HAL Prachand - Light Combat Helicopter (LCH)

samsaptaka

तस्मात् उत्तिष्ठ कौन्तेय युद्धाय कृतनिष्चय
Bhai don't give hopes about defense export, dil bahut dukha hai past me. Plzz bhai bahut bura lagta hai...
I would rather see more orders from IAF and HAL delivery on time than export jhumla....once our requirements are met and then we export it's a good thing. And no , some ppl have this fantasy that gernails will order more if they see foreign forces using our maal...well then where are mass orders of tonbo sights then ? Gernails and lobby are corrupt, so this won't cut it

145 Made-in-India Light Combat Helicopters 'Prachand' To Enter Mass Production Soon
Government sources have confirmed that the highly anticipated mass production of the 145 Light Combat Helicopter(LCH) "Prachand" will commence soon. On June 15, Air Marshal Ashutosh Dixit, Deputy Chief of the Air Staff, visited Hindustan Aeronautics Limited (HAL) and personally flew the series production trainer-01 of the LCA Tejas. During the meeting, he received a comprehensive briefing on the production status of the indigenous combat helicopter.

3 Things You Need To Know
  • Air Marshal Ashutosh Dixit, Deputy Chief of the Air Staff (DCAS), visited the National Flight Test Centre, Aeronautical Development Agency, and HAL Tejas Division.
  • Delivery of 10 LCH Limited Series Production aircraft for the Indian Air Force is nearing completion.
  • The LCH's exceptional combat capability at high altitudes emerged as a groundbreaking advantage, revolutionising operations in the challenging Himalayan region, including Siachen.

In March 2020, the Cabinet Committee on Security (CCS) approved the acquisition of 15 limited series Production (LSP) variants of LCH at the cost of ₹3,887 crore. Out of the 15 helicopters, 10 were allocated to the IAF and five to the Army. The IAF has deployed its LSP variants of the combat helicopter in Jodhpur near the Indo-Bangladesh border, while the Army has stationed the first squadron of LCH just 250 km from the Line of Actual Control (LAC) in Missamari, Assam.

Prachand: India's First Indigenous Combat Helicopter
The twin-engine LCH, designed by HAL, is a 5-8 tonne combat helicopter specifically tailored for high-altitude operations. It boasts a combat radius of 500 km and a service ceiling of 6,000–6,500 metres. The helicopter incorporates stealth features, armour protection, and night attack capability. Equipped with a glass cockpit, low radar cross-section, and integrated systems such as the Integrated Architecture Display System (IADS), Countermeasure Dispensing System (CMDS), electro-optical (EO) pod, and electronic warfare (EW) suite, the LCH is a formidable multirole combat helicopter.

Armed with a 20mm gun, rockets, and air-to-air/air-to-ground missiles, the LCH has a maximum takeoff weight (MTOW) of 5,800 kg, a top speed of 268 km/h, a range of 550 km, and a service ceiling of 6.5 km. It is powered by two HAL/Turbomeca Shakti-1H1 engines, each providing 1,032 kW of power. The engines are fitted with infrared suppressors. The LCH's design enables it to perform various attack profiles, including high-altitude warfare. It excels in anti-infantry, anti-armour, destruction of enemy air defence (DEAD) operations, urban warfare, counter-insurgency operations, counter surface force operations (CSFO), escort to special heliborne operations (SHBO), combat search and rescue (CSAR) operations, and armed aerial scouting duties. The LCH features a narrow fuselage, stealth profiling, and advanced rotor technology inherited from the HAL Dhruv.

Enhancing fighting capabilities
The Army is strategizing to integrate attack helicopters into all pivot formations, bolstering close anti-armour support. Simultaneously, the Air Force's induction of these helicopters seeks to empower the IAF with the capacity to effectively neutralise high-altitude objectives and counter the dwindling numbers of attack helicopters within its fleet. Notably, the Indian Army has plans to acquire approximately 95 LCH units, while the IAF is slated to receive 65, further enhancing its operational capabilities.

Addressing Operational Gaps
Currently, the LCH lacks an electronic warfare suite, unlike the weapon systems-integrated version of the Advanced Light Helicopter 'Rudra,' which already incorporates Saab's Integrated Defensive Aids Suite (IDAS). IDAS equips the aircraft with radar warning receivers and missile and laser warning systems, enabling the sensors to detect threats from any position relative to the aircraft. Once a hostile target is identified, the system automatically selects an appropriate countermeasure response, deploying countermeasures to deceive incoming projectiles or radar. The initial plan was to develop an indigenous electronic warfare system for the LCH, designed by DRDO (Defense Research and Development Organization). However, the development process is still underway.

October last year, during the Navratri festival, the LCH was inducted into the Indian Air Force and was named Prachand by Rajnath Singh, India's Defence Minister. During the induction ceremony, he said, "The induction of indigenously developed Light Combat Helicopters (LCH) will enhance our capability and boost defence production. There could not have been a better timing for the LCH induction than Navratri and in the land of warriors, Rajasthan."

Aniruddha Mulay

I would rather see more orders from IAF and HAL delivery on time than export jhumla....once our requirements are met and then we export it's a good thing. And no , some ppl have this fantasy that gernails will order more if they see foreign forces using our maal...well then where are mass orders of tonbo sights then ? Gernails and lobby are corrupt, so this won't cut it
HAL delivered 15 LCH to IA and IAF in about 12 months worth Rs.3900 crore without a formal contract in place.

Rassil Krishnan

HAL delivered 15 LCH to IA and IAF in about 12 months worth Rs.3900 crore without a formal contract in place.
I wonder if the gov needs to just fund 200 such production variants of lch for hal to manufacture and deliver to IAF WITHOUT ANY FORMAL orders. This is because cynically i think, there is still a contingent of IAF and IA gernal types who hate ordering desi stuff. This should not be used as an excuse to never bring about our own indian made-designed products into the military. They can then train some pilots to fly this too in the meantime that too in an informal way.

I am fairly sure that once the call to war comes about, or if china starts a war on our borders, these non-formal LCHs will be put into use as a matter of necessity, then these lchs might save India. because I don't think IAFs and IAs attitude will allow any helis or other major equipment to be inducted in the required amounts. so just like russia it will be the humble red-headed stepchildren that are eventually going to save us if at all. we can't rely on IAFs and IAs normal nature of going for emergency imports.

Javelin_Sam

Was on my apartment terrace today morning and Prachand LCH pilot was generous enough to perform some acrobatic stuff over my head. The chopper was very silent and I could only know about it's presence once it revealed itself above couple of tall buildings in the neighbourhood. Can creep anyone out who are not aviation geeks and who's idea of a helicopter is the usual utility and transport models
Quickly opened my camera. Pardon me for my amateurish camera skills and my average phone camera quality.
It looks scifi dope on seeing directly.
I captured some videos. How to upload it?

IMG_20230722_115214_1.jpg

IMG_20230722_115212_1.jpg

IMG_20230722_115210.jpg

SwordOfDarkness

Was on my apartment terrace today morning and Prachand LCH pilot was generous enough to perform some acrobatic stuff over my head. The chopper was very silent and I could only know about it's presence once it revealed itself above couple of tall buildings in the neighbourhood. Can creep anyone out who are not aviation geeks and who's idea of a helicopter is the usual utility and transport models
Quickly opened my camera. Pardon me for my amateurish camera skills and my average phone camera quality.
It looks scifi dope on seeing directly.
I captured some videos. How to upload it?

View attachment 215530

View attachment 215531

View attachment 215532
You can put it on youtube as an unlisted video or on reddit and then share the link here.
Use anonymous gmail ID (make new one if you dont have) for safety.

If more experienced members know a way to directly share videos, please let me know also.

DumbPilot

You can put it on youtube as an unlisted video or on reddit and then share the link here.
Use anonymous gmail ID (make new one if you dont have) for safety.

If more experienced members know a way to directly share videos, please let me know also.
streamable

145 Made-in-India Light Combat Helicopters 'Prachand' To Enter Mass Production Soon
Government sources have confirmed that the highly anticipated mass production of the 145 Light Combat Helicopter(LCH) "Prachand" will commence soon. On June 15, Air Marshal Ashutosh Dixit, Deputy Chief of the Air Staff, visited Hindustan Aeronautics Limited (HAL) and personally flew the series production trainer-01 of the LCA Tejas. During the meeting, he received a comprehensive briefing on the production status of the indigenous combat helicopter.

3 Things You Need To Know
  • Air Marshal Ashutosh Dixit, Deputy Chief of the Air Staff (DCAS), visited the National Flight Test Centre, Aeronautical Development Agency, and HAL Tejas Division.
  • Delivery of 10 LCH Limited Series Production aircraft for the Indian Air Force is nearing completion.
  • The LCH's exceptional combat capability at high altitudes emerged as a groundbreaking advantage, revolutionising operations in the challenging Himalayan region, including Siachen.

In March 2020, the Cabinet Committee on Security (CCS) approved the acquisition of 15 limited series Production (LSP) variants of LCH at the cost of ₹3,887 crore. Out of the 15 helicopters, 10 were allocated to the IAF and five to the Army. The IAF has deployed its LSP variants of the combat helicopter in Jodhpur near the Indo-Bangladesh border, while the Army has stationed the first squadron of LCH just 250 km from the Line of Actual Control (LAC) in Missamari, Assam.

Prachand: India's First Indigenous Combat Helicopter
The twin-engine LCH, designed by HAL, is a 5-8 tonne combat helicopter specifically tailored for high-altitude operations. It boasts a combat radius of 500 km and a service ceiling of 6,000–6,500 metres. The helicopter incorporates stealth features, armour protection, and night attack capability. Equipped with a glass cockpit, low radar cross-section, and integrated systems such as the Integrated Architecture Display System (IADS), Countermeasure Dispensing System (CMDS), electro-optical (EO) pod, and electronic warfare (EW) suite, the LCH is a formidable multirole combat helicopter.

Armed with a 20mm gun, rockets, and air-to-air/air-to-ground missiles, the LCH has a maximum takeoff weight (MTOW) of 5,800 kg, a top speed of 268 km/h, a range of 550 km, and a service ceiling of 6.5 km. It is powered by two HAL/Turbomeca Shakti-1H1 engines, each providing 1,032 kW of power. The engines are fitted with infrared suppressors. The LCH's design enables it to perform various attack profiles, including high-altitude warfare. It excels in anti-infantry, anti-armour, destruction of enemy air defence (DEAD) operations, urban warfare, counter-insurgency operations, counter surface force operations (CSFO), escort to special heliborne operations (SHBO), combat search and rescue (CSAR) operations, and armed aerial scouting duties. The LCH features a narrow fuselage, stealth profiling, and advanced rotor technology inherited from the HAL Dhruv.

Enhancing fighting capabilities
The Army is strategizing to integrate attack helicopters into all pivot formations, bolstering close anti-armour support. Simultaneously, the Air Force's induction of these helicopters seeks to empower the IAF with the capacity to effectively neutralise high-altitude objectives and counter the dwindling numbers of attack helicopters within its fleet. Notably, the Indian Army has plans to acquire approximately 95 LCH units, while the IAF is slated to receive 65, further enhancing its operational capabilities.

Addressing Operational Gaps
Currently, the LCH lacks an electronic warfare suite, unlike the weapon systems-integrated version of the Advanced Light Helicopter 'Rudra,' which already incorporates Saab's Integrated Defensive Aids Suite (IDAS). IDAS equips the aircraft with radar warning receivers and missile and laser warning systems, enabling the sensors to detect threats from any position relative to the aircraft. Once a hostile target is identified, the system automatically selects an appropriate countermeasure response, deploying countermeasures to deceive incoming projectiles or radar. The initial plan was to develop an indigenous electronic warfare system for the LCH, designed by DRDO (Defense Research and Development Organization). However, the development process is still underway.

October last year, during the Navratri festival, the LCH was inducted into the Indian Air Force and was named Prachand by Rajnath Singh, India's Defence Minister. During the induction ceremony, he said, "The induction of indigenously developed Light Combat Helicopters (LCH) will enhance our capability and boost defence production. There could not have been a better timing for the LCH induction than Navratri and in the land of warriors, Rajasthan."
They’ll drag tanks out another 2-3 years (enough time to get their gold plated AH-64s) then declare attack helicopters obsolete and they are issuing RFIs for UCAVs

there’s no way more than ~40 LCH are ever in service (I hope I’m wrong)

samsaptaka

तस्मात् उत्तिष्ठ कौन्तेय युद्धाय कृतनिष्चय
They’ll drag tanks out another 2-3 years (enough time to get their gold plated AH-64s) then declare attack helicopters obsolete and they are issuing RFIs for UCAVs

there’s no way more than ~40 LCH are ever in service (I hope I’m wrong)
The very fact that a number like 145 is quoted as "mass" production for a country and army of our size shows how poor our thinking or attitude wrt the seriousness of establishing a MIC really is.

Rajaraja Chola

I wonder if the gov needs to just fund 200 such production variants of lch for hal to manufacture and deliver to IAF WITHOUT ANY FORMAL orders. This is because cynically i think, there is still a contingent of IAF and IA gernal types who hate ordering desi stuff. This should not be used as an excuse to never bring about our own indian made-designed products into the military. They can then train some pilots to fly this too in the meantime that too in an informal way.

I am fairly sure that once the call to war comes about, or if china starts a war on our borders, these non-formal LCHs will be put into use as a matter of necessity, then these lchs might save India. because I don't think IAFs and IAs attitude will allow any helis or other major equipment to be inducted in the required amounts. so just like russia it will be the humble red-headed stepchildren that are eventually going to save us if at all. we can't rely on IAFs and IAs normal nature of going for emergency imports.
And do what? Have the LCH without orders and the IAF won’t order it’s main weapons? Like Helina or mistral or rockets or future integration of Self protection suite? It needs to sit against the budget of IAF so they utilize them properly

These jokers are just making things up now. After 100 more LCA MK1A and 6 more NETRA MK1, this same guy comes out with this?

Even this article makes no sense, the numbers are totally different to the IA+IAF breakdown before and it goes between IAF buying 156 to split order.

This guy is clearly a mouthpiece for the MoD and he’s being fed utter crap whilst the ministry sits idle