7 .

8 .

9 .

10 .

11 .

Crazywithmath

India's forex reserves jump USD 2.98 billion to hit a fresh peak of USD 648.56 billion: RBI
USDINR shot up to 83.47.

looks like gold is the major reason

Won't be surprised if the next weekly release pegs fx reserves at US$ 650 billion+.

Still don't see a meaningful depreciation of INR anytime soon but then again, who knows...

Concard

Think Fast tag is helping .. but does this means that once the project cost is recovered.. will they remove tolls in public interest or it is lifetime now..
Recovering the project cost along with interest. It would take approximately 25 years to recover the cost and interest in the best case scenario. The project cost of Delhi Mumbai expressway is 1 Lakh crore. Assuming they recover the cost in 25 years then according to you they should remove the toll. But that's not how things work. What if there is a shortage of toll collection in one route and more in another? Should we discard the former because there is less collection? NHAI will use the surplus in the later to maintain the former highway. There is reason in asking less toll prices. but asking for no toll prices is unreasonable at least in a country like ours with less resources.

No, I am not asking for it be made free but looking at what rules say once the project cost + Profit is realized. I remember a SC judgement to that effect.

But my firm opinion is that the project cost of one badly collecting toll cannot be recovered from other which is doing good collections. Let there be a extended collection on toll where collection is less....It's not a hafta vasooli scheme that dad did not paid back.. let his grand kids pay. There are cost centres for a reason !!!!

and our biggest problem is corruption ... there r just enough resources available if babus choose to use them judiciously.

No, I am not asking for it be made free but looking at what rules say once the project cost + Profit is realized. I remember a SC judgement to that effect.

But my firm opinion is that the project cost of one badly collecting toll cannot be recovered from other which is doing good collections. Let there be a extended collection on toll where collection is less....It's not a hafta vasooli scheme that dad did not paid back.. let his grand kids pay. There are cost centres for a reason !!!!

and our biggest problem is corruption ... there r just enough resources available if babus choose to use them judiciously.
What happens if the road requires maintenance and obviously has operating expenses towards salaries of inspection staff, road assistance services, other staff etc..small repairs that are carried out weekly/monthly. Emergency repairs are carried out immediately.
What if there is a natural calamity that causes serious damage and requires 500 crores towards repair and restoration. Will you be ok if they have to restart toll collection or are you going to say 'cholbe na, dada'.

All the toll roads are not fully funded by taxpayers money through budgetary allocations. NHAI and others raise funds through bonds, market borrowings and bank loans too. The interest on it has to be paid over many years. Its like buying a 50 lakh apartment on loan. You pay interest on it too and depending on your loan amount and the loan tenure, the total amount you end up paying exceeds 50 lakhs. Try telling the bank that you are fair and square because the principal has been paid off, they can take a hike.

Setting up a data center is a one time capex investment and then there are recurring operating costs. You don't stop charging clients once your capex is recovered.

Come on dude.. with all your corporate and real world experience you shouldn't be making such statements. Do share the inspiration & source behind your recent posts.

What happens if the road requires maintenance and obviously has operating expenses towards salaries of inspection staff, road assistance services, other staff etc..small repairs that are carried out weekly/monthly. Emergency repairs are carried out immediately.
What if there is a natural calamity that causes serious damage and requires 500 crores towards repair and restoration. Will you be ok if they have to restart toll collection or are you going to say 'cholbe na, dada'.

All the toll roads are not fully funded by taxpayers money through budgetary allocations. NHAI and others raise funds through bonds, market borrowings and bank loans too. The interest on it has to be paid over many years. Its like buying a 50 lakh apartment on loan. You pay interest on it too and depending on your loan amount and the loan tenure, the total amount you end up paying exceeds 50 lakhs. Try telling the bank that you are fair and square because the principal has been paid off, they can take a hike.

Setting up a data center is a one time capex investment and then there are recurring operating costs. You don't stop charging clients once your capex is recovered.

Come on dude.. with all your corporate and real world experience you shouldn't be making such statements. Do share the inspiration & source behind your recent posts.
Again i said keep tolls going .. bit cross charging across cost centers is news to me... still I am looking at real world info in context of SC judgements on toll roads...

and stop making comments on what i do and what not .... Not for public consumption ...this is 2nd time u r crossing that line.. Pls learn to argue in a healthy way keeping biases aside..... I too know many's here personally , have their numbers and lot more but i never disclose that however heated the argument is..

Food inflation is likely to spike in the coming months.

Lentils & chana, rice to see a spike as production is hit because of high temperatures, drought in cultivated areas.

Govt urging traders not to buy from the market till govt. procurement is complete.

Yes, there is a shortage. Rice we used to buy at 60-62 a kg is hovering near 80 now. Don't eat much rice so wouldn't hurt.

Govt has started selling 'Bharat Rice' in retail and some folks spoke about spotting the bags at Reliance Fresh. Retailing at Rs. 29/kg but the quality is so-so only.

Lets see where things stand by August-September.

thebakofbakchod

Food inflation is likely to spike in the coming months.

Lentils & chana, rice to see a spike as production is hit because of high temperatures, drought in cultivated areas.

Govt urging traders not to buy from the market till govt. procurement is complete.

Yes, there is a shortage. Rice we used to buy at 60-62 a kg is hovering near 80 now. Don't eat much rice so wouldn't hurt.

Govt has started selling 'Bharat Rice' in retail and some folks spoke about spotting the bags at Reliance Fresh. Retailing at Rs. 29/kg but the quality is so-so only.

Lets see where things stand by August-September.

more investment in food storage is neededd

thebakofbakchod

In terms of absolute numbers, GDP per capita (as per IMF), in 2024 was:
2024: India $2,850 Developing economies $6,770 (42%)
2014: India $1,560 Developing economies $5,140 (30%)
2004: India $635 Developing economies $1,790 (35%)
1998: India $419 Developing economies $1,380 (30%)

Amazing. In 10 years of educated PM rule, India grew POORER relative to rest of 3rd and 2nd world.

Country200420142024 (est)2014 to 20042024 to 2014
India721204041002.832.01
China195010500185605.381.77
Indonesia27989115403.191.73
Vietnam622324703.742.03
Brazil669246022703.680.92
Russia633205019003.240.93
Thailand1724075432.371.33
Pakistan132271?? ~300-3202.05

actual values of GDP in billions from IMF

Ya'll Nibbiars

1 .

2 .

3 .

4 .

5 .

6 .

GK-mrkMbEAAnI7m.png

7 .

8 .

9 .

10 .

11 .

more investment in food storage is neededd
We are deficient in lentils production. Storage is not the issue.

Rice is a tricky subject because variety X that is cheaper may be in surplus but supply of variety Y may be scarce because say only N tons are produced every year because demand is almost constant with marginal increments which can be met from old storage but during drought years, production of variety Y may fall leading to a shortage in supply, hoarding by traders & stockists leading to a sharp rise in prices.

There's this particular sub variety of Raichur sona masuri rice.. used to cost some 50-52 bucks 3-4 years back but has hit 80 now. Generally points to one factor - production is not keeping up with demand. Storage is only secondary. Food business has cut throat competition and people avoid holding on to stocks of perishables/food grains for too long because of bug infestation in the tropics.