DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

L&T is indirectly owned by govt through various PSUs like banks, insurance companies etc.
we already have some of the most imaginative minds here, worse some of them are adamant about their imagined foundational understanding.

Now there is one more loop, which someone else will be clarifying for years now.

~15% share holding is same as "indirectly owned" is debatable.

or just like AFCONS, L&T has a dedicated public sector focus is a more likely explanation. They have invested decades in public sector, they are getting rewards.

Lonewarrior

L&T is indirectly owned by govt through various PSUs like banks, insurance companies etc.
How exactly is that?
As far as I know the percentage L&T share owned not just by Central Government but states too is quite less compared to other entities.
Why do you think USA does not spy using electronics made in USA? Why only target China while ignoring even greater hacking threat from USA?
I'll give you some rationale

Technologically we're no threat to US; we're looking towards USA for procurement of 4th generation fighter while they're working on their 6th generation fighter. But for China, we're it's biggest land border sharing adversary. The ROI for USA investment in technological espionage in India is still low.

When US has to spy on us it first uses HUMINT to find out "something big is going to tested on this date", flies an ISAR platform to Diago Garcia and flies circles. This is level of US espionage for perhaps the most advanced Indian weapon. What's China's? They got information of two of the most advanced fighter of the world from US, hacked into giant US defence companies and made their own copies.
Defence equipments don't need MS support, upgrades etc. They have their own special versions.
They don't have their own versions, you'll be surprised to know how much COTS we have started to use in defence sector.
As for support and upgrade, the reason they don't need is that they don't run third party applications like Blender or Catia that needs to upgraded...they've their own dedicated applications which most of the time don't need much upgrade. Windows XP running for launch of Minuteman don't need an upgrade. Or what upgrade can you even do in such application?
Security is always patched in defence versions. They don't use off the shelf version but modify them heavily. Also, most of the security patches are just bloatwares and data collection excuses by MS on behalf of USA govt. They are not always genuine vulnerabilities
Now you're sounding like a conspiracy theorist.

mist_consecutive

Golgappe Expert
For now chinkas jet engines may be junk, but 5yrs or 10yrs down the line ? Import air force being happy over jet engine deal is fine for now but the worrying factor is that there should have been atleast some statement from IAF gernails or an expression of worry that we don't have our own jet engine and chinka does thereby making us dependant on the west, while chinka is not . That IAF is not worried or bothered about this shows how short sighted they are.
Pretty tunnel-visioned mentality I must say.

First of all, IAF is not "elated" or throwing cocktail parties over this jet engine deal. This is the basic requirement for creating our own indigenous LCA Mk2. This is more of a sigh of relief instead.

Second, is anybody unaware of our failures with the Kaveri engine program? DRDO even after continuous efforts has failed to deliver on gas turbine engines, and it is understandable because gas turbine engines are harder than rocket engines. All these ToTs for AL-31F, and GE-414IN are a step towards perfecting our own engine tech, but instead of supporting this program for our own indigenous vision of jet engines, you accuse the Air Force of being "import happy".

You worry about China perfecting engine tech 5-10 years down the line and demand our Airforce (not MoD who is responsible for allocating funds, not DRDO who is responsible for engine tech development) to somehow throw away everything, break their bangles, wail and prioritize indigenous engine tech.

I ask you, tell me how many years China has flown their own indigenous jets (J-11, J-15, J-16, J-20, JF-17, and numerous other Soviet clones) with Russian imported, or Russian-copied engines?

Okay, leave that. Let's talk about some "developed nations" creating their own fighter jets. Let's do a fill-in-the-blanks for you.

Sweden - Gripen - Engine - ___ ?
South Korea - KF-21 (Stealth) - Engine - ___ ?
Japan - F-2 (F-16 clone) - Engine - ___ ?
Turkey - TAI Kaan (Stealth) - Engine ___ ?

Got the answer? How many of them scored indigenous engines?

samsaptaka

तस्मात् उत्तिष्ठ कौन्तेय युद्धाय कृतनिष्चय
First of all, IAF is not "elated" or throwing cocktail parties over this jet engine deal. This is the basic requirement for creating our own indigenous LCA Mk2. This is more of a sigh of relief instead.
Hence I said, IAF applauding the deal is fine for now.
you accuse the Air Force of being "import happy".
Yes, And I stand by it, it's not just related to the engine deal, but their tantrums for mmrca instead of ordering more mk1a Tejas to arrest falling sq nos and replace the flying coffin aka MiG-21 , or not committing more no.s to mk2, . Has IAF exerted the kind of pressure they have on GoI for more funding to be released for engine dev, FTB etc ...like the kind they put for mmrca ? Nope. Shows their priorities. I Agree MoD Babu's and GoI is also to blame re. funding, but IAF can't escape their share of responsibility.
Let's talk about some "developed nations" creating their own fighter jets
Irrelevant comparison, they don't have the kind of enemies we do and are vassals of US with US protection

Marliii

Better to die on your feet than live on your knees
People shitting on IAF for things those poor guys don't even deserve is the funniest shit 🤣 jet shortage ? Blame airforce, Tejas program has delays ? Blame IAF mig 21 crashes? blame IAF kaveri program ? Blame IAF.people don't come out of their tunnel vision to see that it's governments from 90s to present who were not needing to IAFs demands of acquiring new jets ,rampant buerocracy and our system along with the PSUs and to a degree IAF that caused all this problems in the first place.

SUPERPOWER

NGL, the launcher of Shaurya/Pralaya/SMART is really unaesthetic.
That is bcoz they have tried to put Pralay in an existing TEL for cost saving....They dont want to new design a new TEL for Pralay, Shaurya and SMART..Jo hai usse kaam chalao...Sasta Cheap Jugaad...Some Retarded Genrol's idea..

Lonewarrior

How are we supposed to calculate the center of gravity again?
Find out the mass of vehicle, then that of the missile, find the distance between the ground and that of the hypothetical point with concentration of mass, also as the mass is slightly elevated you'll need to take in account the lever arm for cases like turning.

Lonewarrior

That is bcoz they have tried to put Pralay in an existing TEL for cost saving....They dont want to new design a new TEL for Pralay, Shaurya and SMART..Jo hai usse kaam chalao...Sasta Cheap Jugaad...Some Retarded Genrol's idea..
Close but slightly off
Pralay, Shaurya and SMART are pretty much the same family of missile; so obviously they will need a similar launcher.

It seems they're adamant on using BEML 8x8 as the vehicle for whatever reasons. But the problem is the bed of the truck is way shorter than the missile. They can try to move the missile further forward as there is the cab and they can't move the missile further back as there's a fixed length the missile can stick beyond the bed otherwise you won't be able to pivot it upright for launching.

If they had gone for something like the BrahMos TATRA launcher then the missile would have seated much lower with the bed.