Indian Special Forces (archived)

itsme

This is at chakrata base,since we can't post the name ,posting the photo of his parents.

Another tibetan guy from SG-
Hey bro, please have some mercy on us SF fan boys and kindly post the pic of SGs in battle gear with FAST helmet n NVGs. :D
You ll make my day.

COLDHEARTED AVIATOR

Dont confuse SFF and SG.

The structure of SFF and SG is fluid. No Tibetians in SG - Completely manned by Indian personal. Predominantly Para SF but i know of 1 Naga who has been part without going through SF and 1 know of 1 Sailor who has dont a short deputation with SG.

SG personel sometimes will deploy in pairs and embed themselves with other units (conventional or SF).

Without going into any detail their mandate from SFF is completely different.

In terms of tasking they are India's true blue Tier I. (but I know a couple of 9 Para guys who completely disagree and think they are Tier I ;p)
Now heres the thing..if you suggest that SG doesnt have Tibetans and just Para then whats the point of having them in SFF.Instead why not have only SG..because after all be it SG or NSG the Paras will be the tier 1 guys you talk about.

Anyway i am on a different frequency over here.

The thing you said about pairs of SG is true.

------------------------------------------------
My friend who was a Ghatak and RR guy once went for the lunch in a cantonment in Jammu region and was standing in a line at the langar.He was on TD.So he tells me that 2 guys came and they were not wearing any badges or even the shoulder cords.So he asked them in a friendly manner that..guys dont you have to wear badges or shoulder cord?..To which the SG guy replies..Sir we have special privelages :lol:

But they were not on a secret mission :)

I also believe 9 Para are the tier one guys haha..I have a lot of respect from them!

rkhanna

Sirji - Unit Designation and reason for being does not come from Training and Capability but from Tasking.

One can always argue that if the Para's also do UDT work why have Marcos. And if Paras also train for Hostage Rescue why have NSG.

The Reason they exist seperately is because of Tasking. (even though overlaps exist)

Now heres the thing..if you suggest that SG doesnt have Tibetans and just Para then whats the point of having them in SFF.Instead why not have only SG..because after all be it SG or NSG the Paras will be the tier 1 guys you talk about.

Anyway i am on a different frequency over here.

The thing you said about pairs of SG is true.

------------------------------------------------
My friend who was a Ghatak and RR guy once went for the lunch in a cantonment in Jammu region and was standing in a line at the langar.He was on TD.So he tells me that 2 guys came and they were not wearing any badges or even the shoulder cords.So he asked them in a friendly manner that..guys dont you have to wear badges or shoulder cord?..To which the SG guy replies..Sir we have special privelages :lol:

But they were not on a secret mission :)

I also believe 9 Para are the tier one guys haha..I have a lot of respect from them!

COLDHEARTED AVIATOR

Sirji - Unit Designation and reason for being does not come from Training and Capability but from Tasking.

One can always argue that if the Para's also do UDT work why have Marcos. And if Paras also train for Hostage Rescue why have NSG.

The Reason they exist seperately is because of Tasking. (even though overlaps exist)
Absolutely wrong!

To have non Indians run a guerrilla force which also is the most scandalous force of the IA is what i have a problem with and not the task.

You and me both know how active SFF have been after 1984..SG a little bit in Kashmir but SFF?Only in Leh Ladakh and Siachen mostly.

Tomorrow these people who claim that they have given back India more than they owe(which is nonsense)can easily turn around coz free Tibet is a dream they are seeing.Never gonna happen.

I am not saying they are not capable..i am saying they are not required.

We should invest in Gorkhas and more troopers from NE like Nagas,Mizos who are doing exceeding well in 21 Para and are equivalent and if not better than the SFF which also has Gorkhas.

If we have a war with Pakis and they send SSG as mujahids to cause a stir in the valley..nothings gonna happen...all the SSG will get hunted down like pigs.Coz its an era of information warfare thats why so many terrorists are hunted down recently..Same goes for SFF Tibetans and tibet incase of a China war.

Focus should be on advanced weapon systems and good training which will eventually be the reason for a win and not any superhuman effort by any psyops SFF commandos.

Like i said..we are on a different frequency.I cannot explain you my concerns and i DO NOT think Tibetans can win us any war.

armyofhind

Absolutely wrong!

To have non Indians run a guerrilla force which also is the most scandalous force of the IA is what i have a problem with and not the task.

You and me both know how active SFF have been after 1984..SG a little bit in Kashmir but SFF?Only in Leh Ladakh and Siachen mostly.

Tomorrow these people who claim that they have given back India more than they owe(which is nonsense)can easily turn around coz free Tibet is a dream they are seeing.Never gonna happen.

I am not saying they are not capable..i am saying they are not required.

We should invest in Gorkhas and more troopers from NE like Nagas,Mizos who are doing exceeding well in 21 Para and are equivalent and if not better than the SFF which also has Gorkhas.

If we have a war with Pakis and they send SSG as mujahids to cause a stir in the valley..nothings gonna happen...all the SSG will get hunted down like pigs.Coz its an era of information warfare thats why so many terrorists are hunted down recently..Same goes for SFF Tibetans and tibet incase of a China war.

Focus should be on advanced weapon systems and good training which will eventually be the reason for a win and not any superhuman effort by any psyops SFF commandos.

Like i said..we are on a different frequency.I cannot explain you my concerns and i DO NOT think Tibetans can win us any war.
You need to read about what SFF has done in the Chittagong Hill tracts during 1971 then, to know about them properly.
Also the espionage missions they've run along with the CIA in aftermath of 1962.

The reason for having SG entirely composed of Para SF guys but still a part of SFF is more to with organisational structure than tactics. SFF and SG therefore come directly under RAW's Tasking. Since SG is the black ops/Tier 1, call it what you will, it makes sense to keep it under RAW.

COLDHEARTED AVIATOR

You need to read about what SFF has done in the Chittagong Hill tracts during 1971 then, to know about them properly.
Also the espionage missions they've run along with the CIA in aftermath of 1962.

The reason for having SG entirely composed of Para SF guys but still a part of SFF is more to with organisational structure than tactics. SFF and SG therefore come directly under RAW's Tasking. Since SG is the black ops/Tier 1, call it what you will, it makes sense to keep it under RAW.
Trust me i have read about them and know about them a lot more than many people here.What you talk about was in 71 as you rightly said..almost 50 years ago..What i talk about is 2017 until 2050.

RAW has many units to do the dirty work..CIT-X and CIT-J in the past...TSD recently and god knows which one now.And SG is the one you talk about not SFF..SG is Para..I agree with you SG is imp.I want to expand SG not SFF in my suggestion.

aditya g

To expand a unit you need a sustainable method and structure. My understanding is that Est-22 acts as a regimental centre for SG and that's quite a task in itself. If you want more SF units who in the army to go? Para has more SF than Airborne units now.

RAW has many units to do the dirty work..CIT-X and CIT-J in the past...TSD recently and god knows which one now.And SG is the one you talk about not SFF..SG is Para..I agree with you SG is imp.I want to expand SG not SFF in my suggestion.

COLDHEARTED AVIATOR

To expand a unit you need a sustainable method and structure. My understanding is that Est-22 acts as a regimental centre for SG and that's quite a task in itself. If you want more SF units who in the army to go? Para has more SF than Airborne units now.
We can cut down on SFF and put more of the resource to keep a 150-200 strength unit.A specialist unit with proven operators and the best equipment(fast helmets,hf sets,etc) just like the NSG SAG but for a special international role like surgical strikes and China ops or lets say to do what we did in Maldives.

Other SF units can support them.

Trust me 150 better equipped best of the best Para SF commandos can do a much better job than what a under equipped SFF can do.

Well, believe it or not, some SSGs captured alive are already getting their ass whipped in an unknown detention centre somewhere in J&K.
I think they are tortured in their training and the ones that pass are the ones that didn't break during torture. Would be interesting to see how they hold up.

Well, believe it or not, some SSGs captured alive are already getting their ass whipped in an unknown detention centre somewhere in J&K.
Bhai, aapke munh main ghee shakkar.
I think they are tortured in their training and the ones that pass are the ones that didn't break during torture. Would be interesting to see how they hold up.
SSG is well trained so probably long enough to give Pakis enough time to make most of the information they'll pass on to be irrelevant. Inner workings of SSG, names both local and paki would be just the thing India needs.

Bhai, aapke munh main ghee shakkar.

SSG is well trained so probably long enough to give Pakis enough time to make most of the information they'll pass on to be irrelevant. Inner workings of SSG, names both local and paki would be just thing India needs.
Is there a thread on what kind of interrogation tactics are used by Indian Army? Waterboarding is an extremely effective technique used by America. Not even the most hard core can resist.

Torture doesn't work mate, not on people who are well trained, least of all waterboarding. Best way to make someone talk is money.

Regardless of whether these Pakis break or not, their family is still in Pakistan and can use some money, if not today then tomorrow.

Torture doesn't work mate, not on people who are well trained, least of all waterboarding. Best way to make someone talk is money.

Regardless of whether these Pakis break or not, their family is still in Pakistan and can use some money, if not today then tomorrow.

Dude, it led to information about Bin Laden. I will watch that link later but lately I'm allergic to anything that John Oliver says. He is just a Democratic shill.

Come for the comedy, stay for the facts.

Don't listen to his political opinions but listen to his research. Bin Laden part is covered as well.

One of the most, if not the most successful interrogator from WW2 used to take prisoners on joy rides on planes and ice cream parlours. There was an Indian article about this as well. One IB officer used to straight up bribe the insurgents. Turn a major guy in, take the reward, serve a sentence for thieving or pick pocketing etc. and live happily ever after. I'll try to look it up.

Bahamut

Torture does work , look at the info capture by Allied forces in world war 2 and by the US in Vietnam. No one will admit it .Regardless most interrogator use mental torture which is mainly drugs and sensory deprivation which is more deniable .

You think people who committed Holocaust, Rape of Nanking and nuked Japan TWICE are worried about the fact they tortured people will be detrimental to their image. Americans napalming entire villages and spraying of Agent Orange is not exactly a secret. Hiding torture makes zero sense when mass murder is open for all to see.

If you take a look at the video, CIA admits rather openly that it tortures people and proclaims that it works. It's the Senate committee which poked holes in their story.