Indian Army: News and Discussion

Pandeyji

how can that b a gud decision bro? they shud b given harsher punishment or they ll repeat it again. as som one already said in this forum, stone pelting is a jihadi hobby!
Once people see jail & court they wish to avoid them for their whole life. We have removed cases from only 1st time offenders who now could try to have careers & professional lives & thus would have enough motivation to stay away from such activities. Try to understand it like how parents sometimes slap kids to make them behave.

Hindustani78

Ministry of Defence
05-February, 2018 16:38 IST

Establishment of Sainik Schools

Sainik Schools are established on receipt of a specific request from the State Government, which is required to provide infrastructure in the form of land, educational and residential buildings, sports field etc.

26 Sainik Schools have been established across the country. State wise list of the Sainik Schools areas follows:-

STATE WISE LIST OF SAINIK SCHOOLS IN THE COUNTRY

S. No.
Name of School
State

Sainik School Korukonda
Andhra Pradesh

Sainik School Kalikiri
Andhra Pradesh

Sainik School Goalpara
Assam

Sainik School Nalanda
Bihar

Sainik School Gopalganj
Bihar

Sainik School Ambikapur
Chhattisgarh

Sainik School Balachadi
Gujarat

Sainik School Kunjpura
Haryana

Sainik School Rewari
Haryana

Sainik School SujanpurTira
Himachal Pradesh

Sainik School Nagrota
Jammu & Kashmir

Sainik School Tilaiya
Jharkhand

Sainik School Bijapur
Karnataka

Sainik School Kodagu
Karnataka

Sainik School Kazhakootam
Kerala

Sainik School Rewa
Madhya Pradesh

Sainik School Satara
Maharashtra

Sainik School Imphal
Manipur

Sainik School Chhingchhip
Mizoram

Sainik School Punglwa
Nagaland

Sainik School Bhubaneswar
Odisha

Sainik School Kapurthala
Punjab

Sainik School Chittorgarh
Rajasthan

Sainik School Amaravathi Nagar
Tamil Nadu

Sainik School Ghorakhal
Uttarakhand

Sainik School Purulia
West Bengal

The requests for establishment of such schools have been received from State Governments and other authorities. Status of proposals for opening of Sainik Schools are given below:

S. No.
State
District
Remarks

Maharashtra
Chandrapur
Memorandum of Agreement signed on 16.01.2016. State Govt has been requested to complete the construction of requisite infrastructure as mentioned in the Memorandum of Agreement.

Rajasthan
Alwar
Memorandum of Agreement signed.

Rajasthan
Jhunjhunu

Uttar Pradesh
Jhansi

Uttar Pradesh
Mainpuri

Uttar Pradesh
Amethi

Uttarakhand
Rudraprayag

Odisha
Sambalpur

Telangana
Warangal

West Bengal
Darjeeling
“In-principle” approval accorded.

Assam
Golaghat

Arunachal Pradesh
Niglok Village District East Siang

Punjab
Gurdaspur
Site Survey completed.

M.P.
Sagar
Site survey completed.

Andaman & Nicobar Islands
Diglipur, North Andaman
Site survey completed. UT Administration has been requested to obtain Environment/Forest clearance as most of the site earmarked for Sainik School has been classified as deemed forest.

Haryana
Jhajjar
State Govt. to indicate date for site inspection.

Sikkim
West Sikkim
State Govt. to indicate date for site inspection.

Jharkhand
Godda
State Govt to indicate site and date for site inspection.

Tripura
West Tripura
State Govt to indicate date for site inspection.

M.P
Muraina
Proposal Stage

Uttar Pradesh
Bagpat
Formal proposal is awaited from State Government.

In addition, requests received from Chief Ministers for establishment of new Sainik Schools in their respective States are as follows:-

S. No.
State
District
Remarks

Maharashtra
Sainik School for Girls in Maharashtra
At present there is one Sainik School at Satara and MoA for opening of second Sainik School at Chandrapur District of Maharashtra has been signed.

Karnataka
Sainik School in Sangolli Village of Bailahongala Taluk in Belgaum District of Karnataka.
At present two Sainik Schools at Kodagu and Bijapur are already functioning.

Uttar Pradesh
Two Sainik Schools at Awadh and Eastern UP
In-principle approval accorded and MoA has been signed for opening of three Sainik Schools at Mainpuri, Amethi and Jhansi

Arunachal Pradesh
Two Sainik Schools at Eastern and Western Arunachal Pradesh
In-principle approval accorded for opening of Sainik School at Niglok Village District East Siang.

Regarding Vidarbha Region, a Memorandum of Agreement has been signed between Ministry of Defence and State Government for establishing a Sainik School at Chandrapur and construction work is in progress.

This information was given by RakshaRajyaMantriDr.SubhashBhamre in a written reply to Dr.VikasMahatmein Rajya Sabha today.

12arya

https://www.indiatoday.in/india/sto...comrades-killed-in-rajouri-1162376-2018-02-06

Army prepares for retaliatory action against Pakistan, troops 'raring' to avenge loss of comrades: Sources

Pakistani troops are currently firing anti-tank guided missiles (ATGM) and heavy mortar shells of 120 mm caliber on Indian positions. In a similar attack, Captain Kapil Kundu, along with three of his men, were killed in Jammu and Kashmir's Rajouri yesterday.

In 2018, 241 incidents of ceasefire violations have already been reported along the Line of Control and the International Border with Pakistan. Pakistani forces are still firing along the LoC and the International Border.

Senior officers in the Army's Northern Command, and formations under it, are reviewing the ground situation where the incident took place. The troops are raring to avenge the death of their comrades, sources said.

The Indian Army and the other security forces are preparing for retaliatory action against Pakistani activities on the border, the sources added.

In 2017, Pakistan violated ceasefire 771 times across the LoC, while the figure stood at 228 in 2016. There were 153 violations in 2014. The DGMOs of India and Pakistan will hold talks tomorrow regarding the matter during their weekly interaction.

Senior officials of the forces and the Defence Ministry are reviewing the situation along the border, where villages have been asked to lie low, and schools have been shut.

12arya

http://www.news18.com/news/india/in...omen-in-un-peacekeeping-missions-1651473.html

Indian Army to Double its Share of Women in UN Peacekeeping Missions
Currently, United Nations Peacekeeping Missions are going on simultaneously in the Central African Republic (CAR), the Democratic Republic of Congo (DR Congo), Iraq, Mali, Nigeria, Somalia, South Sudan and Syria.

New Delhi: With the United Nations Peacekeeping Forces engaged in peace missions in at least eight nations across the world, there is now a need to ensure post-conflict resolutions bring lasting peace. One way, experts believe, is to involve more women in the peace process. One of the largest contributors to UN peacekeeping missions, India, is all set to take the lead in terms of involving more women.

Lt. General Sarath Chand, Vice-Chief of Army Staff (VCoAs), told News 18 India was going to double the number of women it currently involves in UN Peacekeeping Missions. “From deciding the mandate of the peacekeeping missions to negotiating ceasefires and post-conflict resolution, women need to play a larger role. Currently, women constitute under 4% of the military component of peacekeeping missions. The United Nations Secretary-General wants it to be 8% by next year. We (Indian Army) have also been instructed to double the number of women on our end and we will keep up our end of these commitments.”

Speaking earlier at a ‘UN Women’ event in New Delhi, which is hosting a workshop on gender integration in peacekeeping missions, Lt Gen Chand, who has also served on UN peacekeeping missions, recalled horrors of conflict-related sexual violence on the battlefield. “I have also been a part of UN peacekeeping missions and I have witnessed first-hand the suffering of women. Rape and sexual violence are used as tactics of war by rebel groups. This isn’t something that the UN didn’t know. This was happening despite UN resolutions being passed against it.”

Currently, United Nations Peacekeeping Missions are going on simultaneously in the Central African Republic (CAR), the Democratic Republic of Congo (DR Congo), Iraq, Mali, Nigeria, Somalia, South Sudan and Syria. “More and more, we see the nature of international conflict change. We are moving from inter-state conflict to intra-state conflict,” said Lt. Gen. Chand, adding, “We need to take care that when we include women in peacekeeping missions, they also need to be provided adequate security as part of the mission.”

Currently, women are not allowed to serve in the Indian Army’s combat units like the Infantry, Armoured Corps, and the Mechanised Infantry. The Indian Army inducted within its ranks a female officer for the first time in 1993. In 2007, the first all-woman United Nations Peacekeeping Force was sent to Liberia, which had 105 Indian policewomen. India has been one of the largest troop contributors to the UN Peacekeeping Force, with 1.8 lakh troops deployed over 43 missions since the inception of the UN Peacekeeping Mission.

12arya

http://zeenews.india.com/india/if-i...i-ceasefire-violation-in-kashmir-2078896.html

If I had another son, I would send him too to the Army: Mother of officer killed in Pakistani ceasefire violation in Kashmir
Captain Kapil Kundu was killed when the Pakistani forces opened unprovoked firing and shelling along the LoC in Rajouri district on Sunday.

Gurugram: The mother of Captain Kapil Kundu, who was killed in Pakistani shelling in Jammu and Kashmir, said on Monday that if she had another son, she would have asked him to join the Army.

Sunita Kundu, 52, said her son always lived for the nation and was very happy after joining the Army. "Kapil always said life should be large and not long. He was my brave son and I am a proud mother whose son has made the supreme sacrifice for our country. If I had one more son, I would send him too for national duty in the Indian Army," the young captain's said.

"He was fond of life and full of adventure. He loved nature. He used to write poetry to express his feelings for his country. He always used to say the country is supreme," she added, as per PTI.

"We urge the government to conduct more surgical strikes on Pakistan to avenge the deaths of martyrs. Had my son lived for another 15-20 years, he would have done more for his nation," said Sunita.

"I had spoken to Kapil (Kundu) around 1 pm on Sunday over the phone. He said that everything was fine and he would be visiting home to give a surprise to our mother on his birthday," said Sonia, the elder sister of the slain officer.

His family lives in Ransika village near Pataudi, some 33 km from Gurugram, in Haryana. Kundu joined the Army after making it through the National Defence Academy (NDA).

Kundu was six days short of his 23rd birthday on the day he was killed when the Pakistani forces opened unprovoked firing and shelling along the LoC in the Bhimbher Gali sector of Rajouri district on Sunday evening. He would have turned 23 on February 10, 2018.

Besides Kundu, Havildar Roshan Lal, 42, a resident of Samba district, Jammu and Kashmir, Riflemen Ramavatar, 27, of Gwalior, Madhya Pradesh, and Subham Singh, 23, of J&K's Kathua district were also killed in the shelling.

Meanwhile, Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman and Army chief Gen Bipin Rawat on Monday paid homage to Captain Kundu.

The mortal remains of the officer was flown to Delhi in a Dornier aircraft. Sitharaman paid respects by laying a wreath on the Tricolour-wrapped coffin, which was laid at the Palam Air Force Base after the aircraft reached around 6:20 pm on Monday.

His body was later carried in an ambulance, on way to his Ransika village. Kundu is survived by his mother and sisters Sonia and Kajal.

On the other hand, the Army on Sunday clearly indicated it would take retaliatory action against the killing of four soldiers, saying that its action would speak for itself.

Vice chief Lt Gen Sarath Chand said the Army has been responding appropriately to Pakistan shelling, asserting that India will continue to give a "befitting reply" to such acts.

"That (retaliation) goes without saying, I think I don't have to say that. (Our) action will speak for itself," he said.

(With Agency inputs)

12arya

https://www.indiatoday.in/india/sto...ying-for-pakistan-detained-1158698-2018-01-31

Group captain of Indian Air Force suspected of spying for Pakistan detained

A group captain of the Indian Air Force - equivalent to a Colonel of the Indian Army - posted in New Delhi has been detained and is now being questioned for possible spying for Pakistan.

The officer was first detected by Intelligence Unit of the IAF, top government sources have said.

The officer is suspected to have passed "critical information," over the last few months before being detected, sources said.

Sources said that initial investigations suggest that officer was honey trapped and was being blackmailed. The identity of woman who lured the officer isn't clear yet.

The Indian Air Force refused to comment officially. However, replying to an India Today query government sources said "during routine counter intelligence surveillance carried out by the IAF's Central Security and Investigation Team it was discovered that an officer was indulging in certain unwanted activities through unauthorised electronic devices which is against existing orders. He has been taken into custody for further questioning."

Sources also said the officer established contact with his handlers through Facebook. Later the officer was in touch with his handlers through multiple social media platforms. "We are trying to establish whether others too were involved and how big the ring was", a top sources told India Today.

"We have strong reason to believe that the officer was regularly meeting his handlers in the Capital", sources said.

The armed forces has a strict policy on using social media applications. The officers can have a social media presence but are barred from posting their pictures in uniform, revealing their place of posting, or revealing any official material such as information of visits or any plans of operations or infrastructure building.

Also, every document is graded for security ranging from confidential, secret, classified and top-secret.

The group captain has been detained for now and will be questioned for possible spying for Pakistan.

12arya

https://www.outlookindia.com/newssc...ar-army-on-un-peacekeeping-operations/1247991

Indian Army trains Myanmar Army on UN peacekeeping operations

New Delhi, Feb 6 A four-member Indian Army team is in Naypitaw to impart training to Myanmar Army on United Nations peacekeeping operations.

The training is being imparted to the Myanmar Army between February 5-16, the Army said.

"The two weeks capsule aims at covering nuances of United Nations deployment and operations, with an objective to enhance Myanmar Army's capacity towards undertaking UN assignments in near future," it said in a statement.

It said: "The Indian Army's rich experience as part of United Nations Force, spanning almost seven decades and its professional approach in UN peacekeeping brings in quality and value to such training."

The opening ceremony of the training was attended by a number of dignitaries including Vice Senior General Soe Win, the deputy commander-in-chief of Myanmar Defence Services and commander-in-chief (Army).

12arya

http://www.news18.com/news/india/wi...-may-see-more-violence-along-loc-1652471.html

With 11 Army Personnel Deaths in 37 Days, 2018 May See More Violence Along LoC
After the incident, Army Vice Chief Sarath Chand said that India will continue to give a "befitting reply" and its action will speak for itself. "We will continue with our process of giving a befitting reply. [Our] action will speak for itself," Chand told the reporters today.

New Delhi: Tensions are soaring along the Line of Control (LoC). Since the beginning of the year, at least 11 Indian soldiers have been killed in cross-border firing by the Pakistan army.

The latest exchange of fire happened in Rajouri in which four of Indian army men, including a captain, were killed.

After the incident, Army Vice Chief Sarath Chand said that India will continue to give a "befitting reply" and its action will speak for itself. "We will continue with our process of giving a befitting reply. [Our] action will speak for itself," Chand told the reporters today.

Meanwhile, the Rajouri district administration announced the closure of all schools for three days within five kilometers of the LoC.

Indian army chief Bipin Rawat, on 12 January, had said that Indian troops were equally punishing Pakistani posts for supporting infiltration by militants and breaking the ceasefire which was put in place in 2003.

"We have started targeting [Pakistani] posts and I can assure you that, in these exchanges of fire, they have suffered three-four times the casualties. That is why we get repeated requests from Pakistan to take the ceasefire back to 2003 levels," Gen Rawat had told reporters.

This increase in causalities along the LoC paints a grim picture of the situation. In January itself, 7 soldiers of the Indian army were killed along the LoC.

In 2017, according to the data released by the government, 29 Indian soldiers died while manning the LoC. This is a sharp increase from the year 2016 when 13 Indian soldiers were killed along the LoC.

The hostilities between India and Pakistan have been soaring from last one year, but the latter half of 2017 saw more Indian soldiers being killed than the first 6 months.

In the first half of 2017, 7 Indian soldiers died while manning the LoC, while as 22 Indian soldiers were killed in the last six months of 2017. July was the month, which saw the most number of Indian soldiers being killed. At least 8 Indian soldiers died in that month.

Apart from the causalities, the year 2017 also saw a huge spike in cross-border ceasefire violation. According to official figures, 860 incidents of ceasefire violations by Pakistani troops were reported in 2017, compared with 221 the year before.

The LoC is a 776km stretch of a frontier that snakes across the mountains of the state of Jammu and Kashmir. It is the most intensively manned and militarized border in the world.

12arya

http://www.timesnownews.com/india/a...response-to-the-question-will-stun-you/196397

What's your religion? This Indian Army officer's response to the question will stun you
Updated: Feb 07, 2018 | 11:35 IST |Times Now Digital

Video grab

New Delhi:Not many know that serving officers of the Indian Armed Forces are not authorised to comment on religious or political matters- a mandate, India's gallant men in uniform follow till they hang their boots.

But when an Indian Army officer was recently caught on camera talking about 'religion', his views have subtly delivered a message, many of our politicians might take years to ingrain.

In a video that has been garnering several views on the internet, an Indian Army officer has been seen narrating an experience, when a senior asked him about his religion.

"When I was commissioned and I joined SF, my CO asked what is my religion and caste. I said- Sir I am a Hindu Rajput. He said- B****y fellow, you take a dip in the dirty water. So I went and I took a dip in the water," the officer is seen saying in the video which is being circulated widely on Twitter.

"Then I realised that there is something wrong I have said. Then again he asked and I said, sir, my religion is SF and my caste is SF. He then told me- you see, you are an officer. And your religion is the religion of your boys. So when we have this kind of template- and when you apply this kind of template in the country, I think most of the problems would be solved," he further says.

What is obtained too cheaply is esteemed too lightly and rude shocks are needed to jolt them up. The Indian army has, shall and is playing the role and what is needed. The seven battalions will be there when we need on the borders at the right time and right place. Har Har Mahadev and Jai Hind.

Yah my mistake, not at all
I wonder who pays for the shells. Last we heard they fire atleast 2000 rounds in trails.

Assuming each round costs atleast 60-70 thousand, that’s 14 crore on one gun.