DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

Golmaal hai bhai sab golmaal hai o_O

France has given the green signal to defence major Safran to jointly design, develop, test, manufacture, and finally certify an engine with India that will empower twin-engine advanced multi-role combat aircraft (AMCA) and the twin-engine deck-based fighter for Indian aircraft carriers. According to a report by the Hindustan Times, while the Centre is tight-lipped about the deal but officials have confirmed about the 100% transfer of technology offered by Safran.

According to the HT report, the French offers include a completely new engine, new materials, new architecture, with full supply chains, and ancillary manufacturing based in India. Besides, the offer also includes Safran setting up a centre of excellence in gas turbine technology in India with full design and metallurgical precision software tools

Lonewarrior

Golmaal hai bhai sab golmaal hai o_O
So basically when your gf stops giving you much of attention you start to flirt with her best friend and suddenly she comes running back to you apologizing

Noice Mudi Ji, noice

So basically when your gf stops giving you much of attention you start to flirt with her best friend and suddenly she comes running back to you apologizing

Noice Mudi Ji, noice
Her best friend also probably wants those 114 MRFA jets order to be Rafales :troll:

These are very "high-maintainence" women tbh

Lonewarrior

But beml already has one right on which atags mgs is based on
Then why a new one
Isn't that 8x8!?
This tweet says 6x6, so maybe now there planning for a 6x6 variant.

Obviously that's a dumb thing to do in my opinion as they already went through all the pains of developing the existing armoured cab only to go for another one and also 8x8 should be better...but what can I do.

Fatalis

Isn't that 8x8!?
This tweet says 6x6, so maybe now there planning for a 6x6 variant.

Obviously that's a dumb thing to do in my opinion as they already went through all the pains of developing the existing armoured cab only to go for another one and also 8x8 should be better...but what can I do.
May be the IA wants it in two versions - 6x6 and 8x8 or may be it is for a new system.

Lonewarrior

May be the IA wants it in two versions - 6x6 and 8x8 or may be it is for a new system.
New system is bit of a far possibility because if BEML is making the cab then the gun system also must be coming from another PSU and I can't think of any other gun system that can be used.

The only possible answer that I can guess of is either they've changed the requirements to 6x6 for mUh MoUnTaIn WaRfArE or as you mentioned they're going for two versions where one's may 52 caliber and other's 39 caliber ATAGS.

But in both possibilities it seems like a step backwards

Corvus Splendens

The only possible answer that I can guess of is either they've changed the requirements to 6x6 for mUh MoUnTaIn WaRfArE or as you mentioned they're going for two versions where one's may 52 caliber and other's 39 caliber ATAGS.
They are as always exploring all possibilities. The 6x6 car can carry Baba's ULH.
1688326457263.png

But Baba already makes the 4x4 TC-20 truck to carry the ULH, and has exported to Armenia.
1688326967043.png

mist_consecutive

Golgappe Expert
Yes, And I stand by it, it's not just related to the engine deal, but their tantrums for mmrca instead of ordering more mk1a Tejas to arrest falling sq nos and replace the flying coffin aka MiG-21 , or not committing more no.s to mk2,
I am aware of corruption in the Indian armed forces, Chandigarh lobby, etc., etc., yes.

But, this line of reasoning - The solution to dwindling sqns is ordering more LCA MK1A, is not only immature but reflects a lack of understanding of air combat. While this is not expected from civilian traffic, their dismissal of IAF's concerns and unsolicited advice of what and what not IAF should do is really hilarious.

I get into this debate almost once a month as to why IAF's solution to falling squadrons is not ordering 500+ LCA Mk1A which will make Indian dephens fanboys and our enemies equally aroused.

I will go into the technical gravy only once, get it or stick with your uninformed opinion.

A proper, (not kangaroo) airforce requires a mix of different platforms for different operations. Light, medium, and heavy fighters have their own advantages and issues, and an airforce having high domination of a single category of jet is detrimental to its operational capability.

Light jets (LCA, Mig-21, F-5, FA-50, JF-17)
Advantages - Low operational cost, cheaper to manufacture & maintain.
Disadvantages - Short range, low payload capacity, power constraints (smaller engine), more vulnerable (to damage), less margin for upgrade/MLU.

Heavy jets (F-15, Su-27/30/35, J-20)
Advantages - Large combat radius, more payload, more sensors & weapons, can be upgraded endlessly due to space, more tolerance to damage.
Disadvantages - Costlier to operate, maintain, and manufacture in general.

Medium jets are somewhere in the middle of both.

An airforce having a light-fighter heavy airforce will doom itself to being restricted around the airbase, catering to multiple sorties for a single mission and other operational problems.
An airforce having a heavy-fighter dominant airforce will suffer from low sortie rates and high operational costs. E.g., - RuAF

When you look at feats like IAF conducting operations across the frontiers, deep into Malacca strait or Indian Ocean, it won't be possible with LCA Mk1.

What IAF needs is a medium fighter jet in numbers. This is where comes LCA Mk2, and hence IAF is so bullish about it. If it gets delayed, it must be supplemented by some other medium jet, like Rafale (ideally), or some other option, not a light fighter jet.

Has IAF exerted the kind of pressure they have on GoI for more funding to be released for engine dev, FTB etc ...like the kind they put for mmrca ? Nope. Shows their priorities. I Agree MoD Babu's and GoI is also to blame re. funding, but IAF can't escape their share of responsibility.
Agree, but you have to see, IAF is an end-user. They will focus more on the platform & its capabilities, not the nitty-gritty of it. Of course, IAF (and Indian Armed Forces or any Govt. institutes in general) are very myopic about their actions. IAF will always prefer a jet that has good capabilities and is easy to maintain over a platform which limited capability and a troublesome engine. Again, this is a myopic world view, but this is how all govt. institutions in India work.

Irrelevant comparison, they don't have the kind of enemies we do and are vassals of US with US protection
It is pretty relevant. Since they don't have our kind of enemies, they have the leeway & funds to develop these niche technologies at their own pace. They can pour billions of $ and decades to perfect the engine, we don't.

If we sit on our asses to develop a jet from scratch, by the time we are completed J&K and NE will be gone. What we need is parallel development while not compromising our current strength, and we are heavily compromised on strength right now.

Gyyan

I am aware of corruption in the Indian armed forces, Chandigarh lobby, etc., etc., yes.

But, this line of reasoning - The solution to dwindling sqns is ordering more LCA MK1A, is not only immature but reflects a lack of understanding of air combat. While this is not expected from civilian traffic, their dismissal of IAF's concerns and unsolicited advice of what and what not IAF should do is really hilarious.

I get into this debate almost once a month as to why IAF's solution to falling squadrons is not ordering 500+ LCA Mk1A which will make Indian dephens fanboys and our enemies equally aroused.

I will go into the technical gravy only once, get it or stick with your uninformed opinion.

A proper, (not kangaroo) airforce requires a mix of different platforms for different operations. Light, medium, and heavy fighters have their own advantages and issues, and an airforce having high domination of a single category of jet is detrimental to its operational capability.

Light jets (LCA, Mig-21, F-5, FA-50, JF-17)
Advantages - Low operational cost, cheaper to manufacture & maintain.
Disadvantages - Short range, low payload capacity, power constraints (smaller engine), more vulnerable (to damage), less margin for upgrade/MLU.

Heavy jets (F-15, Su-27/30/35, J-20)
Advantages - Large combat radius, more payload, more sensors & weapons, can be upgraded endlessly due to space, more tolerance to damage.
Disadvantages - Costlier to operate, maintain, and manufacture in general.

Medium jets are somewhere in the middle of both.

An airforce having a light-fighter heavy airforce will doom itself to being restricted around the airbase, catering to multiple sorties for a single mission and other operational problems.
An airforce having a heavy-fighter dominant airforce will suffer from low sortie rates and high operational costs. E.g., - RuAF

When you look at feats like IAF conducting operations across the frontiers, deep into Malacca strait or Indian Ocean, it won't be possible with LCA Mk1.

What IAF needs is a medium fighter jet in numbers. This is where comes LCA Mk2, and hence IAF is so bullish about it. If it gets delayed, it must be supplemented by some other medium jet, like Rafale (ideally), or some other option, not a light fighter jet.
Heavy fighters can be upgraded endlessly but do we though?
Super sukhoi is getting stalled every time and now it's timeline is 2025.
Meanwhile Chinese made j16 an advance variant of j11 BS.
It can eat su-30s for lunch anyday and then proceeded to make a SEAD version of it.
After all that there is j11D in works,prototypes have already flown(?).
Meanwhile super Sukhoi 2025.

Heavy fighters can be upgraded endlessly but do we though?
Super sukhoi is getting stalled every time and now it's timeline is 2025.
Meanwhile Chinese made j16 an advance variant of j11 BS.
It can eat su-30s for lunch anyday and then proceeded to make a SEAD version of it.
After all that there is j11D in works,prototypes have already flown(?).
Meanwhile super Sukhoi 2025.
The Su30 has seen continuous upgrades throughout its life, except these are not big ticket items that garner publicity.

Small but critical things like the MIL STD bus, the MFDs, the radar modes, the mission computers, the EW suite, the weapons integration etc etc.

Its only because of these long lead time upgrades that now we can think of dropping in an Uttam or integrating Astra and western standard weapon systems

mist_consecutive

Golgappe Expert
---- Reposting since the previous one got mangled by formatting ----

Has IAF exerted the kind of pressure they have on GoI for more funding to be released for engine dev, FTB etc ...like the kind they put for mmrca ? Nope. Shows their priorities. I Agree MoD Babu's and GoI is also to blame re. funding, but IAF can't escape their share of responsibility.
Agree, but you have to see, IAF is an end-user. They will focus more on the platform & its capabilities, not the nitty-gritty of it. Of course, IAF (and Indian Armed Forces or any Govt. institutes in general) are very myopic about their actions. IAF will always prefer a jet that has good capabilities and is easy to maintain over a platform with limited capability and a troublesome engine. Again, this is a myopic worldview, but this is how all govt. institutions in India work.

Irrelevant comparison, they don't have the kind of enemies we do and are vassals of US with US protection
It is pretty relevant. Since they don't have our kind of enemies, they have the leeway & funds to develop these niche technologies at their own pace. They can pour billions of $ and decades to perfect the engine, we don't.

If we sit on our asses to develop a jet from scratch, by the time we are completed J&K and NE will be gone. What we need is parallel development while not compromising our current strength, and we are heavily compromised on strength right now.

DRDO 1GW HPM directed energy weapon system

AFAIK
Since it is using MILO
This system has the potential to be scaled up to as many GWs as required with appropriate modifications

Best part is say we scale up to 50-100GW and then deploy multiple of them so that they can phase lock in order to achieve power and range to target satellites in LEO and maybe even GEO

Vamsi

DRDO 1GW HPM directed energy weapon system

AFAIK
Since it is using MILO
This system has the potential to be scaled up to as many GWs as required with appropriate modifications
What is MILO??
Best part is say we scale up to 50-100GW and then deploy multiple of them so that they can phase lock in order to achieve power and range to target satellites in LEO and maybe even GEO

What about ICMBs?

Where do they get power supply from??
.... it looks like it requires a dedicated nuclear power plant