But didn't MEA say disengagement is not complete and Lt. Gen. Y K joshi said that we will restore status quo ?
I don't think govt can backtrack now after seeing satellite pictures.
I respectfully disagree because while this strategy is sound from a geopolitical or even commonsense standpoint, It comes with heavy domestic political costs for the ruling dispensation. Ladakh will play heavily in the upcoming Bihar elections, especially with the Galwan clash involving "16 Bihar" (I know it's a diverse unit, but the name is a political hot potato for the BJP). Unless BJP can prove confirmed PLA fatalities that are in the ballpark of the 16 Bihar fatalities, the Galwan skirmish remains "unavenged by Modi" in the eyes of the Bihari voter. If NDA/BJP lose Bihar, UP is guaranteed to slip out of their hands next in 2022.
Basically Modi's response to Galwan will decide whether he ends up a Churchill or Chamberlain. As of now the Indian voter hasn't seen a response. "maarte maarte mare" is just political first-aid, it doesn't count as a "response."
Therefore no military response with visible/undeniable PLA fatalities == guaranteed loss for the BJP in Bihar and UP. Modi cannot save his skin without being irrational and unpredictable to the Chinese.
If defence angle was not important then modi for year's wouldn't be milking it be it for Pakistan or China. Removal of article 370A was also a big plus for him balalkot was also a boosted his image as strong leader anyways. Public today cares about money job and all but when public becomes angry or disappointed then to it's a big disaster for the political party and nation.Sir.
You just need to look around. We have eliminated about 50 of the PLA in the said incident (as far as can be reasonably ascertained, my figure is 47) including those of their who succumbed to grievous injuries who were evacuated as immediate priority in helicopters. The 'cost' has been exacted. And the same - the message that is - has been spread where it matters. The average Indian on road is not bothered anymore. For him/her, it is the next pay cheque, job loss, and of course 'sarkaar kya kar rahi hai humare liye COVID mein".
Balakote had no visible Terrorist losses, Feb 27th had no visible loss of PAF F-16, in spite of the then RM, Ms Sitharaman saying that even the name of the PAF pilot lost is known.
They weathered the doubts quite nicely. (Am merely commenting here, am quite sure of the two incidents and casualties incurred by the enemy) So, the political angle is hardly of consequence. Mandir will take care of that.
Personal Opinion
Most disgusted right now, at the blatant surrender of the territory. But knowing how our Political Leadership thinks and how the bureaucracy feeds them data, other than predict their actions, not much can be done.
"Perception" of defence is important. Look at how people are dancing about app ban as digital strike.If defence angle was not important then modi for year's wouldn't be milking it be it for Pakistan or China. Removal of article 370A was also a big plus for him balalkot was also a boosted his image as strong leader anyways. Public today cares about money job and all but when public becomes angry or disappointed then to it's a big disaster for the political party and nation.
Congress will not let modi go freely if he ends up giving land to Chinese. Rahul gandhi and gang were already portraying that Modi have lost the war.
In 1962 when nehru lost the war he was broken betrayed and died a death of lost man and in 1962 not only nehru every other person was broken and disturbed.
If modi lost to Chinese then it will not be a free ride for him.
That...was really disappointing. Sounded like rehashed NAM with moral lectures to the USA as a bonusThe recent EAM Mr Jaishanker's statement may be indicative? A move into US camp, here, would mean move into a definitive military alliance.
If you look at things with this aspect in consideration, an Indo-US miliatary alliance, formalized and operationalized, will be a lethal combination for any power today.
The pussyfooting over concretizing the military aspect of the Quad, by itself, is indicative of the hesitancy within Indian Politico-Bureaucratic set up, that I put forth.
India is right here.. China is not the Soviet union.. American capitalists are heavily invested in China, and from capital goods to consumer goods, there is a lot of american dependence on China.. Even if India were allied with the US, and there was an Indo China conflict, I really feel that US would use its increased leverage over India, to force India to not escalate the conflict to a point where it severely endangers american investment in China... Let the US first summon the courage and conviction to bear the pain of an economic decoupling with China..Modi with his recent moves on the economic front is atleast showing the world that India and Indians are ready to bear the pain of a substantial Indo-China economic decoupling...That...was really disappointing. Sounded like rehashed NAM with moral lectures to the USA as a bonus
Babus will remain Babus. Or maybe its some 9D chankyan chess that I'm missing out ?
India will never be a part of an alliance system, says External Affairs Minister Jaishankar
Global shifts, including that of the United States and China, opening spaces for middle powers like India, Japan, E.U. and others, he sayswww.thehindu.comU.S. needs to ‘go beyond’ alliances, says S. Jaishankar
It has to learn to work with a more multipolar world, says Minister.www.thehindu.com
Did we just Cave ???That...was really disappointing. Sounded like rehashed NAM with moral lectures to the USA as a bonus
Babus will remain Babus. Or maybe its some 9D chankyan chess that I'm missing out ?
India will never be a part of an alliance system, says External Affairs Minister Jaishankar
Global shifts, including that of the United States and China, opening spaces for middle powers like India, Japan, E.U. and others, he sayswww.thehindu.comU.S. needs to ‘go beyond’ alliances, says S. Jaishankar
It has to learn to work with a more multipolar world, says Minister.www.thehindu.com
old news I guessDid we just Cave ???
Its July 2020old news I guess
Yea I meant it in a different context, it was already brought up in this thread some days ago.Its July 2020
Maybe if we feed them enough over the next few meetings they might leave us alone.
Finally shiv aroor article has come out, a milestone lol.
They demanded better chai and biscuits lemme guess, next meeting don't worry we will bring them special chaiMaybe if we feed them enough over the next few meetings they might leave us alone.
There is a simple explanation for Indian diplomacy to take this route, there can’t be an alliance between unequal powers. Bigger power can and will gobble up an smaller unprepared power.That...was really disappointing. Sounded like rehashed NAM with moral lectures to the USA as a bonus
Thread starter | Similar threads | Forum | Replies | Date |
---|---|---|---|---|
India-China 2020 Border conflict | Indian Army | 29497 | ||
V | Non-Military implications of India-China Standoff 2020 | China | 61 | |
Memes & Jokes India China Standoff 2020 | Members Corner | 334 | ||
India to overtake China in 2020: Swaminathan Aiyar | Economy & Infrastructure | 33 |