India-China 2020 Border Dispute - Military and Strategic Discussion

nick_indian

Dont worry the PLAGF has no structure in our territory , going into here and there is pretty common at the LAC's , remember it's not an determine border , it's an myth created by the colonel , but it could be true that the Chinese's are trying to interference in our's pratolling .
To the bold part- Yes the reports are that they are blocking our patrols.

Sehwag213

This article says that Chinese build up in Depsang is on their side of the LAC. Others are saying are inside our LAC by many kilometres. This is so confusing.
As I have said earlier China hasn't crossed LAC anywhere according to Google Earth.

Had it not been for Covid due to which many countries are angry at China, we wouldn't have got much international support.

@mist_consecutive ,How does Google determine LAC ?

nick_indian

As I have said earlier China hasn't crossed LAC anywhere according to Google Earth.

Had it not been for Covid due to which many countries are angry at China, we wouldn't have got much international support.

@mist_consecutive ,How does Google determine LAC ?
At Pangong Tso, they certainly have. Everyone accepts that our LAC perception is through finger 8 but they aren't allowing us beyond finger 4 which is their perception of the LAC. Our soldiers used to patrol between finger 4 to 8. Similar for Depsang, also I think.

ARVION

At Pangong Tso, they certainly have. Everyone accepts that our LAC perception is through finger 8 but they aren't allowing us beyond finger 4 which is their perception of the LAC. Our soldiers used to patrol between finger 4 to 8. Similar for Depsang, also I think.
Blocking the patrolling is pretty much common at the LAC's , you could find hundread's of video's like this , but the real concern is the deployment of the regimental strength and armoured bridage at the Depsang's , so our's equally response of the T 90's deployment and increasing our's strength at the depsang .

Sehwag213

That is our perception. But they had infrastructure there . So they have better control.
We really should have built our own road from F4 to F8 to strengthen our claim.

We used to patrol F4 to F8 on their road 😑
Or we should have broken their road . We should have done something

cereal killer

No surprise place is north of Akasi Chin so it is quite deep. They've to keep their troops there since there supply lines are long. We better need to be wary of Shenxiawan post especially since their main target is DBO.

Arbit

Not at all.. These are open source and you can get real time info..
Below is the path of RISAT - 2B .. This would also soon pass through ladakh and Tibet.. Looks like many Indian spy satellites are vectored to pass over ladakh and tibet.
Jab sari info hi public domain me hai to kis baat ki SPY SATELLITE hai ye?

Fuckn joke.

Can someone explain here what is SPY about this satellite?

Shashank Nayak

No, it can't. Either it's an orbiting one, or a permanent 'hover' at one spot
They can be maneuvered to some extent in their orbit.. But, i think they would use this sparingly.. as it uses precious fuel , which is need to raise the satellite's orbit periodically to counter decay due to atmospheric resistance in low earth orbits.

Arbit

The word SPY denotes there is something secret about this thing. I was expecting something like orbit and trajectory, making it difficult to be shot out of its orbit.

Resolution etc does not make a spy satellite, rather you can say its a necessary function of the same.

Hellfire

on a serious note, i believe that something naughty is going to happen at western border.. by mid august and before winter settles in.
Seriously.

Okay.

India will have to do something surely. In what way does that play out, I am not sure. But something shall definitely need to be done. A situation wherein we have prolonged deployment in forward posturing can not be sustained indefinitely without costs. And by costs I mean, financial and diplomatic costs.

So, yes, I expect West to be a direction to look into. Time frame slightly later to yours as by then the monsoons begin to wane .... and even by mid August, quite a few points in valley along the LC are slushy.

mahesh

maybe like, if India stops CPEC than china takes over Indian developed infrastructure at Iran and Afghanistan, here china might be pushing for Taliban coming into power in afghan and Taliban supporting china will be a domination for china in this region. This will be a troublesome for india, America and its allies.

This is again with refrence to rported Chinese Raod Construction activities opposite Chitkul in Kinnaur District. The Chines road runs parallel to the LC about 20 km to the west and locals have only reported blasts there. Thre are a few roads that branch off towards the LAC .. so the blasts could be anywhere. The Locals would always make a noise and demand that a raod be constructed in their area.. Kinnauri that way are Chatak..
Have a Look.

Chitkul.jpg

Chinese of late are getting sensitive to Himachal and Uttarkhand borders because any offensive launched from Uttarkhand or Himachal is the easiest way to intercept their highway G219. Indian so far have managed to developed their Road network here uptoLAC.

Moreover the Indo Tibetan Highway (old silk route and then a Link Raod Sumdo Keylang - Sarchu provides complete access to LAC areas as also an alternative to Manali - Keylong - Rohtang - Sarchu main highway...

Have a look...

1596105871306.png

Hellfire

The opposition asked him whether he considered Aksai Chin part of India as well, while he was speaking on PoK. Since you routinely go after him for that statement, what else was he supposed to say exactly?
Thanks. For asking a sensible and pertinent question on my post.

Points raised by the Mr Adhir Chowdhury were smart alec ones wherein he was "seeking clarification" on EAM Mr Jaishankar's statement of the issue being a bilateral issue and at the same time trying to prickle Mr Shah over that being bilateral or internal affair.

A fair question, which could have been answered in a much better way by highlighting the signing of the Karachi Agreement of 1948, acceptance of UN proposals, Tashkent Agreement of 1965 and Shimla Agreement of 1971 by the Congress ed GoI which made the issue a bilateral issue to be resolved and a legacy left for the successive GoIs.

He is neither a novice, nor a political lightweight.

The text of the 1994 resolution adapted by the GoI is as under:

“This House”

Notes with deep concern Pakistan’s role in imparting training to the terrorists in camps located in Pakistan and Occupied Kashmir, the supply of weapons and funds, assistance in infiltration of trained militants including foreign mercenaries into Jammu and Kashmir with the avowed purpose of creating disorder disharmony and subversion:

Reiterates that the militants trained in Pakistan are indulging in murder, loot and other heinous crimes against the people, taking them hostage and creating an atmosphere of terror;

Condemns strongly the continued support and encouragement Pakistan is extending to subversive and terrorist activities in the Indian state of Jammu & Kashmir;

Calls upon Pakistan to stop forthwith its support to terrorism, which is in violation of the Simla Agreement and the internationally accepted norms of inter-State conduct and is the root cause of tension between the two countries;

Reiterates that the Indian political and democratic structures and the Constitution provide for firm guarantees for the promotion and protection of human rights of all its citizens;

Regards Pakistan’s anti-India campaign of calumny, and falsehood as unacceptable and deplorable.

Notes with deep concern the highly provocative statements emanating from Pakistan urges Pakistan to refrain from making statements which vitiate the atmosphere and incite public opinion Expresses regret and concern at the pitiable conditions and violations of human rights and denial of democratic freedoms of the people in those areas of the Indian State of Jammu and Kashmir, which are under the illegal occupation of Pakistan;

On behalf of the People of India,

Firmly declares that:

a) The state of Jammu & Kashmir has been, is and shall be an integral part of India and any attempts to separate it from the rest of the country will be resisted by all necessary means;

b) India has the will and capacity to firmly counter all designs against its unity, sovereignty and territorial integrity;

and demands that –

c) Pakistan must vacate the areas of the Indian State of Jammu and Kashmir, which they have occupied through aggression;

and resolves that –

d) All attempts to interfere in the internal affairs of India will be met resolutely.

The Resolution was unanimously adopted, Mr. Speaker: The Resolution is unanimously passed.

February 22, 1994

As for my 'routinely going after him', I quote my posts as under:

Sorry, I disagree. The fact that the Chinese were detected, should have resulted in massive pouring in of troops into the region, irrespective of whether was would have broken or not.

We did it in DBO back in 2013, we did it in 2014 at Chumar, we did it in Dokalam. Again, it was a political call that resulted in these situations resolving as they did.

My counter to the point above is very simple.

Mr. Shah made a categorical statement on the floor of the house over Aksai Chin. That, as a Home Minister of the Government of India.

Honestly, can you state that the GoI was not prepared to militarily deal with a situation arising out of such a statement?

And if it was not, what would you call this act of Mr. Shah?

And if it was indeed prepared, what would you call the situation that has played out?

If the contention is that India was not prepared to fight, then could you kindly comment on this particular act of Mr Shah? Can you then term the statement as being responsible?

My personal view:

An elected representative holding an Office of Trust under the Government of India can not be accused of making a loose statement. And if a loose statement has been made, then the said representative has no business being in office.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Where the hell have I bad mouthed anyone? Read, understand and get back. Your comprehension issues are not my headache.

I am highlighting the possible calculus at play, that has resulted in PRC actions as unfolding right now

That is a fair assessment, and I have no two views on it (in terms of the bold portion). My putting out Mr Shah's statement is as an indicative pointer. His is an unknown quantity for the Chinese and he is, after all, regarded as the 'sword arm' aka the chief executor of Mr Modi. His statements, can not be taken lightly by any security planner, either in Pakistan or in China. Hence, his repeated references to GB and then Aksai Chin, naturally 'upped' the risks for PRC.