the environment
  • Flashlights & improper placement of PTTs
  • Muzzle awareness, not only for safety reasons but telegraphing your position as well. Don’t let the enemy gain a visual advantage.
  • Any loose items like dump pouches, straps, etc should be secured. Don’t let those frames, closets, door handles and other stuff on the wall the grab you!
  • Pre-planned evacuation procedure. Think of it as if an ally is wounded and their body blocks the hallway. What next? Can he self-extract? Can the team keep pressure on the threat while a proper extraction is taking place?
  • There is no unemployment in CQB. Dig your corners and earn that angle.
One of the greatest benefits of fighting from the door in a compressed environment is that we have the ability – by default – to fight from cover, and to know what our next move is going to be. In terms of violent encounters, that will allow an officer who just engaged or eliminated a threat to stop, breathe and prepare himself mentally for their next move.

Often, in settings like in the video below, moving quickly into rooms (in the majority of contexts) will result in an injury. You can’t be too careful, it is all about increasing your chance of survival.

Nice little video in the link

https://sofrep.com/100309/watch-tactical-thought-cqb-compressed-environments/

12arya

https://www.news24.com/Africa/News/...irms-us-policy-is-all-about-security-20180313

Tillerson's visit to Africa confirms US' policy is all about security

US Secretary of State Rex Tillerson. (File: AFP)

US President Donald Trump sent his Secretary of State Rex Tillerson to Africa in an attempt to mend relations after the president’s unprecedented insult of an entire continent, referring to African states as “shithole countries”. The trip took place after more than a year of neglect from the White House and State Department.

The five countries chosen for Tillerson’s visit confirms the perception that Washington’s first and foremost interest in Africa is security. So far the secretary of state has had nothing to offer to his African partners. This may well be because the Trump administration still doesn’t have a policy towards Africa. An assistant secretary of state for Africa hasn’t been appointed yet, nor have ambassadors to a number of African countries, including South Africa.

The lack of an Africa policy may explain the public outcry that followed the killing of four US special forces in northern Niger in October last year. The biggest problem for the public and for the politicians on Capitol Hill was quite simple: what were US soldiers doing in Niger? For that matter what are American special forces doing in Africa? How is it at all possible that the US has deployed more than 6,000 troops on the continent when the official policy still is ‘no boots on the ground’?

The White House never delivered an official answer to these obvious questions. But Tillerson’s itinerary in East and West Africa provides some clues. The trip had everything to do with security. And little else.

The stopovers
In Ethiopia, his first stop, Tillerson took the opportunity to criticise China’s large and growing economic engagement all over Africa. China “promotes dependency” and it “undermines the sovereignty of Africa”, Tillerson said.

But apart from criticism, Tillerson didn’t have much to offer by way of economics and investments. By contrast, evidence of China’s engagement in the country can be seen at every turn. The meeting took place at the AU’s new headquarters which was financed by China. Beijing has also built and paid for the metro running from the airport to the centre of the city. The Chinese also paid for and built the railway line connecting Addis Ababa with the port in Djibouti on the Gulf of Aden.

US Secretary of State Rex Tillerson in Addis Ababa during his African tour. EPA-EFE
While in Addis Ababa, the US secretary of state also met with representatives of the African Union. The meeting was important because African soldiers conduct peacekeeping missions in a large number of countries on the continent. Before he left Washington Tillerson stated that last year, the US supported more than 27 000 African peacekeeping troops deployed in more than 20 countries.

The second stop on Tillerson’s African roundtrip was the small Horn of Africa state of Djibouti where the Americans have had a permanent base – ‘Camp Lemonnier’ – since 2001. Situated close to Somalia, Yemen and the Indian Ocean, the base has been a crucial fulcrum for the US global war on terror. The camp has been the home base for some 2 000 servicemen and Washington has just signed a new lease agreement for another 30 years.

Last year China opened its own naval base only a few miles from ‘Camp Lemonnier’.

It was no coincidence that the third stop was Kenya. Even though the US did not back Kenya’s invasion of Somalia in 2011, the Pentagon has supplied the Kenyan Defence Forces with advanced weapons and trained Kenyan soldiers who crossed into Somalia in their hunt for Al-Shaabab fighters and supporters.

The US Secretary of State had no problems with the Kenyan authorities when issues related to the fight against Al-Shabaab were on the table. But Tillerson couldn’t avoid commenting on the big challenges facing Kenya’s democracy in the wake of last year’s election. Nevertheless the US also knows that it can’t apply too much pressure on the Kenyan government. Doing so would risk Kenya threatening to pull its troops from the peacekeeping mission in Somalia.

Tillerson’s fourth stop was Chad, emphasising that his round trip was most of all about strengthening military friendships and security alliances. Chad is a key state for the American anti-terror struggle in West Africa.

Tillerson’s biggest challenge during his visit in N’Djamena was explaining why a close US ally was on Trump’s travel ban list.

Nigeria was the last stop. Once again, the close cooperation on security explains the visit. During several years, Washington has supported the Nigerian army in its attempt to defeat Boko Haram.

Only one conclusion
The lesson to be learned from Tillerson’s first trip to Africa as Secretary of State is simple: Africa is important to US security because it is a crucial component in the global war on terror and Islamist radicalisation. The continent is also perceived as a battleground in the global competition between Beijing and Washington.

While China is ready to invest huge sums of money in Africa, the US is not up to doing the same.

Gorm Rye Olsen, Professor, Institute for Social Sciences and Business, Roskilde Universit

Bhai para sf mein sikhs aur Jaats itne kam kyun hai? lety nahi hai kya? Ya phir sare ops mein bechare assamese dogra aur gurkhao ko laga dety hai yeh ? Postings on approach?
Bhai es time jara bhar hun bad me detail me bat karte hain or 1 Para SF ( First ) me bhut Sikhs hain ye kuch units hain jo regulars se Para me convert Hui hain.

1 para SF (First ) Punjab regt se convert Hui he pehle Para then SF

============

Ye 1 Para SF veteran hain Haijpir battle ke. I know his son very well at present lives in Punjab

These Photos provided by his Son

19274961_744686245704913_8084317117260455287_n.jpg

19390787_744686425704895_2075561404944348921_o.jpg

19222637_744686335704904_3348933618351621382_o.jpg

COLDHEARTED AVIATOR

gods, xtremely shocking and heart breaking. nvr seen anything like that. no matter wat the nationality, all soldiers who fight fr their nations deserve respect. condolences to the families. 9 bravehearts of our own lost their lives yesterday.

May they Rest In Peace.
Our bravehearts are not occupying foreign lands aiding and demolishing terrorists whenever it suits our global ambitions followed by dirty operations and killing of terrorists and innocents .

Alright?

Also the choice to be affected by deaths who dont represent you or fight for you is also personal.Depends on how influenced were you by someones narrative growing up.

Also,respect is always mutual.Maybe i dont feel even sad coz i have gone through what comments Americans make when Indians die.

Not to forget the "drill his brain" comment about an IAF pilot and also a very long lecture about IAF and Indians.

So,lets not preach here coz another debate will start.

Already we had 2 pages of discussion on something not relating to us.

12arya

Our bravehearts are not occupying foreign lands
i nvr said so.

So,lets not preach here coz another debate will start.
bro i wasnt preaching at all. if u feel so, i cant help it. no offense.

Maybe i dont feel even sad coz i have gone through what comments Americans make when Indians die.
just bcoz ignorant pepl insult doesnt means i shud do the same. i felt very shocked, hence wrote wat i wrote. and i value our soldiers the most. i am not one of those libtartds who insult our military and praise foreign military only. but yes, that american soldier's head getting blown away repeatedly shocked me.....but that doesnt means i dont value our soldiers and blindly support american designs.

Depends on how influenced were you by someones narrative growing up.
not becoz of any narrative...but bcoz im very afraid of blood. i dont usually watch such videos but today for som reason i did and got very shocked. may b bcoz im a woman!

Already we had 2 pages of discussion on something not relating to us.
again im not solely responsible for that but do agree.