DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

I have a question regarding Nag ATGM. If the point of failure is mostly due to the failure of seeker to get a lock on targets due to high desert ambient temperatures, the said issue has been taken care off as per reports, what is stopping the army from acquiring it for other sectors as usage is not limited to deserts only. It should work well in plains of Punjab. Is there some fault that we do not know off, Bhadraji mentions minimum range is not satisfactory.
Can a country like India afford sector specific missiles ... missile need. spares trained manpower for repair and maintenance, trained soldiers. then missile launchers. launcher fitted vehicles... missile is system...

The trail have not finished as yet ... we scored a hit is not end of the trails.. all pointed out operational lacunae are rectified and again offered for trail... that again has not happened inspire of the time stated..

ATGM was the first project sanctioned much before IDGMP started to repalce SS11B1... ATGM was top priority for ground forces as it is required by thousand and is almost a basic weapon for ground forces...

But DRDO scientist got involved with other missiles like IRBM, ICBMs etc and started playing strategical games

ATGMs are required / used by the multiples of Lakhs every year for training itself .. Prithvi and Agni may never be used in our life times.. What I mean is that Agni are not meant to perform tasks of Nag .... for a soldier NAG is more important to him because he knows ATGM, tanks and bunkers. For him AJP Abdul Kalam is a Nag missile in his hand rather than Agni in Jorahat ...

But who cares... From the results so far it appears that DRDO has placed all third division reservists on Nag Project.. It seems they have given up...

Karthi

FB_IMG_1595339402778.jpg

Indian Army gets ‘Bharat’ drones for accurate surveillance along China border.

Amid the ongoing boundary dispute between India and China, DRDO has provided its indigenously-developed drone named Bharat to the Indian Army for carrying out accurate surveillance in high altitude areas and mountainous terrain along the Line of Actual Control in Eastern Ladakh.

“The Indian Army requires drones for accurate surveillance in the ongoing dispute in the Eastern Ladakh area. For this requirement, the DRDO has provided the Bharat drones to it,” defence sources told ANI . The Bharat drones have been developed by a Chandigarh-based laboratory of the Defence Research and Development Organisation.

The Bharat series of the drones can be listed among “World’s most agile and lightest Surveillance drone. Indigenously developed by the DRDO.” DRDO sources said the “small yet powerful drone works autonomously at any location with great accuracy. The unibody biomimetic design with advance release technology is a lethal combination for surveillance missions”. The drone is equipped with artificial intelligence to detect friends and foes and can take action accordingly.

The drone has been made capable of survival in extreme cold weather temperatures and is being developed further for harsher weather. The drone provides real-time video transmission during the complete missions and with very advanced night vision capabilities, it can detect humans hidden in deep forests. It is gaining a lot of popularity because it can operate in swarm operations, sources said. The drone has been built in a way that makes it impossible to be detected by Radar.

Nag is certainly overweight to be around 43 Kgs.. for use by ground forces who need to reload and replenish the missile in the battle field... can it be mounted on a tank? I do not know.

Nag is Costly.. yes at Rs 4.3 Crore per missile it nears the cost of a Hellfire. I can buy a tank for the cost of ten missiles..

Nag's minimum range problem of 500m should not be acceptable.. comparable missile have minimum range varying between 50 - 200m.

Namica - that is good platform for Nag.

Seeker - IIR seeker is very old technology and the missile is LOBL only . Army would ideally like to have LOAL capability with MW seeker technology..

There is no way that a system like Apache can guide this missile to the target when in a combined arms battle..

" IIR seeker is very old technology " . What fuking rubbish is this.

There is not a single ATGM in the world with 4 km max range but minimum range less than 200m . Lol 50 m minimum range for a 4 km range ATGM. Best wait for the aliens to invade earth , they might have such technologies.

MMW seekers are optimal for air launched ATGMs only . Show me a single land launched ATGM with MMW seeker .

And cost of a system depends on the scale of the production run .

If alleged military people don't know this even , then it bests not to waste time .

Tuco

Nag is certainly overweight to be around 43 Kgs.. for use by ground forces who need to reload and replenish the missile in the battle field... can it be mounted on a tank? I do not know.

Nag is Costly.. yes at Rs 4.3 Crore per missile it nears the cost of a Hellfire. I can buy a tank for the cost of ten missiles..

Nag's minimum range problem of 500m should not be acceptable.. comparable missile have minimum range varying between 50 - 200m.

Seeker - IIR seeker is very old technology and the missile is LOBL only . Army would ideally like to have LOAL capability with MW seeker technology..

There is no way that a system like Apache can guide this missile to the target when in a combined arms battle..
Isn't it the purpose of the nag to hit the target outside of the targets firing range. Why would one want to put the namica within the range of the tank gun. Also has army asked for 50 meters minimum range? I think that's for mpatgm not for the carrier version. All spikes non mpatgm version have the minimum range of 200 meters.

Abhay Rajput 02

" IIR seeker is very old technology " . What fuking rubbish is this.

There is not a single ATGM in the world with 4 km max range but minimum range less than 200m . Lol 50 m minimum range for a 4 km range ATGM. Best wait for the aliens to invade earth , they might have such technologies.

MMW seekers are optimal for air launched ATGMs only . Show me a single land launched ATGM with MMW seeker .

And cost of a system depends on the scale of the production run .

If alleged military people don't know this even , then it bests not to waste time .
Why wait for aliens.? Konkurs maximum range 4000m and minimum range 75m.

patriots

Defense lover

Bdw spike with same range is 2kg heavier than nag,I don't know about the cost.....most of the heat seeking missile s use iir technology.....
Nag has only lobl...but helina has both lobl and loal.........
Again after clearing a product after user trial...and complaining about its abilities nis not fair.....
Army have some 100s of 3rg gen atgms(spike)
And others are 2 nd gen...still they are complaining

Abhay Rajput 02

I
When we have konkurs in the range of 30,000 missile's and the Spriggean's missile in a range of about 3, 000 missiles and 250 launched's why fear .
Where did you get FEAR..? I was merely replying to his comments that there is no atgm with minimum range of less than 200m and maximum range 4000m

Hahaha didn't excepted that comment from porky kicker not shivering just confused.
ATGMs with seekers have a lofted trajectory because the onboard seeker needs to " see " for itself and acquire the target . It is much more prominent with LOAL mode .

Wire guided or beam riding ATGMs don't have such requirements and hence have a flat trajectory. Where the missile can be fired point blank literally. And the reason why minimum engagement range can be so low.

I should have mentioned it but it didn't come to my mind, since we were discussing ATGMs with seekers. It was obvious . Hence I said there are no ATGMs ( with seekers ) with less than 200 m engagement range and max 4 km range.

arkos

Bdw spike with same range is 2kg heavier than nag,I don't know about the cost.....most of the heat seeking missile s use iir technology.....
Nag has only lobl...but helina has both lobl and loal.........
Again after clearing a product after user trial...and complaining about its abilities nis not fair.....
Army have some 100s of 3rg gen atgms(spike)
And others are 2 nd gen...still they are complaining
Why are you comparing Nag with Spike ? Spike ordered are meant to be used by infantry and not from some platform. Compare Spike with MPATGM. DRDO already had previously blocked the purchase of spikes saying they will develop a more advanced ATGM by 2021 but now its clear MPATGM is nowhere ready. It was meant to complete development trials by this year and enter production next year but that is very unlikely to be achieved. MPATGM does not yet has a Command Launch Unit meanwhile Israel has already offered 4-5th gen Spikes to the Army. Only last year because of the situation at LoC had army decided to go for emergency purchase and again this year same thing while it waits for DRDO to develop MPATGM.

No sir this is serious problem indeed , As an example Agni 5 50 T weight,17 m in length , Agni 6 70-80 tonnes 17-18 m length.
Agni-5 is an overweight missile. With modern material and fuel technologies, the weight of the future Agni-6 can be easily controlled around 50 tons, even less.

Both Agni 5&6 much bigger than the autoclave , I myself witnessed ISROs booster were stuck in a traffic jam . Our Missile bases are in Assam , Maharashtra , Hyderabad Pune etc is notoriou in traffic jam . Village roads are in poor condition.
Pre-planning the maneuver path is part of nuclear war prepare. The condition of the road, the traffic status in different time, the geographical environment, etc, etc, are all the considerations of military base choosing. Those people know what they are doing.

As what porky kicker said predefined path's are vulnerable to counter attack.
No, the enemy targets your pre-surveyed launch site and storage site, not the path.

Do you understand how big the maneuvering area is? Thousands square meters, no one is going to try to destroy a road network within such a large area. It is useless. The design of TEL can make it to able to run on some area without road. So it is best thing could happen to you that enemy waste their warheads on such a large area.

Only in one scenario, enemy can do that: when they have absolute dominance in the sky as US did in first gulf war. They sent their jets over the sky to hunt those Iraq Scud missile launcher. Guess how many they destroyed, ZERO. That told you how difficult to kill a moving launcher.

If we block roads for easy transportation it will immediately alert the opponents and using Satellite's they can easily find it out.
It doesn't matter, the launcher is already on running, the enemy was left with 2 options:
1. increase the warheads number to cover every possible path as you suggest and it may not work;
2. Sending the stealth bomber to break your air-defense network to hunt those maneuvering launchers as Americans planned in cold war.

I think We are opted for SLBM over land based ICBM .and all Agni missiles are road /rail TEL based systems
No, you are not.
Your speed on SLBM development doesn't make people believe it is a priority.
And the land TEL is still on the early stage. You know it is ready when you see the TEL in your national parade.