India Pakistan conflict along LoC and counter terrorist operations

Yeap! That is the idea.

A detailed post was written ages ago. Won’t write it again, especially to new generation of spoon feed kids.

For you to sleep over this Idea just read the following lines.

Make Kashmir war zone and centre of invading Pakistani armoured columns. Let them come in, PLA can join too.
And let them do our work?
You're a wicked man

Floydian

This much I will say:
1. our military response strategy has never made any sense to me. It does not seem to have any well laid out strategy/end goal behind it. We just seem to procure arms in a weird way - for example what is the use of having SSBNs with nukes if the enemy is picking off of our soldiers anyways. There just doesn’t seem to be any deterrence value. We are just not able to enforce total domination/deterrence. Now we are going to get carried away with all these theater commands. Will the theater commands get us absolute domination over an armed forces that spends 1/10th of what we do, and is effectively under economic sanctions due to FATF etc? Or, are we just doing so because PLA is setup that way?

2. CDS Rawat just said two days ago that ceasefire does not just mean no firing at borders, it also means no arms drop using drones or smuggling in heroine to finance terror operations. So this effectively means the ceasefire is broken. Yet I see news articles saying that ceasefire is holding. Shouldn’t the military plainly announce that ceasefire has been broken?

3. One thing I miss is the absence of a strong opposition in the Parliament. No one is questioning this government about the not-so-great performance during Feb 26/27 2020 and the inability to enforce total domination. Plus the citizens are absolutely unable to get the government to spell out what exactly is the security strategy for the country including assymetric warfare methods. Maybe some parliamentary panels are discussing such sensitive issues behind closed doors.

4. Why is the government forcing the citizens to have low expectations on retaliation threshold (Will only do something if significant casualties happen)? Is it the size of our population where foot soldiers are expendable?

5. Our values as a nation is unclear: Why wasn’t any homage paid on the 1 year anniversary of Galwan clashes? And even stranger, is why hasn’t the opposition pressured the government to pay homage to the Galway brave heart?

6. Why do we trumpet so much our access to western technology fully knowing that these come with all sorts of strings attached and that top powers are not going to respect India’s military capabilities if it is built mostly on foreign technology and is deployed/used in a way that causes embarrassment to the nation? For instance, why do we say things like “ if only we had Rafales…”? Does this mean we didn’t have an answer to the F-16s for decades or wrongly strategized that the US would prevent PAF from using the F-16s? Either way, it shows a very high level of lack of strategizing, planning, writing up a response strategy, anticipating enemy’s moves etc.

Many things in our military strategy don’t make sense to me anymore, especially our response strategy - I have thought about it from all angles and I just cannot understand it at all as to why we deliberately come across as incompetent in many military areas, especially for a country that seeks a seat at the big table like UNSC. We cannot fool the world into making our way into these big boys clubs. We have to be truly powerful and demonstrate that we have the capability to effectively dominate against weaker nations. Forget about the Quad going anywhere if we continue to display such military weakness.
Very apt points!

Vaibhavseafarer

Whichever govt comes to power they neither upgrade our armed forces to western standards nor have the guts to respond with punitive action. Just look at Israel they possess both technology and give back attitude. Our political babus had been using armed forces for their benefits like corruption & political agenda. Armed forces had not been given a chance to proactively take decisions on their own at any circumstances. And most importantly we've a defence minister who acts like a (substitute) player, just show up here and there.
We are Vishwaguru, We don't wage wars.

Remember when Abhinandan's plane was shot down. How everyone started crying to GOI to stop further action and get him released.
We want to go to war, But don't want and casualty.
That's why we don't take any action.
Inspite of having lot of firepower.

RoaringTigerHiddenDragon

We are Vishwaguru, We don't wage wars.

Remember when Abhinandan's plane was shot down. How everyone started crying to GOI to stop further action and get him released.
We want to go to war, But don't want and casualty.
That's why we don't take any action.
Inspite of having lot of firepower.
To be precise we don’t want casualties advertised in a news channel during a war with an opponent. We are ok with casualties in the 1s and 2s as it happened today - another SPO and wife gunned down Or when domestic terrorist organizations like Naxals do mass ambushes etc. We are strange people who cannot tell our left hand from our right hand. Sad.

They cost ~50Crores, so for all of the aircrafts is not a economically feasible choice........ atleast in the short run
The Chinese already have them in Tibet against any IAF misadventures if it have to occur
We also must have them atleast in the frontier regions, Jammu and Punjab for example..... Doesn't make sense to provide HAS for all AFS
HAS are mostly needed in forward bases, no sense in making HAS in Sulur or Ekhalanka