DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

Vijyes

I'm still wondering. 6-7k bombs of which size? 500kT blast yield or 50kT?
The plutonium is the first stage of the bomb. If you add a secondary stage with uranium casing and deuterium fuel, you can make thermonuclear bomb of any size by increasing size of secondary stage.

Since the items used in secondary stage - natural uranium and hydrogen isotopes (deuterium) are abundant, we consider only the plutonium to calculate number of bombs. Unless one is using a single staged bomb, the plutonium requirement for a bomb is fixed and the explosive power is determined by 2nd stage variation.

I'm saying again. The period of direct belligerence is what induces you to posture. Indo Western relationship for whatever reasons is still not that hot. Testing a global range ICBM sends unnecessary hostile message.
It should be tested when tensions elevate
Testing is important. Regardless of who thinks what, it is important to validate. If anyone thinks any other way, it is his problem. Missile testing is not a political posturing if the missile under development is not already a validated Technology. Development trials are not political postures but necessity.
I guess total firepower matters here and not population. Obviously people aren't going to fight by swords, wait common people aren't going to fight. These are militaries
In war, it is the civilian population who will fight. The standing army is only for contingency in peacetime. During big scale war, civilian population will be recruited enmasse as we saw in WW2 or Vietnam war.

Since the items used in secondary stage - natural uranium and hydrogen isotopes (deuterium) are abundant, we consider only the plutonium to calculate number of bombs. Unless one is using a single staged bomb, the plutonium requirement for a bomb is fixed and the explosive power is determined by 2nd stage variation.
That makes it a bit more critical. Thermonuclear fuel needs high temperature that's provided by first stage but holding that during explosion of first stage is critical. That's why India didn't have 100% success 1998 and same reason why France struggled to make an H-bomb initially.
Testing is important. Regardless of who thinks what, it is important to validate. If anyone thinks any other way, it is his problem. Missile testing is not a political posturing if the missile under development is not already a validated Technology. Development trials are not political postures but necessity.
It's very much of a political posturing. In case you are testing a global range ICBM, you are directly indicating that you are preparing to hit country that far away.

As you already have considerable expertise in making ballistic missiles and space rockets, your test most certainly is a posturing. Agni-5 was symbolic itself. Within it's range, it's China and not Europe we had most dissentions with.

Similarly, in case of a global range one, it'd be US and no other country we have any dissentions with.

In war, it is the civilian population who will fight. The standing army is only for contingency in peacetime.
During big scale war, civilian population will be recruited enmasse as we saw in WW2 or Vietnam war.
Considering modern militaries, it's firepower and not manpower that matters more.

Moreover, a Sino Western conflict will be more in Naval and Aerial field.

Nowadays I don't even feel like replying
Sorry again sir your post are very valuable don't take my words on heart.

Chalo ab thoda is device ka critic kar leta hu :bounce:

Do you seriously think the contraption you posted is going to last 1 second under even before crashing even in low cross winds ?

Do you have idea about wind state in mountains , sometimes so high wind speeds that it blow your underwear away and you cannot do anything .
Jet packs aren't very stable either you will need multiple horizontal stablaizer to keep it balanced. Or u can replace the stabalizers with output nozzles attached to hands like in the pic ezsasa posted.
Jetapck with single source thrust will be thrown away by even a little bit of wind.

I'm talking about more or less this type of stuff

Notice it has a battery attached to the back of the man
As for balancing we can put a gyroscope inside it that will automatically thrust vector when it tilts to either side.

The end result might look like this

Vijyes

That makes it a bit more critical. Thermonuclear fuel needs high temperature that's provided by first stage but holding that during explosion of first stage is critical. That's why India didn't have 100% success 1998 and same reason why France struggled to make an H-bomb initially.
I was only speaking of materials with India to make bombs in thousands. The difficulty is another issue. But AFAIK, 1998 explosion was a success where India used lead instead of uranium in 2nd stage to reduce intensity. Lead acts as retardant of free neutrons and work in slowing down reaction. (Lead rods are also used in commercial reactors to slow the reaction) So, by using lead in 2nd stage with deuterium, the reaction of fusion of deuterium was contained thus yielding lower intensity.

Lower intensity was desired as India doesn't have unpopulated area and villages near pokhran may face earthquake damage by high powered explosion.

It's very much of a political posturing. In case you are testing a global range ICBM, you are directly indicating that you are preparing to hit country that far away.

As you already have considerable expertise in making ballistic missiles and space rockets, your test most certainly is a posturing. Agni-5 was symbolic itself. Within it's range, it's China and not Europe we had most dissentions with.

Similarly, in case of a global range one, it'd be US and no other country we have any dissentions with.
Even USA can't target India with its ICBM as its its range is 12000km which is less than range of USA mainland to India. Similarly, Indian ICBM can't hit USA even with a range if 10000km.

Again, coming back to Technology, ICBM is not simple manipulation of existing Technology. We need certainty that it will work and hence development is compulsory.
Considering modern militaries, it's firepower and not manpower that matters more.

Moreover, a Sino Western conflict will be more in Naval and Aerial field.
Firepower depends on industrial capacity and natural resources availability. China has larger industrial base than NATO combined. China has bigher population yo work than NATO combined. So, firepower of China will be high due to its large population and industry

I was only speaking of materials with India to make bombs in thousands. The difficulty is another issue. But AFAIK, 1998 explosion was a success where India used lead instead of uranium in 2nd stage to reduce intensity. Lead acts as retardant of free neutrons and work in slowing down reaction. (Lead rods are also used in commercial reactors to slow the reaction) So, by using lead in 2nd stage with deuterium, the reaction of fusion of deuterium was contained thus yielding lower intensity.

Lower intensity was desired as India doesn't have unpopulated area and villages near pokhran may face earthquake damage by high powered explosion.
I'm actually pointing towards another problem.
In a simple fission bomb, uncontrolled chain reaction is utilized. In an H-bomb, fusion of hydrogen atoms to generate helium and enormous energy.

As fusion requires very high temperature to initiate, we generate it by implanting a fission bomb at initial stage of bomb. Problem is holding fusion apparatus without spilling it while fission blast takes place.
Firepower depends on industrial capacity and natural resources availability. China has larger industrial base than NATO combined. China has bigher population yo work than NATO combined. So, firepower of China will be high due to its large population and industry
Factually incorrect. In service forces of NATO are far bigger in numbers as well as quality. Putting that all aside, USN alone has more displacement than next 10 navies.
If China was really capable of toppling NATO, it wouldn't have been forced to bow down to pressure multiple times.

Cutting Edge 2

Space Power
Why behave like retards? Why does India need 20MT nuke? Will you deliver it in C130J plane?
20MT is only for making a strong statement.

Why would you give code names on others?
Same reason why we gave code names like smiling Buddha, operation white house. Code names sends a massage.

USA ICBM in 40 numbers is not enough. That can kill at best 1 crore people even with MIRV.
with 40 ICBMs they can wipe out all of India urban population.

India can target USA bases in Europe and other countries.
Still not the mainland USA.

China has lot lot other things to threaten west. So is India.

China has direct bitter hostilities, India doesn't. Case closed.

No, China isn't. If west chooses to bear losses, China will be left spineless in its own backyard.

Not always. We have other enemies but they aren't near Atlantic yet.

I don't. I don't perceive them as enemies either however. We don't have any problem with them.
Being enemy to west is nothing to be proud of. Seriously, you're sounding extremely stupid.

But unlike our ancestors, we know who lives around planet.

If 300 years ago we had nukes, world would have been altogether different today. You wouldn't have been talking like idiots.

Stupid!! Extremely stupid.

It can. Adding additional stage or a stronger booster calculating better parabolic path & trajectory, it can.

Agreed about accuracy part only. India is more than good with heat shields and mission control electronics.
No logical argument just Same old "what would west think" mentality.

Vijyes

I'm actually pointing towards another problem.
In a simple fission bomb, uncontrolled chain reaction is utilized. In an H-bomb, fusion of hydrogen atoms to generate helium and enormous energy.

As fusion requires very high temperature to initiate, we generate it by implanting a fission bomb at initial stage of bomb. Problem is holding fusion apparatus without spilling it while fission blast takes place.
That has been mastered by India using laboratory simulation and sub-threshold reaction. Heat from laser etc can also be used to test the integrity of substance at high temperature.

Factually incorrect. In service forces of NATO are far bigger in numbers as well as quality. Putting that all aside, USN alone has more displacement than next 10 navies.
If China was really capable of toppling NATO, it wouldn't have been forced to bow down to pressure multiple times.
China didn't bow down to NATO. US military may be big for now but that is no match to the potential of China. Do you remember WW2 where lakhs of planes were made in 5 years? Germany made 1.8lakh, USA made 3.5lakh and USSR made 1.5 lakh planes in WW2. Similarly, ships and submarines were built in large quantities. Such build up van be made even now. Chinese are capable of making 2 times as many arms as NATO during war time mass manufacturing as in WW2. It is not being done now as that will induce too much panic in others.

Why make unnecessary strong statements? We will never use such bombs as fitting on missiles require it yo be below 2MT.
Who told you that? It is not 1 city 1 bomb. Idea that nuclear bomb can destroy entire city is absurd. Nuclear bomb just releases heat and high speed winds. The heat can be stopped even by a cardboard as it is just 5 seconds. The high wind speed is what we see in cyclones which is something we are used to. So, where is your city destroying weapon? In fact, one single city of Delhi needs 100-200 nuclear bomb of 200kT to be destroyed properly

Still not the mainland USA
Neither can USA target India from its mainland. It is only that USA has bases everywhere and hence can attack India with missiles. But USA mainland can't use missiles against India as distance is about 14000km, more than range of their ICBM.

That has been mastered by India using laboratory simulation and sub-threshold reaction. Heat from laser etc can also be used to test the integrity of substance at high temperature.
I will remain doubtful that this thing be stimulated in labs unless you could provide some reference to me.
However, I started to believe that we have made it since Modi talked about having "mother of nuclear bombs" in his electoral speech.
China didn't bow down to NATO. US military may be big for now but that is no match to the potential of China. Do you remember WW2 where lakhs of planes were made in 5 years? Germany made 1.8lakh, USA made 3.5lakh and USSR made 1.5 lakh planes in WW2. Similarly, ships and submarines were built in large quantities. Such build up van be made even now. Chinese are capable of making 2 times as many arms as NATO during war time mass manufacturing as in WW2. It is not being done now as that will induce too much panic in others.
Actually, China had to step back against multiple times on diplomatic front. They were actually much closer to USA since Deng assumed power.

I understand that China has much more potential. But actually because it's a new player who emerged recently. Already the kind of tech, experience, wealth and strength west possessess, addition by them will be no less. China won't win even by using its people as canon fodder.
Strong statement for what? What is the statement at first place?

Most efficient H-bombs ideal to be used in warheads have blast yields in some hundreds of kT.
It's better to use some 2000kT bombs than one 2MT bomb to increase blast radius.

We don't have to vaporize a concentrated space but just burn a bigger space to achieve our aim.
Same reason why we gave code names like smiling Buddha, operation white house. Code names sends a massage.
Why operation white house? Unlike you, Indian government doesn't feel like to invite US for war when things are going cool & calm. They have priorities of economical and technological development. They won't even do it when they achieve.
War with an equal or stronger adversary brings destruction to you.
Not even near that. 40 ICBMs are insufficient against a large country like India.
Still not the mainland USA.
Both mainland India and mainland US will not be included in war. No one wants to get civilians killed. Indian Nuclear subs already give us virtual ICBM capability.

Some of missiles will get intercepted in skies by both USA & India while some will hit. India will lose more lives, US will lose more wealth (lower pop density but better infrastructure & wealth).
No logical argument
As if your wish of fighting with west like psychos has any logic.
just Same old "what would west think" mentality.
It's your mentality. Just like western propaganda lobbies in India, you are just an opposite version who is concerned about "what west thinks of India".

Here, you wish west to be "afraid of India" but the kind of things you are proposing will make them rather "irritated by India" like North Korea.
I'm simply not bothered about west. I don't love them. But udta teer g*nd me lene ka shauk bhi nahi hai mujhe.

We have just started to rise. We need some 10 years to get them really bothered about us and some 30 years to actually be capable of defeating NATO in a full scale war.

Vijyes

I will remain doubtful that this thing be stimulated in labs unless you could provide some reference to me.
However, I started to believe that we have made it since Modi talked about having "mother of nuclear bombs" in his electoral speech.
Yes everything can't be simulated with surety. That is why 1998 tests were important. India did test the 2 stage device but with lead 2nd stage to just check the working without getting the yield and earthquake.

Remember that USA, Russia also got it right in the first time itself for the nuclear bomb. USA dropped plutonium bomb on Nagasaki without any prior tests. Similarly, the H-bomb was also a success in first attempt.

Actually, China had to step back against multiple times on diplomatic front. They were actually much closer to USA since Deng assumed power.

I understand that China has much more potential. But actually because it's a new player who emerged recently. Already the kind of tech, experience, wealth and strength west possessess, addition by them will be no less. China won't win even by using its people as canon fodder
China doesn't want to unnecessarily gight against anyone. China only ensures that its its interests are met and can sacrifice other countries except ones close to it like N.Korea. This doesn't mean that China is weak. Chinese have shown their might while fighting in Vietnam, Korean war and have not backed off even when threatened.

Chinese Technology is quite decent. Things like Minuteman missile etc have not been altered for 40 years as the Technology remained same. So, such Technology saturation also meant that China has caught up in most of the Technology. Only semiconductor techology is what USA is ahead but wartime usage hardly requires semiconductor above 90nm. So, there is not really a decisive advantage of West over China.

Now, since west has alliance spanning from USA, Canada, Australia, Europe it may have 4 times the landmass if China and have some advantage there but still, Chinese mass manufacturing advantage adds heavily to Chinese strength. China will not lose a war with west in its region of influence, though west may be better in projecting power in other parts of the world due to its large land mass.

Yes everything can't be simulated with surety. That is why 1998 tests were important. India did test the 2 stage device but with lead 2nd stage to just check the working without getting the yield and earthquake.

Remember that USA, Russia also got it right in the first time itself for the nuclear bomb. USA dropped plutonium bomb on Nagasaki without any prior tests. Similarly, the H-bomb was also a success in first attempt.
But France had limited success in same thing. There should be a great change in design or plan to limit blast yield of first stage to prevent material from spilling out for sure.
I asked for any reliable source to confirm if it can be stimulated.

China doesn't want to unnecessarily gight against anyone. China only ensures that its its interests are met and can sacrifice other countries except ones close to it like N.Korea. This doesn't mean that China is weak. Chinese have shown their might while fighting in Vietnam, Korean war and have not backed off even when threatened.

Chinese Technology is quite decent. Things like Minuteman missile etc have not been altered for 40 years as the Technology remained same. So, such Technology saturation also meant that China has caught up in most of the Technology. Only semiconductor techology is what USA is ahead but wartime usage hardly requires semiconductor above 90nm. So, there is not really a decisive advantage of West over China.

Now, since west has alliance spanning from USA, Canada, Australia, Europe it may have 4 times the landmass if China and have some advantage there but still, Chinese mass manufacturing advantage adds heavily to Chinese strength. China will not lose a war with west in its region of influence, though west may be better in projecting power in other parts of the world due to its large land mass.
I never denied that China has caught up in lot. But there is still a great room for improvement left in both quantity and quality when we go through aerospace sectors and naval tech.

However, I agree that China won't lose a war in an area of its influence.

Vijyes

But France had limited success in same thing. There should be a great change in design or plan to limit blast yield of first stage to prevent material from spilling out for sure.
I asked for any reliable source to confirm if it can be stimulated.
I don't have any source as it is strategic Technology. But I have read in a few news that countries still suspect that sub-threshold tests can be done despite ban on testing.

About limiting yield, it is relatively simple. USA has several warheads with variable yields -

https://nuclearweaponarchive.org/Usa/Weapons/Allbombs.html

Also, reducing yield by using lead tamper in 2nd stage is relatively simple method. So, varying yield is not the real problem. The problem is in miniaturization. India appears to have achieved that in 1998 tests

Notice it has a battery attached to the back of the man
As for balancing we can put a gyroscope inside it that will automatically thrust vector when it tilts to either side.
It isn't a battery, it is a bladder for jet fuel. The French state has bought the design for use by special forces which will include removing the bladder from the back into the vehicle along with a handle control bar.

Who told you that? It is not 1 city 1 bomb. Idea that nuclear bomb can destroy entire city is absurd. Nuclear bomb just releases heat and high speed winds. The heat can be stopped even by a cardboard as it is just 5 seconds. The high wind speed is what we see in cyclones which is something we are used to. So, where is your city destroying weapon? In fact, one single city of Delhi needs 100-200 nuclear bomb of 200kT to be destroyed properly
Absurd statement to say the least

https://nuclearsecrecy.com/nukemap/

You can simulate the kind of damage and while to properly destroy Delhi, one isn't enough, hit the right place and you could easily wipe out a good 5 km diameter wherein there is heavy damage to structures & people in forms of thermal radiation with burns. Try to simulate 45KT air burst which is the 'biggest bomb' (taking it with pinch of goat piss) tested by Napakis and see for your self.

However, China's claimed 3.3MT on the Dong Feng 4 can easily wipe out heart of New Delhi and cause significant thermal radiation beyond Noida. The air-blast radius is over 10km where in there is heavy damage to structures and widespread fatalities.

upload_2019-6-26_14-44-23.png

Air bursts are particularly good at leveling cities.

Please stop posting non-sense.

Vijyes

Absurd statement to say the least

https://nuclearsecrecy.com/nukemap/

You can simulate the kind of damage and while to properly destroy Delhi, one isn't enough, hit the right place and you could easily wipe out a good 5 km diameter wherein there is heavy damage to structures & people in forms of thermal radiation with burns. Try to simulate 45KT air burst which is the 'biggest bomb' (taking it with pinch of goat piss) tested by Napakis and see for your self.

However, China's claimed 3.3MT on the Dong Feng 4 can easily wipe out heart of New Delhi and cause significant thermal radiation beyond Noida. The air-blast radius is over 10km where in there is heavy damage to structures and widespread fatalities.

View attachment 35943

Air bursts are particularly good at leveling cities.

Please stop posting non-sense.
You got some retarded app or website to simulate? Good luck

Listed companies need to made their decisions public and to provide information to market about plans and products and fundings.

DRDO has to do lot a uber secretive work and can't be bothered with such drama.

Sent from my C103 using Tapatalk

DRDO is a research organisation, not a company that produces any goods or services. You can't list such entities as they are not profit making ones but meant for long term Technology and knowledge enhancement
wont disagree with the above.

however, it is not needed to divulge everything in the statement of accounts and books. further drdo is revenue earner for bharat. there is demand and propositions for exports and more. ulitmately having transparency and ability to be on a stock exchange has its roles, checks and balances. bharat goi ultimately will always have majority control.

case in point Lockheed Martin and Boeing (do not observe ownership but government orders and sales). why not label coal india and ongc and mtnl to be on same grounds. why are they listed.

such companies do extreme secretive work and also many times do not look at profits. wouldnt also like to label drdo to be non-profit (only).

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/North_American_Aviation

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/North_American_XB-70_Valkyrie

XB-70 Valkyrie
White delta-wing aircraft overflying mountains. The front of the fuselage features canard wings, and the wing tips are dropped.
NASA XB-70 Ship One in 1968
Role Strategic bomber
Supersonic research aircraft
National origin United States
Manufacturer North American Aviation (NAA)
First flight 21 September 1964
Retired 4 February 1969
Status Retired
Primary users United States Air Force
NASA
Number built 2
Program cost US$1.5 billion[1] (equivalent to $10.2 billion today)
Unit cost
US$750 million (average cost)(equivalent to $5.1 billion today)

*Not for profit - ultimately how to define not for profit in defence like you said - meant for long term Technology and knowledge enhancement.

wont disagree with the above.

however, it is not needed to divulge everything in the statement of accounts and books. further drdo is revenue earner for bharat. there is demand and propositions for exports and more. ulitmately having transparency and ability to be on a stock exchange has its roles, checks and balances. bharat goi ultimately will always have majority control.

case in point Lockheed Martin and Boeing (do not observe ownership but government orders and sales). why not label coal india and ongc and mtnl to be on same grounds. why are they listed.

such companies do extreme secretive work and also many times do not look at profits. wouldnt also like to label drdo to be non-profit (only).

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/North_American_Aviation

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/North_American_XB-70_Valkyrie

XB-70 Valkyrie
White delta-wing aircraft overflying mountains. The front of the fuselage features canard wings, and the wing tips are dropped.
NASA XB-70 Ship One in 1968
Role Strategic bomber
Supersonic research aircraft
National origin United States
Manufacturer North American Aviation (NAA)
First flight 21 September 1964
Retired 4 February 1969
Status Retired
Primary users United States Air Force
NASA
Number built 2
Program cost US$1.5 billion[1] (equivalent to $10.2 billion today)
Unit cost
US$750 million (average cost)(equivalent to $5.1 billion today)

*Not for profit - ultimately how to define not for profit in defence like you said - meant for long term Technology and knowledge enhancement.

DRDO is more comparable with DARPA in USA. Lockheed and boing are more like HAL and NAL and can ofcourse be listed.

Sent from my C103 using Tapatalk

Cutting Edge 2

Space Power
Why make unnecessary strong statements? We will never use such bombs as fitting on missiles require it yo be below 2MT.
The same reason Russia tested 50MT nuke and USA tested 15MT nuke.

what.....??????? Are you joking mate???

This is what a 14kt bomb can do to a city

And here we are talking in hundreds of KTs and even MTs. You are suggesting it will need 200 nukes only for Delhi? Show me numbers to back up this absurd claim.

Cutting Edge 2

Space Power
Neither can USA target India from its mainland. It is only that USA has bases everywhere and hence can attack India with missiles. But USA mainland can't use missiles against India as distance is about 14000km, more than range of their ICBM.
Who told you that?

This is the official range of minuteman 3 ICBM. (13000km+) and its unofficial range is even higher.

Cutting Edge 2

Space Power
Most efficient H-bombs ideal to be used in warheads have blast yields in some hundreds of kT.
It's better to use some 2000kT bombs than one 2MT bomb to increase blast radius.
Again incoherent statement. Please go read about megaton warheads. US, Russia, China all have deployed megaton warheads along with usual KT MIRVs.

You are suggesting that somehow MIRV warhead or multiple KT warheads are replacement for MT warhead. :pound:

Why operation white house? Unlike you, Indian government doesn't feel like to invite US for war when things are going cool & calm. They have priorities of economical and technological development. They won't even do it when they achieve.
But Indian gov already did. :bounce: Do you know code name of India's first thermo nuke? Google it.:biggrin2:

War with an equal or stronger adversary brings destruction to you.
So as per your stupid logic we should just surrender to Chinese because they are equal or stronger.

Not even near that. 40 ICBMs are insufficient against a large country like India.
Those 40 ICBMs will destroy all urban areas.

If they want to completely wipe India from map then you do realize that they will have SLBMs and guided nukes to rain from sky.

Both mainland India and mainland US will not be included in war. No one wants to get civilians killed. Indian Nuclear subs already give us virtual ICBM capability.
Again your logic; Indian nuclear subs will abandon India in wartime and go all the way and that too undetected into pacific ocean, just 750 km away from US shores.

Some of missiles will get intercepted in skies by both USA & India while some will hit. India will lose more lives, US will lose more wealth (lower pop density but better infrastructure & wealth).
No.

India will be obliterated and USA won't face any damage beside military causalities because we don't have any weapon to reach US mainland. This is the reason behind Agni-6 argument.

As if your wish of fighting with west like psychos has any logic.
Its called national defense. We prepare for all possible/impossible war scenarios.

Here, you wish west to be "afraid of India" but the kind of things you are proposing will make them rather "irritated by India" like North Korea.
West isn't irritated but rather afraid of NoKo after their recent ICBM and thermo nuke tests. West can't even in their dream imagine to attack NoKo, now that they can inflict great damage to US civilians. NoKo is now invasion proof. This is why trump has started to praise Kim Jong. Also pentagon's warmongering towards NoKo has suddenly stopped. This is the power of ICBM.

I'm simply not bothered about west.
Yet you are giving arguments against Indian ICBMs from western perspective. You are even suggesting to not to test nukes further because of west. All I read from your posts is west will do this, west will do that :blah:

We have just started to rise. We need some 10 years to get them really bothered about us and some 30 years to actually be capable of defeating NATO in a full scale war.
We have already risen.

Our GDP in PPP which is the most accurate measure of calculating a nation's wealth is $11.4 trillion. In dollar exchange rate its $3 trillion. We have a massive industrial capability and a huge population. We don't need 30 years we can have everything we need today. Given that only if some people's mindset change.