DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

Overlord

So privatization is the best way. Answer just two questions

For a quite long period of time all the factory and research facilities in Russia (Soviet Union to be more precise) were all government owned...and yet we have things like Sukhois and Mikoyans and Tula and Kalashnikovs. How!?
Even more recent, China...NORINCO's a completely state owned entity and yet it's successfully marketing everything from pistols to missiles all over the globe. How!?
Bas china ka naam nhi lena tha apko, ab ye bolega "Are you chinese".

Overlord

‘All other arguments to improve the DRDO have been tried. Privatize is the best way to deal with slow, indisciplined organization with no accountability.
What a stupid take. The day you privatize DRDO will be their death knell, forget about any R&D they have and the second day they will start importing foreign equipment, repackage & rebrand it as "Made in India".

But again this simple logic is way too much for a maple syrup enjoyer from Ontorio

What a stupid take. The day you privatize DRDO will be their death knell, forget about any R&D they have and the second day they will start importing foreign equipment, repackage & rebrand it as "Made in India".

But again this simple logic is way too much for a maple syrup enjoyer from Ontorio
‘Dream on that you keep your government job of no work, no responsibility and no accountability. To me only DRDO person will argue what you are saying.

Gyyan

‘Dream on that you keep your government job of no work, no responsibility and no accountability. To me only DRDO person will argue what you are saying.
Yes true DRDO should be privatised or better yet made into subsidiary of Garuda Aerospace as they provide better result and complete project faster they even made a stealth UAV👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻

Lonewarrior

I've asked you why each and every big military power has its own government owned R&D wing despite being way more privatised economy than us, heck in US each arm has multiple R&D centres...USAF has AFRL, Navy has NAWS, NRL...but you chose to ignore that question altogether. Same for the question about Russia and China.

So this is the last time I'm asking you a question, hope this will put an end to this stupid argument.
> DRDO managed to engage a small satellite travelling at a speed of approximately 7km/s at an altitude of 250km; all while on a shoestring budget
> Tata, Adani, Reliance, Kalyani are all huge firms with millions of dollars at their disposal and perhaps most importantly, multiply cash-flow (Tata can use the profits from Tata commercial vehicles to do R&D in military vehicles)

But still we rarely see any private firm coming up with good R&D. Why?
or
Just name a single private sector R&D example that comes close to Shakti so that I can get assured that private sector will successfully manage DRDO.

Overlord

Dream on that you keep your government job of no work, no responsibility and no accountability
You know Sud, you have problem of assuming things too much, you really think I have soft corner for these chair warming govt. babus, I am up for purging of these worthless non-performing insects, cutting red tapes & unlike your solution of cutting the whole arm & replace it with a artificial one, because it has a wound on finger.
To me only DRDO person will argue what you are saying.
Thanks for acknowledging & now off to your basement & maple syrup enjoying.

Lonewarrior

So does arjun! It has both rubberised track and wheels.
Nope

Arjun uses traditional section - pin type tracks with rubber shoes; hence "rubberized" tracks
These are newer development called continuous/endless rubber tracks where you have a single loop of rubber instead of sections; quite like a rubber band

Before hitting a mine; steel tracks worst, rubber tracks best. After hitting a mine; rubber tracks worst, steel tracks best

Noob question
How GE-414 fare against WS-15 irrespective of platforms used ?
Soviet derived engine are know to be fuel guzzlers.
Lesser wight to power output.
Also they Have big IR signatures.
Westend engines Have been refined to leave lesser IR signature.
Prime of this tech is implemented in the likes of F 35
1688625426154.png

1688625447045.png

Western engine have double the overhaul hours to that of Soviets.

Western ones are less prone to snags.

Lonewarrior

Noob question
How GE-414 fare against WS-15 irrespective of platforms used ?
This is not just for a specific model of engine, but in general for American and Russian (Chinese) engines. Moreover GE-414 and WS-15 are a class apart, WS-15 is supposed to produce double the thrust so it would be quite tough to compare them

So basically everything is like how iPhones fare against a new Chinese flagship phone; before buying a US engine it would seem like the worst choice you can have but you'd keep falling in love with it the more you keep using it.

Pros of Russian/Chinese engines
- simpler technology
- easier to adopt (less complex, less patents)
- cheaper
- low maintenance

Pros of American engines
- fuel efficiency
- way more automation, FADEC control
- advanced in terms of technology, stealth
- exceptionally good servicing

"Privatise DRDO" is the dumbest argument that is thrown up wrt improving defense research.
Yet 90% of the things DRDO claims credit for is done by private industry.

DRDO throws around goddamn stupid requirements that makes me wanna punch them in the face.

Everything from CNC demands, to comm. protocols to fucking wire connectors they specify in their RFPs.

Only problem: the fuckers are living in the 70s.

They havent heard of 3D printing, of layering composites, of modern USB based comm. protocols that work 10 times faster and are secure unlike their fuckall RS 232 serial comms.

Hadd chutiye hai.

For a quite long period of time all the factory and research facilities in Russia (Soviet Union to be more precise) were all government owned...and yet we have things like Sukhois and Mikoyans and Tula and Kalashnikovs. How!?
Even more recent, China...NORINCO's a completely state owned entity and yet it's successfully marketing everything from pistols to missiles all over the globe. How!?
A - the vast majority was done under Soviet Russia where each and every aircraft designer was made to compete against the other - heck even manufacturing plants had compete against each other.

The same was true for every organisation. Be it small arms, tanks, ships you name it,

look at post Soviet Russia, they unionized everything - all manufacturers came under one umbrella organization - the result: theirs not a single new fighter design that is anywhere close to the rate of progress during soviet times.

China- the fuckers just reverse engineer shit.

This is not just for a specific model of engine, but in general for American and Russian (Chinese) engines. Moreover GE-414 and WS-15 are a class apart, WS-15 is supposed to produce double the thrust so it would be quite tough to compare them

So basically everything is like how iPhones fare against a new Chinese flagship phone; before buying a US engine it would seem like the worst choice you can have but you'd keep falling in love with it the more you keep using it.

Pros of Russian/Chinese engines
- simpler technology
- easier to adopt (less complex, less patents)
- cheaper
- low maintenance

Pros of American engines
- fuel efficiency
- way more automation, FADEC control
- advanced in terms of technology, stealth
- exceptionally good servicing
Low maintenance?
What BS.

Every Russian/Soviet/Ukrainian Zorya GT has a avg life between overhauls of 5000 hr IF youre lucky.

LM 2500 - 15000 hours. and even then you do your maintenance on a fucking laptop.

Lonewarrior

Low maintenance?
What BS.

Every Russian/Soviet/Ukrainian Zorya GT has a avg life between overhauls of 5000 hr IF youre lucky.

LM 2500 - 15000 hours. and even then you do your maintenance on a fucking laptop.
Arre maafi Huzoor, phrased it bit hurriedly...obviously not in terms of MTBO, from 70s US turbofans are having atleast 2-300 more hours of MTBO.

Low maintenance as in they don't require much of consideration while operating. But again this ruggedness is what lowers the MTBO in first place

Not specific to any project etc , but I suppose Western equipment reputation is well deserved .
Iam reading a book on iran iraq war , there is a special mention of operation morarvid , where farsis destroyed two oil terminal, total of eight missile boats and patrol crafts of Iraqi navy , a mig 23 and some other things .
While Iraqis only were able to destroy one patrol boat called peykan which itslef had sunk a couple of osa 2 missile boats .
Pheonix missile has a range of 150 kilometres , once a Iranian f 14 targeted a trio of mig 21s, and his Target was only the leader but the explosive of pheonix was designed to take down a bomber like tu 95 thus other two migs were also completely destroyed .
Cobras destroyed many Iraqi mi 24s in air to air engagements lol.
Seriously had iraq attacked iran in Shah's era , world would have seen iranian flag over Bagdid , nejef , Basra and karbala.
The western equipment generaly although costly is far superior to Soviet one.
@binayak95

johnj

Poor family vs rich family
Even rich family becomes broke if they over spend on their children