India-China 2020 Border conflict

johnq

The point is if we do not provide alternative there are lots of ifs and buts while not buying chinese Chinese products and items like phones have become essential in current days..Making devices are complicated at least without lots of IPRs. Indian business heads also lack imagination. Look at gaints like Infosys and Wipro. Once they were top of the game, now they are just cheap consultant(at the same time they are are destroying Indian pay standard in IT sector). Only aggressive marketing is Jio in recent times by an Indian company.Most of Indian startup are in services sector and with this attitude it is going to take decades make devices in India.

For instance Jio itself have all necessary stakeholders required to make a phone, but they don't seem to make any effort

In short, business elite is another babudom. Whole world wants to dominate indian market but Indian businessmen are playing some 11 D chess.

They are some other factors too like culture of considering jobs better than self-employment(colonies problem but its getting off fast)., low income making people insecure and some amazing socialist laws.
The crux is we are overly dependant on them.We use to think that we can leverage the 60+B of trade deficit but they want to exploit our over dependency.

Two basic things we can do is to develop defense manufacturing infrastructure and support manufacturing in unorganized sector(we don't actually see but they are worst hit by Chinese encroachment).
No, I meant that Chinese companies are not the only ones selling devices; there are other alternatives like Samsung. The Indian companies can also coordinate with companies from other countries to throw off Chinese dependence. The point is, it can be done if the will is there. In the long run, banning Chinese companies and products will be far more beneficial for India. As of right now, Indians buying Chinese products are actually helping to finance nefarious Chinese government and military activities attacking India by attacking its military, stealing its land, and attacking its people with a Chinese lab manufactured virus. If we don't stop financing Chinese government (Chinese companies and Chinese product sales are financing Chinese government), these kinds of biological and military attacks will continue.

etantra

I got the opportunity to visit an OFB facility for an internship 2 years ago and I was shocked when I observed their work culture. Basically they do nothing. 8AM shift starts. 10AM refreshment break for 30 minutes, which obviously stretches to an hour. 12PM lunch break for an hour. Then up to 4PM, when shift ends, play cards, gossips, etc. Out of the 200-300 workers who I was able to observe only 2 were there who I felt were sincerely working and that they have every bit of knowledge regarding their work, even more than there so called 'superiors'.
The first step to a sound and rapidly developing MIC is decentralizing and corporatizing the industry. When one is accountable for their work only then can they work sincerely.
even today?

I have friends who grew up in OFB towns and they had said same but this was in the 90's...

Was hoping it has improved since then..

Synergy

All that is beside the point. Chinese products are not essentials (there are alternatives), and by buying them India is financing Chinese government and military. Indians can survive without Chinese products and without Chinese companies.
Many of these products did not even exist a few decades ago, and we lived without them just fine. And there are alternatives to Chinese products and companies.
But it's still unbelievable that India is not willing to ban Chinese products and companies after the Chinese killing Indian soldiers in cold blood, invading large areas of Indian territory, and killing a hundred thousand Indians using a Chinese lab-manufactured virus. Such a thing would have been unthinkable a few decades ago.
I think it's due to appeasement politics/policies rooted deep in our characteristics.
still Govt/MEA thinks we can appease Chinese.

Edit : but good thing is, though slowly but the thought process is changing.
better late than never.

80,000 Ordnance Factories staff will go on strike from October 12 to protest an effort seeking to make them more accountable. via Shiv Aroor. With the Ladakh standoff entering its 6th month, the strike couldn’t happen at a worse time.

Posted this in the OFB thread as well.

View attachment 61534
The strike is on expected lines. Let us no get scared of this strike. MOD can buy critical ammo from the private sector / overseas. Let us see what these guys are up to. The remaining 'ghar jamai's need to go home.

johnq

Celebrate folks, more money is about to be needlessly pissed down the drain

The Sprut is nuts. You have an autoloader with ammo turret with weak protection. Any penetration will lead to a jack-in-the-box situation similar to Iraqi T-72 tanks in the Gulf war, with the entire tank exploding as a result. They should've at least added newest generation ERA for protection. I'd much rather have an increased power engine in the Indian T-90/T-72; at least they have decent ERA protection.

utubekhiladi

The Preacher
What the hell will we do with 24 tanks??
Probably they are the ones that would arrive immediately (1-3 months).

clearly this is not the right strategy. if the goal is to stop chinese light armor then the 500 crore rs could have invested in procuring best anti tank missiles instead.

Dessert Storm

clearly this is not the right strategy. if the goal is to stop chinese light armor then the 500 crore rs could have invested in procuring best anti tank missiles instead.
I did not comment on the strategy in my post. Just the probable reason.
As far as strategy goes, India is now looking at introducing Light Tanks. Having a couple of regiments right away, would help IA in having its GSQR for indigenous light tank spot on, in addition to taking care of the threat at hand. AFAIK, Modular/add on armour is available for Sprut.
IA sees it as am emergency requirement so getting it under Emergency Purchase of 500crs.
As reported IGLA S us already available to our troops in good numbers. Given that Sprouts would have same gun as T90s, the indigenous CLATGM would be tested for that gun by Feb 2021.
* Light tanks by definition would have weak armour so no use pulling it down on that. Let the army develop tactics for it.

mist_consecutive

Golgappe Expert
Chushul airfield was a psyop by our resident geniuses here.

We have presence on Black Top buy with Tibetan Army.
Chushul airfield was a psyop by our resident geniuses here
Yes, yes I know :doh: I was there the whole day. I am not saying that chinese bot Eva Zhang is right, but to the fact that satellite images has revealed our ground positions.

And no, we don’t have either Helmet or Black top.

mokoman

Yes, yes I know :doh: I was there the whole day. I am not saying that chinese bot Eva Zhang is right, but to the fact that satellite images has revealed our ground positions.

And no, we don’t have either Helmet or Black top.
Same .

:hmm: looks to my pleb eyes that we didnt cross the LAC but is right on it .

which is why we dont have yellow bump , But like you said we are some distance down ridge from it. cause the lac is set like that .

Same for Helmet Top , there is a cluster of red Chinese structures down valley and trails from it that go up to Helmet Top . But we have a large presence there too but just not on the peak.