Indian Special Forces (archived)

@hammer head @Bornubus @Kunal Biswas and others with access to our Military MRE,
Dude, fuck MRE :)

Troops who are posted on remote areas love to cook their own food mostly meat. For one, they don't have cook at every post other is the taste of MRE and third the fun in making own food according to their choice.

My brother (cousin) who was posted at High altitude few years back and when he came on leave he brought bag full of MRE, Tins of Amul Butter, Chocolates, Dry fruit etc and distributed it.

He told me that he lost appetite at those high altitude.

=================

Cooking own food @ LoC right under the Nose of Pakis

Sisl514.jpg

Hiranyaksha

Dude, fuck MRE :)

Troops who are posted on remote areas love to cook their own food mostly meat. For one, they don't have cook at every post other is the taste of MRE and third the fun in making own food according to their choice.

My brother (cousin) who was posted at High altitude few years back and when he came on leave he brought bag full of MRE, Tins of Amul Butter, Chocolates, Dry fruit etc and distributed it.

He told me that he lost appetite at those high altitude.

=================

Cooking own food @ LoC right under the Nose of Pakis

View attachment 16379
Is that "Kaddu" ? Lol

Vegetarian food on certain occasions such as Holi.

Kaddu _ Poori & kheer or whatever is locally available.

And i don't want to mention certain food because I don't like to generalize certain communities in the Army but suffice to say that they eat things which other parts of Indians can't even think off.

But then again that's why the composition of majority of Indian regiments is based on caste/ Race basis recruited from specific regions. British understood this well for a diverse country like India.

So no conflict of language, food, race within a specific regiment.

COLDHEARTED AVIATOR

Vegetarian food on certain occasions such as Holi.

Kaddu _ Poori & kheer or whatever is locally available.

And i don't want to mention certain food because I don't like to generalize certain communities in the Army but suffice to say that they eat things which other parts of Indians can't even think off.

But then again that's why the composition of majority of Indian regiments is based on caste/ Race basis recruited from specific regions. British understood this well for a diverse country like India.

So no conflict of language, food, race within a specific regiment.
Back in the days in 90s when my old man was in Kashmir they used to kill sheeps or goats in the moutains of the bakkarwals with MMG,LMGs or Snipers and in return gave them alcohol,medicines,processed food,sugar,tea etc.

rkhanna

http://www.sify.com/news/10-para-sf-mustafas-of-desert-warfare-news-columns-rf5vlQfacjbhg.html

<snippet>
My first encounter with the SF was in Agra way back in 2001. During a dinner, one of my friends, who had just passed out of IMA, asked then Major Rajesh Shyoran, Sena Medal of SF, "Sir, just like you I want to earn the maroon beret and the Balidan badge. How should I proceed?" With a smile on his face, Major Shyoran simply said, "You are very welcome to try". When my friend insisted on the point, Major Shyoran replied, "See it is simple. Either you have it in you or you don’t. Agar tumhara dil, dimag aur ghutna ek line main hai, you can make it (you can make it granted your head, heart and knee fall in a line)".

You are not going to be able to eat meat that's fucked up with bullet. Doubt they used MMGs/LMGs. You will spend more time removing the bullets and then ending up with shiite meat to cook.
How do you think wild animal hunters cook their food?

If you know where to hit, what caliber to use and you know how to cut the meat, it's very much practical.

rkhanna

How do you think wild animal hunters cook their food?

If you know where to hit, what caliber to use and you know how to cut the meat, it's very much practical
Sirji - Learnt how to hun/shoot with the boy scouts and spent a decent amount of time hunting while living in British Columbia. Most hunters will prefer .22s specially if the animal is small. another plus is that it doesn't ruin the skin as well.

But these boys (in question) arnt hunters they are soldiers with soldiers kit. My comment was about introducing MMGs/LMGs into the equation. Well, i would assume even with fire discipline those heavy weapons would do serious amount of damage to medium size animals such as goat/sheep. So in my opinion it is simply not logical for somebody to hunt with those class of small arms.

Sirji - Learnt how to hun/shoot with the boy scouts and spent a decent amount of time hunting while living in British Columbia. Most hunters will prefer .22s specially if the animal is small. another plus is that it doesn't ruin the skin as well.

But these boys (in question) arnt hunters they are soldiers with soldiers kit. My comment was about introducing MMGs/LMGs into the equation. Well, i would assume even with fire discipline those heavy weapons would do serious amount of damage to medium size animals such as goat/sheep. So in my opinion it is simply not logical for somebody to hunt with those class of small arms.
We are going off topic, so I will end my point with this post...

It's possible you are assuming they are firing in burst mode, and I am assuming they are firing single shot.

I agree that MMG might be an over kill.

reddevil9

शत्रुजीत
#teamshatrujeet conveys its best wishes to the deadly warriors of the 10th Battalion The Parachute Regiment(Special Forces) aka Desert Scorpions on the battalion's GOLDEN JUBILEE.

On this historic day, we the members of #teamshatrujeet remember and honor the brave warriors who served and sacrificed their lives for our Motherland and for the glory of this battalion.......

Long live Scorpions,

JAI HIND:india:

para 18.png

Team Shatrujeet-
(@Bornubus @hammer head @ghost @Project Dharma, reddevil9)

They are not even armed..the hill opposite is in Indian side or POK
The area behind barb wires is on our side otherwise it would've been fortified to withstand frontal assault.

Back in the days in 90s when my old man was in Kashmir they used to kill sheeps or goats in the moutains of the bakkarwals with MMG,LMGs or Snipers and in return gave them alcohol,medicines,processed food,sugar,tea etc.

Now if there is one thing which isn't shortage in army is meat.

"Pet me Roti, hath me soti, Chaal choti choti"

sbm

Something occurred to me - how come we don't see Indian SF units using respirators in CI/CT ops? Even NSG, I think there is only one photo of them. I am sure they have respirators but why be coy about showing them?

COLDHEARTED AVIATOR

You are not going to be able to eat meat that's fucked up with bullet. Doubt they used MMGs/LMGs. You will spend more time removing the bullets and then ending up with shiite meat to cook.
How much effort does it take to remove 2 bullets from a big sheep?

Have you cleaned the meat by hand?

COLDHEARTED AVIATOR

Well unfortunately this was done for fun from the post which has machine guns and not pistols!!!

Innocent

Something occurred to me - how come we don't see Indian SF units using respirators in CI/CT ops? Even NSG, I think there is only one photo of them. I am sure they have respirators but why be coy about showing them?
I liked to know this too.....