India-China 2020 Border conflict

Do you know how many manufacturing and R&D facilities Huawei has in India? Huawei has been here for over a decade and a half.

Can we shutter them overnight? Does PMO have executive powers like the US President to ban Huawei and kick them out of the country? On what grounds? Do we declare China as an enemy state while bilateral trade is still on?

We banned Apps under the 'data protection' argument. What prosecutable evidence do we have against Huawei? Last thing we need is to lose a case against the Chinese in IAC and pay them a fat sum that is 10 times more than what they would've earned from India from phone/equipment sales anyway. Word is already out to service providers that they are to shun Huawei.

The Govt. needs to build a water tight case to ensure it can stand in a court of law.

The Govt. has enough egg on its face after the Vodafone ruling.

Who represented Vodafone against the retrospective tax order by GoI?
Arun Jaitley. He was one of the sharpest brains in the country in matters relating to tax laws.
Evidence???

The same evidence every other country has used.

Back doors concerns over privacy and huawei having ties with ccp.

Multiple countries have provided evidence against them surely we can too i don't see any logic in your argument.

There is a load of differnce between vodaphone and huawei.

Evidence???

Multiple countries have provided evidence against them surely we can too i don't see any logic in your argument.

I don't see any logic nor sense in your arguments/rants either.

FalconZero

Forced them to go back....we have driven PLA, now rejoice.
Did you conveniently leave out the part where he said "Massive build up is there at LAC" hinting that issue is not yet solved that it's an ongoing process.
Forced them to go back can be said about events that took place at South Bank, where we managed to have the parity and negating the advantage at northern bank after events of 29/30 September.
Don't take words out of context and create a ho halla.

Lol you asked for evidence I have already explained to you that multiple countries have banned huawei we can use the same reason too.

There is difference between 'BAN' and restricting entry. Most of these countries have either shut Huawei from participating in their 5G trials or have told the service providers to look at other service+equipment providers. We are following a soft ban on Huawei. Aside, why stop with Huawei?
Redmi, Xiaomi tau lagta hai kya? Can we do it or can we not? Please ask GoI and better consult a reputed lawyer/judge if it will stand in court without us having to shell out millions in damages.

BAN means out of the country like we banned Chinese apps. How many countries have 'banned' PubG, TikTok etc?

mokoman

chalo now i can say with full confidence this guy is baba himself.

apni hi duniya me rehta hai ye banda.

cant get pakistan in blacklist cant control foreign media firms cant stop countries from joining trade deals or taking loan money now US has renamed indo-pacific as Asia pacific.

I wonder if he even knows the meaning of softpower.

:dude: just goes to show you don't know anything

India is largest exporter of raw cotton :truestory:

Indrajit

Do you know how many manufacturing and R&D facilities Huawei has in India? Huawei has been here for over a decade and a half.

Can we shutter them overnight? Does PMO have executive powers like the US President to ban Huawei and kick them out of the country? On what grounds? Do we declare China as an enemy state while bilateral trade is still on?

We banned Apps under the 'data protection' argument. What prosecutable evidence do we have against Huawei? Last thing we need is to lose a case against the Chinese in IAC and pay them a fat sum that is 10 times more than what they would've earned from India from phone/equipment sales anyway. Word is already out to service providers that they are to shun Huawei.

The Govt. needs to build a water tight case to ensure it can stand in a court of law.

The Govt. has enough egg on its face after the Vodafone ruling.

Who represented Vodafone against the retrospective tax order by GoI?
Arun Jaitley. He was one of the sharpest brains in the country in matters relating to tax laws.
Different cases. With Vodafone, we were asking them to pay a retrospective tax which was actually due by Hutchinson if any case was to be made, Vodafone being the buyer and Hutchinson being the seller. It was UPA overreach for which the Miodi government didn’t have the gonads to openly argue against it. The result was a foregone conclusion.
Huawei has no automatic right to get orders in India and no case can be made outside India if the government banned them. Tough luck is all anyone can say.

There is difference between 'BAN' and restricting entry. Most of these countries have either shut Huawei from participating in their 5G trials or have told the service providers to look at other service+equipment providers. We are following a soft ban on Huawei. Aside, why stop with Huawei?
Redmi, Xiaomi tau lagta hai kya? Can we do it or can we not? Please ask GoI and better consult a reputed lawyer/judge if it will stand in court without us having to shell out millions in damages.

BAN means out of the country like we banned Chinese apps. How many countries have 'banned' PubG, TikTok etc?
redmi xiamoi and other chinese phones as now cannot be banned due to lack of alternatives so there's that.

redmi xiamoi and other chinese phones as now cannot be banned due to lack of alternatives.
LOL! Lack of alternatives for a 10-15k phone?

I waited for 9 months to get a Micromax phone. Agreed it has components made in China but I wanted to give it a fair trial before writing them off. Trust me, am not disappointed with the Micromax Note 1 yet.

It does what I need from a phone - calls, whatsapp, sms, maps, docs.

LOL! Lack of alternatives for a 10-15k phone?

I waited for 9 months to get a Micromax phone. Agreed it has components made in China but I wanted to give it a fair trial before writing them off. Trust me, am not disappointed with the Note 1 yet.

It does what I need from a phone - calls, whatsapp, sms, maps, docs.
micromax lava all have chinese parts and only a few models match the features of the other chinese brand in the 5k-30k category cost wise.

Different cases. With Vodafone, we were asking them to pay a retrospective tax which was actually due by Hutchinson if any case was to be made, Vodafone being the buyer and Hutchinson being the seller. It was UPA overreach for which the Miodi government didn’t have the gonads to openly argue against it. The result was a foregone conclusion.
Huawei has no automatic right to get orders in India and no case can be made outside India if the government banned them. Tough luck is all anyone can say.

Q: Why are some countries banning or reconsidering product purchases and business relationships with Huawei?

A:
Numerous countries allege that the company’s products may purposely contain security holes that China’s government could use for spying purposes. Also, some countries allege that Huawei steals intellectual property from foreign technology companies.
Q: What has Huawei said about the spying allegations?

A:
Ren Zhengfei, the company’s billionaire founder, broke years of public silence to dismiss U.S. accusations the telco equipment giant helps Beijing to spy on Western governments. Source: Bloomberg, January 15, 2019.

A2: Huawei is willing to sign “no-spy” agreements with governments, including Britain, the Chinese telco company’s chairman said, amid U.S. pressure on European countries to shun the firm over espionage concerns. Source: Reuters, May 14, 2019.

Q: What allegations does Huawei face in terms of intellectual property (IP) and research and development (R&D)?

A:
U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ) on January 28, 2019, charged Huawei with bank fraud and stealing trade secrets. In a 13-count indictment DOJ charged Huawei, its chief financial officer, and two affiliated firms with a laundry list of crimes including conspiracy, money laundering, bank and wire fraud, flouting U.S. sanctions on Iran, and obstruction of justice.

Huawei denied the U.S. charges, saying requests to meet with the US Justice Department had been “rejected without explanation.” The company said that the trade secret theft allegations were “already the subject of a civil suit that was settled by the parties.”

Sources: National Review, January 28, 2019 and CNN Business, January 29, 2019.
Do we have litigation/accusation against Huawei? Babudom is in comatose and when they do act, it gives the opposition a big opening to launch a counter attack that leaves the political establishment reeling.

johnq

#95 China Is Already Winning the War | Kerry Gershaneck
China is waging a political war against the United States. This is a US China Cold War that the US has been unwilling or unable to fight. As we can see with Chinese influence operations targeting Hunter Biden, or Chinese agents like Fang Fang getting close to Rep. Eric Swalwell, or lobbying from Wall Street, the Chinese Communist Party is very successful and elite capture and influencing Americans in this modern warfare. Is there any way for the US to fight back? And what would a Biden Administration's China policy look like? Joining us on this episode of China Unscripted is Professor Kerry Gershaneck, from National Chengchi University in Taipei.
Download the Book! https://www.usmcu.edu/Portals/218/Pol...

@Knowitall

Regarding the Huawei thing I think GoI is pussyfooting on an actual formal BAN because of some possibly WTO lafda, so they are going for an indirect ban on Huawei-ZTE by telling these telecom walas not to buy ching chong 5G gear, already Airtel and Vodafone walas making big talks about their new best bud hw vendors Nokia and Ericsson.

When Mahachutir was ruling Malaysia and he was running his mouth on Kashmir, in a similar way GoI had told palm oil importers of India *indirectly* to stop importing it from Malaysia, and it actually was done, they started importing from Indonesia , and no formal ban and drama related to it happened.

If you notice even during the apps ban it was because vague "security and privacy related concerns", not because those apps were Middle Kingdomese.

=========================================

Say Chingpongs now want to target some American company, the ban and harassment won't be formally for the corp being "American" but for some unrelated issue like muh safety, muh qwality standards, IP theft etc, or even an unspoken boycott by Chinese firms of this American company, same principle applies here.

micromax lava all have chinese parts and only a few models match the features of the other chinese brand in the 5k-30k category cost wise.
Chong parts can easily be made here, it's mostly the Housing/PCB/Assembled Battery.
Every IC worth a shit comes from US, Japan, Taiwan, Korea, screens from Taiwan or Korea, and the battery cell comes from Japan( Panasonic ) or Korea ( Samsung and LG's chemicals divisions ).

Powers that Be have kept chong's grubby paws well out of the actual meat and potatoes of high tech electronics, they only do assembly for export and supply of supporting parts in electronics.

Evidence???

One method this could be enforced in single out ZTE-Huawei for an "audit" of their hardware and firmware used in 5G maal, get babooze involved to make it immensely time consuming on the scale of years, and because of this audit/investigation, Huawei-ZTE cannot take part in any trials or deployments of 5G gear till it is complete.

While the investigation is going, Samsung,Ericsson,Nokia can be given clean chit in any investigation, and they can take part in 5G deployments, now once the Big 3 already have deployed along with equipment from these 3 and other vendors, there will be no change for Chuawei and ZTE to get in.

There's Samsung. Google Pixel is also Made in China, so was most of Apple, Lenovo, HP, Dell you name it.
Motorola is owned by Lenovo too. Samsung has phones catering to all budgets. Almost all components in Apple products were made in China. How come nobody utters a word then?
Haan yaar, ghar ki murgi daal barabar.

If one can't resist the temptation of buying a 'feature' packed swanky looking Chinese company owned mobile phone like One+ or Vivo or Mi series, then one can only say you've been honey trapped. No point tweeting '#BanHuawei' from your Chinese mobile and going to bed thinking you've done your bit for the nation.

Different cases but the intention was the same - Let me show you who is da boss. We saw how it ended for GoI.

As of today, I am not aware of any adverse report prepared by the Govt. against Huawei. Maybe there's one in the making. Maybe nothing at all.

US charged Huawei of espionage and IP theft and a ban followed. Is this enough evidence to argue our case against Huawei and justify a ban, that's my question? What if Huawei approaches SC, will US evidence be admissible in our courts? Just asking.