Bhadra, your unstoppable force has just hit its immovable object.
But before I write further can you stop teasing me as part of DRDO who is against IA? I am merely a fanboy of DRDO and my target is not the Indian Army, in any of its roles.
Regards:
While it is no one case that DRDO has not done any thing but to say that ITBP soldier on LAC is not being ambushed because of your missiles and bombs is being very superficial and bombastic.. There have no skirmishes on LAC after Chinese were given a befitting reply by IA at Nathula in 1967. Not a single bullet has been fired on LAC. If you think your discoveries have prevented them from doing it, you are mistaken.
<snip>
Pray tell me what have you done for that for soldier - made Agni. So withdraw that ITBP soldier from the Chines border and disband the Army foot soldiers and tank battalions.
The death of ambivalence post-62 is a good reason for chinese rationality and Nathu-la and Agni both figure in that reason. When I mentioned ITBP jawan, it is figurative only, the first point of contact. Since he is the first guy who will die before death visits us Indians, even in a war that ultimately turns nuclear. That ITBP Jawan essentially stands in, in that write up, for all of us. Ultimately it is the nations that go to war and the results impact the whole nation - physically or psychologically.
In that context, had any of the several countries that US has destablized and invaded, had some nukes and missiles to lob those nukes, they would have enabled US to discover the virtues of peace as convincingly as US has discovered it in Ukraine today and NoKo yesterday.
Had we Indians too had that kind of capacity in 71, there would have been no genocide in East Pakistan either.
Vietnam fought one ex-super power, one extant super power and one future super power and a bunch of insurgencies to keep itself free. They succeeded but at a terrible loss to the own civilian populations and peasant army. Had the Viets had some nukes and ballistic missiles the question of any war in Indo-china would never have arisen.
Same is the case with Syria actually. Had the Syrians not remained content with chemicals and developed the nukes and ICBMs, even started to develop them, they would not have lost their country. Instead the world would have treated Syria at the same level as Iran and would have negotiated a civil-nuclear deal with Syria.
What you are fixating on is what happens after an entity like US loses interest in a war. I admit DRDO has no capability or even a role in COIN, social subversion, economic blockade and a general anti-national cartelization. DRDO is just a development organization interested in just so much research as is needed to develop what it is mandated to develop. In this, it is but logical that a person or organization will be able to develop only as much as is its capability. Holds true for DRDO too. Rest all obviously has to be imported. So say for example DRDO is incapable of developing compasses or COIN gear then obviously we import that. And that India already does for IA. Nobody can begrudge them that.
Regards your claim that :
DRDO is supposed to know and work in all gambits of defence technology which may start from protective clothing, boots, pull through, small magazines to sturdy and all cross country vehicles, metallurgy for light guns, smokeless propellants, improved explosive, modern fuzes . light weapons and equipment.underground detection, water crossing expedients, life saving equipment, batter navigation aids etc etc..
Again I differ. Sir, supposed-waposed ko kinare kariye aur bataiye ke reasonably kya kiya ja sakta hai ya hona chahiye.
Some of these illustrative examples you quote are already being done in India. If you feel that they were not done fast enough, then I hope you find solace in knowing that these things will be required in future too and DRDO products at that time will be used to replace imports. Equally importantly most of these are the kind for which the private industry can easily be employed. Even if the private sector cannot yet do these things still a lot of it should never be in the DRDO basket. Rather I would question, what were the circumstances that put us in a situation that Private sector cannot do these things.
As I read you it seems like your working presumption centers around the 'big-impersonal-strategic war is different from the small-personal-tactical war'. And DRDO should prioritize the later over the former.
IMO, DRDO should ideally be working on developing those engineering items, that cannot otherwise be made or will be denied or will help rationalize employment of major resources. You really cannot expect 7500 people of whom only 10% are Phds
to have their scant efforts, dissipated in thin air.
You have a point in mismanagement inside DRDO. I don't contest that. DRDO can certainly do much better even as a aggregate of govt. sector entities.
Regards your comment:
Where was that red button when Chinese came 21 km inside in Spangur and sat there for 24 days. Where is that red button when Pakistan almost intruded in Kargil and sat over more than 320 sq Kms of India. If this is your understanding of red button in the hands of Political masters than God save us.
Sir ji, you are deliberately missing out parts of our history where the intrusion was much more than just 24 km. And for a country that is in the habit of trying to 'embarrass' visiting dignatories they did not seem particularly intent on repetition when Modi just recently visited them. Coincidentally again, its a point that was brought to the notice of an Aaj Tak sponsored media-do by Amit Shah today.
Also can I ask you something - why are you so afraid of opinions. You have them you speak out. Where is the problem.