India-China 2020 Border Dispute - Military and Strategic Discussion

On a side note: As more and more of these historical tidbits come to the fore, Nixon conversations being the previous one, It seems like personal choices made by few individuals long time back have ripple effects lasting a long time.

if that's the case all this global academia on foreign policy and their "scientific" assessment and analysis on topics has less weightage than an motivated individual's opinion who happens to be at the right post at the right time. in other words there is more than equal chance that an highly placed individual can disregard all the academic analysis on a foreign policy matter and go by personal preference.

Not saying that is what is happening below, but still that possibility exists.

===========
Someone asked why the US recognizes Indian sovereignty over Arunachal Pradesh but not Aksai Chin. Good question. America's position dates back to the 1962 war. I wrote about it in 2012 article for Yale Global. A screenshot of the relevant passage below.
https://twitter.com/Cold_Peace_/status/1303154364215947264/photo/1
1599572183444.png

Tumba

Today's episode of Dhoti Shivering is brought to you by:
A random opinion of some random dude on what is in Jaishankar's mind
yaa stupidity or just hate against a Hindu Nationalist Govt?

From what I have heard Modi himself keep awake late at night(2-3 am) to monitor the military situation no other PM took this much interest in Military strategy/planning etc.
And these 2 paisa so called experts doubt his credibility and dedication towards security of our nation,
be assured if thr is a chance of peace through justified means it will be established but if chinis keep pushing India they r going to be trapped in never ending battles... LAC will become LOC...

rwbeast

Agreed, but he probably got rid of useless ones in first term and hence 370, NRC (future) and so on.
But he couldn't get rid of each and every one of the, that is why we are still silent about Taiwan and Hong Kong

omaebakabaka

Just like how RPC was thrown and PRC got. A decade more to go before UN breaks down. And as always a WW is needed. Which even if started now will not end soon.
UN is irrelevant, bunch of wimps trying to fig out how many genders there should be like the world ran out of real issues. Best equipped to fight gender wars and thats all

ninja hattori

As long as whoever comes in is a performer and an :india: at heart, shouldn't really matter who.
Modi loves performer. Whether u r a bureaucrat or a pussy cat.

Simple message perform or perish.

Doesn't matter. You have it in your skills u will get the position. Check who is manoj sinha and y is he made j n k governor.

IndianYonko

Bhai You may or may not approve with this fact but these EEPEEASS Babus and Diplomatic Babus have been the biggest reasons behind the sluggish responses of India.
Despite the political will, I don't think these babus have that much authority. But what to expect when we have shady leaders at the top. Don't forget Doval and JaiShankar are from the same group. No matter how you select the sample, it is always going to follow the bell-curve. But its the duty of leadership to clip the outliers.

I would like to make the list of leaders(mainly the prime minister) imagine their character, what do you think, what kind of people they will select. That's the result we are seeing. Hope Modi Ji clears the mess. I liked it when he skipped the top options for promotions in his starting days. Let's hope for the best.

Ya'll Nibbiars PLA fired 10-15 rounds in air to intimidate Indian troops to make them leave the position. It was retaliated in similar measures this time by Indian Army which made PLA run back immediately. PLA soldiers haven't slept since last night, Moldo garrison has been emptied in threat of Indian strikes: Experts noted

Frontal Assault.