DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

omaebakabaka

To manufacture the upper and lower layer of the dipole element, they are using substrates and bonding films from Roger Corp, an American company. Hopefully, this is a commercial decision and we have alternate suppliers for this or a functionally similar material. If not then hope that DRDO is atleast working on developing this material in-house.
Exactly the reason why I do not trust indigenous labelling on face value, not easy to master these substrates nor sustain with competition....even china is running around after US bans. All the equipment that manufacture these are either german, american or Japanese for the most part.

THIS IS REAL ENGG WE ARE JUST DOING THAT HAS BEEN DONE
BC AMCA BAN RAHA HAI ABHI TAK MALUM NAHI HUA KI EOTS, DAS LAG RAHA KI NAHI
SALA HAMARA AEROSPACE KA CURRICULLUM 40 SAAL PURANA HAI
:crying::crying: :tsk::tsk::tsk::tsk:
This is what happens when you glorify poverty for 74 years and enforce socialism. Laal Salaam Comrade...!!!

omaebakabaka

This is what happens when you glorify poverty for 74 years and enforce socialism. Laal Salaam Comrade...!!!
I can confidently say 98% of Engineering grads from India are crap and probably can't solve even 8th grade math problems. Lot better engineers in earlier decades like 60s and 70s....its dreadful when you run into someone that is computer science graduate and can't do basic binary additon or understand 2's compliment and so on

omaebakabaka

Not agreeing or disputing what you are saying, but do these 98% grads then find work which is below their qualifications? Or not get employed at all in some cases? What do they end up doing?
They end up faking resumes especially in IT and do routine things and learn on job and become managers and hire more bozos and step on people that are talented. In engineering, what you see is maintenance mostly but very less output based on original thinking that gets commercialized. Lot of engineering grads do not remain in the field and just get software jobs but do not really develop product sort of software...systematic issues where application or thinking is not encouraged

I will not continue rants as its OT and tangential but this underlies our dependency on imports and rarely catching up even with TOT...

Okabe Rintarou

I can confidently say 98% of Engineering grads from India are crap and probably can't solve even 8th grade math problems. Lot better engineers in earlier decades like 60s and 70s....its dreadful when you run into someone that is computer science graduate and can't do basic binary additon or understand 2's compliment and so on
That number is around 80%, not 98%. Much has to do with the way teaching is done in colleges these days. They give you names of standard textbooks and as long as you can mug up and apply the damned formulae in that book, you'll score, logic be damned. Often times, professors put exam questions from the exact same book prescribed in syllabus or suggested by them. So its obvious to everyone which questions will be in the exam. This approach might work in other fields, but is counterproductive in Engineering, especially because of the kinds of books they prescribe that have three-four types of numericals repeated ad nauseum with different numerical values. Have seen people with lower understanding than me score higher than me. Have met the kind of faculty that doesn't even make the effort of grading the answer sheet properly. Situation is so bad that even motivated students realize that no matter how hard you work to perfect your answer by reading from multiple sources and developing an actual understanding and then writing it all in your own words on the spot during the exam, your professor will likely not put in the effort to even read it through properly and will give you lower marks than some other moron who started reading the subject the night before the examination but through rote learning and cheating managed to reproduce the textbook's diagram with similar looking text, nicely underlined.
Situation is better in central universities and NITs, but its still far from perfect. I had a Professor back in my Masters. He taught us Advanced Solid Mechanics. Ruthless guy. He did the same thing where he gave us just one standard textbook to follow (although he also told us about the best possible reference books on each chapter or topic of our syllabus if we were interested). He told us that exam questions will be from the unsolved exercises of that one textbook. Despite all this, half our class failed his subject. Why? Because he taught the way you are supposed to teach and marked people purely on merit, looked at our answers and each step and reasoning for that step under a microscope. He actually spent time grading us, even though he knew half the people in our class were not worth his time. He had studied and then worked in US of A under famous people in the field of mechanics, so he was a very knowledgeable guy. Barring me and another guy, nobody else was interested in his wisdom. After our batch (barely) passed out, some other Professor was given the task of teaching the same subject because the University was concerned that the failure rate in that subject was high. Turns out all our juniors got 7.0 GPA or above. Why? Because the guy teaching and grading the juniors was a run-of-the-mill Indian engineering professor.
IITs have good standards, but on the other end of the spectrum, we have private universities and colleges where I shudder to imagine what the teaching standards might be like (although I've met a couple of good professors in such colleges as well).

Care to elaborate? Exactly which curriculum and exactly what parts of it are outdated?

Willy3

THIS IS REAL ENGG WE ARE JUST DOING THAT HAS BEEN DONE
BC AMCA BAN RAHA HAI ABHI TAK MALUM NAHI HUA KI EOTS, DAS LAG RAHA KI NAHI
Brhh... another bs..."desh ka kuch nahi hoga bc" rant.

US-Soviet have cryogenic technologies in 50s and we mastered it in 2010s .... to kya karte ben stokes...roke khujliwal ke tara dharna dete baithte ???
Back then during cold war NASA and defence agencies were getting investment worth >10% of US GDP
Be cool man, appreciate what we are doing with our limited resources, intense anti-indigenous lobbying, slow bureaucracy, we can obviously improve but that doesn't mean that we would carry our parents "sharma ji ke beteko 95 mila, tereko kiu nahi" view towards our assets.

Key technologies takes time. The same cryogenic technology we are talking earlier, just like only 6 countries so far mastered that technology in this 60 years time span, we are one of them.

We have very capable engineers, just because we can see engg clgs growing up like fungus or your neighbour's son Chottu have fake degree doesn't mean we don't have capable person.

Also 40-50 years is just blink of an eyes for a civilization. You will never know when we will pass them.

There are already tenders out for gan based aesa subcomponents . There is a tweet by indranil on the topic.
Can (Zinc Oxide) ZnO have applications in radar T/R Modules? I have read a lot about it to be better than (Gallium Nitride) GaN in Light emitting diodest comes to performance.

@SavageKing456 , isn't it was also part of research you were talking about in that eots discussion
I have read a lot of research papers regarding that, hence I wanted to know as my guesswork analogy made me think it as Gallium Nitride (GaN) based semiconductors have most of the applications in Light Emitting Diodes and it is used in AESA Radars in modern era, it has better Transmit/Receive capabilities for the same power supplied to an AESA Radar having Gallium Arsenide (GaAs) based T/R Modules.

So ZnO may find its way into AESA Radars in upcoming future.

1621099164106.gif

omaebakabaka

That number is around 80%, not 98%. Much has to do with the way teaching is done in colleges these days. They give you names of standard textbooks and as long as you can mug up and apply the damned formulae in that book, you'll score, logic be damned. Often times, professors put exam questions from the exact same book prescribed in syllabus or suggested by them. So its obvious to everyone which questions will be in the exam. This approach might work in other fields, but is counterproductive in Engineering, especially because of the kinds of books they prescribe that have three-four types of numericals repeated ad nauseum with different numerical values. Have seen people with lower understanding than me score higher than me. Have met the kind of faculty that doesn't even make the effort of grading the answer sheet properly. Situation is so bad that even motivated students realize that no matter how hard you work to perfect your answer by reading from multiple sources and developing an actual understanding and then writing it all in your own words on the spot during the exam, your professor will likely not put in the effort to even read it through properly and will give you lower marks than some other moron who started reading the subject the night before the examination but through rote learning and cheating managed to reproduce the textbook's diagram with similar looking text, nicely underlined.
Situation is better in central universities and NITs, but its still far from perfect. I had a Professor back in my Masters. He taught us Advanced Solid Mechanics. Ruthless guy. He did the same thing where he gave us just one standard textbook to follow (although he also told us about the best possible reference books on each chapter or topic of our syllabus if we were interested). He told us that exam questions will be from the unsolved exercises of that one textbook. Despite all this, half our class failed his subject. Why? Because he taught the way you are supposed to teach and marked people purely on merit, looked at our answers and each step and reasoning for that step under a microscope. He actually spent time grading us, even though he knew half the people in our class were not worth his time. He had studied and then worked in US of A under famous people in the field of mechanics, so he was a very knowledgeable guy. Barring me and another guy, nobody else was interested in his wisdom. After our batch (barely) passed out, some other Professor was given the task of teaching the same subject because the University was concerned that the failure rate in that subject was high. Turns out all our juniors got 7.0 GPA or above. Why? Because the guy teaching and grading the juniors was a run-of-the-mill Indian engineering professor.
IITs have good standards, but on the other end of the spectrum, we have private universities and colleges where I shudder to imagine what the teaching standards might be like (although I've met a couple of good professors in such colleges as well).

Care to elaborate? Exactly which curriculum and exactly what parts of it are outdated?
98% was not a fact, 80% isn't either but overwhelming majority is quality...women, sc/st/bc/muslim and what not quotas....even IIT's are not what you may be thinking they are....people are getting in by tutorial based and pattern based hard work. Take one of the MIT undergrad courses in physics or something like calculus or probability online and you will see the way concepts and intuition are explained.

omaebakabaka

Brhh... another bs..."desh ka kuch nahi hoga bc" rant.

US-Soviet have cryogenic technologies in 50s and we mastered it in 2010s .... to kya karte ben stokes...roke khujliwal ke tara dharna dete baithte ???
Back then during cold war NASA and defence agencies were getting investment worth >10% of US GDP
Be cool man, appreciate what we are doing with our limited resources, intense anti-indigenous lobbying, slow bureaucracy, we can obviously improve but that doesn't mean that we would carry our parents "sharma ji ke beteko 95 mila, tereko kiu nahi" view towards our assets.

Key technologies takes time. The same cryogenic technology we are talking earlier, just like only 6 countries so far mastered that technology in this 60 years time span, we are one of them.

We have very capable engineers, just because we can see engg clgs growing up like fungus or your neighbour's son Chottu have fake degree doesn't mean we don't have capable person.

Also 40-50 years is just blink of an eyes for a civilization. You will never know when we will pass them.
Very capable? We have some good theoretical ones and very few application ones and even very few independent ones....no amount of positive spin is going to narrow the lead in practical time frames when underlying dynamics does not change. We have very poor course work in our technical disciplines and even poor application aspects....