Indian Air Force: News & Discussions

Dessert Storm

So it seems we are getting KC-135 from USAF!
IAF plans to contract Six Airbus A330-200 MRTT on Lease in 2021

Airbus Defence & Space Owned ” Air Tanker ” company which provides Airbus A330 Multi Role Tanker Transport (MRTT) aircraft for wet-, dry-, or “damp”-leasing to both civil and military operators will be having talks with the Indian Air Force (IAF) in 2021 for contracting Six Airbus A330 MRTT in long term lease from the company. Earlier this year Government of India proposed leasing of military equipment in its revised draft of Defence Acquisition Procedure (DAP) 2020, which may enable the military to possess and operate costly platforms required for a limited period. According to Defence Acquisition Procedure (DAP) 2020, Leasing would be permitted in two subcategories i.e. Lease (Indian), where Lessor is an Indian entity and is the owner of the asset, and Lease (Global) that refers to lease of equipment from foreign or Indian Lessors. According to information provided to idrw.org, ” Air Tanker ” will maintain a core fleet of six tankers to be available full time for AAR Duties for IAF but also can maintain a surge fleet of 2-3 additional aircraft that can be provided in case of additional requirements by the operator. IAF is likely to opt for a ‘dry’ or ‘damp’ lease that allows aircraft to be flown on their individual military aircraft registers by their crews, while AirTanker could continue to provide an engineering service to ensure aircraft continue to be maintained in line with Civil Aviation Authority. IAF also will enter into a training partnership agreement with AirTanker that offers 250 courses covering A330-200 type rating like Pilot and Mission Systems Operator Air-to-Air Refuelling training, amongst others. Under Dry lease agreements, aircraft are usually acquired for a period of 2 – 7 years but at the maturity of the lease, the lessee has the option of purchasing the equipment.
The mathematics of its availability would make it KC135.

Sridhar_TN

IAF has deployed Flat Face B aka P-19 decimetric band 2D search and acquisition radar in Leh .

It's a UHF band radar associated with S-125 Sam units. Mounted on a ZiL-131 .

An inherent advantage of the UHF band is the long wavelength which allows it to detect fighter sized LO and VLO targets . Rayleigh scattering phenomenon. IAF has deployed these UHF band radars to cater to the threat of J-20 which is periodically deployed at Hotan .

Only broad band all aspect large VLO acs like B-2 and the RQ-180 can escape from such low band long wavelength rf waves

View attachment 65848

View attachment 65849

The P-19 in IAF service is being digitised now and has undergone some minor upgrades .

Old is gold . And J-20 , we see you with our Rambhas and Flat faced veterans .
Hold on. I think you have it the other way around. UHF has very very short wavelength. Lower frequencies have longer wavelength.

Arihant Roy

Hold on. I think you have it the other way around. UHF has very very short wavelength. Lower frequencies have longer wavelength.
Nope. Frequency and wavelength are inversely proportional to each other. The wave with the greatest frequency has the shortest wavelength. Twice the frequency means one-half the wavelength. For this reason, the wavelength ratio is the inverse of the frequency ratio.

Higher the frequency shorter is the wavelength.

VHF band is even better at detecting and tracking VLO .

Arihant Roy

The unit which is operating the P-19 in Leh is 151 Signal squadron. This unit also operates the P-18 2D VHF band radar.

Actually 151 signal is a dedicated early warning radar squadron . It specialises in low and mid level search . So IAF is placing much needed emphasis on the vlo threats and has taken the J-20 into account while preparing for various contingencies .

Sridhar_TN

Nope. Frequency and wavelength are inversely proportional to each other. The wave with the greatest frequency has the shortest wavelength. Twice the frequency means one-half the wavelength. For this reason, the wavelength ratio is the inverse of the frequency ratio.

Higher the frequency shorter is the wavelength.

VHF band is even better at detecting and tracking VLO .
Bro...that’s what I said in my previous post. Please reread my post. :shock:
Higher the frequency smaller the wavelength. Lower the frequency, longer the wavelength.

Simple.
UHF = Ultra High Frequency

Hindustan Aeronautics Limited to begin light chopper production soon
India has decided to manufacture light choppers designed for operations in high altitudes, vital for maintaining troops through the year, following spike in border deployments.

The indigenous light utility helicopter (LUH), which has performed well in recent trials in Ladakh as well, will initially be produced in limited numbers before a larger order is placed for the Army and Air Force. With both satisfied with trial performances, the defence ministry is now processing the first order for 12 choppers, which will be followed by a larger batches to achieve a total of 187 LUHs in service.

“The acceptance of necessity for the first 12 helicopters is being approved. Once the order is placed, we will be in the position to deliver all of them within 28 months as the production facilities are already in place,” R Madhavan, the chairman of Hindustan Aeronautics Limited, which has designed and developed the chopper, told ET.

These choppers are likely to be cheaper than foreign ones and is also likely to beat the Indo-Russian venture for Ka 226 helicopters on pricing as well. While the commercial bids for the Ka 226 are yet to be opened and issues around indigenisation levels are being discussed, the plan to manufacture at least 200 of the choppers in India is expected to cost under $2 billion.

While the Indo-Russian joint venture is also progressing, the indigenous LUH could end up in active service earlier if approvals are given for manufacturing. The Indian chopper is also expected to cost less as no transfer of technology costs are involved and it would have a very high indigenous content as most parts will be sourced from domestic companies. HAL has also been scaling up its production infrastructure with a new plant in Tumkur that has significantly enhanced capacity.

“With the Tumkur plant, we can now manufacture up to 60 helicopters per year. Including current capacity, we can do up to 90 chopper per year if the requirement is there and orders are placed,” Madhavan said. There is a huge demand for helicopters in the armed forces, given that the existing Cheetah/Chetak fleet has been in service for over four decades and is getting increasingly difficult to maintain as global manufacturers have stopped manufacturing spare parts, he said. Light choppers are used extensively by the Army and Air Force to supply and maintain troops in high altitude locations including the Siachen glacier where they are a lifeline for soldiers deployed at posts in excess of 18,000 feet. They carry out a variety of missions including casualty evacuation, dropping medical supplies, transporting essential equipment and facilitating quick movement at the frontier.

UAE Mirage 2000, Last Chance for India to Grab These Magnificent Jets

Around Late 2019 there were reports that UAE Air Force that operates the 2nd most numbers of Mirage 2000 jets after France was planning to sells around 24 to 36 fighter jets to Iraqi Air Force. The reports also said that UAE wanted to provide Iraq with these jets to be stationed inside or near Kurdistan region after refurbishing the jets to latest model. This may be as deterrence against Turkey. Whatever the reason may be but both France and Dassault refused and put their foot down, France perhaps for fear of these jets falling into wrong hands and Dassault for total lack of relevant support and service infrastructure in Iraq. UAE Air Force which is buying both the 5th generation F35 jets from USA and 4.5 generation Rafale jets from France in good numbers (both at least 36) will have 69 surplus Mirage 2000 jets that it wants to hive off or et rid off asap.

Since, both France and Dassault refused to help UAE to send these magnificent jets to Iraq, next best option for UAE could be to sell these jets to Taiwan that o0perates 60 f these jets. But if they do that it will seriously antagonize China and UAE surely wont want to risk that. So the next best option is to sell these jets to India that currently operates 50 of these jets. It is perhaps the last chance for IAF to grab these jets that are perhaps surplus for the home county. IAF not only has service and service and support setup in place but also has deal with both France and Dassault to refurbish these jets to Mirage 2000 UPG standard. It’s the last chance for IAF to grab these jets that are basically surplus. Lets’ hope better sense prevails and just as it is buying surplus Mig 29s from Russia(currently 21 but all probability may go for all 34), IAF that currently operates 50 of these jets, too should give a thought to buy these jets from either the same of 24 to 36 jets for a price that doesn’t burn a hole in it budget ultimately operating around 80 of these jets, since neither Qatar (12 jets) nor Greece that operates (25 jets) will want to sell there Mirage 2000 jets to India owing to their own exigencies. Chances of UAE selling all 67 off is less since some of these are specifically built only for use by UAE Air Force.

IAF For Short-Term Leasing of Trainer Aircraft, Light Copters
IAF is already exploring options of leasing mid-air refuelling aircraft, which it is in urgent need of

The Indian Air Force (IAF) is looking at leasing training aircraft and Light Utility Helicopters (LUH) for short duration till the indigenous platforms under development are inducted into service, said IAF Deputy Chief Air Marshal Sandeep Singh on Wednesday. The recently released Defence Acquisition Procedure (DAP) 2020 allows leasing of military platforms.

“The IAF is in the process of sending out Request for Information (RFI) for leasing trainer aircraft for relatively short period,” Air Marshal Singh said at a webinar organised by the Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry.

The IAF is already exploring options of leasing mid-air refuelling aircraft, which it is in urgent need of.

With Kiran trainers being obsolete and indigenous HTT-40 being developed by Hindustan Aeronautics Limited (HAL) in advanced trails, the IAF is looking to plug the gaps for a short term through leasing. About 20-30 aircraft could be leased for 4-5 years. The indigenous LUH, being developed by HAL, has completed development trials and its limited series development is expected to begin soon.

Navy’s Needs

Speaking at the webinar, Vice Chief of Navy Vice Admiral Ashok Kumar said the Navy was looking to lease operational support assets and auxiliaries to enhance operational capabilities and avoid huge investments in manning and maintaining them. “The Indian Navy is planning to lease certain assets in the medium term to mitigate critical operational capability gap”.

On leasing of mid-air refuelers, Air Marshal Singh said that even before the DAP-2020 was issued, they had sent out preliminary RFIs for wet and dry lease of such aircraft. “We have good inputs for both options and we are in the process of analysing the options for making the Statement of Case (SoC),” he noted.

The IAF presently has six Russian IL-78 tankers and has been looking to procure six new aircraft but the deal has been repeatedly delayed.

Air Marshal Singh said that broadly wet lease of platforms could be used for peacetime use and dry leasing for operational requirements. The Services were also exploring options of leasing Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAV) and surveillance aircraft.

Arihant Roy

An end of an era for 11 BRD and IAF.

The MiG-21 Bison had been Overhauled by 11 BRD and handed Over to IAF On successful completion of the MiG project. the handing-over ceremony of CU-2780, the last overhauled BISON, was presided over in a virtual programme by Air Marshal Vibhas Pande, Air Officer-in-Charge, Maintenance. IAF.

EnFjH4sXMAQ0JGr.jpeg

The Bisons will soldier on for another 5 years atleast. Some units will start getting phased out after completion of their total TSL from 2023 onwards while others will serve longer . The venerable MiG-21 Fishbed has served us sincerely and faithfully since the late 60s.

And Bison will be revered , loved , respected and fondly remembered for the stellar role she played in the doosra banda incident . Without Bison and the raw aggresive courage and daredevilry of our valiant Wing co , the Pakis wouldnt have gotten their doosra banda and a shot down F-16 MLU.

Ya'll Nibbiars Immediately after I joined my first aircraft squadron equipped with MiG-21, I was told the aircraft will retire soon and I was destined to work on a modern Aircraft. I retired but the aircraft continued in service.

Prasant Satye.

Ya'll Nibbiars "At high altitude Dogfight, a Mig-21 will make even a F-18's pilot run for his money, thats what it did during Vietnam war when it came across Phantoms."

Ya'll Nibbiars Immediately after I joined my first aircraft squadron equipped with MiG-21, I was told the aircraft will retire soon and I was destined to work on a modern Aircraft. I retired but the aircraft continued in service.

Prasant Satye.
Ya'll Nibbiars and that aircraft was the One flight Mig-21(T-75) and one flight MiG-21(T-96). aircraft each. Combat training establishment. 1988.

Arihant Roy

Prasant Satye.
Are Sir ji , I didn't know you were a fighter jockey . So you were in which squadron ? Only 21 or did you get to ride some other girls ?

@Haldilal this is why you need post the reference tweet too next time..

Prasant Satye.

Ya Nibba not me but Prasant satye whos name I mentioned there. This IAF officer served in that aircraft was the One flight Mig-21(T-75) and one flight MiG-21(T-96). aircraft each. Combat training establishment. 1988.

Arihant Roy

ACM RKS Bhadauria with the lads at a base under Western command. I will say it's Adampur. You can see a Grp/C with the Tridents badge. 223 squadron Tridents . MiG-29UPG.

Two squadrons 47 Black Archers and 223 are based in Adampur. Although they maintain detachments elsewhere like in Awantipora and Leh . 28 First supersonics is based in Jamnagar

EnLZaSfVkAAHSXl.jpeg

EnLZVkxUYAASAj9.jpeg

EnLZPHWUwAAKb3i.jpeg

I think this is in Pathankot. With the CO. 125 Gladiators .

The Apaches are squeaky clean. Haven't logged many hours it seems.

@Haldilal this is why you need post the reference tweet too next time..
Kyu mera stardom kharab karne aya hai tu. Kam sem Kim net par to stardom lena de. And again poor Nibba ke Job hai par salary nahi mile. Isle diwali ke lambi chuti mare hai.

And again I mentioned the Authors name. I dont want to attach a tweet as many times they are deleted. And many times most members are unable to see that. But I mentions the authors name.