Indian Air Force: News & Discussions

Trololo

Also mig 29s are not swing role fighter even if you put an aesa in it where as j-10c are swing roles same as tejas. In 2021 where every nato countries are going for 5th gen fighters we are looking for an analogue cold war fighter.
Blame the delayed LCA program and the archaic acquisition process.

pipebomb

Blame the delayed LCA program and the archaic acquisition process.
That is why we have this opportunity to ditch the mig29s and get the m2000 instead. Migs need major overhaul which means more delays whereas as m2000 can get to flying ops right away.

Trololo

That is why we have this opportunity to ditch the mig29s and get the m2000 instead. Migs need major overhaul which means more delays whereas as m2000 can get to flying ops right away.
MiG 29s are used at Ladakh for good reason. Very high TW ratio and hence quick to respond early in an A2A engagement. Also MiG 29s can carry the full complement of Indian weapons and electronics. Cant say so about the Mirage 2000.

pipebomb

MiG 29s are used at Ladakh for good reason. Very high TW ratio and hence quick to respond early in an A2A engagement. Also MiG 29s can carry the full complement of Indian weapons and electronics. Cant say so about the Mirage 2000.
Migs have to be used somewhere, can't expect to park it in hangars indefinitely. Now tell me why mirage 2000 was called in for strikes inside enemy heartland on 26 feb (could it be because of its swing role capabilities, means it can do both air to air defence/offense as well as air to ground on a single flight mission). How many paf fighter were kept at bay by two m2000 on 27 feb & where was mig29s twr when we needed the most. Weapon systems & ew on m2000 is top of the line among IAF's inventory.

Also you were saying something about delays in your previous post, how does that factor in your mig29s extensive overhauls.

Trololo

Migs have to be used somewhere, can't expect to park it in hangars indefinitely. Now tell me why mirage 2000 was called in for strikes inside enemy heartland on 26 feb (could it be because of its swing role capabilities, means it can do both air to air defence/offense as well as air to ground on a single flight mission). How many paf fighter were kept at bay by two m2000 on 27 feb & where was mig29s twr when we needed the most. Weapon systems & ew on m2000 is top of the line among IAF's inventory.

Also you were saying something about delays in your previous post, how does that factor in your mig29s extensive overhauls.
MiG 29s can't do A2G strikes as good as an M2K can. MiG 29s are getting top weapon systems and EW now. They are a cheap good CAP responder. Between now and the end of the decade as long as they have a good radar, EW, and long range A2A weapons they are doing their job. Not more than that. Else the services won't use them extensively in Ladakh. Also the D29 suite is well done. I don't expect astra on the Mirage 2000. And I'd prefer The astra mk2 over a Mica. On Feb 2019 AFAIK the MiG 29s weren't placed in the area of action. They were in GJ and RJ though.

pipebomb

MiG 29s can't do A2G strikes as good as an M2K can. MiG 29s are getting top weapon systems and EW now. They are a cheap good CAP responder. Between now and the end of the decade as long as they have a good radar, EW, and long range A2A weapons they are doing their job. Not more than that. Else the services won't use them extensively in Ladakh. Also the D29 suite is well done. I don't expect astra on the Mirage 2000. And I'd prefer The astra mk2 over a Mica. On Feb 2019 AFAIK the MiG 29s weren't placed in the area of action. They were in GJ and RJ though.
There will be mica ng upgrade for m2k latter (pretty sure about this). Swing role aircrafts are preferred option now days over specialised mission aircrafts just because it gives you more flexibility in mission planning.

Trololo

There will be mica ng upgrade for m2k latter (pretty sure about this). Swing role aircrafts are preferred option now days over specialised mission aircrafts just because it gives you more flexibility in mission planning.
Agreed about the Swing role portion, but between now and getting the 2nd hand M2Ks flying in IAF colours with the necessary upgrades, it'll take a couple of years IMO. Between now and then, Astra Mk1 and Mk2 mounted MiG 29s have good credibility purely for air interdiction purposes. Not to mention the fact that between now and 2030 Astra Mk3 will also be inducted and used on MiG 29s. That doesn't mean I am discounting the mirages. It just means we have a cheap and credible A2A option at hand. A bird in hand is worth 2 in the bush. By that logic 2nd hand MiG 29s and Mirage 2000s will be well worth it. M2Ks for the versatility they bring, and MiG 29s for the upgradability and cheap price. The replacer for both these types, the LCA Mk2, won't see regular squadron induction until 2026-2027. That means these planes will see service till 2035. So we need to get the best out of them.

pipebomb

Agreed about the Swing role portion, but between now and getting the 2nd hand M2Ks flying in IAF colours with the necessary upgrades, it'll take a couple of years IMO. Between now and then, Astra Mk1 and Mk2 mounted MiG 29s have good credibility purely for air interdiction purposes. Not to mention the fact that between now and 2030 Astra Mk3 will also be inducted and used on MiG 29s. That doesn't mean I am discounting the mirages. It just means we have a cheap and credible A2A option at hand. A bird in hand is worth 2 in the bush. By that logic 2nd hand MiG 29s and Mirage 2000s will be well worth it. M2Ks for the versatility they bring, and MiG 29s for the upgradability and cheap price. The replacer for both these types, the LCA Mk2, won't see regular squadron induction until 2026-2027. That means these planes will see service till 2035. So we need to get the best out of them.
What upgrade does UAE m2000 needs which are in active service right now apart from indian misson computer and maybe minor software changes, that's all. On the other hand we have strip down ex Soviet air frames of migs. Now which one in bush now.

IAF wants 90+ rafales & over 200 mk2 with its limited amount of capex, it had to give in somewhere. IMHO if we can get UAE's m2000 at an attractive/friendly price then its a better bet than mig29 till mk2 production ramp up & AMCA progresses.

Trololo

What upgrade does UAE m2000 needs which are in active service right now apart from indian misson computer and maybe minor software changes, that's all. On the other hand we have strip down ex Soviet air frames of migs. Now which one in bush now.

IAF wants 90+ rafales & over 200 mk2 with its limited amount of capex, it had to give in somewhere. IMHO if we can get UAE's m2000 at an attractive/friendly price then its a better bet than mig29 till mk2 production ramp up & AMCA progresses.
RDY-3 radar, India specific ICMS Mk2 EW system, and possibly some other India specific avionics. Perhaps some refresh of the airframe too. Also the MiGs will prove to be the best and cheapest test beds for Indian systems. You can't do that with the Mirages. AMCA will enter production in 2035. Mk2 in 2027, but speed up will happen only by 2030 when line is stable.

Please find following harami links where porkistanis have spread this horsehit...use VPN if some of them are not available

request you to counter it with fresh information above (if you have access to fassbook, twatter and PeeDee f*cking forum accounts)

since DFI seems to have limited that crazy forum links...
go to>> /pdf/threads/debunking-indian-claims-of-f-16-firing-aim-120c-amraam.604719/page-25

Is this Inbred refering to the Wreakage of MIG-21 which Pakistan shot down? :lol:
Oh wait a moment! Indian Airforce painted the wreakage of the MIG-21? What nonsense is this ? IMAO!
The MIG-21 had crashed in POK and was recovered by the Porkis and the Porkis have the Wreckage.
How can we paint it's Wreckage When Porkis have the Wreckage present with them?
See this is the Reason that Pakis are such a Generation of fools! Logic is inexistent in the Country called as "Pakistan"! Hadha hai yaar.:rofl:

Also mig 29s are not swing role fighter even if you put an aesa in it where as j-10c are swing roles same as tejas. In 2021 where every nato countries are going for 5th gen fighters we are looking for an analogue cold war fighter.
The joke is on you. If you want to remain a credible air force you need to have a decent hi-low mix. In that case, 4th+ gen aircraft is useful.
We cannot afford an all 5th gen airforce, hell even US is considering more advanced versions of F-15.

pipebomb

The joke is on you. If you want to remain a credible air force you need to have a decent hi-low mix. In that case, 4th+ gen aircraft is useful.
We cannot afford an all 5th gen airforce, hell even US is considering more advanced versions of F-15.
The only high end india has righ now are only 36 rafales

Su 30MKI is not high end as per your logic?
We lack numbers but aircraft in our inventory are pretty decent to face what our immediate neighbours can throw at us.