Indian Air Force: News & Discussions

Sorry, I just wake up after reading the newly appointed United nation's AF chief statement.

DRDO/ADA/HAL must drop working on Tejas Mk2 immediately if UNAF is planning to acquire less than 300 Tejas mk2. There is no point wasting money and resources and should leave alone crying baby UNAF for the future.

Very very dangerous Tone was adopted by a new chief in his very first speech. My way or high way type attitude. Confrontation is bound to happen in the near future as govt is planning for the Theatre command. he didn't mention even Tejas mk2 name which is actually a solution for IAF low squadron.

General Naranve and This chief will make CDS coming days very tough for sure.

Look at the language of the new chief He is clearly inviting Hyenas. Just wait .......Today"s speech will haunt his whole tenure. He just opened worm cane.
There is no video of his speech so how come you came to conclusion that he didn't speak about MK2 , Delhi defence tweeted a while back that he did speak about MK2 so stop rumormongering

Also he is right about S400 , by the same logic of CDS, army should only buy bullet proof vest and should not buy guns.

doreamon

As per this article what i understood is IAF wants more than 36 rafale . It wants 114 rafale under make in india

Indian Air Force chief Air Chief Marshal V.R. Chaudhari Tuesday strongly pitched for 114 Multi Role Fighter Aircraft (MRFA), under the Make in India initiative, rather than opting for another 36 Rafale fighter jets

The new IAF chief also said that the Service is looking at having 5th generation and even 6th generation technology on board the MRFA in terms of modern weapons and Artificial Intelligence

Sources in the defence and security establishment said that Rafale is likely to be the front runner even if the MRFA competition is held because the IAF is not looking at having multiple types of aircraft.

They said that a final decision would be taken by the government on whether to go in for a direct deal with the French or go with the IAF’s plan with competition for MRFA.

Sources have said that the timeline for the MRFA competition will be much shorter than the one for Medium Multi Role Combat Aircraft (MMRCA), since a majority of the aircraft in contention have already undergone various trials in the past.

Covfefe

As per this article what i understood is IAF wants more than 36 rafale . It wants 114 rafale under make in india

Indian Air Force chief Air Chief Marshal V.R. Chaudhari Tuesday strongly pitched for 114 Multi Role Fighter Aircraft (MRFA), under the Make in India initiative, rather than opting for another 36 Rafale fighter jets

The new IAF chief also said that the Service is looking at having 5th generation and even 6th generation technology on board the MRFA in terms of modern weapons and Artificial Intelligence

Sources in the defence and security establishment said that Rafale is likely to be the front runner even if the MRFA competition is held because the IAF is not looking at having multiple types of aircraft.

They said that a final decision would be taken by the government on whether to go in for a direct deal with the French or go with the IAF’s plan with competition for MRFA.

Sources have said that the timeline for the MRFA competition will be much shorter than the one for Medium Multi Role Combat Aircraft (MMRCA), since a majority of the aircraft in contention have already undergone various trials in the past.

Looks like it will be Rafale

“In MRFA, most of the contenders have the 4.5 generation technology. One of the key features that we are seeking is the ability to integrate 5th and 6th generation technology. It will be a Make in India model,” he said.
Make in India- JV with Reliance in place already for a factory near Nagpur. Check
5th and 6th Generation Technology- (not the geometric/material stealth)- Rafale in F4 version is already incorporating some of these.

Plus getting 114 new set of jets and leaving Rafales at just 36 might be pretty stupid. Will depend on the offer the French make

THESIS THORON

:rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

Looking for 5th and 6th generation technology in 4th generation jet.
Pahle din hi hasa hasa ke maar dega ye chief. Lagta chief banne se pahle hi payment aa gayi hai......
brah,
rafale will have f4 upgrade then f5,f6,f7 is also planned, that's what he was trying to mention (imo)

read this

THESIS THORON

Even if you buy 500 Rafale/F-35/J-20 for the united nations Air force still demand of 114 MRCA will be there. this 114 number has been embedded inside their brain.

It seems the New chief is battle harden in kickback deals. I can see many Dallas are active on different defence forums.

Welcome chief:rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl:
and why do you think so ??

Covfefe

Damn after RR fucking up KKR's chances of playoffs, reading this thread is depressing.
It's nothing depressing, man. IAF is getting what it needs. ACM cannot hold back with 25-30 squadrons of outdated Mig 21s, Mig 29s, and Mirages while aiming to contain China. And HAL suddenly won't start churning out Tejas Mk2, TEDBF, and AMCA all in tandem(let them deliver at least one first). They are just being realists, that's it. China despite its industrial-scale espionage, much bigger industrial complex, and a clear vision decades ahead, needs to import Su35 and Ka52, there is no reason we should feel ashamed. You get what is best, and keep developing indigenous and build some redundancies in the system. ACM is not a fanboy, he gotta do what he gotta do. He is not scuttling any desi project, he is simply stating the requirement in light of our capabilities and the challenges.

Okay if he wants more rafales but just 36 more that is 72 planes .
114 is just in his mind or Rafael to the maximum possible extent should be indegianised , like making spares , integrating russian and indian missiles to it etc .
French weapons are one of the costliest , we ought to remember that.

Baaki sab air chief ki lila hai

Covfefe

Even if you buy 500 Rafale/F-35/J-20 for the united nations Air force still demand of 114 MRCA will be there. this 114 number has been embedded inside their brain.

It seems the New chief is battle harden in kickback deals. I can see many Dallas are active on different defence forums.

Welcome chief:rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl:
Take a stroll in the fresh air, man. Now you are just reeling.

Let me help you,
Rafale_F1000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000001 developed in 3021 but unfortunetly it doest not incorporte 5th and 6th generation technologies beacause it is simply impossible. this is just PR stunt by france which you and United nations AF chief is taking seriously :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:
I understand your frustration but neither kaveri is ready nor is the new engine to power amca ready .
Plus we have imported only 80 f 404 engines, plus radar testing is also going on.
Uttam is probably not ready yet.
I cannot argue in case of army procurement but airforce is clearly being reasonable here.

vishnugupt

I understand your frustration but neither kaveri is ready nor is the new engine to power amca ready .
Plus we have imported only 80 f 404 engines, plus radar testing is also going on.
Uttam is probably not ready yet.
I cannot argue in case of army procurement but airforce is clearly being reasonable here.
Brother! Kaveri or Uttam none is Armed forces business, their job is to give requirement. They have no job to even comment on whether the product will come under Make in India initiative or Of the shelf. Whenever they use these words, they actually talking dallals languages.

Tejas along with its all variant more than enough to whole Pakistan. Rest IAF inventory can focus on china. Actually there is a solution for decreasing the IAF squadron In fact this solution was there for the last 20 years..... This is called Tejas.

Initially, HAL and IAF both were high on weed... Hal had Su-30mki, Hawk order and PAK-FA and MRCA in the horizon so Both HAL and IAF F@cked Tejas in all manner.

HAL woke up when PAK-FA cancelled and IAF woke up when MRCA tender fell apart. This was the day when HAL and IAF start taking interest in Tejas..... Had HAL/IAF opened their eyes, Tejas Would have been inducted way back in 2011. Since 2011 Tejas have not changed even 2% structurally but we have lost precious 10 years for nothing.

If IAF wants, Tejas Mk2 will be mass produce right from 2027 that too 40 jets/year. but IAF will not do it because it's a habit to demand midway modifications and unnecessary requirements which can be added later on.

Short cut import was never a solution as suggested by every other DFI member. What you are suggesting "Import this Import that" then we will become self-sufficient by ToT. Believe me, you guys are wrong by miles. Even Jaguar and Mig21 were imported with the same promises and see where are we today.

Sridhar_TN

Looks like, US piches the hybrid F21 & F15 Ex most advanced variants ever built, incorporating next gen avionics from F35. I would like to see F15Ex in IAF
Rafales EW is far more advanced. Read between the lines. When the iaf says 5th gen tech, they essentially are narrowing specifications for rafale. Rafales specs are far closer to a raptor than the F15EX. F15EX is more comparable and obviously more powerful than a sukhoi,typhoon or any other heavy fighter that fights at high altitudes and is comparable to a powerful weapons truck for air to air.
It’s not suited for nimble piercing operations that require surgical strikes within contested air space.