DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

Why don't we make these autocannons and other type of guns and ammo in India?

I was reading on the Turkroaches MILGEM ship program, and in that all the CIWS, 76MM gun etc are made by their own ASELSAN company, they are doing this because they are spooked by US throwing them out of F35 program over S400 purchase, earlier these all used to be purchased from US and Germany.

We have OTO Melara 76mm naval gun made by BHEL under license afaik but that's about it

Lonewarrior

First thing First...we make Oto Melara not because we are visionary or we have contingency; we make them coz we can't buy them as they are still blacklisted.

As for autocannons, we've this mindset of not starting the production of something unless we know there'll be a good cash-flow. We make NSVTs because we know that all of our T-72/90 will use them. We don't make M2 Brownings despite its patent being long expired is because we don't know how many would be procured by Army.

I was reading on the Turkroaches MILGEM ship program, and in that all the CIWS, 76MM gun etc are made by their own ASELSAN company, they are doing this because they are spooked by US throwing them out of F35 program over S400 purchase, earlier these all used to be purchased from US and Germany.

We have OTO Melara 76mm naval gun made by BHEL under license afaik but that's about it
Cost benefit.

Buying these off the shelf is much cheaper then setting up a manufacturing line.

we don't know how many would be procured by Army.
If the armed forces were to phrase it clearly like we need "this many" and we are willing to buy "this Many on first deal". Would it be more viable than?
Turkey has smaller armed forces how come their firms don't hesitate? International Customers?

If the armed forces were to phrase it clearly like we need "this many" and we are willing to buy "this Many on first deal". Would it be more viable than?
Turkey has smaller armed forces how come their firms don't hesitate? International Customers?
Turkey arms companies like ASELSAN etc are setup by their equivalent of a Fauji Foundation unironically.
Which means the army there itself wants to produce it's own weapons systems.

The army here wants foreign puss, foreign-breed dogs, foreign currency in offshore bank accounts and foreign weapons systems, all sold in a complete package to the relevant Generols and shill babooze.

Meanwhile the Navy here actually designs the ships, they have a "Warship Design Bureau" that makes the design and then some PSU shipyards are selected for production after the relevant MoD stuff, or maybe they design after getting cleared from MoD idk.

This "Navy Model" must be somehow exported to the other import-loving branches also.

You can't bitch about "Arre, isme mine plough nahi hai", then when you add that "aree, iska weight zyada hai, how will it work in the sands of the Thar yo!" when you yourself decide the specs and design accordingly you know :troll:

Lonewarrior

Well we already have that.
If you combine Rudra and Prachand then atleast close to 300 helicopters are planned to be procured. But still they don't consider it to be a viable option. If you combine the ToT, tooling and manufacturing cost and divide it by 300 then the per unit cost would be more than what Nexter is selling us.
So you may ask why we can't make 500 of them. Here comes the problem, we're short-sighted. For us it's quite straightforward supply 300 to MoD, we don't try to explore options like autocannon on tanks, naval RWS, export.
Obviously they have a huge export potential; remember Turkey's defence products are cheap yet better quality than say Chinese, are closed to NATO standards and they don't engage in shenanigans like human rights...so this puts them in an unique postion among other defence exporters.

But also they don't shy away from R&D. So despite the fact that only a few units would be ordered or even worse, no unit ordered; they'll invest in R&D

Obviously they have a huge export potential; remember Turkey's defence products are cheap yet better quality than say Chinese, are closed to NATO standards and they don't engage in shenanigans like human rights...so this puts them in an unique postion among other defence exporters.

But also they don't shy away from R&D. So despite the fact that only a few units would be ordered or even worse, no unit ordered; they'll invest in R&D
Add to that. Turkish defence industry had integrated itself with the NATO and Murican weapons supply chain from the years 1990 to 2005. That was the time Turkey had best relations with the west.

For us there will be no such arrangement unless we becomes west's client state.
We must grind by ourselves till we force ourselves in the supply chain world over.

Add to that. Turkish defence industry had integrated itself with the NATO and Murican weapons supply chain from the years 1990 to 2005. That was the time Turkey had best relations with the west.

For us there will be no such arrangement unless we becomes west's client state.
We must grind by ourselves till we force ourselves in the supply chain world over.
Their army has bargained hard for certain key technologies from West/NATO.
It's not as if they joined NATO and suddenly they got a functional MIC for free also.

Our army/AF has no ownership of design and/or production of the stuff it needs.
It is simply profitable for them to diss DRDO and force govt to import under emergency procurements.

The Naval Warship Design Bureau was established in 1964, Army/AF can also do something similar if they were serious beyond getting kickbacks..

Armed Forces war-fighting capability is significantly dented because of this push pull bullshit between elected govt, brass and babooze.

Well we already have that.
If you combine Rudra and Prachand then atleast close to 300 helicopters are planned to be procured. But still they don't consider it to be a viable option. If you combine the ToT, tooling and manufacturing cost and divide it by 300 then the per unit cost would be more than what Nexter is selling us.
So you may ask why we can't make 500 of them. Here comes the problem, we're short-sighted. For us it's quite straightforward supply 300 to MoD, we don't try to explore options like autocannon on tanks, naval RWS, export.

Atleast the 20/30mm ammo is made here right
I mean some OFB probably produces those?

right?

Corvus Splendens

The PL-XX is at best an R-37M class missile weighing close to 600 kilos. Similar length but thinner than the R-37 and half the length and diameter of a Cruise missile that can achieve the range they are claiming. Unless this A2A missile uses Unicorn fart as fuel I don't see how this thing has 700km range.
1688473016496.png

First thing First...we make Oto Melara not because we are visionary or we have contingency; we make them coz we can't buy them as they are still blacklisted.

As for autocannons, we've this mindset of not starting the production of something unless we know there'll be a good cash-flow. We make NSVTs because we know that all of our T-72/90 will use them. We don't make M2 Brownings despite its patent being long expired is because we don't know how many would be procured by Army.
Oto melara guns are made in BHEL Haridwar

tuerkei-930.png

indien-930.png

Thus these two area charts mean anything to you?